Reading Reviews for The Left Side of Tomorrow
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MissesWeasley123 The Left Side of Tomorrow

4th January 2014:
Hello, here for day 9 of the 12 Days of Reviewing! And may I say that this is brilliant. I don't think I have you favourited as an author, and am now questioning why. I have to change that, because the way you write is amazing.

Right, favourited. Now, onward:

So, whoa. This is breathtakingly amazing. That banner though. Tom Hiddleston and the actress for Minerva... ah. So pretty. But I'll talk about your writing. The way you write is like butter. So smooth, so slippery like Tom was slipping away from Minerva. This was chilling.

Minerva was so well done. The fact that she knew he was wrong but she loved him but he was already gone too far away from her. That, I think that was heartbreaking.

This line:

His fingers tighten.

That killed me. He.. he loves her too.. just not as much to give it up.. but it's there, the love, if only just. It made my heart ache and even as I touch about it it's hurting me because that was so tough. God, ugh.

Such amazing writing as always. Your stories manage to leave a great mark. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for stopping by to read and review! And thank you even more for the lovely compliments! ^_^

It's wonderful to hear that you like this portrayal of Tom and Minerva. Tom definitely is slippery, his words always meaning more than one thing at once, evading every question or insinuation.

What you've mentioned about Minerva is the aspect of this ship I enjoy writing most - her recognition that there's something wrong with him, something that can never change or be changed, and she has to let him slip away because of it. She'll never compromise, and she shouldn't have to.

I wouldn't say that Tom loves her, but he does see that he's losing something and he hates losing. So what he's expressing there is actually anger and frustration that she's resisting him.

Thank you again! It's always lovely to hear from you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by theblacksisters The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th October 2013:
Interesting-I'll have to read some more of this pairing. tell me, am I missing out on something by not?

Author's Response: It's worthwhile to look up other Tom/Minerva stories, especially since you like Horror/Dark. There are a lot of quality fics of this ship on HPFF, so give them a try. This one of mine is rather tame in comparison to others.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarik The Left Side of Tomorrow

21st April 2013:
Oh my gosh, Susan. Noo. Nooo. I am officially addicted to Tom/Minerva thanks to this story. NO. It isn't a good ship to be addicted to, because it's Tom Riddle and that means angst and pain and that gnawing feeling of lost potential and the overwhelming improbability of a happy ending of any kind :(((

Arrgh. OK. On a more serious note, this is a stunning piece of writing. There's that whole polarised conversation between Tom and Minerva, but it's also an intricate character study of the both of them, or at least of Tom, through Minerva's eyes, and how Minerva is defined in relation to him. Sorry if I'm not making sense; it's half past two in the morning.

There are just so many things packed into this story. First, there's Minerva. Goodness, I love her, or at least I love the way you've written her. You've put her together with such care and such detail. She's stern stuff, and while she hasn't quite grown into her older self as deputy headmistress of Hogwarts, you can see the path she'll take, her future mapped before her. Because Minerva for all her vulnerability and for her temptations and for all her attraction to Tom, is unswerving. She believes in absolutes; she has a strong moral compass, and above all, she displays a compassion and understanding and clarity of thought that is startling and beautiful and so admirable. Wait...what am I talking about? I love the little details you reveal about her - her strong Quidditch hands, the gold-rimmed spectacles, the tartan dressing gown, the jarring bones, the way she always keeps promises - these are the right sort of details; they're completely Minerva. Your characterisation of her is just akjhaiusfhas outstanding. ♥

And then there's Tom, who has always lived in the grey realms, and who may be just a little too close to the edge of The Dark Side - in fact he's probably three-quarters into embracing this increasingly amoral side of him, if he hasn't already done so. Already, there are clear signs of his arrogance and his cruelty and his seductiveness, which almost works on Minerva - almost. And Tom and Minerva together - oh my goodness. There's something so disturbing, so shockingly intimate between them, and that moment when he lifts his cold fingers to her chin just froze my blood with its awful intimacy. They're certainly alike in so many ways - brilliance, physical appearance (Black hair, black eyes, straight noses, carved cheekbones, marble skin.) - and I like to think that they're pretty much equal on the intelligence level (though Tom will never admit this, and Minerva will see through him and his condescension toward her). But despite all their similarities, like Cathy and Heathcliff, there's just so much discordance between the two; they're both such strong characters that they can never really get along without one compromising his or herself. Tom is simply too self-absorbed and concerned with power. Minerva is too compassionate, too clear.

I really love the symbolism within the story - the sun and the mountain. It's an extremely striking image, and it frames the two of them throughout the story, really accentuating their characters. Tom, the brilliant sun, the rising star who will not stagnate, who will peak (but also sink). And Minerva, the rock, the steadfast one. She is the one who will live to to see the end of the day (the day which, he has created). Sorry. I know I'm overanalysing things :P I just...your characters, Susan! They're so unbelievably fascinating. But despite all that about the symbolism, there are also some lovely inversions - like how Tom, spiralling into his darker side, is represented by the light. It may be a violent, blood-coloured sort of light, but it's still light. And Minerva, despite all her inherent goodness is the one who physically shrinks and remains in the shadows. It's a very lovely inversion of the classic good & evil light & dark concepts.

And of course there's the war outside - there's Grindelwald, and I suppose the Muggle world will be heading into the Second World War by now. With so much conflict and turmoil in the backdrop of their lives, it's no wonder that there's so much disharmony between Tom and Minerva.

Anyway, I'm not sure if this review made sense; it's past 3am now. But I just loved this fic. It's beautiful and heartbreaking and now I have to go trawling through the archives frantically looking for more Tom/Minerva stories a;osidja;kjlaskjfhauiuoasf (and it's all your fault). Favourited. You're an amazing writer and I hope you know that.

-teh

Author's Response: I don't know if I can manage a response to this review, but I'll try. Oh yes. It's an incredible review, not to mention that it was a surprise to have received it - thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story in this much detail. ^_^

No, you're making sense. Because the narrative is tied to Minerva's consciousness, we see Tom Riddle through her eyes - and from this style of narration (as with first person) you can learn as much about the "teller" as about their subject. The way she describes him reveals her logic and skepticism - she doesn't blindly admire him, but instead pays close attention to all of the little things. This is why Riddle likes her, or is at least interested in her because unlike many others in the school, she questions his image and, to a small degree, sees past it. What she sees in him and how she sees it allow one to, in turn, see her - so this is how she can be defined in relation to Riddle. Hopefully this is what you meant.

What I think I like best about writing Minerva is showing how she is balanced between Ravenclaw and Gryffindor, how she has this very left-brain way of understanding the world through logic and structure, yet there's this other side to her, rebellious and tartan-loving. :P I loved it in the books how she would enforce the rules, but only to a point, only when they actually made sense, and it takes a unique mind to be able to navigate that kind of moral/ethical/logical line. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed her characterization in this story - I'm glad that my idea of her still fits into canon because when one writes a character often, there's a lot of potential for that character to change and become more of one's own. But I really like to hear that she's still the McGonagall from the books (and that my headcanon hasn't taken over because that's a constant worry for me now that I'm moving toward writing more OF).

Oooh, your reading of Riddle! It's perfect! Your way of comparing the two characters is exactly what I was hoping emphasize - it's interesting how similar they might be in appearance, and if we extend it further, how JKR writes about these rather pale, dark-haired misfits who end up playing powerful roles in wizarding history. And you're very right that Minerva and Riddle could never work together because, whatever their similarities, their differences are on too fundamental a level. They could never be resolved.

You're not overanalyzing the characters - the whole mountain, sun thing did work out in that way. I can't remember if I intended it to mean that, but certainly by the time I got to the end of the story, the symbolism fit together in a way I couldn't resist highlighting in that last paragraph. It's wonderful that you liked it! I was worried that to use such symbolism was going overboard. That's partially why I used that inversion of Riddle-light and Minerva-shadows because it's not the obvious way of representing them - the darkness doesn't have to be associated with evil because it's also something that can be comforting, like shade, or like for the ancient Egyptians, black was synonymous with life and rebirth. Ack, there's so much one can do with these kind of things, and it's always exciting to explore them.

Thank you, thank you for this glorious review! It's fantastic to hear from you about this story, and even better that you've enjoyed it! This response feels inadequate, and I just want you to know that it was a great treat to receive this feedback from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #4, by academica The Left Side of Tomorrow

24th February 2013:
Hi Susan! I was in a reviewing mood and decided to stop by and check this out. I love the banner :)

The imagery here is so powerful. I love your seemingly accidental juxtaposition of Minerva's sunrise and Tom's figurative and literal sunset. It was nice how you kept referring back to it--for example, when you mentioned pools of blood as red as the sunrise. I felt really bathed in color the whole time I was reading this, and it was very helpful for me visually, trying to picture younger versions of Tom and Minerva interacting.

I like your portrayal of Minerva a lot. Your Tom is powerful, very nested in his canon characterization, but I feel like his presence most serves to highlight hers. She reminds me a lot of a Ravenclaw, trying to logic him out of the path he's heading down. In fact, I think she shares the same weaknesses during arguments that I do--I often can't resist pointing out the flaws in the other person's point, and it tends to get me in trouble if I don't check it emotionally or adequately assess the function of my words. She seems to be trying to keep to it purposefully to distance herself sentimentally from him, but it's like it only drives them further apart.

This was really lovely. I see why you like the ship!

♥ Amanda

Author's Response: Amanda! Thank you very much for this review! It was a great surprise to see it, and I'm very glad that you enjoyed this story. :D

It's one I really enjoyed writing, especially because of the imagery and the strength of the colours. The two characters are faded, almost monochromatic compared with the sunrise - it gives them colour, dying them red and gold. The story is a painting, with two shadows framed by the doorway against the thick oil shades of the sky. For one-shots, I like to keep to a strict theme or style - for this one, everything stems from the sunrise and its colour, particularly that shade of bloody red. It's not only an obvious colour to represent the bloodshed that Tom Riddle instigates, but it's also the colour of Gryffindor. It can't be a noble colour in one context and an evil colour in another, and in the story, both characters struggle with the good/evil binary. It's not clear-cut, even for Tom Riddle.

I really like what you said about Tom's presence highlighting Minerva's characterization. I'd never thought of it that way before, but now that I have it in mind, it perfectly fits the way I've been writing this ship. In each case, Minerva's interactions with Riddle push her toward a new stage of development - she has to enforce her autonomy and make a decision about who she could be. On one level, he's a tempter offering the apple of knowledge. On another, he is someone she could help, perhaps even save. But her third choice - the one she ultimately chooses - is to abandon him completely. It's the one he would also choose, interestingly enough because they both value their own independence and spirit, and they couldn't give either up to anyone.

Thank you again for the fantastic review! You've definitely brightened up my day! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by ~IceCubism The Left Side of Tomorrow

2nd February 2013:
Amazing piece of writing. I would say more, but I think perfection speaks for itself. :D

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you! It's very kind of you to say so! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed this story. :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by javct The Left Side of Tomorrow

27th September 2012:
I had to be honest, I had a small freakout when I saw that you wrote Tom/Minerva stories!

This story is just brilliant! I cannot find any fault in this story; I love how you have managed to keep Tom in characterisation (we only saw a snippet of him in CoS as a boy) and I adore the way that you wrote this. I like how you haven't made Tom a jerk but you also haven't made him a Prince Charming or the Knight In Black Armour. I also adored the way that you wrote Minerva -- she seemed completely in character, especially in the way that she defended Dumbledore and knew that, deep down, Tom was dangerous.

You have managed to capture their relationship (or would-be-relationship) perfectly.

Good luck in your future writing endeavours!
Jasmine, x

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing this story! :D I wondered if you'd find my Tom/Minervas - this is my second. Yours have been on my to-read list, and I look forward to being able to read them. It's always a treat to find another supporter of this ship. :D

You've hit the nail on the head in your discussion of Tom - I wanted to achieve that middle ground between the two major characterizations of him as either evil cad or darkly romantic hero (like Heathcliff). Here, he's rather more normal. Minerva knows that there's something off about him, but she still respects him for his talents and intelligence, and unlike most others, she isn't judgmental or demanding. In the world of this story, I expect that they played chess on winter days or something of that sort - meeting as intellectual equals. They could never be friends, but they can still recognize something in the other that makes them stand apart from the rest. I'm so glad that you like how their characterizations and relationship turned out in this story - it's wonderful to hear it from someone else who likes the ship as much as I do. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #7, by WeepingWillows The Left Side of Tomorrow

25th March 2012:
I absolutely loved reading this story. :) I've always been fascinated with the idea of Tom and Minerva and they're always such a fun ship to read!

Author's Response: They are a fun ship to read! It's always a great treat to find another story that features them - there's so much potential to explore with both characters. :D Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story - it means a lot that you enjoyed it so much!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Giola The Left Side of Tomorrow

29th January 2012:
Oh Susan, this is gorgeous. I've always been a fan of your stories (Winner Takes All was the first I read of yours, I think) and I've also been a fan of Tom/Minerva for quite a while, so this was the perfect story for me to come across :)

I don't read stories as often as I used to, apart from in the queue, but this was definitely one of the most impressive one shots I've ever read. The imagery you create is amazing, I could picture this whole scene in my head. I think you've also managed to portray both Tom and Minerva very realistically and true to canon, which is hard to do with such a ship that is definitely not canon.

I love that you used the quote at the start, as you said in your author's note, it really ties this moment with Voldemort's death. The way you've written this, I can imagine this being a very important moment in Tom's life. Obviously he relies on her to some extent, as the brief flash of emotion across his face suggests. The fact that she rejects him would have hurt, though I have a feeling he wouldn't feel it fully, it would be more subconscious.

Anyway, I'll stop rambling now :P Lovely writing, I'm glad I took the time to stop by and read this :)

-Giola

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Giola! This review came as a surprise (as does any review from a staffer, as the queue can be a consuming beast), but I assure you it was a wonderfully pleasant surprise. :D I appreciate that you took the time to read and review this story, which is one of my favourite one-shots (as is the other Tom/Minerva I wrote - I think I love writing these characters way too much).

This ship is very interesting to explore, and while it's not very shippy in this story, the tensions between the characters are so taunt - they're on opposite sides, yet not wholly. Minerva has that shadowy side of her, just as Tom so easily stands in the light. To put them together is outside of canon, like you said, which is strange for me, as I'm usually a canon-stickler, but there's something about Riddle and McGonagall together that still captures my interest. I suppose it's like my version of Dramione. XD But anyway, I loved writing this story with its imagery and dichotomies, and it's fantastic to hear that you liked it too!

Being able to tie this back to Voldemort's death was a strange coincidence, but with that context in mind, the story gains more significance - like you said, it becomes an important moment for him, that one person he could not convince, seduce, bring over to his side. He is attracted to her, physically and mentally, so the rejection is a sharp one, something that he hasn't experienced in a long time, and while he doesn't show his emotion, he does feel it - he's merely become so good at hiding it that he can hardly recognize it himself, all feeling is buried very deep in his subconscious.

And I could keep going, oh dear. :P Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Messrs_MWPP The Left Side of Tomorrow

28th August 2011:
This was incredibly moving. When I first saw what the pairing was I'll admit I was almost insulted cause I think McGonagall is SO much better than that. But I decided to look at it and see if maybe it would be worth reading. I'm so glad I did!!! You're imagery is unbelievable, and the story was very well constructed so that you could see how they might have been friends at some point (or lovers). It's a wonderful piece!

Author's Response: Haha, you're right that the older McGonagall wouldn't at all go for Voldemort - not only due to the nose issue (which is, of course, slight :P), but also because their beliefs are so widely different. It's far more than the notion of "opposites attract" could possibly fix. However, I think the premise of the Tom/Minerva ship is that we don't know what Minerva was like when younger, and with all those 70 years to explore, there's a lot of potential. I don't know why I got onto this ship, really - it just sounded like it would be interesting to write, and it is. :D

It means a huge amount that you liked this story and the pairing even with your initial misgivings. Wow! Your compliments are amazing, and I don't know what else to say but a giant THANK YOU! There are so many other great Tom/Minervas around, and I hope that you're able to check them out! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by inkismyworld The Left Side of Tomorrow

22nd August 2011:
your writing always makes me remember why I adore this pairing/interaction of Tom and Minerva :3 Although the entire work was beautiful, I especially liked this line:
“Real isn’t enough. It never was.”
because it really captures Riddle's personality in so few words.
100/10

Author's Response: Wow! It was fantastic to see your name among the reviews for this story - your story really inspired me all those years ago to try out this ship, and it means a lot that you've returned to read and review my story. ^_^

They are fantastic characters to write, and together there's just so much potential to explore because they bring out such interesting aspects of one another - Minerva's darker side and Tom's more thoughtful side, at the most basic level (there's so much more to it than that). I'm really glad that you enjoyed how they turned out here. Thank you! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by DarkLadyofSlytherin The Left Side of Tomorrow

21st August 2011:
Susan,

I have this love for well written Tom/Minerva stories and when I saw you had one, I simply had to read it. This was fabulous. I loved it all. I was captivated from beginning to end. The way the words flowed, the way Minerva stood up to Tom, everything about it gave me chills. It was so fabulously written that I almost wish it hadn't ended. I could probably spend all day reading about your Tom and Minerva. You do them justice in this piece and I envy you for it.

Len

Author's Response: Len! It's wonderful to receive a review from you, and to have it filled with compliments is like receiving a giant cake with fruity filling (it's one of those days when I come up with very random similes, sorry).

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and review this story - it means a lot that you enjoyed it so much and even found it captivating. It's one of those stories that I think is utterly weird and that no one will like, and the very positive responses I've received have floored me. I'll definitely have to try writing them again sometime soon, if only to give you more of these characters to enjoy. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #12, by adahpfan The Left Side of Tomorrow

19th August 2011:
Wow, that was powerful. You managed to capture Tom's desire for pwer and Minerva's desire for good perfectly... I loved the ending, it was perfect. 10/10 *adds to favourites*

Author's Response: Thank you very much! And a favourite too! ^_^ It means a lot to have you like this story so much, and I really appreciate that you took the time to let me know what you liked about it. These two characters are amazingly complex to write, especially when flirting with the idea that they had some sort of relationship, no matter how doomed it was meant to be. They are opposites, yet still very much alike, and I find that fascinating. :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Iloenchen The Left Side of Tomorrow

19th August 2011:
I don't think I've ever read any Tom/Minerva stories before. Maybe I should seek them out more often - at least, if all of them are as great as this one.

I love how you play with shadow and light in this one-shot. The descriptions are very beautiful and it's a great theme that you manage to follow up upon for the whole time. That's very well done!

What fascinated me was that Minerva knew what was going to become of Tom and yet, she could not fully resist him. In the books, we just know her as the head of Gryffindor who does of course know what she wants and who'd never be on the wrong side. But I never thought about how she got there and that there must have been more to her. You explore her so well! Great job!

Author's Response: As great as this one? O_O Better, they are - much better. Thank you for such an amazing compliment! Oh my gosh, it's wonderful to hear these wonderful things from you! ^_^

I'm glad that you liked the use of shadows and light in this story. It partially plays off of Tom and Minerva's characters - he shadow, and she light - but then there's that switch at the end, how he is able, during his Hogwarts years at least, take on the appearance of light and be that perfect prefect who saved Hogwarts. And Minerva remains in the shadows to protect herself from him and also because she has that potential within her to become one of the shadows, a Death Eater, but she rejects that and never regrets it. The light and shadow are so meaning-filled (as opposed to meaningful) to this story - calling them a theme is exactly how I was hoping readers would see them. :D

Minerva's a very interesting character to examine - I mean, if Dumbledore could have that darker side, then so could she. I know that Pottermore changes this to a large degree, and while I do like what JKR had for Minerva's backstory, I still take too much enjoyment out of writing my own versions of her story. ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by lilypotterfan123 The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
This is my favourite ship in the world because of how much you can do with it. And I love how you portrayed it. To me tom/minerva is an almost romance, it could have worked but in this canon world you know it never will. You can only really use their teenage years or when they were young. But this story was absolutely perfect and I hope you write more! You made it perfectly clear about what they both wanted without really saying it but then you could tell they both had their duties and how other people saw them meant they could never be together. Thank you so much for writing this one shot, it was amazing and I hope this review wasn't too rambly for you! Definite 10/10

Bex

Author's Response: Thank you very much! It's a wonderful ship, I agree, and it's always a treat to find a new story that captures it the right way - it means a lot to hear that this story was that for you, with the right portrayal of these characters and their relationship. What makes the ship for me is that almostness of it - how they could have been if one of them was slightly different, Tom less corrupted and Minerva more so.

It'd be a pleasure to write another Tom/Minerva, and I thank you for asking me to continue writing them (because writing this one reminded me of how much I enjoy exploring this ship ^_^). Your review isn't rambly at all - it 's lovely!


 Report Review

Review #15, by moondrifter The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
I am completely mesmerised by the Tom Riddle and Mcgonagall that you've created here. This is seriously one of the most excellent pieces of writing that I've read on this site. I love that you were inspired by a simple, passing description in DH. It's a really interesting way to generate fanfic ideas.

Author's Response: Wow, really?! That's amazing! I don't know what to say to a compliment like that - it's wonderful, thank you very much! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #16, by flufff The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
Wow... that was beautiful even if I don't understand it. Your writing is incredible, and all that description was amazing. There's so much potential in it. I would love to read more from you! Great job with this, by the way. It was a really unique idea, and I've never read anything like it. :)

If you ever get the time, I'd really appreciate it if you could R&R my ff "Darkest Night"... it's a Dramione and I don't know if you like those, but if you're interested it would mean a lot! Thank you! Keep writing ~ flufff

Author's Response: Don't understand? :( I'm sorry about that - I try to make things clear, but what's in my head doesn't always make it to the page, and I often can't tell what's in my head from what I actually end up writing. *hides*

However, it's lovely that you still enjoyed the story and the writing. I appreciate that you took the time to review, leaving such wonderful compliments! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #17, by RonsGirlFriday The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
Susan, this is beautiful (and that banner, too, might I add). What gorgeous language. The last line is fantastic. The whole thing was so moving, the emotions were palpable. The characterizations are excellent, especially when you consider that these are their younger versions, which we don't know a whole lot about - maybe Tom, from what we learn in HBP, but still that doesn't mean we know anything about how he'd act in a situation or relationship like this. You bring a lot of nuances to their characterizations.

And I love the last section - it adds some extra punch and brings everything full circle. Just amazing with that quote you pulled out of DH. Fantastic.

Melanie

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you for this, Melanie! It's wonderful to hear these compliments from you, whose work I admire so much. To have gotten a review from you is a huge treat! ^_^

What do I say to all of these compliments? O_O I'm glad that the characterizations were canon, as that's always the hardest bit about writing these younger versions of canon characters - one has to take into account the mistakes of youth and a general amount of immaturity as well as whatever historical events are shaping their lives. It's like calculus with characters, or something similar.

I wasn't at all sure about that last section, so hearing that it turned out is a great relief. It was tacked on late into the writing process because I couldn't think of how to end this. The earlier version of this story had Moody instead of Tom, and that ending was clearer for some reason. But like my older Tom/Minerva, I felt the need to link who they were with who they became, especially in this case because of the linked settings - the same place, only 50 years later. The sun still rises and sets, but the people beneath it have changed with time.

Thank you again! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #18, by MajiKat The Left Side of Tomorrow

16th August 2011:
susan. i can't even. what was this? omg its magic, that's what!! i don't know where to begin, only to say that i loved it and i have been anticipating this since you mentioned you were writing a tom/minerva.

and just wow! if i were to quote all the lines that stood out to me, all the phrases that reached out of the screen and slapped me in the face i would fill this whole review with italics!

something has changed in your writing of late. i don't know what exactly, but as i know you are a fan of the classics i will leave it at that allusion. take it as you will but i hope you will take it as a compliment ^_^

(loved the literary reference btw, and wuthering heights is one of my least fav books ever. i have a real love-hate relationship with it)

the characterisation of both tom and minerva was as it should be and their relationship, or semblance of one, was also as it should be - not really cemented in anything. they cannot truly be together in any sense of the word and yet, i can see how they are drawn to one another.

the poeticism and the imagery in this is staggering! the use of light and shadow, the sun and the wonderful metaphor that you play with so skillfully just leaves me breathless and seething cause i am so jealous of your talent right now. this ran like a black and white movie, tinged with red and gold and i don't know if that was intentional but you know i see things in colours, lol.

i love minerva's strength and her knowledge that that strength could be easily broken by him. it makes her powerful, makes her more than him and i love that. tom is pitying, sad and lost, and in that, she can escape him.

gah. i will stop gushing. this is amazing and i adore the ending so much!!

Kate xx

Author's Response: Kate! Why do you always leave such amazing reviews? I never know what to say in response without rambling on and on forever, but I do love receiving your reviews and reading them over and over. ^_^ Thank you so much for taking the time to leave them, as I know you're busy.

It's wonderful that you enjoyed this story. I was so happy to finally get another Tom/Minerva idea - it's been too long a time, and while I was writing this, I realized how much I'd missed these characters and their opposing places in canon. They're just so... interesting - I don't know how else to say it. Endlessly fascinating on their own, together, they're more than the sum of their parts, which is even better. ;)

I'm curious about this change in my style. It probably is because of all the things I'm reading and have read these last few years - everything from the modernists and contemporary Canadian to all sorts of Victorian writings - and I guess that it's all influencing how I think and write. It's not conscious, though, not in the least. It means a lot that you've complimented it, though, more than I could possibly express.

Your vision of the colours in this story is very much how I saw it too - I'm glad that it came through in the text. The whole black-and-white film influence was very present, then there was all of that red, followed by the gold at the end. Those are the only two colours in this world of war. Interestingly, one can tie this to the CoS movie and the way that Tom's flashbacks are all in black-and-white - you can imagine this one-shot looking very much like those scenes did. :D

Thank you SO MUCH for this review. It's nothing short of glorious and I can't squee enough over it. *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #19, by Sarah_Bee The Left Side of Tomorrow

15th August 2011:
Susan, this is brilliant writing on your part. I rather like your one-shots as you take even the smallest amount of words and turn them into something quite beautiful.

Your descriptions of a blazing sun and the scenery are just captivating and Minerva's emotions feel so real. It amazes me how just one small sentence or phrase from DH can inspire such a truly remarkable one-shot. You portray Tom/Voldemort in a very interesting light and I like how you describe how he's turned from a golden schoolboy to someone with a corrupt, somehow twisted mind.

I have noticed you frequently use Minerva in your writing. Is she a favorite character of yours? :)

Good writing. You always find some way to surprise me with every new one-shot or fic. It's always something different, something with a new twist or your own original take. I love it and hope to see more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Sarah! It's always a pleasure to hear from you. ^_^ It means a lot that you enjoyed this story. One-shots do give me a lot more wiggle room to try out new things to see what will happen, and also to look at smaller things, narrowing down the overall focus of a story into a couple thousand words. It is a short one-shot for me (keep trying to fix that issue of wordiness :P), but to hear that the result was beautiful!? *blushes* It's a lovely compliment!

And Minerva definitely is a favourite character of mine - I simply can't imagine how you got that idea, though! :P Originally, Hermione was the female character I felt a connection with, but as time passed, McGonagall took over that position, especially once I started exploring her past (the first one was a collab piece from like 2005 or 6, so it's been a while). She's smart, strong, and pretty amazing in general. ;)

What's interesting about that sentence was that I didn't come across it until having written most of this story. It's a very weird thing. I'd gone back to re-read DH to make sure that I wasn't breaking with canon, and then I came across that line and was like "eureka! it fits!" And I wanted to include it because it ended up solidifying this story - giving it that ending and an introduction, tying the whole thing together in that ideal way. :D It was a wonderful coincidence!

Thank you again for the review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #20, by Minervas_soul The Left Side of Tomorrow

15th August 2011:
I love Minerva and Tom stories! And this one was so well written and I loved the descriptions you have with the colors and the sunrise. I also enjoyed the part where Tom spoke about Grindelwald being a fool and how he did not want to be Minister of Magic. And of course, I loved your characterization of Minerva and their fight about Dumbledore.
Wonderful. Thank you for sharing!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you very much! It's wonderful to hear that this one turned out - it's been years since I wrote Tom/Minerva, but it's one of those ships that's still stuck with me, there being so much potential to it, and to their characters. It means a lot that you enjoyed this story. ^_^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login