Reading Reviews for Reminders
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HarrietHopkirk Reminders

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This is amazing and wonderful and gorgeous! I really enjoyed reading this. I've never really thought about Lavender and Seamus as a couple, but this depiction of them is beautiful.

For something so short, you conveyed a lot of emotion and backstory. Your writing style is almost poetic, and your sentence structure and word choice is really good. The opening description of Lavender was really nice: She reminded him of what it was to be young; of an English summer spent in sun flooded cottages listening to the Quidditch, of the Muggle music she was so fond of. She reminded him of neon colored copies of Witch Weekly strewn on the floor, of mascara wands and pink lipstick. She reminded him of tentative kisses and the softness of her hand against his. Lavender reminded him of a setting sky, a myriad of colors, bleeding into one another with their beauty. The fact you used 'mascara wand' just made a more mundane thing seem more magical, or am I being stupid?!

It's moving that Lavender cannot dress in front of Seamus because of her scars - her whole attack and subsequent feels was handled really well. It was beautiful that Lav and Seamus found each other - I feel so hopeful and it's so romantic but not overly so and yayyy lovely writing!

Favoriting! A beautiful little story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by LilyFire Reminders

22nd December 2011:
MERRY CHRISTMAS! I'm your Secret Santa on TGS :) And so, here is part of your present! :D Now, onto the review. :P

You met your goal. It was very poetic. Was this the second part to Grace? I can see it being that, even if it wasn't. Your writing is so great, it really pulls the reader in. And this story was great too. I don't know if I had a favorite part. I like how you compared them, so seemingly different, but when looked at, perfect for each other. It was another great piece.
~Lily

 Report Review

Review #3, by AC_rules Reminders

4th December 2011:
Hello there,

First off I love all the imagery you've used here - its all so beautifully done and precise, so serious kudos for that. There was so much of it too, but not in an overwhelming sort of way... just a really nice sort of way that you only really get with one-shots.

I like the pairing although I'd never really thought of it before and I like the way Lavender isn't potrayed as something she's not... and you stayed pretty true to the books too which was great :)

The repition was good too and all together I really enjoyed it

-Ac

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by The Quiet Girl Reminders

30th September 2011:
This story was peaceful, calm. Again, you provided a lot of imagery for the reader to digest. This was obviously taken place after the seventh book (and I'm glad she's still alive despite DH-II). What else can I say? I don't want to repeat myself, but I really enjoy the flow you have in your stories. Great job.

And in case you read from newest to oldest, Happy QTR Birthday Exchange!

Author's Response: Thank you! To be quiet honest, I've never really had this many reviews at once so I'm running out of things to say, but really, I wasn't expecting this at all so I really appreciate it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by tangledconstellations Reminders

28th September 2011:
This is the loveliest in the universe, for true. So, so poetic and beautiful.

I love every description in this, every sentence. I adore one-shots, because you don't have to include too much movement or dialogue. They're just snippets of life, and this one was just...wow. Really lovely. I don't quite know what else to say, because I feel like I can't critique it at all! It was just beautiful. It's a pairing that's never really drifted across my mind, to be honest. And I love that they're minor characters, but in this they're so so major. Nothing else matters except them. The other lovers are just that, and you really capture the idea of oneness, yet still being separate, so well.

There were little things about this that I thought were really cute, like the numbers of freckles and eyelashes. It's quite a boyish thing to do, to count and add up and think of things in a manageable way. It was super cute too though. Your use of language too is really impressive, because I felt as though every sentence was fresh and bright, and nothing was overused at all. It was just really, really pretty, and you've done such a brilliant job at coaxing your muse out of its hiding place :)

The imagery in this too was lovely. The detail in the face and body, the starry imagery, the idea of emotional scars and physical ones too - it was remarkably done - very unique and very very effective. The mood was simply darling, and really emotional and delicate. Thank you for requesting a review for this, because I thought it was really lovely. :) Laura xxx

Author's Response: Ugh, Laura, I have no idea what to say to this review! Only that it surely isn't the loveliest, although the compliment is appreciated.

The bit about oneness, that is probably one of the nicest compliments I've ever gotten on this piece in particular :) I never saw it like that while I was writing it but I think that's the elusive quality that people try to find when they write romance.

It is, isn't it? Which, counting eyelashes and freckles, seems quite girly, but for me, it's always a boy doing it. I'm glad you felt the language was varied ^__^ That's something I do work really hard on in writing.

Thank you so much for your sweet review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Mutchiie Reminders

14th September 2011:
No other words could describe this except beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Sometimes less really is more, and this review is a perfect example of that.

 Report Review

Review #7, by FoundriaPenguin Reminders

10th September 2011:
Nisha! :D

Never read any of your stuff before, so when I saw you posted in the review battle I thought I'd jump at my chance. And HOLY MUFFINS, GIRL. The description was lovely! One of my favorite lines in this story (there are many) is "of an English summer spent in sun flooded cottages.." sun flooded. that is love ♥

THE METAPHORS - the sand and the sea, "live in the innermost corners of her smile." the similes - "the scar, pink and jagged, risen from her skin like the Braille of warfare," ahhh. You have such a good way with words! SO CREATIVE.

If you couldn't tell already, I really enjoyed this xD MAYHAP I SHALL READ MORE OF YOUR STUFF LATER~ you write in such a nice, warmth-from-the-fire way. obviously my analogies are not half so creative and wonderful as yours :P I SHALL STRIVE TO BE LIKE YOU IN THE FUTURE.

--jordan ♥

Author's Response: E hi Jordan!

I don't think I've read any of your stuff either. Putting it on my mental, to-read list and stashing it away for another day.

Adjkhjfg you're flattering me too much! I am speechless. I am really not that creative, but I am happy I am warmth-from-the-fire rather than soot-from-the-fireplace.

Nonsense, I shall strive to be like you, Ms. QTR Editor! Teehee.

Thanks for the lovely review, Jordan ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MajiKat Reminders

6th September 2011:
hey hunny, here to review from TGS

WOW

You wanted to know if you handled the mood okay - well, you did. this is beautiful. i was sucked in from the very start. i always tell people i'm not a romantic but this made me smile, and i think this sort of romance-writing is what i like - poetic without being gushy, real but almost hyperreal at the same time. this was a lovely piece to read!

I love that there is no direct speech - it would have broken this piece, destroyed the poetry of it so i am really glad you did not throw in a line or two of dialogue! your descriptive language is wonderful - it is never too much and it is always just what is necessary to convey mood or create atmosphere.

this is my fav line: She was the ebb and flow, but Seamus was always the sand that she burst upon.

simply beautiful. i really loved this - thank you for requesting it.
Kate xx

Author's Response: This is embarrassing to admit, but I am totally starstruck by your two reviews. I mean, I know I requested this one, but still. Flailing all over the place.

I'm so glad that you think so. I wanted to make it romantic but not saccharine. I am also not a romantic in the slightest - I think of myself as too practical to be swept up in grand stories of romance. I like more subtle things.

I would not have even known what text to put in this piece, to be honest! I'm so happy you thought it wasn't overdone in terms of language and imagery, as that was exactly what I was aiming for!

Thank you so much for your review, Kate. Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by TheSilverKey Reminders

5th September 2011:
Loved this.

So beautifully descriptive and real.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad. Also, thanks for the author fave! Completely made my day ♥

 Report Review

Review #10, by NaidatheRavenclaw Reminders

3rd September 2011:
This was adorable!

Seamus/Lavender is one of those quirky little ships that I don't see very often, but I've always pictured them together :P You did an excellent job of portaying that, and I like how you brought in that they both had scars. I could definitely see Seamus falling for her, and the way you described Lavender made her seem more mature, yet still the same girl underneath.

I loved the similes and metaphors you weaved through this! I'm typically not a huge fan of really poetic descriptions of girls, but you not only described Lavender's beauty, but also the ugly parts of her that Seamus loved anyway. And the imagery, which can sometimes be tacky, was pulled off perfectly.

It was a lovely, fluffy one shot!
-Naida

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Naida! I've always had a soft spot for the ship, as well as Dean/Parvati (though that one's a bit flexible, still! I'd love to write a piece with them.)

I do think war changes everyone, but a near-death experience changes your entire life and how you go about your days, but I think your nature will always be the same deep down inside. So when I write Lavender, that's what I try to do. Make her the same girl, but add more layers. I'm very different from say, five years ago, but I think there's still some of that person in everything I do.

I'm glad I handled the imagery and things like that well :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by GubraithianFire Reminders

21st August 2011:
And then there was the scar, pink and jagged, risen from her skin like the Braille of warfare, floating in a body of milky-white.

I really shouldn't have to explain why I adore this fic (and you, by extension) after quoting the above. BRAILLE OF WARFARE. I mean, really. Descriptions and I tend not to like each other too much because I have a habit of using the same comparisons and metaphors across the board. But then something like that line comes up and I just die because it's so beautiful, and it hits its mark so well, and it's succinct but stunning and blargh, Nisha, how do people even write like this. I am not worthy I am not worthy I am not worthy~

And even though I'm not worthy, I'm still going to ramble because that's just how I do. Anyway. You've been around a long time, so I'm sure you know that these sort of romantic vignettes aren't rare. So when I see those types of things, it's not the emotions that I'm paying attention to, it's the way they are conveyed. I think the general vibe this particular ficlet gives off isn't anything groundbreaking, but it's just done so delicately and so beautifully and braille of warfare that I can't help but fall in love a little with Seamus and Lavender. It's not necessarily their love, it's the way you described their love that made me fall in love with this. Of course, giving this treatment to Seamus and Lavender also makes me happy, since they're such unappreciated characters in fanon, but really, this was done so impeccably that it almost doesn't matter who it's about. And I love finding things that make me feel that way.

ALL OF THE ♥♥♥ FOR YOU, MY LOVE

Author's Response: I need a minute to compose myself, as you are THE Gubby. You're an actual legend.

K, minute over. I'm glad you all like that bit so much, for me it was just one of those things that just came out. And please, I'm the one that's not worthy.

Still, super honored about everything you said here. Like, I-think-I-may-have-reached-my-peak honored. Thank you so much loffly ♥ ♥



 Report Review

Review #12, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme Reminders

21st August 2011:
Urgh.

Literally all I actually have to say to you. Only, well, I can't leave it at that because it makes it sound like a flame. Which it isn't. At all.

You've even made me forget how to punctuate properly. Words are all jumbling up in my head and hitting each other because they're so jealous that they don't come as beautifully and brilliantly as this. Everything was so vivid. It's so short but I felt like I knew their entire story.

I mean, from the moment that Gubby posted that excerpt, I knew this would be good. I'm terribly guilty of not having read anything of yours yet (I think...?) but now I feel I have to spend a day devoted to devouring it all (I say these things and then forget. Feel free to remind me).

I'm kind of rambling because words are just...not coming to me at all at the minute. It's just a big string of the best adjectives I can bring to mind. If this is you getting back into the swing of things, I'm almost scared to read something of yours when you're in full writing flow. It might kill me.

Honestly, Nisha, it's gorgeous. The absolute definition of the word. I can't pull out any one line because I'll quote the entire thing.

Love love love love loooveee.


xx

Author's Response: Rachel, I don't even know how to respond to this. Such a sweet review. Thank you so much. I'm so beyond flattered, especially because I enjoy your writing quite a lot! And my full writing flow is nothing special, so no death allowed! :P

Thanks so much for the review, loff ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemorefic Reminders

21st August 2011:
NIISHA this is so beautiful ;_; I don't even know where to begin. Although the Braille quote is a good place. Whenever someone finds a new way to describe something, I get chills but this is like asfhjk. It's that terrifyingly good.

I adore simple pieces. I sort of sunk into to every touch and detail. The freckles and fluidity and romance taking light steps from one moment to the other. And I love how it just is and nothing more.

gaaah ♥

Author's Response: Adfjdfhg this review made me so happy. Thank you so much loff. Compliments like that mean a lot coming from you, because as you know, I've got a super high opinion of your work. Eeee thanks again ^___^

 Report Review

Review #14, by ohtasha Reminders

21st August 2011:
This was a sweet story; I've never liked Lavender but I'd like to think that she changed a lot after the last battle and I think you've conveyed that.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad I was able to portray that accurately :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by MyMyMiss Reminders

21st August 2011:
Nawww ♥ I love this!!! This is amazing!

Of course Seamus is my favourite Character, and I would love to Marry Devon one day, but meh, Lavendar can be his in this little one shot ^.^ This was actually a great read ^.^

I have stalked this page for a while now, every since you said it was in the queue than Bam it was here and I was like whoa, first review oh yeah, oh yeah.

The poetry side of it was good also, i'm not much of a poet but I could pick up where you placed things and where it accsoanially ryhmed :D
It was really good ♥ xx

~Karni. xx

Author's Response: Thanks Karni! I'm glad a Seamus fan like yourself enjoyed it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login