Reading Reviews for Stupid
  
200 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jaya A Barrier

29th October 2014:
#dead. That was completely fantastic. The plot was enthralling, the fluff made me smile constantly, and you managed to be original while adhering to what actually happened. The grammar was fantastic as well; overall the perfect read. By far my favorite fan fiction ever! I can't wait for the sequel :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by GinnyPotterForever A Barrier

5th December 2013:
I can say in all fairness that this is one of the best Lily-James I've ever read. And trust me, I've read a lot of them.
Their relationship is so perfect, so different from the usual. It feels wonderful to read such a beautiful story.
Thanks for creating magic - and making me love a fictional character I already loved even more.

 Report Review

Review #3, by evans_4eva A Barrier

21st January 2013:
Wow, this was amazing :) I just sat down and read the whole thing in one go! I laughed so much reading this, but the ending made me so sad :( Looking forward to reading the sequel, it's been ages since I read a fanfic that was so realistic and so well written. Definitely 10/10 and adding to my favourites :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Grace3 A Barrier

15th December 2012:
This is a wonderful story about James and Lily. Awesome job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Pittsy A Barrier

13th August 2012:
Lovely story, I really enjoyed it. While the ending was bittersweet, it makes sense for the characters. And yay! sequel! *runs off to read*

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ravenclaw7 A Barrier

31st July 2012:
I get tingles from reading this.

Do you know how bad it is to fall in love with a fictional character?

Why does James have to be so perfect?

 Report Review

Review #7, by relic A Barrier

3rd June 2012:
super cliched but so amazingly written! i adored it! i love how you showed them being in a bit of a bind and not perfect as everyone perceives them to be :) i can't wait to read the sequel too...awesome job!
( i also liked how the secondary characters had such a huge story even though you used so few words to describe them...it was easy to derive a picture from the whole thing)
on the whole.great job! you turned a cliche into a great story!

Author's Response: glad to hear my cliche wasn't so cliche! I really like how you put it that way :) and it's so great to hear that you liked the story.

I really appreciate the review! thanks again :)
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #8, by Thank_You_JK_Rowling Stupid Secrets: #32-35

27th May 2012:
I-it-wow. I love it! I procrastinatwe study to read all of this! In fairness, I am generally pretty good at procrastinating but still, this is amazing!!

Author's Response: hahaha I do the exact same thing :) procrastinate studying and read HPFF!! and thanks so much for reading!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #9, by A A Barrier

26th May 2012:
Aah, I loved it! This was an absolutely amazingly written story! It was happy, funny, adorable, romantic and just a little sad at the end! Great job, and I look forward to reading the sequel!

Author's Response: aw :) thank you! I'm so glad you liked it. the sequel's up now! more to come soon, I promise.
thanks again for the review!
~EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #10, by Silly Potter A Barrier

13th April 2012:
where. is. the. sequel.

i wanna know what happens.

Author's Response: the. sequel. is. now. up.
you can now know what happens!
thanks for the review :)
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #11, by heybulldog77 Stupid Secrets: #21-22

31st March 2012:
Finally!! You did it at just the right time too, because I was almost at the point of getting bored by Lily's internal debate. I LOVE your story! I'm not sure if you've written other stories but I will read them if you have cause I just love how you write!

Author's Response: haha why thank you :) I think I ended it at the right time, too!

and I have indeed written other stories- there's a sequel up to Stupid now, as well. hope you'll check it out!

thanks so much for the review!
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #12, by charlottetrips A Barrier

26th March 2012:
I can’t believe I’m here at the end. What a wonderful story overall. You’ve actually made me like Lily/James. Of course I’ve always known that they were canon but my heart went out to the bittersweetness of Lily/Sev. Plus most authors I’ve read made these two so cliché and so sickening that it was hard to swallow them. But here, you’ve got the love/hate, the imperfect Lily, the imperfect James who sees his flaws and you’ve got bonus awesome Sirius. This has turned out to be such a cute and fluffy story.

I love how you’ve started out this chapter from James’ POV. While I’ve come to appreciate him through Lily’s eyes, it’s nice to see it from his POV.

Except now that I continue reading…gar, maybe you aren’t going to give us a happy ending.

Ah, the point where he’s choosing between his friend’s secret and his love for Lily. I like how you’re dragging it out. My Angst Monster is chomping away happily. Especially with your descriptions of James’ heartbreak.

Except, quite honestly, this turn from Lily seems sudden. Like she would really decide not to be with him because he was gone three nights and the first time she confronts him he won’t tell her? I’d think she’d give him more of a chance to try to explain and then he’d fail and then she’d break up with him.

Regardless of all that, I look forward to reading the sequel. You’ve come a ways since the first chapters of this story and I love how your descriptions have become that much more…descriptive (sorry, not feeling terribly vocabularized at the moment). I hope that we take it from James’ POV too as well. Or you can do the omniscient sort of 3rd person. I like that too.

Anyway, well done on completing this! :) :) :)

xChar

Author's Response: once again, a huge apology for the lateness of this reply. but I simply can't NOT reply to your amazing words.

I can't believe I made you like Lily/James!! not only is that an astounding thing to hear, but I can't really understand why you didn't like them before- seeing as I'm sort of diehard Lily/James :)

thank you very much for your critique on Lily 'turning' quite so quickly. when I come back to this story to revise, I'll definitely look back at that, because I agree with you. unfortunately, I was sort of straining for a reason for them to break up (I'm a horrible pesron, I know) and I just had to go with it! but I'll defintiely be taking your suggestion to heart.

once again, thanks for the amazing review(s)! you make me smile and laugh :) the sequel's up so I might be checking out your thread to see it you're still open!!
thanks again,
EnnaBellaPotter


 Report Review

Review #13, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #32-35

26th March 2012:
Oh look, Lily is ready to just about give it all up. Her journal/diary. A girl’s most precious thing. That really does show love and care there. How sweet that she’s even thinking with that.

And then this moment when James gives her the necklace. It’s beautifully done. Lily has come a far way. She was snarky a little, sarcastic and hella nervous a lot of the time and clumsy but she did everything just right here. She really made it a beautiful moment in telling James that she loved him.

And James’ little story of buying that for her when he was twelve! How precious is that? Too precious, really. I can’t even imagine any twelve-year-old acting like that these days but James is of a different cut, ain’t he.

Author's Response: it's taken me years to reply. I'm sorry!!

I feel like your description of Lily is very poetic as well! haha :) I couldn't have said it better myself.

I really love reading (and re-reading at this point) what you have to say about Stupid. thanks so much!
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #14, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #29-31

26th March 2012:
The extra bits about how to do transfiguration was a very nice touch. Made the story seem more authentic.

Ah, and now we have James’ other activities starting to catch up to him. He must be struggling over telling Lily. Obviously, by the time Harry is born, she knows but how do they get over this little hump here.

I am a piano player and I can appreciate Lily’s own passion for it. Playing the piano is so satisfying and its true that there’s this magic to it. It’s a feeling. I love art and music and playing. It can really transform one and take one someplace else to be.

What a nice touch to put a past incident there that showed just how much James really did care. Also smart of you not to have James call it the Room of Requirement since it doesn’t necessarily announce itself that way.

Oh geez. Teenage hormones everywhere people.

And also cuteness. Very nice. (I’m sorry I’ve stopped the spelling and grammar critique but now I just want to reach the end of this adorable story and see where you leave off.)

Author's Response: wow. I did a super-great job of replying to your reviews.

but I appreciate them so much. they are so thorough and helpful. thank you thank you thank you!

I'm glad the transifguration felt authentic- I was worried it wouldn't!

ooh I'm glad you seemed to really connect to the piano playing part. that's really good to hear from an actual piano-player's point of view (seeing as I don't play it!).

so, again, THANK YOU. you're amazing!
~EBP


 Report Review

Review #15, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #26-28

26th March 2012:
This story is so fluffy. So fluffy I could die. Really.

her mind about [em] or anything - me

I like Charlotte. (And not just because of her name) She’s catty but nice at the same time and a loyal friend in addition to being beautiful and a boy-hog at times :P

And I can’t believe the teachers! Such gossipers and secret romantics the lot of them!

I didn’t feel it was ]appropriate to mention - you’ve got a lose bracket in there

Aw, look at these two. Plus look at how flowerly Lily is getting in her language. She’s gone from this analytical, very confused and logical girl to this. It’s adorable really and beautifully done. Plus you do these kissing scenes so well. It isn’t like “they snogged” but something that’s emotional and heartfelt.

 Report Review

Review #16, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #23-25

26th March 2012:
Oh, oh, oh. It’s just so perfect. I love James now. I seriously do. He’s so cute. He’s so adorable and in love and nice. Your James is making his home next to Peeta in my heart.

The inside [] my head wallowed - [of]

And I’m back to loving Sirius. Seriously (I had to mentally rein myself in from making the pun, I really did), your Sirius is one of the best Sirius’s I’ve read on the Archives. I know that he’s only been in a few scenes but you’ve got the arrogance, good-looks and trickster attitude we know of from canon and then added in that bit of heart that just makes him a good guy. It’s really nice to read. And he hugs. I love hugs.

The only one [Iwant] to kiss.”  - SPACE

I love that James kissed those other girls because they reminded him of Lily. Nice. And this scene and story in the woods. Wonderful. Gawd, I’m like drowning in beautiful sappiness.

 Report Review

Review #17, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #21-22

26th March 2012:
*waves*

Then I was like, “LILY! NoO!” but alas, she did not here me in her foolish cowardliness.

From such chaos emerged three beautiful people. /Oh, and me.  -made me laugh.

After we were finished dressing and I these three - are we missing a word somewhere or something because this didn’t quite make sense.

generally astounded at just [howgreat] everyone looked. - make a space

I loved how you described Lily. She sounds beautiful.

Which left me [left me] little choice - extra

I can’t [ ] Sirius because - 1) I can’t believe you actually used that line. 2) missing [be]

And I see where Harry gets his equilibrium sometimes, from his dad because his mum certainly doesn’t have it, as we have come to know.

painfully aware that I had [stillneglected] - add space

ALHWEOIJULDJF:LSDK! I was reading the entire exchange in the last, knowing what she was going to do yet still feeling my heart pounding, my skin tingling and willing it to happen. So wonderfully done. I loved it. (I think from now on, my reviews are just going to be squeeing and fixing grammatical/spelling errors. You’ve reduced me to this.) :P

 Report Review

Review #18, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #19-20

26th March 2012:
As I mentioned before, I’m determined to read the rest of this.

So, like, I’ve totally noticed that your writing of descriptions has gotten like super good. (feel free to ignore my weirdness). But seriously, this moment in the Owlery where Lily is just enjoying the moment, it was beautifully written and made me a part of the moment.

Until Sirius came in.

would only [brought] on a stronger deluge of mockery - should be “bring”

But when the crowd parted for a second, he saw [you] face. - your (you do it again a couple more lines down)

Oh. There she is. - I. LOVE. IT. I love it! I love love ♥ love ♥ love ♥ the simplicity of it!! Because love shouldn’t be this whole complicated convoluted thing. It should be this. Are you a Doctor Who fan? More to the point, are you a Doctor/Rose fan? Because this is comparable to that statement he made in an episode about his love for Rose: “Oh, she knows.” It’s lovely.

And I love Sirius :) Oh man, normally Sirius is just this snobby and too aware of how good-looking he is boy in Marauder stories but here, he’s a friend. Still the snobby, too aware of how good-looking he is boy, but mostly a friend. And a good guy. And awesome.

I pause[] on the steps towards the courtyard, - add [d]

Whatever courage had found [homage] - um, this word doesn’t really fit. Maybe just leave it at “home”. “Homage” means pay respect, revere, etc.

When you have someone speaking for several paragraphs and he ends his speech and starts his speech in the next one, you don’t need to close the previous paragraph with quotations. It makes it so you know that the same guy is talking.

And I like James. He’s a good guy and pretty loyal too and forthright. I love forthright.

 Report Review

Review #19, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #16-18

26th March 2012:
Gar. You’ve made me so interested that I’m going to finish the rest of this story. :) Plus I like reviewing stories that are completed because then I’m not left hanging.

Aw, look at Lily blab on about the dance. It’s so cute and I love her descriptions.

Every previous uncertainty [ ] about dances you flew out the window the moment you walked in. - [you had]?

I too often [I] got locked in his eyes by accident. - perhaps take this extra “I” out

a maroon-and-[hold] woolen scarf - [gold]

I am having spasms about your descriptions right now. Like this: The bitter cold accompanying February made a dignified appearance on the Quidditch pitch, - so nicely done.

*Gasp* The stickler for rules Lily is lying to Madame Pomfrey? What has this world come to? Oh, wait, isn’t this girl in LURVE!?!?

“You’re worried about [you] image!”  - your

“Well,” [H]e stated simply.  - non-capitalized

I loved how you made Lily confess to James! It was so NOT cliché in a story filled with familiar ones (in a good way) that it just makes me smile. I mean, come on. She just confessed to him at the Infirmary. I was so sure you’d do it at the Ball and now I’m so glad that you didn’t! It was also really well done because we still don’t quite know what James thinks about it. Oh, the suspense!

 Report Review

Review #20, by charlottetrips Stupid Secrets: #14-15

26th March 2012:
Hello! Back again to review this Stupid story :P Sorry, I just had to slip that in there!

Boys try ridiculously hard to hide the fact that a ball is just as big of a deal for them as it is for the girls. - SO TRUE! I always kind of watched the boys at my school around parties like this that would come up and even though it’s organized by the school, they’re still excited enough yet trying not to show it. I’m sure they do their own share of squealing in the privacy of their room.

“Of course there’s a difference! Now did he say will you go or are you going?” - Again, SO TRUE! What did you do? Just eavesdrop on people around when the prom was coming up? And then go to ten different schools only to find out that literally EVERYONE says the same thing eventually?

for the Head Boy and Head Girl to commence the night by taking the first dance together.  - OK, really? This is cliché. But I understand. It’s needed. But still. But whatever, your story isn’t some scarily indie type of story where in order to make it different you would need to have Lily end up with someone else and then die and get with James as a ghost or something and capture the whole thing on a shaky camera (and don’t even THINK with stealing that plot bunny! Yeah, I’m looking at you *points at screen*).

Ha! Found my first spelling/grammar to correct (though I suspect I ain’t going to find a lot this time…you’re eye seems to have become sharper there, young’un): couldn’t have very well said “[o]h, so sorry - capitalize the “o”

accumulate [] back of []y neck - missing [on] in the first brackets and then [m] in the second.

just the way I’d come to [and] love - the [and] seems extra

It was the Potter [affect], plain and simple. An [affect] to - both of these should be [effect]. The other word means something other than what you’re trying to say. This also happens later in the story.

I’m pretty sure [] was beginning to hyperventilate. - missing [I]

Let me comment at this point on the fact that your description has improved quite nicely in this chapter. I don’t know if I mentioned it before because I am far too lazy to look back at the moment, but there was a tendency to lack slightly on description but now, I’m awash in it (in a good way). You are also using the effect of “suspense” quite nicely in how you’ve led up to this moment where James is taking Lily into his arms and she’s starting to go into a panic attack (which is quite fun to read, btw).

And you’re using analogies! I love analogies! I felt his heartbeat in his fingers, radiating towards me like a sound wave from a radio.  - nice.

Gosh, your details in this whole dancing thing is amazing. Almost makes me wish my school had taught us ballroom. You familiar with it other than research’s sake? Because it’s well described here.

I love Lily. I seriously do. She’s so funny and panicked right now that I’m really just enjoying her embarrassment. How she compares what is actually going through her head to what she hopes is being shown as going through her head just before the lift…so priceless.

Any accidental contact sets [of] fireworks across my skin. - [off]

Ah, I love it. I love Lily. James seems nice but I don’t have the same connection to him that I do to Lily, mainly because I’m living in her head, you know? From what I know of James, he seems to be a good guy and especially deserving of this love. This is such cute fluff.

:) Char

 Report Review

Review #21, by lilyroxjames A Barrier

11th March 2012:
This story was SO GOOD. The idea behind it was beautiful. The plot was just...amazing. I adored the ending, even though they did break up. That's what I love about Lily/James fics. Even if they break up, I KNOW that they'll get back together. I mean if they didn't...well, there wouldn't be any Harry Potter, now would there? I did love the way you ended it, though, with James writing in the journal, which is what I presume the sequel will be about? I'm going to go ahead and take a wild guess at what James' secret is...is it Remus' furry little problem? And the whole animagi thing? I can't wait till the sequel is out! :D

 Report Review

Review #22, by LooneyChick Stupid Secrets: #29-31

6th March 2012:
Quick question: I thought the ball was supposed to be in February, but now it is the first of December and the ball has already passed haha? Not a big deal, just a little confusing!

Once again, great chapter! I love how you don't just have them shagging each other left and right even though they share a dormitory. It seems much more natural the way they interact than the way other authors portray their relationship. Love this story (even more the second time haha) and I can not WAIT for the sequel. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #23, by LooneyChick Stupid Secrets: #11-13

6th March 2012:
I must have been on a roll the first time I read your story and not stopped to review every chapter. This was amazing! I can't believe how well you portrayed Lily's relationship with Severus, and the willingness James showed to be there for her. I love your writing style and I can't wait to read the rest (again haha)

 Report Review

Review #24, by LooneyChick Stupid Secrets: #8-10

6th March 2012:
Just re-reading the story, waiting impatiently for the sequel haha. Please tell me it will be up soon!!

 Report Review

Review #25, by POTTERLOVER A Barrier

24th February 2012:
OMG! I LOVE THIS FANFICTION! LEGIT, ITS LIKE THE BEST JAMES/LILY! PLEASE KEEP WRITING! AND UPLOAD STUCK SOON

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>