Reading Reviews for A Measure of Triumph
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SunSation Gal 07 The First of Many

30th December 2012:
Merry Christmas! You're Santa is back to leave more reviews! This was so, so good! Chilling and downright creepy, but in a good way. Your style is just amazing and just...gah. Love it.

Author's Response: Hello! And thanks again, it's so exciting to check and see that I have a new review from you :)

Anyhow, I'm glad you liked this piece! It's definitely pretty stylized, though I don't think I could sustain the imagery for anything longer than a one shot. I guess I sort of see these one shots as snapshots, or descriptions of a single moment, rather than having any huge underlying narrative background.

I really appreciate you taking the time to read what you have so far. Thanks Santa ;)


 Report Review

Review #2, by WeepingWillows The First of Many

2nd April 2012:
I'm envious with the way that you really seem to capture the character's emotions in your stories. You make the reader really able to feel how the character in the story is feeling.

This line is what stood out so much to me: Stars shiver next to the moon; too terrified to shine, yet unable to truly vanish.

Your writing style is just so poetic :)
Another great one-shot!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for the kind review! These one shots are definitely written to be poetic and filled with description, so it's great to hear that you think it works.

That line is one of my favorites as well. I think it's fun to use metaphoric language to set the mood, and to almost project the feelings of character onto the setting (like the stars).

Again I appreciate the review :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by forsakenphoenix The First of Many

19th March 2012:
I never wanted to identify you solely by Vital. But it never occurred to me that you had other pieces of writing. I feel silly, of course, because how could you not? I'm only sorry that I never checked out more of your work before.

I knew from reading Vital that I would adore your writing style, and this is surely no exception. Making a Horcrux is such a dark, horrible act - one in which death is unavoidable, and yet the way that you've written it...it's beautiful and haunting.

Your descriptions are some of my favorites that I've ever read. Every word was perfectly chosen. I can't get over how chilled I am reading this. But I'm just in awe at how perfect it is.

The pacing is wonderful. I especially love how this is depicted: A walk up the hill. An opulent palace. A lavish dinner. A son and his parents. Three flashes of emerald. Slumped on the plates. I don't even know why, it's just my favorite part. The way it just rolls off my tongue while I read it, in such a perfect rhythm, like a heartbeat...kind of. Then it just stops, like they're dead, you know? I don't know, I think I'm crazy, haha. I just really, really liked that part.

This was just so good, and I'm beating myself up for not reading more of your stuff before. I need to remedy this immediately.

Author's Response: Sorry that it's taking so long to respond to this review. But I'm getting there :)

This is definitely different than Vital, in that it's so much more description, but there are parts of Vital that I suppose echo this.

I was trying to write something dark, yet not bloody or earthy. In this case, I wanted something more floating, and haunting. I'm glad you thought that I captured that aspect.

I like that part as well :) It's fragmented, like his memories are, and I was trying to almost portray tiny snapshots of what happened. I didn't pick up on that rhythm while writing that, but I suppose it could have been unconscious.

Thank you for the lovely review. -blushes- I really admire your writing, so hearing that you love my stories is an immense compliment. I think that most of my one-shots resemble this one, more than they do Vital, in terms of writing style. And I know that the use of lots of description and metaphor can be hard to follow, or can weigh things down, but I'm so glad that you were able to understand through all of that. I really write these oneshots to capture a single moment, and to focus on the language over the plot. It's wonderful to hear that you appreciate that. Thank you again for taking the time to read and leave such a complimentary review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginerva_molly_weasley The First of Many

4th March 2012:
Wow what an interesting yet very descriptive piece!

I love how you are writing about a little known character and about how he seemed to have lost quite a lot.

Its written in a very dark way which is sometimes a little difficult to follow but nevertheless it is a very nice piece and the description more than makes up for that!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

Yes, I know it relies a lot on description, which means you have to read it carefully, and probably it is a bit too obscure too.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips The First of Many

1st March 2012:
I am completely chilled to the bone. The making of a Horcrux is a dark and scary thing, an art form in its own sick way and I really feel like you captured that here. This was a work of beauty overlaid by evilness and death. Your choice of words was so succinct but communicated so much in each moment. I can definitely see how much dark magic has consumed Tom Riddle and the steps he's taken in this story to become Voldemort.

xChar

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

I did try to make this story really dark so I'm glad it had the intended effect. But at the same time, I tried to use descriptive language to illustrate the scene. It's sort of the concept of a twisted, but beautiful tragedy that I'm trying to paint here.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Secret Santa The First of Many

25th December 2011:
Oh my God, this was beautiful! The imagery was just amazing, and the subtlety of the entire thing was absolutely fabulous. I literally felt a shiver down my spine - I could almost taste the power themes that were running through this story. Absolutely fantastic!

Merry Christmas!
Your Secret Santa

Author's Response: Hello Santa!

Thanks so much for the reviews ;)

I'm glad you liked it :) Praise on a story is a great Christmas present.


 Report Review

Review #7, by marinahill The First of Many

3rd December 2011:
Oh my goodness, this was hauntingly beautiful. Your writing is absolutely stunning; your word choice, tone and rhythm were all so gorgeous. So many sentences were perfect, but I had some favourites:

"Silence reigns over its nocturnal kingdom." I loved the personification, it really helps set the atmosphere. It was too silent, almost, which makes it seem like something bad is about to happen (which indeed it did).

"The sliver of moon is a scar on the night sky and tendrils of poisonous light filter down through the blackened window. . I think this sentence is my favourite, I've run out of words to express how pretty it is, but gah! Words like "scar" and "poisonous" just make it even more dark, like everything is tainted by what has happened. Superb.

"He is more efficient, cleaner." You really captured Tom in this single sentence - he wasn't about the fuss or the mess, he just got the job done. To draw it out or make a display would be to show that he had any feelings at all towards these people, which he clearly didn't. That indifference is chilling.

Thank you so much for taking my challenge, this fitted the genre so well :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Thanks for the review and for posting the challenge in the first place. I had so much fun writing this story.

I'm glad you liked those sentences. :) Dark stories are so much fun to write because the language can really set the atmosphere. You don't have humor or dialogue to fall back on. I try to be a bit of a minimalist in that respect and try to force myself to use description instead.

Once again, great challenge and thanks for leaving such a nice long review, I really appreciate the feedback! Have you posted the winners yet? Or are you still reading the entries?


 Report Review

Review #8, by Phoenix_Flames The First of Many

6th August 2011:
Hello there, my love! I thought I would come read another one of your wonderful pieces. :)

And it's for Marina's challenge! That's awesome.

As always, well done, and I'm impressed! This was wonderful. So nice and gripping. Chilling.

It's short, but I feel like these dark, emotional, short pieces just tell an even greater story. I could feel everything you were trying to get across, and it was wonderful.

I loved the way you talked about Gaunt, how you addressed him to us and described him to us. It felt somewhat as if he was being put on a pedestal and we were gawking at him as if he were a freak. Poor guy. :)

This piece was spelndid. :) Well done!

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow, I really appreciate you taking the time to come read something else of mine! Yep, I saw her challenge and decided I had to write something for it.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's good to know that parts were effective. And yes, poor Morfin, even if he is a disgusting character, he does end up badly.

Thanks for the review, and thanks so much for praise as well!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login