Reading Reviews for Survivors of the Darkness
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tragicsleep Chapter Fifteen, When Night Falls

18th May 2005:
that's alright.i like information.when i read at first that severus was going to see her in the hospital wing,i thought that harry would sneak in to listen in on them.and i have to admit that i was pissed off when he didn't.yet now i think that's best.it makes it seem more intimate that you didn't reveal what severus said to amelia.and the hints about their current relationships are good at what they are:clues of what happened between them in that hospital room.thanx and take care.

Author's Response: Welcome! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #2, by tragicsleep Chapter One, Return

15th May 2005:
ok,thank you for your answers.you seem to have everything really carefully planned out.do you indeed spend a lot of time preparing the story,or do you start writing spontaneously?take care.

Author's Response: I ushally have the beginning and ending of a story in my mind before I start working on it. I also need to have the general feeling of the plot. With Survivors of the Darkness, I wanted there to be really effective emotions not only in the character, but in the mood of the plot. I dont know if that makes any sence..... I'll tell you a secret, my original, very first idea of this story came from an image in my mind that caught the attention of my hopeless romantice heart. It is the image of a woman working in the order of the pheniox who everybody loved and adored. Eventually in the plot, the students learn that this woman has a dark side also that she has no control over. It was actually Remus Lupin who I had planned to be the love interest here, and I had this vision of her laying out on a bed in Dumbledores office with no will to live, and Remus comeing to her side and dramtically pleading with her not to leave him. It all seemed a little over dramatic to me, and eventually the love interest turned from Remus to Snape, and the actual scene where he begs Amelia to live isnt even portrayed because Harry is outside of the room. BTW, if your interested to know, When Snape comes to Amelia in the hospital wing, what you dont see is Snape, at first, giving her an "I told you so" speech, and then a long lecture, and then him reolising that she doesnt intend to live anymore, and then him practically getting down on his knees and promising her he would do anything for her if she would only just try to get more help. *sigh* Probably more information than you wanted hu? Anyways.... -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #3, by tragicsleep Chapter Fifteen, When Night Falls

13th May 2005:
this is a truly beautiful story.i love the plotline.it's interesting how you pictured voldemort's army of death eaters.instead of making them seem like a bunch of loonies who go around randomly killing muggles,you made them seem organized and therefore more threatening.its also interesting that you made there be good death eaters.they might have bad traits,but they didn't join the dark lord only for the sake of killing muggles.that's what i like about amelia,she follows her own path,even though that freaky charm thing tries to control her.also,i was wondering,what relation does damien malfoy have to lucius?is he the latter's brother,or a cousin?anyway,wonderful story,i truly enjoyed reading it (and stayed up till 3 am to do so).take care.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! Everything you said is exactly what I wanted to portray in this story. Im glad you brought up the topic of the "not so bad" deatheaters. In one of my original ideas for this story, I had planned on the whole castle really being a decoy for Volodemort to kill off any followers who he felt were not completely behind him, but I had to get rid of that idea because I was afraid that it would clash with any plot ideas J.K. Rowling had for later books. Damien is actually from a completely different Malfoy branch than Lucius. I'd like to think that hes from the black BLACK sheep tangent of the family. His family doesnt have as much money as other Malfoys because they are Lazy and they use tricks and lies to get what they want. I suppose he would be a second cousien thrice removed or something like that. Anyways, he never met Lucius or Draco, and his blood line ended with his death. I hope that answered your question. Feel free to e-mail me with any questions or anything ;) -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauder gal Chapter Eight, Into a Broken Mind

18th April 2005:
Nice chapter! I love Snape's sarcasm and thats why I like him

Author's Response: Hi marauder girl!!!! Thanks for the review! I love Snapes sarcasm too. I think if you read on though, you'll find that there is a meaning behind his sarcasm!!! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #5, by Marilynlov7 Chapter Fifteen, When Night Falls

13th April 2005:
Wow, that was a really awsome story! Out of all the ones I've read this one really is good, like on the level of being published good.

Author's Response: Really? That so sweet of you to say so. I do think it needs a LOT of corrections before it could be published though, but thank you for your complement! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #6, by Miranda Chapter Fifteen, When Night Falls

12th April 2005:
Let me just tell you i have read a lot of Harry Potter stories and when i say a lot i mean a lot so i just wanted to say that was one of the best and that is one thing you won't hear from me many time so i just say you are a great wirter so keep up with it best wishes, Miranda.

Author's Response: That means SOOO much to me. Thank you! I'm afraid that a lot of people see all of my grammical mistakes and pass up the story, and that makes me sad because I think this story is something special. -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #7, by ink_heart Chapter One, Return

12th March 2005:
How come you didn't mention any thing about Sirius? Nothing at all . . . no grief or anything. WHy? By the way you had some spelling erorrs. just though i let you know.

Author's Response: Ohhhhhh yeah. I know about the spelling errors. Thanks though. I plan on fixing that once I finish the entire. If you didnt notice, in the beginning of the story, Harry is seriusly upset that everybody around him seems to be trying to forget about the events of last last. Events meaning Lord Voldomorts return and the Death of Sirius Black. I think if you keep reading, your questions will be answered. ;) If once the story is done and you have more questions, dont hesitate to ask! Thanks so much for the review. It really helps me! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #8, by JAWorley Chapter One, Return

12th March 2005:
It was a little confusing because of some spelling errors, and you kept changing the point of view from like, second to third person. Otherwise pretty good. -JW.

Author's Response: Thanks. Yeah, the spelling and stuff sucks, but as soon as I finish it, I intend to edit the whole story. I'll have to look into the thrid person and second person thing. I had always thought I was writeing in third person. Thanks for the review. Please keep reading! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rupertinspiresme Chapter Twelve, The Unknown Goodbye

11th March 2005:
Omg, I love this story sooo much. Edward is my favorite!! Whyyy o whyyy did you kill him!! Please go here!! http://www.freewebs.com/fredslover14/

Author's Response: *lol* Im glad you like it. I know, Edwards a hunk hu? Hes inspired by the man of my dreams *drools* Yes, it is sad that he died, in a way, he represents the loss that Harry has recently had. Please keep reading and reviewing! I dedicate my next chapter to you. -Scarlet fay

 Report Review

Review #10, by Min Chapter Ten, An Argument and A Confession

10th March 2005:
I love how he said i love you to Amelia... Too funny. I made me laugh.

Author's Response: *lol* Me too.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Min Chapter Ten, An Argument and A Confession

10th March 2005:
I love how he said i love you to Amelia... Too funny. I made me laugh.

Author's Response: I love that too. Its sooooo sweet. Too bad he dident say it of is own conciouse will, and he never does unfortunately....

 Report Review

Review #12, by Min Chapter Ten, An Argument and A Confession

10th March 2005:
I can;t see snape getting drunk... It seems that his so prime and proper and so none seelf endulgent that him drinking would sort of be a flaw in his character... Amelia sort of reminds me of hermoine. She sort of a know it all. But, I still like her a lot... Keep on writting. Your doing great Im hooked..

Author's Response: Yeah? hmmm... Amelia at first appears to be a know it all because she is one of the ones who helped create the brain washing device. She IS the Silveroidery specialist. Its true that Snape is very prim and proper. And I agree that his is not self endulgent. I wanted to show the whole "getting drunk thing" to show how he gives in to peer pressure. I think that Snape put on a big show of "Im better than you" because he truely doesnt believe that he is, and he doesnt want anyone to hurt him.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Min Chapter Eight, Into a Broken Mind

10th March 2005:
I love the chapter.. Specially the part were snape say's," Don’t all mens brains lay somewhere other than their heads?” Your a great writter an I love the story. It makes me think of the Nazi's for some strange reason...

Author's Response: *Laughs* Thanks. Yeah it is kind of like Nazis thats sort of the point. Thanks Min. -Mel

 Report Review

Review #14, by brittany Chapter Three, The Empty Place

8th March 2005:
i thought hagrid went to paris not new york what is he doing at the empire state building. why would harry care if snapes office was clean or not. the stories flow is good. but some sentences you throw in there throw me off

Author's Response: Oops! Yeah, that was deffinately a dumb thing on my part. I'll be sure to change that when I edit the story once its all written. Thanks ;) I think if you keep reading you'll find the reason I mentioned that Snapes offices were clean when Harry enters them. Thanks for the R and R. Im glad your enjoying the story flow. Thanks again! I love Review like that! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #15, by brittney Chapter Two, The New Defense Against the Dark Arts Teacher

8th March 2005:
it was alright u do have spelling errors and some times i'll read a line u wrote and it will not make sense to me. readers have to know whats going on or they will loose interest in the story. there has to be a willing suspention of disbelief. also somethings that u had dumbledor do and say would never happened. dumbledor always knows what to say and like in the OotP he doesn't seem to let the students know he is worried of sad for that matter u can't change a character people already know. even if u are not the original writter u must think like the character u read the other books u have to be the characters. sorry for writting so much its just somethings i had on my mind. read this as helpful thoughts and not meaningless critism

Author's Response: Thank you for the Reviews! I have to disagree with you on the Dumbledore theory. I think that after the fith book, there is no way that Dumbledore can put Harry into a fake sence of security. Everything is not alright, and the truth be told, Dumbledore is not an all powerful being and he has no way to make everything all better. I do agree that Dumbledore always knows what to say, and I believe that everything I put in my story is exactly what he ment to do and say. Please keep reading. By the end of the story, you might see that Dumbledore had a purpose in not giveing Harry the comfort that he desired. If there is anything else, dont hesitate to give me more critism. Im glad for the things you have already writen. You may want to e-mail me if you want to. My e-mail is: thescartletfay@yahoo.com -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #16, by Laurem Chapter One, Return

17th November 2004:
Mel, I think that this story is great! It is better when you tell it in person though

Author's Response: Awww thanks Lauren. If you still around, check out the new chapters!

 Report Review

Review #17, by misschievous007 Chapter One, Return

4th July 2004:
Your spelling is a little off, but otherwise great story!

Author's Response: I know. My spelling sucks. But im just working on getting the story out. Thanks for the Review. Please keep reading. -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #18, by Daenerys Chapter Seven, The Points Counter

4th July 2004:
nice story, i've already figured out Amelia watch out 4 spelling and grammar

Author's Response: Thank you!. What do you mean you've figured her out? ~worried~ -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #19, by Min Chapter Seven, The Points Counter

2nd July 2004:
Best Chapter yet. I loved it. Please update soon

Author's Response: Awww Thanks Min. Are you just saying that because Snape gets slapped? ~laughs~ Just kidding. I like this chapter too but my favorite one is comeing....DUN DUN DUN!! -Scarlet Fay (Really shouldent answer Reviews after being on the "Homestar runner'" site.)

 Report Review

Review #20, by bloosmarti Chapter Three, The Empty Place

1st July 2004:
I liked this chapter a lot; you're building your characterisation of Miss Walker steadily, and it's working. The scene outside the Fat Lady was particularly good - does she have a dark side, leaving us guessing, that was really good. I also think there's something more between her and Dumbledore, as she seems to bring out a more relaxed, almost mischevious side to him. As for Snape, you're taking him down a new avenue, but it works! I'm looking forward to reading chapter 4, which I will do 2mrw.

Author's Response: hmmm.........I wouldnt jump to any conclusions about Snape and Miss Walker. I told you, I dont believe Snape is capable of opening up to someone in the current mental state he is in. Im excited for you to see what happens in later chapters...

 Report Review

Review #21, by bloosmarti Chapter Two, The New Defense Against the Dark Arts Teacher

1st July 2004:
I'm glad you took my last review in the spirit in which it was intended. I'm finding this story very enjoyable, the only downside is the spelling mistakes, but other people have pulled you up on these, so there's no point me doing it. I think you've got the characterisation of Dumbledore down really well, but i'm not too sure about Snape yet, but he's only just turned up, so I'll wait and see. As for this miss Walker, she seems interesting. How old is she supposed to be, she seems quite young to me, but maybe i misread something. On to chapter 3 I go..... :-)

Author's Response: ~Claps hands with joy~ Your saying exactlly what I want to hear!! I think you are really going to like her. I picture her in her late twenty/ early thirtys. There really isnt a specific age. Snape is going to be...interesting. I hate Snape romances where he just "suddenly" comes out of his hard shell and opens up to someone. Thats not Snape. I think is Snape really fell inlove with someone at the curent mental state he is in by the fith book, he is more likely to take out a wand and kill the person than to run to them in a fond embrace. I am worried about what you will think about Snape in my latest chapter (Chapter seven) I handwrite everything before typeing it (thats they im so lazy about the spelling, I just want to get the thing posted) And in the last chapter I ended up just rewriteing most of it. In a few chapters, If you are still interested in the story, I will gladly write out my own personal "diagonsis" on why Snape acts the way he does in this Fan fic, and in the books. I think you will not be dissapointed with Miss Amelia Walker by the end of this story. Yes, she does act very young because thats her personallity, very cheerful, very loveable. If you have any more questions or anything that you dont want to post here, you can e-mail. Im really open to ANY suggestions (even harsh ones) My e-mail is ask_scarlet@yahoo.com Anyways, yeah. -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #22, by bloosmarti Chapter One, Return

1st July 2004:
I thought the story was good, but your grammar was a bit off, maybe its your spellchecker, I dunno. The other thing I wanna say is more a question than a criticism - I've never read the American versions of the HP novels, so i don't know whether or not they've been, erm, Americanised. What I mean by this is the bit in yours where you have Dudley get "potato chips, soda" etc. Would it say this in the American versions of the novels. Because it doesn't in the British versions. And while it may seem I'm being picky, the books are set in Britain, and almost everything about Harry Potter is British, and if you want your fanfic to fit in with the novels, it should reflect that. Sorry for the length of this review. I'm gonna read chapter 2 now..... ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!!!! ~hugs~ Im glad you caught that mistake. Your right, I should not have used potato chips as in example. I think I originally had "twinkies" there, but I wasnt sure that "twinkies" were around in the time of Harry Potter (which, I found out later, is said to be set in the eightys) Please keep reading even if I am an American fool who knows nothing about the British culture. (We Americans take everything thats good and make it our own. Especially harry Potter. I'd like to apploguise on behafe of my country) Anyways ~steps off soapbox~ Thanks again. Let me know if you see anything else. -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #23, by bmw_193 Chapter Six, The Silver Broomstick

29th May 2004:
Hey!! New reader here, great story. This is my first review btw and the first story I've read!! ^^ Miss Walker is sooo cool!!! Hopefully the new DADA teacher will be like that in the 6th book ^^ do you know any authors or do you have anyother stories that have action and adventure in them, it's hard to find one that seems like that I would enjoy. Thanks in advance, post soon!! bmw_193 aka Sarah

Author's Response: Thats wonderful! Your a first time reader reading my first time Fanfic! ~laughs and hugs~ I love Miss Walker too, I think shes the woman every girl should strive to be, but you just wait..... About other authors, I dont like to read others fan fics much because I'd prefer my own. I know that sounds egotistical but its true. Still, I have tried some things (mostly in the romance department) One of my readers, Sirius Black, has some good stories, and so does Marauders Forever. You kind of have to dig around here because there are a lot of writers who are not exactly ~cough~ "true" to the characters ~puts her bloody knife away~ Let me know if you find anything worth reading! Thanks for reading Survivors of the Darkness ;) -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #24, by Marauders Forever Chapter Six, The Silver Broomstick

21st May 2004:
Great Story so far! Update soon!

Author's Response: I will thanks! -Scarlet Fay

 Report Review

Review #25, by Justin Raulinaitis Chapter Six, The Silver Broomstick

21st May 2004:
You are a genious and deserve a medal. My only critique is you r spelling ;-)

Author's Response: Awww :) thats so sweet of you. I know my spelling stinks Im sorry. Thanks. -Scarlet

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>