Reading Reviews for Capturing the Past
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SereneChaos He Was

17th July 2013:
What a powerful piece! The simple sentences really worked well for you here, and like the photographs Colin took, captured a bunch of little moments that made Colin, Colin. I think my one criticism for this fic would be the part where you mention his dreams of becoming a dad and taking pictures of his children. I think that's a wonderful dream to have, but somehow to me feels out of place with the Colin we knew in the books. He would have been 16 at the time of his death, and his age, plus the sheer amount of action going on, plus the way he admired other people so much, makes those lines (still wonderfully powerful despite this) stick out a little strangely for me. Then again, everyone interprets the characters differently.

Otherwise, good work on this moving fic!

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving another wonderful review! I'm so glad that you liked this piece, particularly the writing style. Because of the simple sentence I chose to use as both the opening and conclusion, it just fit that the rest of the piece be composed of simpler sentences as well.

That's an interesting point you make. I understand your concerns about his age. However, I believe that my thinking was that, for someone who loved capturing the major moments in life so much, he would imagine capturing some of the major moments in his own life- and the birth of children is considered to be pretty enormous. :P

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik He Was

15th July 2013:
Oh. Oh my gosh, Roots. I have a very very tender spot for the Creeveys and this story hit me right there. Any fic about Colin's death and the aftermath it has on his family is a guaranteed tearjerker for me, and this was no exception. You've written his life beautifully, the small moments captured very effectively. There were his dog's slobbery grin, his dad as a milkman, his mum waiting at the train station, his brother refusing to go near a camera...

The short sentences and brief paragraphs really gave this piece a sense of finality, of how Colin is "stopped" in time forevermore; he'll be just a boy, always, frozen in a snapshot - if there even are any pictures of him.

This was an incredibly heartbreaking and moving oneshot, Roots. Great work.

-teh

Author's Response: Yes- I read your own Creevey story, though that one was told through the perspective of Dennis, and I really enjoyed it. I'm glad that you enjoyed mine.

In every character's life, but especially with one who loves to capture moments on camera, it's the small moments that add depth and life. Funnily enough, those small details often tend to be the ones that come to you as you're writing, I find.

I'm really glad that you also liked the manner in which I wrote this piece. I definitely do agree that longer sentences would have reduced the impact of his death- they would have been too complicated.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I'm sorry it took me so long to reply to it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa He Was

1st January 2012:
Hi, you're tagged!

I love Colin so much, when I saw this piece, I had to read it. And what a beautiful piece it was! I simply loved it! What a nice memorial for a sweet boy. You really captured Colin in there, showing us how he touched the lives around him, how he cared for the people he loved and that loved him.
As for his love of photography, well it was perfect. I had never really thought about it but it makes sense. That he wanted to freeze everything and remember everything he was so passionate about. That that way, he could catch the beauty of everything that surrounded him. Colin was one that did see the beauty of everything, even when others didn't and that fits him beautifully.

I had tears in my eyes by the end of this piece. I hate that he died but you gave him a sweet, loving and beautiful memorial. Great work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm so glad that you liked my depiction of Colin considering that you love Colin a lot.

I'm so pleased that you liked this tribute to him. I was trying to show him as more than the fanatic fan he was of Harry's in the books. He did have a family, we knew that he had a brother- there were so many people that were affected by his death.

I'm glad that you liked my reason for him loving photography. Photos are an amazing way to capture moments that would otherwise be forgotten about or seen as insignificant, something I think that Colin definitely understood.

Thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by webeta123 He Was

25th December 2011:
Hi there,

So, this is part of my gift to you as your Secret Santa!

This story is so touching and beautiful. We never see Collin as anything more than Harry's fan, the guy that got in the way. But here, you give him so much depth and you can truly see the love he has for his family.

One of the most potent lines that I found was: "His hero never failed him." It is so sweet that Collin held such a love and admiration of Harry, even though he didn't exactly show it in a way that Harry appreciated.

Anyway, beautiful one shot,

~webeta123

Author's Response: Oooh- thanks so much for reviewing! I can't wait to see what the other part of my gift is! I'm sure it'll be wonderful!

I'm so glad that you liked and appreciated this story. I definitely agree that in the books Collin wasn't much more than an overeager fan of Harry's- but he does have his own life and I'm glad that it came through nicely here.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Miss Muggle He Was

18th December 2011:
I have shivers going down my spine, thank you very much. Colin Creevy's death was one of the worst ever (right behind Dobby and Fred) and you really brought the deepness to the party (I brought the tears). Now that you bring it up, I can hardly imagine what Colin's parents would have done. Dennis would have at least known why he died and been able to know how brave he was, but his parents would have just been devastated. I bet the would not be as interested in the wizarding world after that, do you?
Anyway, back to your story. Magnificent! I bet you could write a similarly touching one on Dobby's death *hint hint* (I would read it for sure).

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the story that much. I do agree that Colin Creevy's death was very bad, especially since he was so young! And his poor parents- they wouldn't have any idea why and Dennis would never be able to explain it well enough to soften the pain of his death. No, they definitely wouldn't be interested in the wizarding world after that- they might even have pulled Dennis from it and forced him to stay in the Muggle world.

I'll think about telling Dobby's death- that would be another sad one as well!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cleopatraa He Was

6th October 2011:
Well this is Cleopatra from the forums with a review for the hooked sentence challenge. First of all, Iím so sorry for the lateness of the review but this is my exam year so Iím really busy. I really like the summary and title for this one I think itís very well picked because itís so simple. Also I like the fact itís about a minor character seeing as I love them. I would advise you to get a banner because many people donít read stories unfortunately without a banner. You can request one at TDA. Uhm before I begin reading this ( Iím reading an writing my review at the same time ) I noticed you have such large spaces between your paragraphs perhaps you could fix it some readers find them annoying ( not me I once had a reviewer complain about it in my own story so I mean it in the best way)

Onto the hooked sentence, since that's what this challenge was all about. I think it was very fitting for this story and the mood you were going for and that it fit the end and beginning well so well done.

I really liked this sentence: ďHe had dreams of catching each moment of his childís lifeótheir first steps, their first smile, the moment they were bornóbehind a lens.Ē Itís such a fitting thing for Colin to do and it says so much about the way you portrayed him. Also I notice in fanfictions that many writers donít let their characters think about marriage or children ( in you case children) though itís a normal thing to think about it. ( Like if you want it or not)

I really liked the idea the way you portrayed his parents and brother while they were dealing with the grief of a lost one seeing everybody deals different with that.

That's about all I can think to say. This was a really a touching piece and I hope you enjoyed entering this challenge. I have to remind you off the fact you can enter as many times as you want ;P Thanks for entering my challenge and check back after the deadline to see if you've won!

Cleopatra

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review! I'm glad you liked the simpleness title and summary- I think it suited the story. I enjoy writing minor characters- there's so much more you can do with them!

I'll definitely try fixing the spacing- I always have problems with it. As well I'm glad that you thought the hooked sentence worked with the story. I actually wrote the whole story around the sentence.

Thanks once again for reviewing! I'm glad you liked reading it.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Singularity He Was

7th September 2011:
This was really beautiful. I like that you chose to write about Colin. He's one of those great background characters that Jo created, but that we don't get to see a whole lot of, especially as the books progress.

Although this was written specifically about Colin, I think it is such a great universal story. It's like, when you hear about a soldier who was killed in battle, you stop and think, "That's too bad," and then you move on. But to that person's family, it's a complete tragedy. Their lives are completely changed forever, even though the rest of the world keeps on. That's really powerful.

This story was very simplistic, and I think that was a perfect choice. I love the details you put in. I don't know why, but the part that really stuck out to me was: "he had a brother who refused to ever again touch a camera". That really struck me for some reason. It was absolutely heart-wrenching.

I really liked this story. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review! I'm so glad you liked it. I agree about Colin, but at least it gave me more freedom to create his own story.

I'm glad you liked that it was simple- I chose to go that route to help convey the strength of his death by itself.

Thanks so much once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by academica He Was

1st September 2011:
Hi! I'm here with another review for you :)

I LOVE that you wrote about Colin. Judging by the fact that the challenge was about the beginning and ending sentence, I'm going to assume that the character was your choice, and I'm so happy that you decided to highlight such a underloved character. I really like him because I think he conveys the thoughts and feelings of all the Hogwarts students we didn't get to meet, the ones who had normal, happy lives until Voldemort took over and turned those lives upside down. This one-shot definitely conveys that sense of normalcy. Just like all of the famous canon characters we know and love, people like Colin had dreams, hopes, losses, victories. Just like Colin, their innocence was stolen from them far too soon with the rise of the second wizarding war, the one their parents wanted so desperately to shield them from. I really felt that at the end, when Colin's family was grieving his loss. He, like all the others, was ordinary from beginning to end, and yet that doesn't imply, not at all, that his life wasn't meaningful.

This flowed very well, and it was quite poignant in its simplicity, an honest look at the life of a normal boy. I loved the little details you gave to his character, adding in depth that Rowling left out and most of us never think about. This piece seems like an actual eulogy, a believable epitaph. I didn't note any technical errors, but I wasn't expecting to.

In my opinion, you used the sentence you were given quite well. Just like your other work, this piece left me impressed.

Nicely done! Thanks so much for requesting once again, and of course, I hope that my feedback is useful to you :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review! I definitely agree with your comments about Colin. When I first thought of the beginning (and ending) sentence, it definitely seemed to me to fit Colin.

I'm so glad you think so as well- I knew from the beginning that this would be a very simple, straightforward story- and that you enjoyed the history I gave Colin.

I'm so glad you thought I used the sentence well and it put a big smile on my face to hear that this left you impressed.

Your feedback was definitely useful and thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by flufff He Was

30th August 2011:
Oh my God... that was amazing.

I am completely in awe of how much talent you have. I completely loved this. Colin Creevey... I've never read any other stories about him, but this was great. So moving... especially with the part where you described the toll his death took on his family. I loved that. You have some serious SKILL, go put it to work and if you haven't already started a story you definitely should. Okay wait I just looked at your author's page and you have a zillion stories, so scratch that, haha ;P

Ahhh, I loved this. I'm def. adding it to favorites. GREAT JOB. :)

Keep writing x flufff

Also... if you ever get the time, could you R&R my fanfic "Darkest Night"? I would really appreciate it! I'd love to know your thoughts on it. Thank you! x ;D

10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to review! This review put a smile on my face. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Colin isn't exactly a popular character to write about, but that just gives me so much more liberty with his character.

Thanks so much for the compliment! I most definitely will keep on writing! And thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Noblevyne He Was

28th August 2011:
*rushes to be first in*

This is a lovely thoughtful piece, and I think you have illustrated it beautifully with simple words, giving life and meaning to a character who was only briefly glimpsed.

Only a boy - like so many of the others who fell, another name on the casualty list but still one who had a life beyond what we saw of him. The youngest to die in a battle he hadn't a hope of handling himself in, but still he stayed - loyal and brave to the end.

You say a lot in few words and give these words to a true Gryffindor - great piece, very lovely.

Author's Response: Haha- thanks so much for taking the time to review!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Colin Creevey is there in the books, but he is a minor character. That's a good thing in one way, as it gave me the chance to guess at what his home life might have been like, to create my own life for him.

Thanks once again for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login