Reading Reviews for Awake
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SilentConfession Awake

26th November 2011:
Tag!
Lovely. That's really the only words i have to say about this. It is so well written and yet there is the elogance to the writing that made me really feel Alice's character.

I really loved how it almost seemed like her falling back into the 'land of the cazy' was almost like dipping into coma. I thought that was really nice imagery and very artistic.

I also really liked that it was from her point of view and it was so bittersweet in how all these things she wanted, she couldn't have, she just wanted to see her husband, she wanted to hold her son and saying that was the greatest torture of all spoke volumes about her. Really lovely piece of work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you liked it. :) It means so much. Ah, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #2, by charlottetrips Awake

29th July 2011:
This story was so sad but beautifully told. I could feel my own motherly instinct coming to the fore in reading the story (and I am NOT a mother). I like the unusual character you chose to write about as well as the fact you wrote about Alice when she was in St. Mungo's. One can't really imagine what it felt like to be driven insane and not really know what was happening around you but I feel that this story effectively communicated it.

I like that I wasn't overwhelmed by a lot of "you's".

There was definite emotion present here that I simply connected with.

xChar

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad it brought that out in you, as I am not a mother either and was mostly guessing at it. That means a lot to me. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Illuminate Awake

24th July 2011:
Hi! Here for one of your reviews! This oneshot is very moving- it's very refreshing to have a story from Alice's POV, as it's never really been told. It's great to have this viewpoint. You also feel so sorry for Neville. Great oneshot, good job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it, I really appreciate the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by cazvalleygirl Awake

13th July 2011:
Wow, what a touching one-shot, very emotional, I'm writing one myself about Neville and his mother, so it was interesting seeing someone else's tak on it as its not done very often. Well done, very good : )

Author's Response: Thank you! That means a lot. (:

 Report Review

Review #5, by rich_blonde marauder23 Awake

13th July 2011:
I liked it :)
Great work!!
I've never read any one-shots about Alice's point of view when she's crazy, it's really different!
xoxo
-sofia

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think so, I was going for out-of-the-norm. (:

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kate Awake

12th July 2011:
Hello there :) I very much enjoyed this piece of writing. Short, but bittersweet, you captured Alice Longbottom's character wonderfully. The one question that I have (If you don't mind terribly much) is that from what we know of Alice canonically, she wasn't in a coma or unconscious, her mind was damaged by torture to the point where she lost memories and recognition, but she was still conscious. So is your fic addressing the "true" Alice emerging from that psychological damage or are you seeing her in a coma-like situation? I'm just curious, as it's not really important to the simple beauty of your story. Thank you for posting!

Author's Response: Oooh, yay! I'm so glad you think so. This is the 'true' Alice emerging, I suppose. Simple beauty? You're far too kind. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by UH60TI Awake

12th July 2011:
Wow. I really like the perspective of Alice Longbottom. Her situation would be pure torture. Being in the land of the living but not being able to show it. Bellatrix did a masterful job.

I really like your writing style, very easy to read and follow.

Looking forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Thank you! This means a lot to me, I'm glad you think so. (:

 Report Review

Review #8, by academica Awake

12th July 2011:
This was really well done, especially for being a stream of consciousness piece. It pulls at my heartstrings, especially when I got to the part alluded to in your summary and again when you wrote about how Alice's condition was so similar to death. You took on a character that isn't often explored in fanfiction, and whether this was your choice or an assignment, you executed it very well. Good luck with the challenges! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! This makes me really, really happy to hear. (: I appreciate it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login