Reading Reviews for For The First Time
  
204 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pottermaniac95 The End

14th August 2013:
I loved this story. I honestly read the whole thing in 24 hours. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hogwarts Varsity Swim Capton September 1st, 2015

23rd June 2013:
Super cure start it was nice to get a feel for all the characters

Author's Response: Thank you! A lot of people seemed to be put off by the first chapter, judging by the fall in reads, so I'd always considered changing it. It's nice to see that you liked it, because I think it's quite nice to have a little history behind the characters :)

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Tia The End

1st May 2013:
This story definitely gave me a roller coaster of emotions. It's stupid really, but you've made these characters so incredibly life-like and real I can't help but feel like I actually know them. Thank you for writing this; really. I skipped my maths homework for it and stayed up until twelve to finish it, so give yourself a pat on the back, alright?

Author's Response: aw, thank you :) it's lovely to hear that you can relate to the characters well - it's always been my biggest fear that they're too cliche, cringe-worthy or just all around unrealistic.

It's nice to hear that readers know them as well as I do :)

I would tell you off for skipping homework - but we've all done and it and I also absolutely hated maths when I had to take it (thank god for for being able to drop it at A-Level!) so instead I'll just enjoy the fact that you put off important school work for my story :) I do hope you got it done in time though - don't want to be responsible for you getting in trouble haha.

thanks for an absolutely lovely review, I'm thrilled you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Julia Potter The End

6th January 2013:
I love you, I love this, I love life. omg perfect.

Author's Response: Awhhh, thank you :) that is very sweet of you, glad to hear you liked it! x

 Report Review

Review #5, by RandomReviewer The Ball

30th November 2012:
I started reading your story only yesterday and I was mesmerized by it. The plot flowed really well. I love the way their friendship turned to hatred and back to love; it was all so cute :) But the long-awaited "I love you" was ruined a bit by the kissing scene with Anabelle, it almost made me scream in anger. Why god, WHY!!
All in all, I love your story, but it would have been better if you removed the last kissing scene, no offense.

Author's Response: 'mesmerized'? Wow, feeling very touched!

But yeah, as this was my first fic it's not exactly the most realistic, after nearly two years or however ridiculously long it's been since I wrote this, I probably wouldn't have put it in since Annelise kind of rocks the 'independent woman' thing.

So such easy forgiveness after James kissed Annabelle probably was a little far-fetched, I'll admit!

Thanks for the review, I'm slowly editing FTFT so I'll have a little think about that scene :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by enchantedx September 1st, 2015

20th October 2012:
Long time ago since I read a HP FanFiction and today I randomly find yours...this chapter seemed good to me, I liked what I was reading. Going to read the next one now. Good writing :D

Author's Response: Aww, good to hear you're back into it! And with mine as well, it's an honour!

Glad to hear you enjoyed it, thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by watchoutfornargles The Ball

15th October 2012:
I liked this a lot :D
Just a small error. You said Naomi instead of Natalie right before James kisses Annabelle.

Author's Response: Oops, thanks for pointing that one out!

I'm slowly (very very slowly) going through and editing the chapters so I'll be sure to fix that one :)

thank you and glad you enjoyed! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by IceCubism The Ball

13th August 2012:
Oh my gosh. You had me there.

I thought my heart was breaking when I read that part where James kissed Annabelle! (There aren't enough exclamation marks in the world for the exclamation I felt).

I was thinking: Nooo, James, please don't break Lise's heart! I know she's been really cold to you in the past but this is not the way to treat her! You're such a jerk! You're supposed to be in love with her, sweet and giving her her happy ending! Not cheat on Lise!

Then I heaved a sigh of relief and let out a breath I didn't know I was holding when I read that James was just trying to make Lise jealous. Sigh.

Dear James, this is honestly not the way to make your girl friend - and love of your life - jealous.

But I was so glad she met her father! I mean, he's been a worse jerk than James - obviously - but I'm so happy for Lise they patched up! Yay! And everyone's happy again (except for Lise until later).

And I love that line (cliche, but that's James' and Lise's romance isn't it? Pardon me, I read ahead before coming back to review. Couldn't resist the temptation.) where Lise's father wanted to kill James for hurting his daughter!

Aw, it's just such a heart-wrenching moment when the father shows his love and stands up for his daughter (LOL).

Anyway, great job on this chapter again! (And I'd love to have an explanation of James' actions in this chapter - ahem, well, the you-know-what incident with Annabelle - in the missing moments story. I really want to know James' feelings at that moment - laugh - and he'd better provide an excellent justification of why he'd want to hurt Lise. Again. Even if it's not intentional.)

Well, thank you again for writing this fantastic story! :) I loved reading it!

Author's Response: WOW. The length of this review. I'm so flattered, omg.

And wow, I'm glad I shocked you, that's what I was aiming for! James is a complicated guy though, which is what makes him such a fab character to write... it's so easy to create a bit of drama with him.

But I'm sure James is blushing right now... he's feeling like a fool now you've put him in his place ;)

Yeah, the whole Lise bumping into her Dad thing was really random, I didn't even plan it but it just sort of snuck into the chapter on it's own accord and I'm glad it did. I feel that a proper Dad is a really important person to have in your life, my Dad really is to me no matter how close I am with my Mum.

But anyway, I totally agree! Cliche, but in a neccessary way :)

And that's a good suggestion! I can't promise I'll write that anytime soon, but I will keep it in mind because I think it would make for an interesting chapter in Extra Time :)

thanks for the lovely review and I hope you check out some of my other fics and enjoy them equally!


 Report Review

Review #9, by IceCubism The Day After

13th August 2012:
This is a wonderful, marvelous, fantastic, amazing story! One of the best I've ever read and the best I've read in a long time. I love the plot and its twists! I love that James and Lise have FINALLY got together! I just hope nothing bad happens after. I mean, they're so perfect together! You're a really talented author and your story was so well-written and emotional that I actually cried when I read the part where James and Lise were arguing! I was planning on reading the entire story, then reviewing the chapters one by one - I couldn't stop reading; it was THIS good - but now the next chapter isn't loading so I just thought I'd review first!

Anyway, I wish Lise would stop being so 'jerk-ish' to James now that they're together and all. She shouldn't have shook him off to talk to Naomi (I know she wanted to console Naomi, BUT!!!)! James is so NICE to her, she should really treat him better. And then James would propose to her and all that...

And then we'll have our happily ever after. Or at least, James and Lise will.

I JUST LOVE HOW LISE HAS SO MUCH NICENESS AND HOW JAMES IS SO SWEET TO HER THAT I CAN'T HELP GUSHING SO MUCH AND WRITING THIS ALL IN CAPS.

Okay, this must be really word-vomit and difficult for you to read so I'll stop here now.

As soon as my internet's up again, I am going to read the last two chapters! (Whoo!)

Thank you for writing this awesome, fabulous story and I'll be looking out for your other stories (bet they're as good as this one!).

Thank you for making my day with your awesome writing! :)

(P.S. Would I sound like melodramatic Alice if I said you practically saved my depressingly boring life with this ray of sunshine story?)

Author's Response: I love the length of your reviews, they're fab!

But seriously, wow those adjectives... you're making me blush with such compliments!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, it's such a nice thing to hear when a reader gets really into the story and finds it addictive... that's all I could ever ask for really!

You're so sweet though, there are definitely authors and fics on this site alone that are much, much better so you're lovely comments are very much appreciated :)

But wow, that's a first! Most people are always against James, it's refreshing to meet a reader that sees Lise's faults too. Lise is a genuinely nice person, but nobody's perfect and especially as she's been so close with James for so long... well, she finds it easy to be cruel because of that I suppose.

But don't worry, happy endings are kind of my thing... there's no doubt the ending will be cliche and fluffy and cute!

Definitely not difficult to read though, I'm really enjoying it! Long reviews are so much better to reply to, you can actually write properly instead of the same old awkward replies and thanks!

Thanks so much for this amazing review, I'm genuinely touched and hope I hear from you again :)

P.S. that is so so sweet, but I'm sure your life isn't that depressingly boring! Keep your chin up sweetie x


 Report Review

Review #10, by Loona The End

9th August 2012:
I loved the ending! I found your story today, and have ignored everything else to read it. Usually, fan fictions are let down in the every last few sentences. THIS IS GOLDEN!! Like, perfect, true and utterly wonderful. Finish another story, please? I'm too impatient to read WIP stories sorry. Though for you, I am tempted to try.

Author's Response: Really? Thank you so much, that's very sweet of you :)

But golden? Seriously... wow. Perfect? Don't make me blush!

But seriously, that is lovely of you. And I do have another story finished, it's a Louis/OC and I wouldn't say it was my best work (it was a bit of a rushed job) but do have a look if you're interested :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by countrymusicfanatic The End

3rd August 2012:
This was amazing! You wrapped everything up lovely and I was actually kind of sad that it was the end although I suppose it's about time Lise got a break from all the dram. Great job!

10/10

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! :) Yeah, I think their happy ending was well deserved, but I'm glad you're sad to see it finish. That means it was worth a read!

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by countrymusicfanatic He Doesn't Care

2nd August 2012:
So good! I really want to know what Naomi has over Lise though. . .

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Yeah, it's an interesting chapter when you get there I promise!


 Report Review

Review #13, by countrymusicfanatic Naomi Smith

2nd August 2012:
UGH! I officially hate Naiomi :/ she's so creepy!

But another great chapter. This story just keeps getting better.

Author's Response: Naomi is truly awful... but most people have a reason and she definitely does...

However, thank you for your loveliness :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by countrymusicfanatic Robert Darcy

2nd August 2012:
The last paragraph is my favorite! James' reaction was funny and I love how she's interested in someone else instead of it being the typical 'in love with my best friend but I can't tell him' story.

10/10

Author's Response: Aww I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Yeah I really didn't want to take that route because a) it's been done a lot and b) I don't think Lise is the type of girl to be like that!

Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by countrymusicfanatic September 1st, 2021

2nd August 2012:
hahaha I just found this story but it's great so far! And I absolutely love Drew :)
10/10

Author's Response: aww thank you :)

Drew is great though, I actually based him on one of my close male friends... think what you will about my choice in friends haha!



 Report Review

Review #16, by xMsFiggx The End

31st July 2012:
This story was really nice! I'm glad things tied up nicely at the end! Really lovely job

Author's Response: thank you :)

I'm a sucker for a happy ending so it was always going to be a nice one!


 Report Review

Review #17, by leeemmaK The End

22nd July 2012:
This story was so good! I almost cried once! Please write another story that's as wonderful as this one! Thanks!

Author's Response: Really? aww thank you, I'm sad for the thought of near-tears but glad that it provoked some emotion haha!

I'll try though, writers block has struck with a vengence for the last few months though :(


 Report Review

Review #18, by HelgasPrincessInConverse A Heartbreaking Moment

21st May 2012:
You're an amazing writer! this chapter had me in tears because I can relate to it so well:'( well done though!xx

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much!

Oh no, I'm sorry to hear you can relate to it, that really isn't a nice thing to have experienced. I hope things are better for you now :)

I liked writing For The First Time because it's so typical teenager, and although I haven't experienced some things first hand, I know a lot of people have and it's really nice for someone who has to say I did it well, so thank you very much for that :)

thanks for reading and reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #19, by PygmyPuffLover The End

18th April 2012:
i just realised that i had never left a review for this story ~ which is evil of me ~ and that you had 199 reviews. i just had to be 200. you dont even get it. i had to be. it would have killed me not to be. so here i am. in all my 200th reviewer glory.

amazing story, i love the whole thing ~ its amazing and youre a fantastic author, and i cant wait to read something else of yours. much love!

ellie :) xx

Author's Response: Aww, that's really sweet of you! Not evil at all, after all, you're the author of my favourite stories on hpff, so really... I'm rather honoured!

And thank you, I am glad that you were 200th! You are entirely worth that reviewer glory, if not only because the number 199 had been driving me absolutely bonkers and I was desperate for that extra review to make it a nice number!

Thank you so much, it's lovely to hear that as there are definitely some bits that even I, the author, didn't much like!

Hope you like my other stuff, it's a bit varied! :)

Thanks again! xx




 Report Review

Review #20, by Fawkes_the_Pheonix Happy New Year!

3rd April 2012:
I know! I have tried to respond to reviews on my phone and it just doesn't let the box to type In appear. I dont know what's wrong. I have an iPhone. Love the story and the chapter. I will read on!
-Fawkes
P.S.- read my fics

Author's Response: Yeah, I do too and iPhone's just don't like review responses obviously!
Anyway, thanks for taking the time to review! I hope you enjoy the rest of it, don't forget to review further chapters, I'm just off 200! ;)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Courtney The Ball

22nd March 2012:
Well, I have to say that your James was a prat who pretty much disrespected her the whole story and didn't deserve her at all!!! Why on earth she forgave him after all he did makes absolutely no sense and she definitely shouldn't ever trust him. And why did she just forgive him and kiss him after he kissed that other girl and didn't even make him explain. I'm sorry to say but I have almost no respect for her or James and don't see how they could possibly have a happy ending after all of this.

Author's Response: Oh, I'm really sorry you think that :(

But, I can take critisim and I do understand your point, however Lise is a lot like me, so that's why I wrote her as a forgiving sort of person, and that's the reasoning behind many of her actions, as I simply asked myself what I would do in her situation.

Her forgiveness is obviously a flaw to you, but to others it's something that shows she's just not perfect, and backs up the cliche, fluffy idea that all Lise wants after all the drama is to put the past behind her and be with the boy she loves.

And as for the explanation, Lise did hear an explanation from James that she found enough of an excuse to forgive him. James is also not perfect, and his main flaws are jealousy and idiocy. Seeing Lise and Robert together again just drove him to idiocy, which is why he kissed Annabelle. But as James explained, Annabelle was (ironically enough) in love with her best friend, and had no interest in James whatsoever.

We all have different opinions, and I do respect yours, and I'm really thankful you spent your time reviewing and giving me your opinon, which is very different to most of my readers, as your critisism really will help me to improve my writing.

After all, this is simply a fanfiction, and a very fluffy one at that, so however unlikely it is that in reality Lise would actually forgive James after all he did, we can all put that behind us and immerse ourselves in the wonderful world that is fiction :)

And as for the happy ending thing, I'm a sucker for a happy ending, I grew up watching Walt Disney Films after all, and so I wasn't about to make the ending sad! (that is one of my flaws, the inability to accept sad reality!)

Anyway, thanks for your review, and I hope that even though you didn't like the fluffy side of the story and the ending, that you did enjoy some parts of it :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by hogwartslivy The End

14th March 2012:
Okay, just finished this amazing story and you have done such an amazing job!!! I waited to comment till just now and I love it so much I legit wanted to cry when they were fighting coz THEY ARE SO PERFECT TOGETHER! Please keep writing coz I LOVED THIS STORY SO MUCH!!

~ hogwartslivy

Author's Response: Thank you! Reviews like this really make me smile :)

I have to say, it feels mean but it genuinely is great when readers say they wanted to cry, because it means I got it right!

And yes, they are perfect... I love James and Lise :)

I have kept writing, I have a missing moments sort of sequel thing for For The First Time, its called Extra Time (please do check it out!) and my new story, Meeting Him (A Louis/OC) :)

thanks for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Hiya The End

26th February 2012:
I think you should have a sequel, maybe in which Lise and James are married with kids. I don't exactly know what the plot could be, but if you do make a sequel, make it awesome, which shouldn't be too hard, considering the work you've put up here. Anyway, love it! Incredible work, awesome plot, very good characters. I'm putting you on my list of favorite non-famous writers. :-)

Author's Response: Awww, honestly, I promise you, I genuinely thought about a sequel for WEEKS, but it's just not going to happen. I can't think up a plot for it to save my life and seeing as I've never had a husband or children, it would be hard to write as I've no experience of what it would be like for Lise. It's a lovely idea, but I can't do it! (not to mention my mind is brimming with new story ideas I HAVE to give some attention before my imagination explodes!)

But thank you very much for your wonderful review, and if you'd like a few extras from For The First Time, please read Extra Time, as it's a sort of gap-filler-inner thing and there will be some snapshots of the future coming soon! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hiya I Don't Trust You

25th February 2012:
I don't hate you, I hate James and/or Annalise and/or Naomi. I'm literally almost in tears (I'm a very sensitive person, as you may have realized). Anyway, as with most amazing stories, I'm addicted. I find myself in my free time taking little peeks at it, reading what I can before I have to do my other slightly more important things.

Author's Response: Aww, please don't cry over my characters' stupidity! And haha, thank you, I am honestly honoured you're taking the time to read this (and getting addicted to it!) when you're busy... I can understand this as I have a lot of work I should be doing and tend to procrasinate and spend all of my time on hpff... Anyway, thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by leakycalderin The End

16th February 2012:
Congrats on finishing your first full story! (thats one more than me). I really enjoyed reading it and I think you did a great job throughout the whole novel. I'll check out your one shots; I'm curious to see the missing moments!

Author's Response: Haha, I was actually very proud of myself! (and you'll get there soon!)

Thanks so much, I worked hard and it's very nice to appriciated :)

And please do! That's what their there for after all! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>