Reading Reviews for Hear Them Roar
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TenthWeasley Hear Them Roar

7th August 2012:
Hello -- here with a review for you from the review tag!

I didn't really know what I was getting into when I clicked on this story, but I've got to tell you -- I really, really enjoyed reading this! It feel like it's been a long time since I've read something that was so unassuming and light, that just was in the way that this story is. It read very fast, and there was nothing about it to deter from it at all, and I just had a lot of fun reading this.

I've read a story or two from the Hat's perspective before, but you have done what those stories didn't do, and gave him a personality -- and that was so fun! I think a lot of times Gryffindor really is viewed as being the "best" House, when really it's not supposed to be different from any of the others. I love the Weasleys, and yet I can't say that I don't see where the Sorting Hat is coming from in detesting them. (And poor thing, it only wants a bath!) I loved your characterization of him, and it was really quite funny.

And you write very well, too! So many times spelling and grammar errors distract me from the story, and no matter how good the plot is, those sorts of things are somewhat off-putting to me. I think that's another part of why this story was so enjoyable; I didn't have to stop and grit my teeth over a misspelling. ;)

I enjoyed this very much, and am quite happy that I was fortunate enough to stumble upon this story! I rarely give the full ten points to stories, unless I really, really love them -- but I think in your case, that is what's merited, for whatever those numbers are worth. :) Great work! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips Hear Them Roar

22nd April 2012:
Yes! That's all I can shout! Yes! And do a little of this: *fist pump* Go Sorting Hat!

I loved it! So unique, so engaging and amusing. All his wry (and yes a bit bitter) observations about the Weasleys and their effect on Hogwarts is just what I would imagine the Hat's attitude to be. Of course, I didn't think that McGonnagall wouldn't wash him because she seems the sort who would do that.

Favorite lines:

And perhaps a lady hat to mingle with. Though he was quite satisfied chatting up the female paintings.

The House Elves' Granger.

Your Sorting Hat is just the wise, old and crotchety Sorting Hat I would expect. Such a lovely piece and I'm so glad that the Sorting Hat got Fred and all the Weasleys in the end! Their reactions were PRICELESS!

xChar

 Report Review

Review #3, by WeepingWillows Hear Them Roar

11th April 2012:
I loved this! I generally don't read stories like this but I really enjoyed hearing the sorting hats point of view.

I think it's funny that he's so bitter. I think it's funny how he actually interacts with the students and how he was angry at the girl that made the comment about her hair.

This story was very cute! Very funny. I loved the little twist in the end how he decided not to sort Fred into Gryffindor. Very creative and very well done! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #4, by mz.brar Hear Them Roar

11th April 2012:
heheh its always a pleasure to see the inner working of the sorting hat! oh the irony of Fred W II being sorted into ravenclaw! absolutely loved it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by deathlyhallowsmaster24 Hear Them Roar

7th November 2011:
Lovely! Simply amazing! Great job on the story!!! Really col!!!
10/10 and AdDiNg tO fAvS!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Karen Hear Them Roar

6th November 2011:
That was funny! Best Sorting Hat story I've read so far :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Stitch Hear Them Roar

5th November 2011:
Very interessting and very smart. I loved it actualy. Just give the old hat a bath and he would of put Fred inth Gryffindor. You know what, come to think of it I may need to write a story about Fred in Ravenclaw. You have sparked my imagination, congratulations!

10/10!

 Report Review

Review #8, by thehyacinthgirl Hear Them Roar

2nd November 2011:
I laughed out loud at several points during this, so kudos! It's generally not all too easy to make me laugh, I'm a harsh critic like Poe methinks when it comes to humor. Either, I find it hysterical or it's not really funny, at all.

Ah well.

As far as plot goes, I have to say that this highly original. I haven't read many tales about the sorting hat. I have read a few, but this; by far, seems the most authentic.

I always did think that hat had a tendency to be a bit cynical. Remember what it said to Harry when he was doubting himself in the second book? It wasn't exactly a beacon of hope at that moment. Because Harry would have loathed being in Slytherin. . .

So I think you got the hat's personality spot on! I really enjoyed how it's annoyance and bitterness stems mostly from not getting a bath.

You would think Minerva would be able to do that with a swish of her wand, but clearly she has other things on her mind.

I also liked that it sorted Fred into Ravenclaw. In so many next-generation stories it's like the whole Weasley clan gets put into Gryffindor or someone wants to make an evil Weasley so all the Weasley's are in Gryffindor while the other one is in Slytherin or something ridiculous like that.

So it's refreshing to see a Weasley put in Ravenclaw, even if only out of spite on that hat's behalf.

I do hope that the poor hat gets his bath now. I can imagine it would be vexing to be so dirty.


linders

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rusty Halo Hear Them Roar

2nd November 2011:
fantastic. i loved it =] even though we don't see much of the sorting hat, i reckon you captured its personality wonderfully!

 Report Review

Review #10, by abiweasley Hear Them Roar

1st November 2011:
I've never read a sorting hat fic before
Very good idea and it made me laugh!:P Fred being sorted into Ravenclaw was definitely unexpected;)

 Report Review

Review #11, by losers_lurgy Hear Them Roar

1st November 2011:
Hahaha one of the best one-shots I've red.

It was so funny and original. I loved the sorting hats point of view!

It is simply smashing! :')

 Report Review

Review #12, by HarryPLoveStory Hear Them Roar

1st November 2011:
Very cool story! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #13, by Fluffzy Hear Them Roar

1st November 2011:
Wow.

I actually genuinely laughed at that. I've never read a sorting hat centric fanfic before and it was amazing.

Definitely favouriting :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by ohtasha Hear Them Roar

23rd September 2011:
I loved this! Really unique and a darling little fic (:

Author's Response: I'm glad you lked it and thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by May_Diggory_Weasley Hear Them Roar

9th September 2011:
THIS IS AWESOME! BEST STORY EVER. SERIOUSLY. I must favourite this you genius! :) 100/10

 Report Review

Review #16, by krapfm Hear Them Roar

31st August 2011:
Awesome! :D
Really cool story and idea. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Singularity Hear Them Roar

16th August 2011:
This was really clever :) I love the voice that you've given to the sorting hat -- Old, bitter, and wanting nothing more than a bath :) Brilliant! My favorite parts were definitely when he sorted that first girl into Slytherin (lol, yeah, maybe just a touch bitter) and the twist at the end which was especially hilarious :) A really, really creative angle on the sorting hat. I loved it!

~Singularity

Author's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. I'm glad you liked it, because I had a lot of fun writing it ;)

 Report Review

Review #18, by TheGoldenKneazle Hear Them Roar

13th August 2011:
I love this! It's a really great view of the sorting hat - bitter and wanting a wash; it really made me laugh. All the little comments the Hat made about the Weasleys really made me laugh, because they were all so true and funny coming from a hat :) But the ending of this was so clever! I loved how Fred talked to the Hat, in an almost banter, but then the Hat put him in Ravenclaw - it was so unexpected, but made a lot of sense, because the Hat seems to have a vendetta against Gryffindors, and he likes Fred. I liked that detail - that he disliked the Gryffindors for taking over the school and occupying all of McGonagall's time. I just loved this whole thing!
10/10, totally.
~TheGoldenKneazle
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: I'm happy you liked it. I had a lot of fun writing it so seeing that other people like it too just makes me really happy ;)

I might write six other one-shots form the Hat's POV - one for each year Freddy spends at Hogwarts - since I really love the Hat and I think he certainly deserves a bath!

Thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #19, by frenchliam Hear Them Roar

11th August 2011:
This was so adorable, poor sorting hat! Why wouldn't McGonagall wash the poor dear? Fred in Ravenclaw is definitely unexpected, but I enjoyed it (;

Author's Response: Those darned Gryffindor Weasleys, taking up all of McGonagalls time. Thoug, really, how much time does it take to wash a Hat?!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Snapdragons Hear Them Roar

10th August 2011:
This was brilliant! I can safely say that I've never read a story in a hat's perspective here, but what better way to start off than in the head of the Sorting Hat?

It was bitter and quite hilarious, to say the least! Poor thing just wants a bath... I could totally see where it was coming from with the whole Weasley/Gryffindors: good lord, they're like an army. A very frightening, ginger army.

Fred was cute and funny, too. :) I loved how he was a Ravenclaw! Ha, take that, James and Louis. heh

Wonderfully funny and original! Not like anything I've ever read before, I'm very impressed! I really loved this :)
-Snapdragons (Claw)

Author's Response: I never thought I would write a story from the Hat's POV but I muist say I really enjoyed writing this. I'm glad you liked it and thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by imaginary lines Hear Them Roar

10th August 2011:
epic. this was pure epicness. i loved this so much and i was grinning like an idiot at the end. i really do love the story; its such a great one-shot and i hope you win the challenge, because this was just amazing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Iloenchen Hear Them Roar

10th August 2011:
Hahaha! This story is brilliant! Pure and simply brilliant. It's so funny, I could just imagine it happen. Pour Fred, having mentioned that he's so smart. And I did feel sorry for the Sorting Hat, too, but only a little bit as he was far too funny to read about. 10/10.

Author's Response: Just imagine, being the Sorting Hat. Once a year you can sit on the heads of eleven year olds and sing a song. The other 364 days of the year he's just doing .. well, nothing. Can't blame him for being bitter, right ;)

I'm glad you liked it and thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Harrypotterbookworm Hear Them Roar

7th August 2011:
Very clever. Very, very clever. Amazingly clever! It's such an interesting point and it actually makes so much sense! Of course the hat wants a bath, it does get a bit of dust on it.

Oh yes, the actual ... moral of the story. Now that you bring it up, I very much understand what the sorting hat is going on about. Gryffindor's do get the run of the school really. Any then the Weasleys. Oh it all makes absolute clear sense! Great job!

Style wise, it's very impressive. I can see a lot of people would find it hard to write a story about an inanimate object (well, the sorting hat is inanimate I guess but still) but you pull it off perfectly! I love the personality you chose for the sorting hat, it really does suit it well. I also love how it is from the sorting hat's point of view, which gives us a lot of insight. A lot of stories it is all from the student's POV but I think the sorting hat is much better.

There are a few grammar mistakes here and there, but nothing to obvious. Overall, a wonderful very clever fic. It had me laughing. Hugs,

- HPB (otherwise known as nikkinike of Ravenclaw) ;D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I was a bit worried actually about this one-shot, because as you say, the Sorting Hat is some sort of inanimate object. I'm glad it made you laugh ;)

 Report Review

Review #24, by wit_beyond_measure3 Hear Them Roar

6th August 2011:
Hello there! I'm phoenixflames19 on the forums, and here is your review!

First of all, I died laughing while I read this. It was fantastically funny. I loved hearing the Sorting Hat's perspective. It was great, especially since you managed it while writing in third person.

For originality, I give you 10/10. It was great.

Just one little tiny flow thing. Right where the Hat was talking to Fred, you had Fred say "You sound bitter" twice in a row. It just made it seem like you couldn't think of anything else. Nothing major, just maybe you could find something a litte different. Maybe even just intensify the statement.

Ohh oh one other thing I fould while re-reading: "And he, foolishly, had shouted every time he was placed on a red head, 'Gryffindor!'" Just seems like too many commas. You can re-arrange the sentence to make it flow a little bit better.

All in all, this was fabulous. And hilarious. Those two things were totally just tiny little nit-pick-y things. It was great. I hope you win your challenge!

Author's Response: Hi there. Thank you for the review. I looked over your suggestionas - and had to admit you were right :p - so I changed it. Guess in a couple of days the new and improved chapter should be validated.

I'm happy you liked the story and thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by CoLorful DreaM Hear Them Roar

5th August 2011:
The Sorting Hat's POV was epic! Sorting Hat, you do are a bit bitter, though. I guess I just never thought how much trouble would so many Weasleys at a time mean. Plus, who wouldn't become bitter without having a bath in such a long period? I really loved the idea of putting Fred in Ravenclaw. Though, the Sorting Hat was really clever in its questions that got him to take the decision. And, of course, its decision made its effect through the well known Gryfffindor students. Wonderful and really funny!

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: I'm kind of like the Sorting Hat. After reading all those stories about awesome James Sirius Potter and wickedly smart Albus I just thought, wow, how annoying are those Weasleys. Just imagine being surrounded by their entire clan.

Nahh, just kidding. But I can relate to the Hat. Everyone needs a bath every now and then.

Glad you liked it and thank you for reviewing.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>