Reading Reviews for Evolution
  
292 Reviews Found

Review #1, by whisky Green Shoots

3rd September 2014:
I'm counting on you to uphold your word this is unbelievable!!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by whisky The Winner Takes it All?

2nd September 2014:
I was so excited to see malfoy being good...kind of upset by this

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jonia Commemoration Day

18th July 2014:
Thank you! Snape so rarely gets his due in 19 year stories! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by headoverharry73 Green Shoots

30th June 2014:
Phew.so glad you're back!!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Hermes_Thrice_Great Green Shoots

29th June 2014:
Welcome back and thank you for posting. As usual, although I have not reviewed as often as I ought, i.e., every chapter, this chapter maintains psychological verisimilitude and the flavor of the Potterverse. I eagerly await the next chapter, which I'm sure will be coming sooner than 10 or so months. Your story is the major reason why I check this site for updates every few days, and I was very joyful to see this chapter. If this story has had a major weakness, in my opinion, it was your choice of Ginny's rebound beau as Victor Krum. While the story of how you brought them together was good, I could not help but feel that it was too much of a 'shoehorn' of a canon character into your story. (Yes, you have the plausible in from Krum's remarks at the Weasley-Delacour wedding, but I felt an original character perhaps could have been better by being a larger contrast to Harry. Harry and Victor, after all, as Triwizard Cup participants, have much in common.) That's just my two cents, but despite my reservations, the story is still A+. So, let me end this review by just saying, Thank you, and congratulations on your wedding.

 Report Review

Review #6, by skate9001 Commemoration Day

20th June 2014:
I only found one thing wrong with this chapter. Harry has been in the staff room twice before- book 2, when he and Ron overhear that Ginny is the one taken to the chamber, and book 3, when they have the boggart DADA class with Lupin

 Report Review

Review #7, by David Green Shoots

16th June 2014:
I hope your next update won't be one year! I just binge read this whole novel from the beginning and I'm itching for more!

 Report Review

Review #8, by David The New Normal

16th June 2014:
I've only recently stumbled upon your novel, and it's amazing! I'm addicted, I have been binge reading for the past couple days. I love how the story proceeding, keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #9, by kayt Green Shoots

14th June 2014:
I was so pleased to see an update that I only just managed to restrain myself from doing a happy dance, since I was sneakily checking the site at work. Read it during lunchbreak and tried to review but it failed to post. S o I'll try again as it was such a good chapter. I liked the touch of humour added with Krum and 'Neevyule' and that Ron is blossoming and will never again be overshadowed by Harry, but especially liked how you handled Harry's beginning to get himself sorted out. It was good that this wasn't miraculously quick, but hard work and a long haul. I'm already itching for more from you, when you have the time.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Alnewburg Green Shoots

13th June 2014:
I absolutely love this story, please please do continue posting! Also even though it may be a while off, would you consider doing a further novel of after the "19 years later"? The curiosity is killing me!
Thank you for posting this story reading it has brightened up a tough time in my life!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Aurorofthelight Green Shoots

12th June 2014:
Glory be!!! Finally a new chapter for this wonderful story! I had given it up for lost! I hope you update soon and finish it! This is just to great to go without an ending!

 Report Review

Review #12, by headoverharry73 Intervention

20th April 2014:
Are you out there somewhere? Please post another chapter soon.I'm dying for an update! I check in about one a week. I'm not giving up on you. :) We all love your story so much. Hope to hear from you soon. xoxoxo

 Report Review

Review #13, by Amy Intervention

11th March 2014:
Me again! Sorry, sorry. I forgot one point. After his own childhood, there is no way Harry would not meet Teddy for 2.5 years. That is simply not possible.

And yes, I agree with another reviewer that it is not the right time to bring them together. Harry needs to become independent and maybe even experience a small romance on the side. Ginny should also feel the angst. (I'm mean that way!)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Amy Intervention

11th March 2014:
I barely took 3 days to go through this entire story. It is very well written and very clean. Your writing style is admirable and your thoughts are clear. It is unusual for fanfiction writers to write such compelling, cohesive stories that use show instead of tell. Wow!

But yes, I do have a bone to pick. Harry seems out of character in your story and no I don't mean the anger and the avoidance. With those you are spot on!

But the OOCness is seen in two ways. One it is very apparent that your favorite character is Ron. Ron is an admirable character but he is not Harry, he never had the same talent or the ability to notice things. He was quicker to anger and easily provoked. In your auror training scenes, the ones that were written before Ben's death, he seems equal to Harry. Neither of them seemed to have their own unique traits. Strategy was Ron's when he was put in charge of making plans and noticing minute details was Harry's. You have Ron noticing at par and even better than Harry. This is not something that is likely.

Another thing was Harry's quick assumption that Ginny was "with" Malfoy. Oh you were right, he would think it. But he wouldn't barge in. He would taunt her and avoid the issue until it bursts out of him eventually. That eventually would happen only when Ginny pushed him to explain his aloofness. Still, what's done is done, eh? Ginny was very in-character though, throughout. Hermione is a bit more mellow. Originally, Hermione would insist on a long engagement because she wants to establish a career etc before they set a date etc.

Anyway, good story. I just hope you write Harry better, especially on the skill front. Ron never had the same drive and wouldn't have it anyway - he never suffered like Harry did, never went through the entire miserable life where observation kept him fed and whole. Harry developed these skills at the Dursleys where he had to depend on them to look out for Dudley's gang and even at home. Ron was happy, he has no need for any observation or tact. Harry had and he has both tact and power of observation. In fact, Ron's new spell was more Harry than Ron. The only place he was in cannon was when his reaction to Harry after the Malfoy incident and his thawing towards Harry. Also, his indecision about proposing after hearing the romantic gesture was also very cannon. I hope you put things back on track, you have the ability and the talent. I look forward to the next update.

I hope you don't mind me saying all this but this is slowing going too OOC.

 Report Review

Review #15, by CambAngst The Things We Do For Love

15th February 2014:
Hi, there! The prompt for today in the Gryffindor February Reviewing Challenge was to review a story featuring my "one true pairing." And even though my OTP is kind of on the outs with one another at this point in the story, they're still right at the center of things.

Oh, poor Ginny! I know she feels terribly about turning Viktor down, but at the same time her heart just isn't it it.

Again, the comparison with Harry was stark. A long cherished image flashed through Ginnyís mind, one in which she stood in a beautiful dress, surrounded by everyone she cared about, becoming Mrs Potter. Even now, the thought made her heart beat faster. How can I possibly marry someone who doesnít make me feel that way? And how can I possibly explain all this to Viktor? -- How indeed? I love that it's thoughts of Harry still that help her to determine what it is that she really wants -- and doesn't want -- out of life.

"But Ginevra, please know this. I do, and alvays vill, hold you in the highest regard." -- There was something almost comical about this line. It says a lot, I think, about Viktor's "love" for Ginny. It's just not what she's been searching for, or what she had with Harry. Yes, I can almost feel the two of them drawing nearer...

You did a great job with the dialog between the Death Eaters. You have the ambitious Lestrange, the cautious Rosier and the cruel, bloodthirsty Selwyn, each playing his role in the conversation. I'm really glad that Lestrange's opinion carried the day. Now what are they going to do with a House Elf?

Ah, yes, Goodly is a messenger. I thought you did a really good job of writing the poor, terrified house elf. She lives with a truly evil master who lacks even the modicum of refinement that probably kept the Malfoys from treating Dobby even worse than the did. Hermione led the poor little thing along wonderfully, first building a rapport and then helping the little creature to do what she probably wanted to do anyway. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention Kreacher. He was a brilliant defender of his master's home!

I remember working through the scene in Skirtgill Cottage, and I think it turned out brilliantly. Hermione's arrival pushed Ron into action. Seeing her in danger led him to be something more than he thought he could be, and that's part of what true love really means. Delivering for the person who matters most when the circumstances are most dire.

The modified stunning spell turned out really well in the final version. It was such a great mental image, very vivid and full of energy.

And then the proposal... gah! No, it certainly wasn't what he had planned. No, it wasn't romantic in the classic sense. But it came at a moment where each of them had just had their love for the other reinforced in perhaps the most dramatic way possible. That was the real beauty of the moment.

Excellent job! I really need to get back into the habit of reading and reviewing your posted chapters!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Grant Intervention

30th January 2014:
Well I certainly hope you get married and enjoy your honeymoon. I can't wait to read more though. I'll be an expectant fan, not so patiently waiting for the rest of the story. I'm sure theres lots more where this came from!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Hena Intervention

5th January 2014:
This story is so incredible and I can't help but feel exactly how the character's are feeling too. It broke my heart reading about Harry! Please include some Ginny and Harry soon.. I am completely hooked to this story :-). I hope to read the next chapter very soon, I cannot wait for it to be uploaded!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Infinityx Reunion

30th December 2013:
Hi there! I'm here for the fourth day of 12 days of reviewing challenge.

I love the way you've written this chapter. It's interesting to see that the setting is the very next day after the battle. You've covered all the main aspects in this chapter really well and it has a good flow to it.

I love all the scenes between Ron and Hermione as well as those between Harry and Ginny. There are some intense going on there and you've captured them really well.

The whole confusion that Harry feels in the morning is brilliant. He's just the type to have a million thoughts going through his head at once and I love the way you described all of that.

I do feel there should have been a greater emphasis on the grief that everyone feels, as well as the guilt within Harry. I really like Ginny's personality in this chapter though and it really sets the feel for the coming ones.

Overall, I think it was a really great start, very well written. :)

Cheers,
Erin.

 Report Review

Review #19, by queenwombat Intervention

17th October 2013:
Love this chapter, i think we were all waiting for this day. I would really appreciate an update but i understand how life can get crazy so just try your best k

 Report Review

Review #20, by queenwombat Intervention

22nd September 2013:
i will never give up on this story i love it more than anything it one of my all time ginny/harry fics ever

 Report Review

Review #21, by PotterGirl94 Intervention

20th September 2013:
Thank. God. Finally! But this chapter truly was amazing. Loved it to pieces. Its great that Harry is finally getting his life back together. And I am so happy for Ron and Hermione! Ron has always been slightly overshadowed - its great to see him shining for once.

Although, at this moment, I don't actually want to see Harry and Ginny together. I understand why readers are desperately waiting for them to come together but I personally feel that this is not the right time. I mean, Harry has only just started seeing sense. And I am a bit angry at Ginny for enjoying life when Harry was in such a bad shape. I think Harry to should take some time to be single again, put himself in the line of fire and just make sure he does everything he can to make amends for his recent behavior. I want to see a bit of the old Harry, you know? The one who would gladly die for his friends.

And I know I am mean - but I really wanna see Ginny suffer a bit!

Anyway, those are just my thoughts. I cannot wait to see what you have in waiting!

As for your writing, I love the attention to detail. After all, it is the small things which make a good story!

Congratulations!! You really must be busy with your wedding in a month. I really appreciate that that you still took the time to update :)

And while I understand why the next chapter may be delayed, frankly, it hurts to wait for it! post it as soon as you can :)

PotterGirl94

 Report Review

Review #22, by Phillip Intervention

19th September 2013:
Get. Harry. And. Ginny. Back. Together. Pronto.

 Report Review

Review #23, by headoverharry73 Intervention

18th September 2013:
Yea! You're back!! :) Congratulations once again on a great chapter. This made my day. I love your creativity and writing style. Everything flows so beautifully and really paints a picture. All of your chapters are well worth the wait. :)

All the best wishes on your wedding next month. You deserve all the happiness in the world for sharing your gift of writing with all of us. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Aurorofthelight Intervention

18th September 2013:
Thank goodness for a new chapter!! I was beginning to think you had given up plus I was having bad withdrawal symptoms! This is such a great story and this was a great chapter! Thanks for sticking to it!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by Amanda1226 The Things We Do For Love

29th August 2013:
I love your story! I have re-read it twice now while waiting for an update :) SOOO excited for the next chapter! Your creativity is fantastic and so true to the characters, and your writing style flows so well... Please please please update soon!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>