Reading Reviews for The Summer after the battle
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CambAngst Chapter 2 – The Summer after the battle – Choices

25th October 2012:
Hello, again!

Another good chapter for you. Not as emotional as the first, but I think it would be impossible to keep that level of emotion up for an entire story. You took us beyond that first day and into the future, and I liked an awful lot of what I saw.

This time, I think I'll start with what constructive criticism I have. I wasn't really a fan of George and Bill's reactions to Harry's feelings of guilt. Obviously they wouldn't agree with them, but I can't imagine them being so vehement. Especially George. I feel like the guy is probably shell-shocked after all the he lost in the final battle. Attacking someone, at least to me, seems like it would be very low on his list of things to contemplate. I felt the same way about Ginny, but less so.

Moving on to the things I really did like, I thought you did a terrific job with both Minerva and Kingsley throughout the chapter. Their discussion in the beginning sounded just right from both points of view. Minerva's concern for her students and her worries about them being taken advantage of, Kingsley's need to begin to process of rebuilding the wizarding world, it was all great. The discussion they had with the trio + Ginny was also really good and their ending ruminations on who would stay and who would go were pitch-perfect. I did miss Neville and Luna in this chapter. I understand that you've probably whisked them away to their homes, but I think their presences really could have added something.

Ron and Hermione's discussion with Arthur and Molly was also great. They gave away just enough information without spilling all of Harry's secrets.

The group's deliberations over how to secure and protect the Elder Wand were nicely done. Not too much to say about it, I just thought you handled it really well.

I'm really enjoying this. Will be back soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

25th October 2012:
Hi, there.

I first read this chapter a long time ago and for reasons that escape me, I never bothered to leave a review. I feel badly about that, so I wanted to take the time before moving along to your second chapter.

The vision of the morning after the war that you lay out in this chapter is really heart-warming. I love the way that the characters interact with one another. I love the tears that flow and the happier moments as well. The way that Hermione makes Ron realize that the relationship between Ginny and Harry is going to change and that he must accept it, and then the way that she convinces Ginny to hear Harry out... you made her into an amazing peacemaker. Dumbledore had that intangible quality about him that just sounds right. McGonagall and Kingsley were great compliments to the other characters. Overall, you did a masterful job of keeping them all true to canon.

Ginny and Harry... Gah! I love the way you brought the two of them together. You did a fantastic job of taking her from anger and pain to the realization that Harry wants the same things that she does. The subtle maturity and confidence you gave to Harry was also perfect. At the end, when she takes responsibility for his well being, I wanted to applaud!

The only thing I found myself wishing as I read this was that you had focused a bit more on your punctuation and formatting, especially where dialog was concerned. In some places, you forget opening and closing quote marks, or the commas separating dialog from the tags. It's not a major thing, and it certainly didn't affect my ability to follow along, but it's a shame to see such a nice story marred by little details like that.

Terrific start. Can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jeff Chapter 8 - The Summer after the battle – Fight

11th August 2012:
I cannot wait till you have more chapters!!! This has got be by far, my favorite HPFF!! Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Hi,

Glad to hear you are enjoying the fic, apologies for the delay in postings but as you'll have seen from the authors notes my co-author has not been well. However I am currently writing chapter 14 and we are still keen on getting this complete ASAP.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #4, by potslicker Chapter 5 - The Summer after the battle – Acceptance

4th August 2012:
A really out standing chapter and story so far. Will be interested in seeing where this mental link takes them. You introduced Harry having the ability to have wandless and non-verbal magic, is it possible that Ginny (7th generation, 7th child) to develope (link) similar abilities. Just think what a powerful couple thus would make

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ginny Weasley Chapter 8 - The Summer after the battle – Fight

4th August 2012:
Oh my goodness. Best fanfiction. Ever. Please, write more NOW. Post it NOW. I'm on the edge of my seat. MORE MORE MORE MORE.

Author's Response: Hi,

Glad to hear you are enjoying the fic, apologies for the delay in postings but as you'll have seen from the authors notes my co-author has not been well. However I am currently writing chapter 14 and we are still keen on getting this complete ASAP.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #6, by donbuc Chapter 6 – The summer after the battle – Dreams

4th April 2012:
This is a delightful story; one of the best I've read. I like the balance of humor, human and magical elements. The stories charm for me comes from it being a more realistic progression from its beginnings following the battle. The emotional feel seems about right and the magical elements fit very nicely. Interested in finding out more about the development of the magical HG connection. I really liked the way you have explained it and tied it into the information from the JKR novels. Hoping to hear more about Ron and Hermione. The three were bonded in the books and seem a living extension of each other. For the most part, the story just seems believable and the characters progress in natural ways from how we know them from the novels. Thanks for sharing your work. I'm looking forward to future chapters.

Author's Response: Hi,

Firstly sorry for the slow response, as you will have seen from our most recent authors note, we have been struggling to get updates posted (although more has been written). I'm glad you are enjoying the fic so far.

We have a couple more pages of stuff we want to develop but some of it will be in the sequal to this story. As for the connection, I can promise you that there is more to come so watch this space.

Oh and I am about to send Ron and Hermione to Australia but this is several chapters away. All I can say for now is the the visit promises to be 'interesting'.

JKS.


 Report Review

Review #7, by AJPotter Chapter 6 – The summer after the battle – Dreams

27th March 2012:
J_K_Scarlett

I have to say that this story has my interest. I can't wait to see what is happening with the goblin and the dark council. Thanks for this great story.

AJPotter

Author's Response: Hi,

Sorry for the slow reply but as you'll have seen from the latest authors note, it has not been easy to get more chapters up. However things are looking better and we are trying to get some of the backlog up and posted.
As for whats happening this is story one of two so there is more to come.
Glad to hear that you have been enjoying it so far.

JKS.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jennifer Chapter 5 - The Summer after the battle – Acceptance

9th January 2012:
Love this story! Cant wait for an update!

Author's Response: Sorry about the slow response but glad to hear you're enjoying it, Chapter 7 is going in for validation today & we are working on chapter 11 so it is moving onwards.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anturajalka Chapter 5 - The Summer after the battle – Acceptance

6th January 2012:
Many stories or authors have one huge problem: their style of writing is way too simple and booring to read. Yet there are few really good and skilled authors, whose text I'll gladly read and You seems to be one them.

I'll keep it simple: Great story (and nice long chapters, I love their lenght) and keep updating. Have to add this to my bookmarks.
(sorry about language, isn't my native one)

Author's Response: Sorry about the slow response but glad to hear you're enjoying it, Chapter 7 is going in for validation today so it is moving onwards.

JKS

p.s. We hate short chapters as well.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 2 – The Summer after the battle – Choices

5th November 2011:
I am very glad the two of you are continuing to work on this story. It looks pretty good so far. Although I am reviewing chapter 2 I have read to 4. This way we can keep a dialogue going.
As you are finding out, the best way to learn to write is to write, and rewrite, and rewrite. (And rewrite and rewrite!) One of the fantastic things about Fan Fiction is that even if you have posted something you have no obligation to keep it the same. The chapters that Mrs_Grainger has done her editing magic on are significantly changed, and based on that and some other reviews I am totally rewriting my story. The last half of the posted chapters are going to be massively rewritten, and many of them may end up as two chapters.
From what I have seen in reviews you do not have to worry about the chapters or the story being too long. As long as there is reason for the addition it is probably worth it.
Interesting that your two stories started out as one. Don't worry about leaving a few loose ends. Life is like that, without everything ending neatly.
Molly's temper, and everybody but Harry being terrified, rings true. Also all the issues with the Ministry. Lots of stories give the couples the summer off. I don't but in the end that is probably as much of a plot choice as anything dictated by canon. All in all Chapter 2 is a good chapter, good dialogue.
Chapter 3. The brief mention of the Dursley family makes me curious if you are going to develop that. Arthur and Harry's somewhat awkward talk also is good. Hints that there is some special mental bond between Harry and Ginny? It's been done, but not always well. And they are very different people. I see Harry as always good but also as always nice, at least as nice as his position allows him to be. I don't see Ginny as always nice, and she does have Molly's volatile temper.
And then we start to get into the Goblins and the plot.
55 million Galleons, 275 British Pounds. Lots of money! Part of the plot?
I have seen clever ways that the damages have been paid for. If some Goblins are after Harry maybe their attack will cause problems for the goblins, and there can be some sort of trade or? Or just good bargaining with Harry having to pay a few million? Interested in how you are going to fix this.
Ch 4. HRI! Great. Adding little bits of dialogue really adds to the story.
Good start with the Auror department, although I'm still not sure why Harry and Ron can just take the summer off.
Ginny reception at the sports department rings true. I always thought that it would be reasonably common knowledge that Ginny had become Harry's girlfriend, and that the breakup was more private, and not something Ginny would publicize or even acknowledge. Even as just a good player lots of teams would want her.
And of course no one likes Dolores Umbridge.
Of course I would like to see a chapter every week or two, but far better to see a good chapter or two every month or two. We don't get paid for writing this, so putting food on the table comes first.

Author's Response: Hi,

Back again and trying to catch up on the reviews (in between writing chapter 9!)

We are still committed to this story (and the sequel) and I'd prefer to complete these before starting something of our own but that won't stop us laying the ground work for it while we keep Harry et al. entertained.

Re-writing. I tend to do that as I go along so my first drafts are generally pretty much there. That isn't to say that I don't cut huge chunks out (which is why chapter 5 is only 4000+ words.)

As for taking the summer off, I felt that they were due and in any case, from experience, I'd much prefer to have a break between jobs (and even school/University* and work!) and I felt that there is no way that they would have been allowed to go straight back into work after Kingsley and McGonagall are told about what they had been doing.

Dursleys are on my 'to-do' list but I'll be waiting a few more chapters until they have time to slip into the plot with some meaning rather than just dropping them in.

The Bond, Hmm yes I know what you mean but I'm trying not to answer too much here that might spoil things later. But I can say we have plans for it...

55 million Galleons _is_ lots of money and that was what I wanted to get across. It's enough to be _lots_ with out being ridiculous so even if you inherited it, you would still need to be reasonably sensible with it**. And attention to detail is something I picked up in my working life so that just leaked through to my writing. Keep a track of the details and the bigger stuff tends to fall into place.

Frequency of posting is planned to go up a bit but I'm still keen on keeping a few chapters in draft so that I can go back and add things before they go up if I suddenly find that I need to set something up. *Cough* Goblins *Cough*

JKR

*Not that I did, I had to take a day off work to attend my graduation!
**And if anyone has 55 Million kicking around I'd be happy to show them how you could be un-sensible with it ;-)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Nxt222 Chapter 4 - After the battle – Decisions.

21st October 2011:
Great story. I enjoyed reading your work. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks for the double prase but I suspect this was a duplicate review.

JKR


 Report Review

Review #12, by Nxt222 Chapter 4 - After the battle – Decisions.

21st October 2011:
Great story. I enjoyed reading your work. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for the review!

Apologies for the slow response, real life killed a lot of the end of last year but we're now back writing again. (And chapter 5 just went up, Chapter 9 is 90% written and weҀ™re starting to run the final edit over chapter 6) Hope you continue to enjoy it as much as we are enjoying writing it.

JKR


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aurorofthelight Chapter 4 - After the battle – Decisions.

20th October 2011:
I am overjoyed that you've gotten back to this story! It is absolutely brilliant and I can't wait for more! Sorry to hear you've had such difficult times but glad you are back! We can do all things thru the Lord who strengthens us! I will be following this with great interest! Welcome back!

Author's Response: I guess the responses for these reviews are going to have to be Sorry. As you'll see on the Authors note for chapter 5 (which will go in as soon as the queue re-opens) we had a rotten end to the year and work stopped on the story. We are back now and hopefully we can start to get the story back on track (or at least writing something...) Glad that you're enjoying it so far.

 Report Review

Review #14, by csunsure Chapter 3 – The Summer after the battle – Flight

5th September 2011:
love the story so far, hope it continues. I like the fact you have given yourselves multiple angles to keep the story going.

Author's Response: Hi,

Thanks for the support and apologies for the lateness of the next chapter (chapter 4 is in validation now!)

As for the multiple angles, that's just how I write. We have found while writing this that trying to stick to one story/angle for a chapter simply doesn't work for us (or at least I can't write to a standard that we are happy with) so expect more chapters with multiple angles and several story lines running concurrently.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #15, by CambAngst Chapter 3 – The Summer after the battle – Flight

2nd September 2011:
I love it so far! You have a few misplaced words and missing quote marks here and there, but the story, itself is coming together really well. If you are looking for any beta readers, please feel free to contact me. I use the same login name for the forums as for this site.

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for the review!

I did go back over the early chapters and I spotted a couple of misplaces comma's as well so perhaps when I've completed it I might just try and go back to tidy up the last few bits. As for additional beta readers I'll have a chat with my wife about it and see as we have other plans that will probably need closer editing/proof reading.

Apologies for the slow response, real life killed a lot of the end of last year but we're now back writing again. (And chapter 5 just went up.) Hope you continue to enjoy it.

JKR


 Report Review

Review #16, by Izzymom Chapter 2 – The Summer after the battle – Choices

20th August 2011:
I really enjoy this story! Well written with not so much corny romance. Can't wait fore the next chapter. Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Glad you are enjoying it. I started writing it because it was the story that I wanted to read, my wife agreed and started helping me so we are both now interested in seeing how this story gets to the end (We know where its going at least, even if the journey is still somewhat unclear right now.)

JKS


 Report Review

Review #17, by Geneva Chapter 2 – The Summer after the battle – Choices

20th August 2011:
This is probably one of my favorite chapters because it shows that parents can cope with a lot of situations and have to cope with them one time or another

Author's Response: This chapter was reasonably easy to write but they got a bit harder from now on as I ran out of my initial ideas and started to develop the story. I'd been thinking about the first couple of chapters for a long time so when I sat down to write them it just flowed out. The end chapter was the first where I started to reach the "okay and what happened next?" point. You'll be glad to hear that my wife and I have been doing a lot of thinking since then and so you'll be able to read what happened next shortly.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #18, by Rebecca Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

20th August 2011:
I really loved this fanfiction piece I always wanted j.k rowlings to write a book on the 19 years in-between and I love how you incorporated the face that ginnys really good with the bat bogey hex

Author's Response: I've tried my hardest to keep the canon and known history incorporated in this fic (and my wife leaves me to do the research thanks to my near-photographic memory when it comes to books we've read)

I remember reading the Deathly Hallows for the first time and kept thinking she is running out of book here, how is she going to resolve all the loose threads in time?

...19 years later.

Who stole the rest of the ending?

JKS


 Report Review

Review #19, by j Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

19th August 2011:
so far- great! One of my favorite

Author's Response: Glad to hear you're enjoying it! We have just finished chapter 7 and the ending is a doozy chapter 8 marches on and with our new commitment to keep the chapters down to around 5000 words, more chapters as well. (Because we're going to tell the full story we want to and let the length take care of itself.)

JKS


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jet LaBarge Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

19th August 2011:
I've gone through a lot of stories, putting them in my favorites and discarding them as they do not get updated or the stories are bad. Even more do not make the first cut. Your first chapter was interesting, and so I put it on my favorites and waited for the next chapter.

So far it's worth following.

I envy you for working on it as a couple. My wife is not a fan of my writing, although some of my children and their spouses are.

Mrs_Grainger has agreed to beta my Almost Happily After story after my long reviews on her two stories. A lot of it was about process, how she was writing, what she was doing. You have been working on this for 2 years (sounds familiar, it was 2 years from my first words to first posting anything.) You have 6 chapters, more or less. Where are you going? Do you have an end, or are you just wandering through the next few years. And, as a married couple, why are you doing this?

You mention that you and your wife were separated by work for months; are you going to use that experience in writing the chapters where Harry and Ron are separated from Ginny and Hermione?

I look forward to a dialogue with you on these reviews.

Author's Response: Hello Jet, and thanks for the Feedback!

Why did I do it?
When I started the writing, it was at a very low point for us and for me personally. I'd been contracting and the contract wasn't renewed at the height of the first part of the credit crunch/recession in the UK. Other work was annoyingly elusive in that you'd get a strong lead, CV goes forwards and then it would slowly wind down to nothing (Generally the job just turned out not to exist) I found the HP fan fic site and started to devour the stories. I'd always been frustrated that JKR built up the huge big battle at the end of DH and then stopped but as I read peoples offerings I always found issues with them; the stories doing things that I didn't like and things happening wrong. Not that I'm saying that they are bad, There are some amazingly good stories on this site (Mrs_Grainger's included) but I came to realise that the only way I would get to read the story I was 100% happy with was to write it myself.

Why do we do it?
The writing was a bright spot in an otherwise dark landscape (See above) and at the time my wife was keen for me to do _anything_ that would put a smile on my face. Once I'd got a few chapters done I finally showed her the first drafts and once she had cleared the tears away her first comments were very positive and encouraging.
After the initial rush of enthusiasm, she started pointing out my spelling/grammar errors (Never my strong point anyway).

How do we work?
My wife (The one of us with the English degree and the neat writing, she completely understands grammar rules etc. in a way that is alien to me.) took over the reviewing of the structure of the sentences and paragraphs and the punctuation and generally making sure that I made sense and that I had explained all of the relevant facts. (I tend to forget that not everyone has read the books several times over and retained most of the key details)
In addition, we discuss the plot and ideas so she can help me to reach a point where I can put metaphorical pen to paper and start turning out the meat of the chapters. Most importantly, she can (and will) tell me when something doesn't work and usually suggest which direction to work in to resolve the problem.
For me, I tend to develop the plots, do the bulk of the writing (and re-writing and re-writing!) and keep on eye on the HP Lexicon to make sure we are still keeping in line with canon as much as possible. It's become very much a team effort.

Do we have an end?
Well yes but actually we have two. The first is the one that conceived initially when I was thinking about the plot and will actually become the end of the sequel. (Harry Potter and the Curse of Fenik). What I realised when I started writing was that there is simply too much story to include in one fic and to use the ending I had in mind, there was a whole extra journey to get the characters in a position for the story to start.
The summer after the war documents that journey and will end as they board the Hogwarts express for the last year and I know what the ending and the last lines will be already.
The sequel (Harry Potter and the Curse of Fenik) will cover that final year (and probably just beyond) but what that'll include, We don't completely know yet as we're concentrating on finishing this one first.

Using our experience of being separated
We're not sure yet how much I'm going to include as Singapore was an amazing place to live and work and holds, at the same time some of our best memories and some of the our most painful memories (that we'd prefer to forget). I'm not sure how much we will use yet and I had originally intended to base Harry and Ron out of Hogwarts through out that final year but now I think it'll be a bit of both. Rest assured I have more than enough to draw on when/if we do this.

Hope this answers your questions.

JKS

p.s. Good luck on your fic's (and when we get some time spare we'll go and have a looky!)


 Report Review

Review #21, by rob broen Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

18th August 2011:
nice one but a little too mushy

Author's Response: We promise less mush as it goes on (although there will be some) but more dark and more of our plot.

JKS


 Report Review

Review #22, by potslicker Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

7th August 2011:
You have started your story out RIGHT. I like the way you got Ginny & Harry back together. I can see why Ginny would be miffed at Harry and would want to hex him. But you did it right to let Harry explain to Ginny why and not her hexing him first. It will be interesting to see where you go from here and to see if Harry develops any unusual skills and/or Ginny too.

Author's Response: Hi thanks for the review! Chapter 2 went in for validation today so you'll be able to see where it's going shortly. Less intensity but more story. As for unusual skills...
JKS


 Report Review

Review #23, by phoenix9279 Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

7th August 2011:
well writen, solid storyline so far. Cant wait to see where this is going

Author's Response: Wow 2nd review already. Thanks for the support, it echo's _everything_ my wife has been telling me about getting my ass in gear and writing/publishing this fic.

We do want to get this complete (and my Wife is driving me to write more) and we have have a sequal in mind (actually the original story idea was what became the sequal idea as I realised that getting the characters to the point where the sequal could take place was a story in itself.)

J.

p.s. We want to see where this is going as well... ;-) It's kind of plotted but we want to read the details...


 Report Review

Review #24, by Aurorofthelight Chapter 1 – The Summer after the battle – Explanations

6th August 2011:
I'm really glad that your persevered thru all you trials and have brought us this wonderful story! You are off to a marvelous start - I was very touched by this chapter! I look forward to future updates! :):):)

Author's Response: Thank you for making my Sunday! I have to admit that I had tears in my eyes through writing this chapter and even two years later It still as the same effect.

I promise we will try to keep to the chapter every two weeks timeline as we want to finish this and start on the next project. I have a sequal in mind which will be more of our own stuff a couple of sci-fi short stories and a couple of fantasy trilogies.

The first few chapters I wrote on a whim but its my wife pushing me that means that more got written and reviews like yours are a big help. They give me confidence that I can do _this_. Chapter 2 is formatted and ready to go in a week.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login