Reading Reviews for A Flakey Tragedy
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheHeirOfSlytherin A Flakey Tragedy

13th March 2014:
For Blackout Bingo.

Hey!

Snape and humor should not exist together, but when they're done right, when they having me giggling like an idiot in such a way that Snape would thoroughly disapprove, they are freaking fabulous! (Yes, I did just use Snape and fabulous in the same sentence.)

You made this work so well, like he still felt the same (the insults and the remarks) but just that little bit different too (the biscuits) and just the thought that Snape would need them to maybe be that little bit... not mean had me smiling. I wonder if this would have happened in canon, if he was actually meaner because he didn't have biscuits. It's something I understand. :P

Did Hermione know about the biscuits? How? If that's what it takes for Snape to give Gryffindor points, she should probably send him more. :P

I really enjoyed reading this!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #2, by ShadowRose A Flakey Tragedy

8th March 2014:
Hello, I'm here for Blackout Bingo!

Okay, so I really love how you've combined the serious elements of Snape's character with this whole biscuit conundrum. While you still emphasize some of his dislikable characteristics, like his hatred of the students (particularly the Gryffindors) and his overall foul mood, it's made funnier by his whole overreaction to the lack of his biscuits. Thinking of such a stoic professor causing that much of a fuss over not having any biscuits is downright comical, and definitely made me smile as I was reading this.

I adore your description - it's enough that I can clearly picture the scene, but not so overdone that I'm drowning in description. After all, the plot really is the main element of this story! I loved the little details about time too - like him "not once since the fall of Voldemort fourteen years ago had he gone without" or the reference to "that vile woman in her pink cardigan" - it's a nice time cue, and I love being able to figure out when exactly a story is occurring.

Overall, this piece was a great show of Snape's character, but also ridiculously funny as well. You had me giggling from the start. Great job - this really is a great piece, even more so considering it's only your second one-shot!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

 Report Review

Review #3, by love_is_magic_ A Flakey Tragedy

7th March 2014:
So, after your amazing Neville fic, I just NEEDED to read more of your stuff (: but also needed a bit of a pick-me-up from the sadness that is the Battle of Hogwarts. Hence, I'm here! Hopefully I'm not jumping the gun in figuring that a food-themed story should be lighter... but I guess we'll see!!

Wow, so again I can't believe how amazing your use of description is. It is just SO AMAZING. I honestly want to start taking notes so I can use it in my own writing! I know you mention in your A/N that this is your second one-shot and you think it shows... Please, let me reassure you... it doesn't! This is great :D

Hahaha so, random note, but this sort of reminds me of a Drapple! In no way other than in its connection to food, though (:

Haha I love the 'Twenty points to Gryffindor at the end' :D

I came into this story with much excitement and I was not disappointed :D This was so great and I am more sure now - if that were even possible - that you are an amazing author!

Twenty points to Slytherin!!!
Christy :D

Gryffindor vs. Slytherin Blackout Battle 2/15

 Report Review

Review #4, by anythingcouldhappen A Flakey Tragedy

7th March 2014:
Hi! I'm reviewing this for Blackout Bingo!

Heheheh this was quite amusing :) The idea of Snape being obsessed with something like biscuits is so ridiculous. However, his dark mood was very believable! I always loved the descriptions of Snape as swooping around the castle like a giant bat, and I definitely htink you conveyed that "bat swooping" very well here. It also made me really crave biscuits, which was awesome and torturous at the same time. Have you actually made biscuits like the ones you described? Because if so, yum! I'm a little confused by why Hermione gave him the biscuits (and how she knew it was his birthday) but this is humor, so hey, it works.

It might be interesting to have some dialogue, whether between Snape and other professors, or between Snape and his students. Reading just paragraph after paragraph of text can be a little tedious at times.

There were a few misspellings in the chapter, so if you get the chance you might want to go through and edit :)

Great job!

Sam

 Report Review

Review #5, by magicmuggle01 A Flakey Tragedy

9th March 2012:
Snape sounded very much like me in the morning. I can't do anything until I have two mugs of coffee and a bowl of porridge in the morning.
And those biscuits sound delicious. I wonder how Hermione knew it was his birthday? 10/10 and adding to favs.

SHPPFO

Author's Response: Well...Hermione is the brightest witch of her age after all. ;) Thank you so much for the review, magicmuggle! Y'all are so sweet

 Report Review

Review #6, by GrangerDanger76 A Flakey Tragedy

12th February 2012:
So, uh, you said it's your second one-shot and that it's not very good.Well let me tell you, this story is FABULOUS!

OMIGOD OMIGOD YOU GUYS!

Haha, I just had to...

Anyways, the way you describe Snape, it's just with such passion. You are so talented!

I just love the plot...how unique, the whole biscut thing!

The end was fabulous...could there be a slight hint of Snape/Hermione there?

Very well done! :)

Girls I'm positive...this story is fabulous! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This story was actually written for a challenge which is how the biscuits became important. It was the fastest I've ever written anything to be honest. No there is no hint of Snape/Hermione though. :) Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyFire A Flakey Tragedy

4th September 2011:
Twenty points? Wow, Snape must really love his biscuits. I love how you chose him for this, and the way you described everything is great! "Even that vial woman in her pink cardigan didn't dare 'hmm' him that morning." -- That has to be my favorite line! I like how he almost didn't accept the present...but he did :) It's great!
~Lily

Author's Response: I honestly can not remember why I selected Snape for this one-shot, but it just seemed to fit for some reason. This one-shot was a challenge to myself as well, wondering if I could pull off something that wasn't chaptered. Thank you so much for the review Lily! -hugs-

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jenna822 A Flakey Tragedy

3rd September 2011:
This was so good. It made me giggle and that's a hard thing to do with a Snape story. Your use of the assigned food was spot on and his reactions were both funny and insightful. Your use of description was very well done, I loved it. Only thing I would suggest is that you have a really long paragraph there in one place, I'd recommend making it two. Just for reading sake. But the story itself was very well written. Your grammar and flow were great and the entire thing was a wonderful read.

Thank you so much for entering the challenge. :) --Jenna

Author's Response: Thanks for making the challenge Jenna! This was more fun than I had thought it would be and it gave me the courage to keep on writing and trying challenges. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by AnnaKay A Flakey Tragedy

26th August 2011:
I love Snape. And I rather love how you write him. He does have a bit about him that I think fits so well. He seems still the hard person that he really is, but he has this one soft side.

I think it gives him a much better rounded character when you see more than that little bit of the personality :)

I adore anything that has to do with Hermione and Snape, and so this was right up my taste alley too. You did a great job here with a really great character.

Author's Response: Well, I would hope you liked it since I called you at 3 in the morning going on about it in a stupor and telling you to check it out. :P

I'm very proud of this story, if I can be un-humble enough to say. Its grown on me as the time has passed. Thanks for the review AnnaKay!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Debra20 A Flakey Tragedy

21st August 2011:
This was a real feast for all the senses to read. I loved it so much! Your descriptions are incredibly vivid. You have the talent of carrying the reader to the scene of the action and allow him to watch everything that happens with incredible clarity.

It was so much fun to read about Snape and his biscuits. It really offered something different from what we usually read about him. Knowing that he has some sweet pleasures he indulges made him more human, more appealing as a character. He is my favourite character so I can honestly say that you portrayed him very well. It felt strange to see him awarding points to Gryffindor but taking into account the whole story theme it felt right in character (and I must congratulate you on the idea of making Hermione offer him the biscuits!). Excellent piece!

Author's Response: Thank you so much -blush- Descriptions are something I try to do well enough to paint a picture for the reader yet still allow imagination to take hold. So thank you for that.

To be honest, I had no idea what I was doing or where I was going with this when I was writing. As you know from the summary and author's notes it was for a challenge. Using Snape as the character was just a sleep deprived impulse I suppose. It does feel weird seeing him reward points to Gryffindor! But he had no witnesses around him, so who would know? ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by flufff A Flakey Tragedy

21st August 2011:
Haha, that was so awesome! I swear, I've read at least three of these "Food Challenge" one-shots and this is definitely the best by far. I love how he needs his biscuits and how Hermione gives him a birthday present. And I loved how you wrote Snape, of course he's one of the coolest characters, but you pulled it off really well ;D Great job! And that last line was awesome, too. Made a nice ending. So, yeah... all in all, really nice, easy-to-read one-shot! Meh I feel like eating a biscuit now.

Keep writing, flufff

Oh and, also, if you ever get the time, could you R&R my fanfic "Darkest Night"? Sorry to be asking this, but... I'd really appreciate it! Thank you! :D

10/10 ;D Def. going into favorites, teehee

Author's Response: Thank you for the review flufff!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login