Reading Reviews for Learning to Live
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlmostInvisible  November 2025

20th September 2012:
I like where you're going with this! Very creative! Please keep writing this! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Aphoride April 12th 2008

5th February 2012:
Aww, that was so sweet!
I like how you've started it with a sort of Prologue-type thing at the beginning, letting us see a glimpse of Aine's family. Not many other stories do that. Although it wasn't necessary to the plot (I don't think so, at any rate... I may be wrong), it started it off nicely. The normality of the scene makes me want to read on and find out how she ends up not being able to walk. Is it from birth? Is it an accident when she's a child? An accident when she's older? I wanna know!
Oliver seems pretty close to the one we know from canon as well, even though we haven't seen much of him, which is nice. I like how you managed to put in his obsession with Quidditch (the Holyhead Harpies comment) without overdoing it. Well done!

Really, really good first chapter!
Aph xx

Author's Response: Aph,

Thank you so much for reviewing (review tag is SUCH a good idea!). This is a really lovely response and I'm so happy you've noticed the normality of the family. I wanted to establish how happy they were before the accident and then juxtapose this with the rest of the chapters in the story!

I love a good Oliver Wood story and figured I might try and write him myslef, so I'm over the moon that you like his character :D

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Rach xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Victoria October 2020

4th February 2012:
I love this story!! It is so cute, I love Oliver's personality usually people just say that he likes Quidditch and never progress it any furthur. I really hope that you update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I just got home from a poopy day at work and this really cheered me up :D :D

Thank you, I figured there was a bit more to the man, plus I LOVE sean biggerstaff and so really wanted to write an oliver type fic :)

I'm working on chapter for at the moment, don't know when it'll be up but I hope you come back to read it :D

XX XX


 Report Review

Review #4, by NextGenna14 October 2020

1st February 2012:
Aww this story is so sweet! :)

Author's Response: Thanks :)
And thank you for taking the time to review :D xx xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by padfoot88 September 1st: 2025

10th August 2011:
The only thing I could complain about would be the shortness of this chapter, just because I'm so greedy to read more haha I love Aine and I really do think it's horrible that some people treat her like she has a disease or something, I hope things start getting better for her!

Author's Response: Aha! Yes I'm sorry about the length :/ I do want to make them longer but then I don't because I want people like you to keep reading :P Mwahahah.

It is really sad :/ *fingers crossed eh*

R xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by CoLorful DreaM September 1st: 2025

6th August 2011:
The 'staring' part pretty annoyed me as much as Aine. It is so stupid for them to treat her differently because of her problem. That's why I really loved Louis character. I also loved the fact that Aine, although she finds all the treatments her mother is looking for useless, still has her hopes. She still dreams of one day become that Quidditch player her father one day dreamed of.
A thing that I couldn't understand was Aine's reactions when it came to her mother. At some point, she called her 'Sarah'. I understood that her mother is pretty obsessed with finding a cure for Aine, but is that enough for Aine to have such reactions?

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: The starting is pretty sad :( I used to get it all the time because my sister was quadraplegic but I learnt that it is in a lot of people's nature to stare at someone or something different to what they already know :(

Louis is a cuite, he is very important in the story and really makes Aine question some parts of herself and of people in generak.

Aine's relationship with her mother is a tricky one. You'll soon see how isolated her mum feels as not being able to do magic and then after the accident her and Aine grow further and further apart, it'll get explained I promise, but Aine has pretty much distanced herself from her mum - which is sad :(

Thank you again for the review!! :D
R xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by CoLorful DreaM April 12th 2008

6th August 2011:
This was a really sweet moment. Oliver Wood seemed so silly while talking with his newborn daughter. :)) What can possibly a Quidditch obsessed father talk to his newborn child about? Well, Quidditch, of course. I liked all the emotion that flew through him when first seeing his daughter. It was something unique for a father, I guess.
The fact that his wife is a muggle, not just another Quidditch addict is very good! I was so tired of those... Though, I liked the idea of both of them 'flying'. It was a really lovely comparison.
Well, after reading the summary, though, I couldn't help but feel sad about Oliver's expectations...

Ramona
Gryffindor

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you for reveiwing :)
I've always wanted to write Oliver & baby, not sure why but hey ho :P I'm not a man or father :L but I'm glad I got the emotion right for the scene, I was worried I'd get it wrong not knowing how it felt but I did do a bit of research on new dad sights :P

It's a bit cheesey :P but hey, who doesn't like cheesey once in a while + Sarah's job makes it awkward in later chapters :(

Sorry to make you feel sad :( but thanks for the awesome review! :D

R xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by AC_rules September 1st: 2025

4th August 2011:
I'm really... well, enjoying isn't the word, is it? But I've liked reading this so far and your definately doing pretty well on the 'make me think' part of the challange - so well done you.

It helps that its all very well written to and I like the characters you've created. I don't know much about Louis yet (and I really want to) but I think your Oliver is great and I understand your Sarah too. I'm really interested to see how this all pans out. Thanks for entering my challenge - you're doing great so far (sorry if that sounded patronising, it wasn't supposed to)!

Author's Response: Enjoying could be the word, as in you're liking the plot? Maybe? :P

Woo! You don't know how relieved I am to hear you say that! (Or see you type that?) Louis is very interesting, well what I have planned is a any rate - well interesting to me, others might be like 'well this is boring' haha!

It wasn't patronising, don't worry! :D It actually made me feel alot better about this story! :D

R xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by AC_rules April 12th 2008

4th August 2011:
Hey there, its acrules from the forums (although I guess thats pretty obvious) - sorry about taking so long to review. I've been on holiday and then a couple of other things came up. Anyway! I'm glad I finally did take time to come read and review because this was a really really beautiful start. I know nothing much has happened yet, and maybe I'm just a sucker for babies, but I though Oliver was so cute in this! I loved that he started whispering stories to her and when he said that both him and Sarah 'fly' my heart melted a little bit.

Having read your summary and knowing what the story is going to be about I'm already really not wanting the accident to happen to ruin all the happiness that you've created here. Ahha, I really loved it (it helps that I'm in a highly sappy mood, I suppose)... but well done! I'll go r&r the next chapter right now :)

Author's Response: Hi!! :D

Don't worry about it, I hope you had a good holiday :)

I love babies too! I've always wanted to write a chapter about a new born and I thought - why not do it right now? - so I did :P

The flying bit was a bit cheesey though, but it is a big part of their relationship and I needed Sarah to be away at certain times so it fitted quite well, and it makes them quite compatable - me thinks :D

I'm dreading writing the accident - is that bad? I love it the way it is, and I'm already feeling mean writing the third chapter :/ haha, I'm waaay to emotionally attched to these characters!

Awesome! I'm just about to reply!
Thanks for the review!!

R xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Giola April 12th 2008

4th August 2011:
Hey, Giola here with your requested review :)

I think you did a marvelous job with 3rd person, especially for your first attempt! I couldn't find anything to fault with that. There were a few minor grammar issues (commas in the wrong spot), but nothing major, and if you want to fix that, I'd say get a beta (if you don't have one already).

As for characterisation, you seem to grasp Oliver's natural instinct as a father well, and his wonder over his daughter. As this is short I can't really comment much on the characterisation, but what you have seems fine.

All I can really think to improve on would be description. You describe Aine quite well, but you could perhaps add in some description about the surroundings, the hospital room, etc. etc. It's not necessary but it can your readers engage more with the story, as long as you don't have one big long chunk of description, which would be boring :P

Overall, well done! 9/10

-Giola
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: Thank you for replying!

Thanks, I'm alot more confident with third person now and the third chapter is again in third person :) I will definatley request a beta though :)

Im also really relieved my chacterisation is alright, Oliver Wood is my all time favourite character and I want to do him justice!

Thank you so much for pointing out description, I will definatley go back and look at how I can add the surroundings to the chapter to make it feel more real and engage more readers!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review for me, it really does mean a lot!

R xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Keira7794 September 1st: 2025

3rd August 2011:
I love it! Your characterisation is spot on, you really feel like you understand the characters.
I also like how you've used Louis - he tends to be overlooked in most stories!

A few quick points of misspellings or missing words that you might have already noticed:

$ In chapter 1 you described Aine as 'He huge blue eyes, tine mouth' so obviously would normally be 'her' and 'tiny'
$ In Chapter 2 you wrote 'Clive went on strike because we bought the wrong for him' - just missing what was wrong
$ Also in Chapter 3 you wrote 'As the noise of the students faded i began follow them' - you're just missing the word 'to'

Very minor points which I'm sure you've probably noticed anyway! It's a great story and I'm awaiting the next chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing so quickly! :D

Phew! I kinda have little notes on all of them (I'm not crazy, not crazy at all! :P) And yeah, he seemed like he would be cool - I mean Bill is cool! :D

I hadn't noticed these :/ *scurries off to edit!* Aha they bought the wrong food! :l

I'm writing the next chapter as we type! (speak?)

Thank you so much for the review! Hope to chat to you more on the forums too!

Rach xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by NextGenna14 September 1st: 2025

2nd August 2011:
I really love this, it's so sad but sweet too! :) 10/10

Author's Response: 10/10? :O wow thank you so much!!

I'm really glad you're enjoying the story :) Next chappie is in the making right now!

R xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aero April 12th 2008

31st July 2011:
You are a very talented writer. You portrayed Oliver Wood nicely, with his love for flying and his determination. Your plot flowed nicely and there were very few grammar mistakes. Great job and I can't wait to read more of this story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I honestly am so happy that you liked the portrayal of Oliver as I was worried I'd got it wrong :/. Wahoo for flowing! :D I'm so much more confident thanks to oosotive reviews (Especially this one!! :D ) and now feel at ease for the rest of the story :)

Thank you for reviewing!!
R xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by TheGoldenKneazle April 12th 2008

28th July 2011:
Hey there! It's me off the forums with your review :)

First off, I just want to say that I LOVE this chapter! I've never read any Oliver-and-child fiction before, but this is absolutely amazing! You had him down so well, and through his comments to his wife and baby, we quickly saw exactly who he was now. The fact that he cried almost straight away was so endearing, and the way he had tried to stop himself from doing just that really brought Oliver into light.

You have the 3rd-person thing down pretty well, to be honest! You have a great balance between his talking, describing thoughts, and descriptions; it's all too easy to get the balance wrong, but you have a great mix. All Oliver's talking to his little girl was so sweet, and it made us a lot closer to him because of that - it's too easy to have an emotionally removed 3rd person, but yours is pretty emotional (maybe because you write in 1st person more?)

The whole idea of this chapter was so cute, and I love it - how Oliver was describing his life to Aine, what she looks like, and the introduction of his wife, Sarah. I'm looking forward to getting to know both Sarah and Aine better :)

So keep up the amazing work! I'm definitely interested to see what'll happen next! 10/10 :D
~TGK

Author's Response: HEY THERE! :D thank you for doing it so quickly :) !!!

Im so glad you think I wrote Oliver right as he is my ultimate favourite character in all the hp series! :D

Your comments on my 3rd person are really inspiring and its great to know Ive balanced things out right. I do tend to write first person a lot, and the next chapter is in Aine's first person so you've hit the nail on the head with emotions I think :)

This chapter was very fluffy :P it gets a lot more serious in the next chapters as we meet the characters post accident :(

Thank you so so much for reviewing this! Its really great tp have an analytical opinion on my writing so I know which areas to work on :) I will definatley be bombarding your review thread with more requests :)

R xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by ImagineHarmony April 12th 2008

28th July 2011:
Hello there :)

Well, your third character POV is really good. At first I was just a bit confused if the sentences in single apostrophes were thoughts, but then I recovered quite fast *laughs* Anyways, you could use the double apostrophes ("). I just love your descriptions of things! There are some people who just give a simple description of only one line, and there are some who give too many paragraphs on description that you forget the whole thing too soon >.<

But you however, have pretty good detail & description talents *nods head* Keep up the good work :)

On the note, there are a few typos, be sure to recheck next time xD

XO,
ImagineHarmony

Author's Response: Hi! :D

*Breathes huge sigh of relief* I'm so happy! Always been very worried about my third person so this had really put the confidence in me :D

Ooops! Yeah I might go back and do that! Thanks for the heads up :P Im also really happy you liked my description, part of me was worried I'd done to much in an attempt to work on my 3rd person haha!

*Scurries off to change Typos!*

Thank you soo much for reveiwing this so quickly for me :D

R xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by padfoot88 April 12th 2008

27th July 2011:
Great start! I love the idea of Oliver marrying a muggle, and her being an air hostess haha, can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks!! :D
Aha, I remeber thinking I really didn't want him to marry a witch but I still wanted the idea of flying in his relationship = Sarah :D

The next chapter is in the queue as we speak (type?)

Thanks for taking the time to review :D
R xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Weasleywannabe April 12th 2008

24th July 2011:
Amazing. Honestly, how do you freaking do that! Oh my gosh you're good! I absolutely love the name! Aine, how do you pronounce it? I also love how you stuck to character! Silly Wood, telling your children about Quidditch before they even know what magic is. Before they can even understand what you're saying. But honestly, this is exactly how I pictured he would be to his kids. Even though we never really saw much of his soft side in the books, and didn't even see him in the movies, I think he deserves a moment like this. I am excited to see where your random, impulsive, funny -ness will make you write next. I wonder what kind of person she will be, too. Gothic? Emo? Insanely happy? Quidditch obsessed? I hope you get over writer's block or I might just eat my pants! Once again, amazing chapter. (~P.S. Some of this goes to BrightStar to!~)

~Weasleywannabe

Author's Response: Hi there!
Aine is Irish and is pronounced On-ya (does that make sense?)

I think quidditch is a really important part of Oliver's life and his heart is so set on it for his daughter the story will be a struggle, especially for Oliver.

We're going to see a lot of sides to Oliver in the book :P Don't worry :D

Thank you for the 'random, impulsive, funnyness - I've never been called that before :)

Don't eat your pants! I'm working on it don't worry - I've written bits and peices its just forming a good chapter ahah!

I'll make sure brightstar see's this review :)

Starkidlovexx


 Report Review

Review #18, by BrightStar April 12th 2008

20th July 2011:
Hi!

Thanks for mentioning me, it wasnt neccessary but very much appreciated!


I really love the premise of the story, and its even improved since i last saw it. Your descriptions are beautiful, i always get mushy at the thought of babies and this is no excpetin!

A great start up for the story, and I'm very keen to read more! Well done!

- B xx

Author's Response: I thought I had replied to this :S :P

The mention was neccessary :P You really really helped me!! Thankyou so so much :D

Im really ahppy it's improved since you last read it :) I get mushy at babies too, unless its the thought of me having one - then I just get terrified of them haha!

Thank you so much for the review! It's really appreciated :D The next chapter is in the queue!!

Rach xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by raznilla April 12th 2008

15th July 2011:
Aweeesome story! I love it.

Really strong descriptions! They knit in with the story, helping with flow, which is great! I had a very strong mental image throughout the whole thing, which is something I look for when reading a story. Good job with that!

Couple missing commas! 'She sure will dear' . There should be a comma between 'will' and 'dear.' And in the sentence 'Hey there little one,' there should be one between 'there' and 'little.'

Great story :) I'll definitely be watching for more!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
I'm so happy you liked the story! :)

Woohoo! This is my first time attempting to write a story in 3rd person so I'm really happy that its going well! :D

Whoops! I'm going to change that straight away! Thankyou for pointing them out, I really appreciate it! :D

Hopefully next chapter should be written soon :)

Thankyou again for the review and your help!! :)
Starkidlovexx


 Report Review

Review #20, by NextGenna14 April 12th 2008

10th July 2011:
Ohh I liked this start! :)

Author's Response: Thankyou! It jumps around in time a bit but I figured I should start from Aine's birth! So glad you're liking it so far! :)
Starkidlovexx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login