Reading Reviews for Learning From Love
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by justonemorefic Bristol

19th August 2012:
“I’ve seen this happen before, remember?”

Also this whole paragraph: Five years had passed since a naïve, twenty-year-old Molly had upped and left... shards of broken china and lumps of shattered hearts under the feet of careless stilettos, heavy briefcases and one too many bottles of wine. Seriously adore Lucy's PoV. And I love these hints that Molly is much wiser than she was before, and that she is the one giving advice here and being blunt. “You got the man of your dreams.”/“And it came at the cost of my family’s respect and a divorce.” saddened but I am so glad you went there. so good to see Molly facing these things.

Ouch Lucy, low blow indeed. I love them though, to bits. You write the best pair of sisters. “I won’t because I love you, as much as I’d like to pretend otherwise. I know why you’re going. I know what you think you’ll get from it. Don’t be too disappointed.” Maybe it's because I haven't fed my inner cynic in so long, but I love all this cynicism 8D Warms my heart.

Baww Louis and Lucy :33 I just want to squish them now.

AND SO HER ADVENTURE WILL BEGIN
... IF YOU UPDATED.
COUGH.


Author's Response: Lucy ♥
Molly has grown up a lot. I think that finally accepting she needs Teddy (and vice versa), she could let all her inhibitions go and just be herself, which is someone more like Lucy than she ever thought. I think she's living a very hard life at the minute: not much money, fighting against her family's opinions, blaming herself for her parents' marriage break up, getting engaged.

Low blow ♥ And that's what Lucy's like because she can't comprehend what it's like to be Molly or live through what her sister's living through. I like writing her and the ignorance she has with regards to certain areas of life (namely love). She's never had it and has watched her parents fight and argue for a big chunk of her life, seen her sister come to ruins because of it and can't get her head around its virtues. For her, it's very black and white.

Louis and Lucy ♥ I love them.

Thank you for reviewing and I WILL TRY. IT'S REALLY HARD :(


 Report Review

Review #2, by justonemorefic London

19th August 2012:
OH MY GOD RACHEL I HAVE MISSED THIS UNIVERSE SO MUCH WHY IS IT ONLY TWO CHAPTERS. I HAVE PUT OFF READING BECAUSE I WAS LIKE RACHEL IS NEVER GOING TO UPDATE IT BUT THEN I WAS LIKE NO, SHE NEEDS SOMEONE TO NAG HER AND SO I HAVE ARRIVED.

ahem.

but omg yes all your characters. all your women. They are so strong but flawed and wonderful. I could listen to them talk all day. All that sarcasm and bitterness, but also family and love as well. And I remember loving Lucy in One and Only, and she was so observant and i'm kind of squealy at being able to see all that she sees finally. I think this is the perfect line for her: She saw love every day but she had never really believed in it. , and I love how that contrasts with the others

You always had such a lovely attention to the details of life.
- He wanted her to lose it and plant the foundations for the stories at his wedding, of the manic ex who had smashed a flowerpot over his head in fury.
-“The ‘it’s the middle of the day, mother’ look,”
-“Because when you look back twenty-five years down the line and realise it was nothing more than a wicked imagination, it hurts twice as many people twice as much.”

♥♥♥

Author's Response: GINA, YOU ARE NOT IN MY LIFE ANYMORE AND IT MAKES ME SO HORRIBLY SAD. WE MUST CATCH UP SOON AND MAYBE I WILL WRITE MORE OF THIS.

I have been trying, I promise. It's just all coming out terribly but ONE DAY, I SWEAR.

I find it quite funny that you call my female characters strong because when that duel came up at TGS, I didn't think I had any that could be defined like that. Their flaws are so prominent that I find them tarring the character underneath.

I think having Lucy as the MC is what's causing me problems, actually, because it is so, so difficult to write from her point of view. I'm a fairly observant person but not to the degree that she is so it's tricky to imagine looking at people in such an analytical way, constantly.

That last line is one of my favourites, ever. I really like it and I'm so glad you pulled it out.

I WILL PM YOU ONE DAY SOON, I PROMISE.
Thank you so much!

xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by ruby_slippers Bristol

6th June 2012:
This story looks great i can't wait to see where it goes! I like your versions of the characters and the way their lives have turned out differently from the stereotypes - its going to make for a much more interesting read :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much. I do plan on continuing this at some point but I'm lacking a bit of inspiration for it at the minute so we'll have to see. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marinahill Bristol

8th January 2012:
I LOVE LOVE LOVE Molly in this. Her dialogue is PERFECT and I love how you link this with One and Only. She's such a great character and she and Lucy fit perfectly together as sisters, in the way that they fight but they still care for each other. Molly looking out for her was so sisterly, because Molly knows from past experience that running off doesn't help.

Naturally, Lucy's plans are super exciting :D It's nice that Louis is offering to help her. I'm sure her exploits on the continent will be interesting and teach her plenty about what she's left behind.

love you! excellent job :) the characters are gorgeous!



ps. much love for Enid and Marms.

Author's Response: And I LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU.

I'm so glad you can see that it does link up with OaO. It's way harder to do that than I thought it would be.

HOLIDAAAYYYSSS. Very exciting stuff. It'd be more exciting if I could bring myself to write more...ah well :P

Thank you oodles and oodles!

xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by littlemissmb London

15th December 2011:
WOW. i really wish this wasn't abandoned. Its a beautiful story and its beautifully written. I know that you wont write anymore and that sucks because i cant help but want to read more and more.

Nice work for sure. I cant stop thinking about it. Im looking forward to reading your other work.

Author's Response: I'm sorryy! Hopefully it's a temporary thing. I'd really like to get back into it when my uni workload dies down over summer but it's such a long time that I thought it best to stick it on abandoned for now :)

If you liked this, I'd recommend checking out One and Only!

Thank you so much for the review.


 Report Review

Review #6, by MajiKat London

3rd September 2011:
omg i am so sorry this has taken me so long to get to darling! forgive me?? *i bring cookies*

okay first up this is so darn emotive!! i felt everything lucy felt, from her subtle anger to her disdain and that lovely way we try to laugh things off. i felt it all, and that is one of the wonderful things about your writing - you make us feel but it is never intrusive or demanding. it is subtle and skillful.

i really like lucy's character in this. she is underwritten in fanfic and that makes me sad. i love the way you have set this up so far - by the end of this chapter, after that last little section, there is a lovely sense of anticipation, that if this were a novel i held in my hand i would have turned the page already to see what was going to happen!

wonderful start hun and again, sorry for the wait!!
Kate xx

Author's Response: Oh don't be so silly! I saw you say were ill and I was way later than you were. My memory is so awful.

The premise for this story has been with me for about 18 months now but never have I quite managed to write it in a way I liked. When One and Only's Lucy came to being and I fell in love with writing her, I put them together and waited for the chapter to fall together like it normally does. Only it didn't. It's a story I'm genuinely worried about and so to see that paragraph about the way the writing made you feel is really a great relief for me.

She is underwritten - so's her sister. I feel way more of an affinity towards Molly but I loved how I wrote Lucy in One and Only and couldn't resist this.

Oh I'm hopeless at last lines in chapters! Really dreadful :P I'm really glad it gave you that sense of anticipation though.

Thank you so much, Kate. I'm really glad that you liked it and you've really put my mind at ease with some worries I had for this story.


xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by filch London

12th August 2011:
I HAVE BEEN SAVING THIS REVIEW SO I COULD GIVE IT TO YOU ON YOUR BIRTHDAY. IT KILLED ME FOR I LOVE THIS. IT FITS PERFECTLY WITH OAO LAND, WHICH IS OF COURSE MY FAVE FAVE ONE. APART FROM ONE DAY. I'M RAMBLING.

This is set to be WONDERFUL. You Lucy is intriguing, her relationship with her mother is written PERFECTLY and I know there's more brilliance yet to come. You keep on getting better and better.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY OLD WOMAN!!!

Author's Response: YOU'RE SUCH A SWEETIE. I'M SO GLAD THAT YOU LIKE IT. YOU CAN HAVE MULTIPLE FAVES AS LONG AS THEY'RE ALL MINE ;)

Hahaha, I doubt it since this has died after the first chapter. NOW YOU SEE WHY I NEED TO PREWRITE. MY MUSE DIES WHEN THINGS GET POSTED :(

THANKS DARLING

xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by lia_2390 London

9th August 2011:
I know I'm going to be absolutely in love with this story.

The premise behind it is gold. When everything is looking up for one sister, things are going downhill for the other for Lucy Weasley has lost her sight.

Her reaction to the breakup was not out of the ordinary, at least not for her. I don't think it would've been in her nature. What indeed would be the point of crying and begging if he'd already made up his mind. I suppose he didn't know her as well as he thought he did if he waited around long enough, expecting her to lose it.

What I love most about this first chapter is how relatable it is. This is why Lucy was my favourite from 'One and Only'. I daresay as the story progresses, she would learn, as we all will.

Would you say she's become cynical after seeing all the things around her fall apart? I think so. But I also wonder if she's scared, hence her wanting to run away.

Another lovely opening and I'm glad I caught it this time!

Lia
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: Oh, lovely. I'm so happy you liked this ♥

Exactly that. I think she's so confused by what she's feeling, and I didn't even think much about her reaction to the breakup but you're absolutely right. She wouldn't want to show weakness; it's somewhat similar to Molly who holds it in, though she shows - to an extent - that she's upset. Lucy never would.

It amazed me in 'One and Only' that you considered Lucy relatable. I'm not sure why, since I'm more of a Lucy than a Molly or Victoire, but she never struck me as someone that people would relate to. Of course I'm glad that you do!

I think she's always been cynical but the way things around her have broken down definitely exacerbated it. She's also scared, yeah. I read this review quickly before I went out last night and what you said definitely played heavily on my mind. Molly ran away because she was frightened of what she felt, and that's pretty much the same reason Lucy has done so. It's slightly different fear but there are parallels between the two stories, definitely.

Thank you so much, lovely! I'm working my way slowly through the second chapter now; I don't think it'll be a quickly updated story, sadly. Lucy's character's giving me issues at the moment but I'll get there.


xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ilasia London

21st July 2011:
I can already tell this is going to be really, really beautiful. Even from the opening paragraphs, it was so very poignant and real. Lucy's personality shines through already, and I like her very much. This felt quite personal - and it's only the first chapter - and I'm seriously in awe of how you managed that. For lack of better adjectives: this is so, so good.

This review is nothing but ramblings, but I really am lost for words. I'm so excited for the next bit!

It's been too long, Rachel! I've missed you and your gorgeous writing ♥

Author's Response: Zinnyyy ♥ I've missed you terribly and thank you so much for reviewing!

I'm not sure how I managed that myself but thank you. I really want Lucy to be strong enough to stand on her own in this story. I've never written anything about one main character only so it'll be a bit of a challenge.

Thank you so much, my lovely. I'm really happy that you liked iiit.


xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login