Reading Reviews for Chaos on the way to Christmas
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hermionelookalike Chapter One

6th January 2013:
need.more.
PS It was great

 Report Review

Review #2, by megan2u Chapter One

29th September 2011:
Aww, what a sweet and funny Christmas tale at the Burrow! I love your heavily pregnant Ginny! She's hilarious! Poor Teddy, he was just trying to help and ended up getting in trouble with the tempermental redhead! Such a cute one shot, it's no wonder you won! I also love all the "baby" Weasleys, sooo cute!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you think that Ginny was hilarious. I'm really happy you think that it was so cute and that you loved the baby Weasleys. Thank you for the lovely review! ^^

 Report Review

Review #3, by Roots in Water Chapter One

10th September 2011:
This was really great! I enjoyed how you picked this one moment and elaborated on it. Of course the Burrow would be chaotic- I don't know how they managed with 7 kids!- but with their kids as well... Absolute chaos.

I think you characterized Ginny very well. She sounds like she's a very capable mother- and her realization and horror that she was acting like her mother was quite amusing! Isn't it every parent's nightmare to find that they're acting like their parents? As well, I found the comment about her pregnancy affecting her magic very interesting. Muggle pregnancy affects both body and mind- why wouldn't it affect magic for witches?

When I first read that the fire was brighter, I thought that it was going to explode or something along those lines. I'm very glad I was wrong, though a burned notebook still is very serious. Poor Ginny- all that hard work gone to waste! Teddy and the other kids were very cute though- great job with writing them! They acted just like kids their ages would, which can be a hard thing for a writer to do.

In particular I loved how you included little details, such as the cookies and drinks distributed around the Burrow. It just made the story seem that much more alive. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm glad that you enjoyed the story, I thought that it would be a lovely moment to do so I'm really glad you enjoyed it. The idea of the Burrow at Christmas time definitely brings chaos to my mind!

Thank you! I always worry about my characterizations, especially when it's in a circumstance that I have no real personal experience in. I'm glad you thought that it was amusing, that does seem to be everybody's nightmare no matter how awesome their parents might be. That was my logic with the thought of it affecting her magic, it's all hormones after all and hormones do strange things to people.

Oh dear. That would have been bad! I'm glad you were wrong too, that would have been a mess. Yeah, she'll be alright in the end though. I'm really glad that you thought the kids were cute and that they were age appropriate. That's absolutely lovely to hear! And it's awesome to hear that you thought that the little details helped with the story.

Thank you! ^^


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lady Snape of Spinners End Chapter One

21st August 2011:
Excellent work! The quality of writing of this story was great: very descriptive. I felt like I could really see and hear exactly how busy and chaotic the Burrow is at Xmas time! I think it's great how you wrote a pregnant Ginny: I haven't encountered that before! Ginny especially was very well written; she was definitely how I imagine a grown up Ginny would act.
My favorite part was when you mentioned Teddy Lupin: he is a character I've always been a bit obsessed with wanting to know more about, and I feel like you offered me a tantalizing glimpse of Teddy! You should write a fic focusing purely on him, I'd love to read it!
You also did a good job capturing how crazy holidays can be with relatives around; my house is crazy as well and there's only 5 of us!
All in all, I think you are a writer who knows what they want to see on the page and is great at getting it down. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you thought that the writing was so descriptive, I really wanted to get that feeling of the business of the holidays so it's great to know that you got it.

I'm glad that you thought she was well written. I always worry about my characterizations so it's good to know that you thought that was how she would act. Teddy is an amazing character that I don't think we really get to see enough of given he doesn't really fit in the age group of the Next Gen kids to some extent so I'm glad you liked that I used him. That's a great suggestion, I'll definitely keep that in mind.

*blushes* Thank you, that's a lovely thing for you to say. ^^


 Report Review

Review #5, by Blue Flame Chapter One

13th August 2011:
'ello love!

I think this was a really adorable and believable one-shot, really! They were all nicely written and the characterizations were IC in my opinion. I've actually seen quite a few stories where Ginny is a reporter of sorts, so I suppose that could be considering a cliche-- but a good one! =P I love the bit where she's hoping the baby doesn't mess with her magic, as I don't think a lot of people explore the effect that added bit of stress and hormones will have on one's magical ability.

The kids were positively adorable, especially Teddy having used it to keep the fire going. At least he had a lovely intention! =P

Twas an enjoyable read! ^^

-Cappie/Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you! I'm glad that you thought it was adorable and believable. It's great to know that you thought the characterizations were IC. I think that's actually what JK said she did? Not one hundred percent sure on that one now that you mention it though.

Yeah, I always kind of assume that it would mess with it given that it is something that influences emotions and such.

Thank you! I know... I kind of felt bad for putting him in that position!

Thanks^^


 Report Review

Review #6, by comet855 Chapter One

11th August 2011:
This was a very cute story. I really like how you depicted Ginny, you did a very good job with her emotions. I also love how you did the children, especially their voices. As I was reading, I could just see the children speaking like that and sucking their thumbs. Good job!

comet855
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think that i did a good job with her emotions and with the children and their voices. I was going for 'cute and innocent' and the like. I'm glad that you could see them doing that! ^^

 Report Review

Review #7, by xtinjsc Chapter One

5th August 2011:
Bawww, this is very sweet! I always like it when people take simple life moments and bring them to life in stories. I love the touch of realism to this piece, Megan. I think you've really captured the Weasley family dynamics really well, not to mention the chaos of having so many children in the house.

I like the details in here as well, like Ginny working for the Daily Prophet and such. I think you have a good grasp with your post-Hogwarts canon and I really like that. There's one part in here when Ginny said she's turning into Mrs Weasley that made me laugh. :P I sometimes see flashes of Molly in her and I love how horrified she was at the thought of that. This is such a nice and fuzzy little piece and I enjoyed reading it. It's never too early for a Christmas-themed story. :)

xtinjsc (Hufflepuff)

Author's Response: Thank you so much Kristine! I'm glad you think that I've managed to do that. I can only imagine that it would be complete chaos... definitely not something I'd want to experience.

Thank you. I'm glad that you liked the details that I had put in about post-Hogwarts. Yeah, that has to be a big fear for girls, turning into their moms no matter how awesome they are! I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it! Exactly my thought on the Christmas thing ^^


 Report Review

Review #8, by leannemariesnape Chapter One

1st August 2011:
Awww. This was very cute! I liked how she was hormonal because of the pregnancy, leading to making her being more snappy, and I also liked the use of Teddy in this. I enjoyed the atmosphere that was put into this story- I could really imagine what such a packed Burrow would be like, so I really enjoyed that aspect. It was cute how the kids spoke, and I liked how at the beginning Ginny thought to herself that Teddy wouldnt be a bad influence on the kids- though for once he was! I think it's ver much like a child to do something like that... The items were also used very well, which was nice to see... Very enjoyable- even though it's not Christmas yet! :D
Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you thought it was very cute. I'm glad that you thought that the atmosphere was enjoyable and that the way that the kids spoke was cute. Thank you very much ^^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login