Reading Reviews for Here We Are
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PolyJuice_ Chapter One

16th April 2013:
So I know how old this is, and that your writing has improved ten-fold, so I wont comment on that part. It just seemed like an interesting story. :)

~*~

GURL, Rose had some sass talking to Scorpius like that! She's a bit blind right now, but I'm already a fan of her. You stayed true to her the whole time, not changing her character halfway through, which is really hard, sometimes. Especially with a strong - willed person like Rose.

Your story is one that's been done a hundred thousand times (even hinted at in canon) and it's just a trap for many authors to fall into a cliched story, and yet you completely avoided all that, coming out with something fresh and new. (Plus I'm only majorly biased with this being one of my favourite pairings)

So I've gotta go. But I'll be back later with more reviews!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #2, by ginerva_molly_weasley Chapter One

4th January 2012:
Well you know already that I really love ScoRose so I tend to be quite critical of them however I think this has a quite good concept.

The fact that you've established Rose's character very early on makes me want to read on to see if all of her assumptions about Scorpius are true because he says they're not.

It doesn't seem like the original typical love story which makes it so interesting. The only thing I can say is that there are a few awkward phrased sentences so maybe reading over could sort them out but nothing to put a reader off.

Other than that well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this! I was really interested in doing this story but honestly I'm not really sure where to go from here.. I have a little bit of an idea but not much so for now the story is on hold but i will still hopefully be continuing it. Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #3, by Free_Rhapsody Chapter One

27th November 2011:
I really liked this chapter, it was an excellent start. Firstly, I loved the idea of Scorpius being a singer, that's so unique and I can just imagine him crooning away. Ok, maybe not crooning, but definitely singing something lovely :)

I'm impressed by the continual presence of Rose's strong views/opinions on Scorpius, her character was constant throughout this chapter and it really aided in the confrontation between the two; hearing Rose's opinion on Scorpius definitely set the scene for the character interactions.

Another thing I really liked was the description of her waiting, and how it was frustrating passively waiting for something to happen; as when it did it often wasn't worth the wait. I do believe that manifests itself in a phenomena called 'Christmas Syndrome'; in which actual Christmas Day often doesn't compare with the long wait. I thus could easily empathise with Rose here.
In short, I really liked this character, there wasn't anything I thought you could improve on, and I'm excited to see what happens next. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm really hoping to continue working on this story soon but my dramione and tracey/theo have taken a hold on me. It just depends on when the ideas come back to me for this story as they all kinda left me.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #4, by stargazer Chapter One

14th August 2011:
I'm really starting to enjoy reading Rose/Scorpius centered stories. And this one was pretty good. I wish there were a sequel for this. I would really love to know what Hermione knows about Scorpius and how he's apparently seeing all these different girls. Rose's character is a bit more bitter than I'm used to reading but its refreshing to see her written in a different way. And I can actually believe her going into a muggle town to buy coffee or listening to something like an ipod. Since Hermione grew up with muggle parents I could see her teaching her children about the muggle world and how things work there. And her not being able to find a job she wants straight away seems to be pretty realistic. Especially considering what times are like now. Well anyway good job on this story dear. I enjoyed reading it.

stargazer||slytherin house

Author's Response: Thank you I'm so glad you liked it. Yes there will be another chapter to it I just havent been able to finish it yet with everything else thats on my plate. I'm glad this caught your interest though! thakn you so much for the review!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8 Chapter One

12th August 2011:
Hello :D

I just wanted to start by saying that this is the second Rose/Scorpius story I have read, and I really liked it. From what I have seen, most stories about this pairing are while they are at Hogwarts, and about how their families would hate it. I really liked this twist, though. Him being a famous singer, and she a bitter, unemployed girl. It was very different from normal Rose/Scorpius stories, I assume.

You are really good at description. That was obvious. I really admire those who can do that well, cause that is actually what I have most problems with. Description is much harder then it sound, so I admire you for being able to do it so well.

This is the first chapter in a story, and its very hard to say too much about it. Its like an intro to your story, and it does make me interested. For now, all I can say is that you have a really good start. If I should point out one thing I didnt like, then maybe you couldve made her dislike for him a little less obvious (Im talking about the scene where she meets him). You went straight to the point. Maybe she couldve been a little more subtle about it? That is just a small thing, though. It was really great. Please PM me when a new chapter is up. I really want to read more of it :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that you think this is an original piece I was hoping for it to be original but i dont really read that pairing much. I'm glad you think i'm doing good with description I try to get it right but sometimes I dont do it justice. Thank you so much for this great review and I will try to remember to send you a pm when the second chapter is up. Thank you!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #6, by Bookworm045 Chapter One

6th August 2011:
This is really interesting. I don't think I've read a whole lot of stories where Scorp is a rock-star and Rose is an unemployed, bitter, little girl living with her parents after school. Definitely update this too, it has really good potential. And this chapter was written so well! CONTINUE THE STORY. Thank you for taking your time to write it!(:
-Katherine045/Slyterin

Author's Response: I'm glad that you haven't read a lot of scorose in which scorp is the rock star and rose not having a job. I was hoping to be a little different but since i dont read the ship that much i had no idea if it was or not. i'm currently working on the second chapter for this story i'm hoping to get it done soon and into my beta. glad you liked it!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #7, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Chapter One

6th August 2011:
Hello! Sorry it has taken my days to read this and review when you recommended your story to me on the forums I got so many people asking me to read theirs as well.

I thought the first chapter was rather good. You really have a knack for description. Rose seems very 'Rose' if that makes any sense whatsoever. I like Scorpius as a singer, I could actually see that happening but I can see where you're going with the story. Rose doesn't exactly hate Scorp but she dislikes him because she thinks he's a womanizer and Scorp isn't actually a womanizer and he's going to prove it to her. I'm not saying that's a bad thing because everyone always adds their own twists and flavor to the Scorp/Rose 'love-hate' or 'hate-hate' relationship that makes it popular.

I hope you don't think I'm being mean because honestly I'm not. It's a good start! I really can't say anything more because this was just the first chapter, the introduction to your characters. It seems like you put a lot of thought into the story so it will be interesting to see where it goes. I could be wrong with my predictions!

Author's Response: hey thank you so much for your review! I'm glad that you thought that my first chapter was good and that i did a great job with description (some help from my beta with this but i think i'm getting better at it). We shall all see where the story takes them and i cant wait for people to find out.

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #8, by Star_Kid_Love Chapter One

1st August 2011:
Hi There!

I just wanted to say firstly I don't usually read rose/scorpious and so I was really excited to read this!

I love your third person writing, it has a very JKR air about it, such as your sentence structure and general description. For a beggining of a story this is really well set out and it seems like you have a good plan where this is heading next! I also love the fact it isn't in first person as I think it's way over used in next gen (although I am guilty of doing so)

Even though we didn't get to see much of scopious' character I liked the way you introduced him through Rose's perception of him rather as it already makes the reader question whether the singer scorpious is the real scorpious.

As for Rose, I liked her personality and the fact that you didnt make her fall on her feet with a good job straight after school, it makes your story more believeable. The only tiny issue I had was at her bluntness to scorpious in the street although that may be explained later so I won't dwell on it :)

Overall I think you have the makings of an awesome story!!!

R xx

Author's Response: Your review truly made my day! I almost never have reviews to come to so yours was a nice surprise (although yes i requested it i didnt know when you would get around to it). Thank you so much for the great review i'm really glad that you liked the beginning and you think that its going places. Thank you so much!

~Slytherinchica08~


 Report Review

Review #9, by forsakenphoenix Chapter One

23rd July 2011:
You and your beta did a good job. I didn't find too many issue with grammar/spelling. The only thing I noticed is that you should be using a comma between dialogue and a tag line rather than a period. So you should have something like this: "Blah blah blah," said so-and-so. You use periods. It's not a big deal but that kind of thing does bug me.

Anyway, I'm not a huge fan of Next Gen fics - I actually don't read much outside of Marauder era so I'm always a little confused by who each character is (I haven't read DH in four years) so thanks for making sure to include little hints about the characters identity; for example, I wasn't quite sure who Hugo was but in the context, I could figure it out.

I think the idea of Scorpius being a misunderstood singer whose supposed exploits with women are posted all over magazines and Rose as the woman who hates him for it but learns he's a different man and falls in love with him is cliche. So it would be nice when you continue with your story, you plan to include things that people wouldn't expect from a cliched plot line to keep them on their toes. It's not necessarily BAD but if you read tons of fics like it, it might get boring. I haven't read much fanfic lately so I can't say that I myself find the idea particular boring but just giving you a head's up.

Overall, not a bad start. I hope you get more reviewers soon! I'm sorry I'm not really interested in Next Gen or else I would continue following your story just to see how it turns out. But if you ever want another review, just shoot me a PM on the forums and I'll come back. :)

Author's Response: hey thank you for the review i will get to yours tomorow as i had to work all night tonight. i think that for scorose this plot isnt really used i guess i dont know since i dont really read next gen very often but i do plan on adding more to the fic then just that. thank you again for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login