Reading Reviews for The Right Man for the Job
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Luna Dominique Potter A Bold Attempt

15th August 2012:
Ha ha, this is hilarious! And amazing, of course! :D I love Sirius's cocky behaviour and Dumbledore listing off all the things that led him to believe who Castor Aldebaran really was. Absolutely brilliant!

Author's Response: I wrote this a year ago and I'm still amused whenever I reread it! And it isn't beyond the realm of believability either! :) So glad you enjoyed it and thanks a bunch for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Marauderette A Bold Attempt

24th November 2011:
That was really funny! I loved it! It was such a clever idea for a "prank." Sirius as "Castor" was hilarious; using that name was brilliant too. You're a great writer and I can't wait to read more of your work! 10/10

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D I had a lot of fun writing Sirius and Dumbledore. And as you can see by my author page, I now have several stories for you to choose from next. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Bold Attempt

13th August 2011:
The name! That was so clever. I kept wondering where I had heard it before and then when I read about the 'two adjacent stars' from Orion I laughed. I felt silly, I took astronomy a semester ago! The things we forget when we're on vacation! Anyway, I really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Five minutes of research on my part in search of a "wizard name." I wanted to stick with Sirius's family tradition of star names. Glad you appreciated the name! And thanks for sharing your thoughts about it- made me smile!

 Report Review

Review #4, by LilyFire A Bold Attempt

13th August 2011:
I was laughing at the guy, thinking he wasn't taking the interview seriously enough at all and wondering how on Earth he didn't look with amazement at Dumbledore's office. Then it turns out to be Sirius! I thought it was brilliant. I didn't even catch that he shouldn't know Pomfrey or Filch until Dumbledore pointed it out. Great job!

~LilyFire (Hufflepuff)

Author's Response: You mean you didn't think he was taking the interview "Siriusly"? (Sorry, couldn't resist!) I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins A Bold Attempt

13th August 2011:
Oh my God, this is hilarious! I totally cracked up when Dumbledore outed Sirius. Oh I love it, I can just see teenage Sirius applying for the DADA job with a fake identity XD I totally think Dumbledore would actually interview him, too, just to see if Sirius could hack it in a job interview. I also adore the way you wrote Dumbledore, especially at the end. He's a very difficult character to write, and you really did well. This is a great one-shot, witty and funny and leaves you considering all the possibilities at the end. Perfect Marauder!

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Sirius is my favorite character to write, and Dumbledore is also fun since I enjoy trying to get his phraseology just right. :) Thanks for the review, it made me smile!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Arithmancy_Wiz A Bold Attempt

9th August 2011:
What a cute one-shot! I've never read anything quite like it. Very original.

I was a little surprised when you gave the "fake" name of the man interviewing. Up until that point I was trying to guess what canon character it might be. Then when you added the bit about two students causing trouble, my first thought was Fred and George. I guess I should have read the characters you listed before diving in, but it was more fun to be left guessing until the end. Overall, I thought you really captured Dumbledore's manner of speaking well. He really had that slow, wordy way about him that was really in character. I can also believe he'd let the scenario play out, seeing just how far Sirius would push it.

I did notice a few typos, but nothing major: "He sat opposed Dumbledore." I think maybe you meant opposite? Also, "I have already canceled the remaining Defense Against the Dark Arts classes for the remainder of the term." Maybe consider removing one of the remainder/remaining as it's a bit redundant.

Thanks for sharing :)

A_wiz (RC)

Author's Response: First of all, thank you for the review! I always knew I wanted Sirius to be involved in the interview in some way. After a lot of editing, Sirius actually became the candidate. I'm glad that you like my portrayal of Dumbledore- praise like that makes me smile!

I just went in and changed the things you pointed out- thanks! I agreed with the remaining/remainder thing- I try to avoid redundancies but I must have missed this one. The small corrections should be out in a few days. And again, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by forsakenphoenix A Bold Attempt

8th August 2011:
I loved this! It was so humorous and light-hearted. Sirius in an attempt to get out of detention sending in a teaching application. Genius! I must admit that you had me going for a bit. I know you listed Sirius as a character and I couldn't quite understand where he came into this. I guess I'm not as wise as Dumbledore. ;)

The ending was a little sad, though. Knowing what's in store for him but I'm glad that Dumbledore recognized what a valuable asset he would be even though he wasn't quite sure what he needed him for yet.

This was really very-well written and I enjoyed it immensely. Nice job! Good luck with the challenge.

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Tee hee, I love Sirius and I knew I wanted to involve him somehow for the challenge. I'm glad you liked it (and that I had you wondering about Sirius's involvement for a while). Thanks for leaving the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by randomgirl A Bold Attempt

3rd August 2011:
I loved it!! As im pretty sure you know already I think you write Sirius down to a tee. It was a very funny chapter and very entertaining :) I also think you wrote dumbledores reaction perfectly, from letting him interview to being impressed by him, Really well done and I hope you win the challenge! :)
Randomgirl :) xx 10/10
Ps its great to see your writing again! :D

Author's Response: Yay! I love writing Sirius- he makes me happy! And Dumbledore just intrigues me. :) Thank you for your kind words! I'm keeping my fingers crossed!
(Yeah, I'm going to renew my efforts of writing HP fan fiction. Yay!)


 Report Review

Review #9, by mechii A Bold Attempt

2nd August 2011:
soo funny!!! nice try Sirius lol.

Author's Response: Glad you found it funny! And thanks for letting me know! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by carrots A Bold Attempt

2nd August 2011:
This was really good! I could picture everything happening as I read it - everything was described perfectly. You characterized Dumbledore exquisitely, and the last line was perfect. This whole fic was very well planned and thought out... I think you have a very good chance in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it! And thanks again for letting me know the specifics about what you liked! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login