10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Colours

12th July 2014:
Wow, this was really amazing!

I love that your Founders speak in a tongue that is slightly antiquated and mystical, and that they chose colors to symbolize what they prize the most. The best explanation I've heard about the House colors is that Gryffindor gets gold because they always come in first place, and that's a bunch of nonsense. I like you explanation much better.

It seems that Slytherin is already being a bit rude to his colleagues--especially Gryffindor. Was that real resentment that I saw, or was it just their way of bantering back and forth?

A really thought-provoking read! I loved your explanations for all of the colors!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you, I so irregularly check this site now, due to other commitments, so it was nice to find a review when I did login. :)
As for Slytherin I have always felt that rudeness is not something which you are born with but it is hard not to show when you have it, hence Slytherin being rude. There is also a slight sense of him being left out of the group a little and tensions are beginning to rise...
And I am glad that you liked the whole story, its quite a simple idea when you look at the colours from a personal side rather than a 'House characteristics' side.

Thanks for the review,

Hermionniny9


 Report Review

Review #2, by caomoyl Colours

15th July 2013:
I had never given any thought as to how the colours were chosen for the houses but I really liked this despite it being short. Your characterisations were good and I love the banter from Gyrffindor towards Slytherin. I can see how Slytherin would have wanted to be rid of him and why he left the school.

The reasons you gave for each of the house's colours really showed the characteristics of the houses and made a lot of sense. I also like how you started with them just choosing one colour, but then they all progressed to having two when Hufflepuff wanted a second. I like how you showed the two colours as having two different reasons and showing that they both had different meanings and, therefore, that the members of the house had more than one side to them!

Great job!

Side note: I really love the banner you have for this! I'm jealous! ;)

Author's Response: why thank you :) The banner is astonishing.

Thank you for your praise. It has been a long time since I have checked in on my account here and it is lovely to see a nice review. I hope you enjoyed it and any other works of mine you have read.
As to the colours, I wanted to show that everything has meaning.


 Report Review

Review #3, by willow1 Colours

19th May 2013:
i didnt like it, it was not authentic

Author's Response: thank your for your thoughts, it would have been nice to understand why it was not authentic in your eyes. But I will have to make do with your eight words.

 Report Review

Review #4, by leannemariesnape Colours

3rd September 2011:
This is a very clever story! The colours were well explained and put into a context that I have never really thought of before. I liked how Godric and Salazar are quipping at one another, and the reference to Jesus being sold out for silver. It was a very good touch! I also really liked how the language of the story was old fashioned- it was really nice, but at the same time, it was still easy to read! Plus, the banner is absoloutely stunning!

Well done on this story! XD

Leanne

Author's Response: thank you so much. this is a lovely review and I am so happy that you found it a nice story to read. I am also blown away by the banner, completely unexpected.
Thanks, this has brightened my day


 Report Review

Review #5, by adahpfan Colours

3rd September 2011:
That was powerful! I love the concept an it is beautifully written... You could expand it a little, however it is lovely as it is. 9/10
Ada

Author's Response: I found it hard to go much further. But thank you all the same. I enjoyed writing it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by krapfm Colours

1st September 2011:
Hi :)
that was cute. :D and the banner is really amazing.

Author's Response: i know right. i wasn't even expecting that and when I saw it I was like wow this is amazing.
Thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #7, by sevsnape99 Colours

31st August 2011:
Really great! I love how it all makes sense and it's very unique! It's also very well-written!!!

Author's Response: thank you i had fun writing it and i love the hidden meanings in things so I thought that I would see where the choice of colours led me.

 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Colours

29th August 2011:
Oh wow! I thought that was so clever/interesting the way they chose the colors. The reasoning made sense. I always wondered if everything would have been different if they hadn't chosen different colors, if all that showed everyone was in a different house is a small badge or something.

Author's Response: I have just had the hugest fan girl moment ever.
I have read your story life according to georgina millie k and now you have read mine...
I'm really glad that you liked it, the thought had been floating around for a while and I was just board one day and got down to writing it.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Sackvase Colours

28th August 2011:
I'm actually really impressed by this. I would have never thought of this, and the reasons behind the colours. It takes a lot of thought.

Author's Response: thanks, i did a mind map and i had it knocking around for a long time. I'm also feeling rather nostalgic at the moment so I poured that into it as well

 Report Review

Review #10, by fairytalelover3 Colours

28th August 2011:
That was good. I'm really impressed by how well it's written. 9/10

Author's Response: thanks, i'm glad you liked it. it was an interesting piece to write

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login