Reading Reviews for Being A Fan
  
28 Reviews Found

Review #1, by losers_lurgy A Flaw In The Plan

6th March 2012:
Hey Woodrow Rynne/ azimuth, it's losers_lurgy (i requested a banner for my one-shot from you:)

The two chapters you have of being a fan look to be a great beginning to an interesting story. In fanfics we always stereotype the bimbos/fangirls and give them completely one dimensional personalities. In reality everyone has different sides to them and hearing a story from a fangirls point of view is a great idea. We finally get to see it from their side :)

I love you writing and the characters (Fiona is such a dictator). When Addison was leaving i was mentally yelling at Jaycee to join her, but then again where would be the fun in that? I adore the fact that Jaycee is so devoted to the club. I laughed a lot when she referred to "Code Eight".

Update you're wonderful work soon :)!

 Report Review

Review #2, by lily16 A Flaw In The Plan

5th March 2012:
It's so weird seeing friendships as fake as this...but still really fascinating. And even though she definitely has her flaws, I sort of like Jaycee. She has potential.

I was very disappointed when she didn't join Addison though.

 Report Review

Review #3, by lily16 One Of Those Girls

5th March 2012:
I swear, I been wanting to read a story like this forever! Thanks so much for writing it and writing it well :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed! :D
~vanya


 Report Review

Review #4, by Cavell A Flaw In The Plan

27th February 2012:
Brilliant - seriously. I honestly don't think I would ever bother attempting this - I think all the girly stuff would get to my head, but you wrote everyone beautifully! I adored Jaycee and Addison, and you should seriously update this soon, I really enjoyed reading it. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for such a kind review! :) I wrote this a long time ago, and to be honest, whenever I look back I marvel how I was able to write humour at /all/; one of the many genres I suck at. Hehee. Erm..I've been meaning to update this for quite a while, and I wish I could say I've been busy, but to be honest, I get easily sidetracked and take up a new hobby that seems more exciting while it's brand new and shiny :P. But, I'll try to update soon-ish, like within this month. :D Thank you!
~vanya


 Report Review

Review #5, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap A Flaw In The Plan

21st November 2011:
I can't wait until she starts to look at things at a deeper level. It's not all about looks but I really did love that line: Appearances matter. A lot.

It's sad but it's true in society. I like reading this because I'm just so different from your OC's (and it sounds like you are too) that it's comical reading their superficial thoughts. I can't say that I actually like Addison though or Fiona for that matter. Maybe once I learn a little more about them? But how sad it was that J thinks her brother is unattractive. He's her brother! Come on!

Author's Response: Jaycee being deep? That might take a while... :P

It *is* so true, right? Sad fact of life... Oh yes, I couldn't be farther from Jaycee. I mean I stalk boys too, ahem, but make-up and me? That's a disaster.

It's difficult to like them, isn't it? Both (all?) of them are rather selfish, shallow at the mo', really. But hopefully, that will change soon. :) Jaycee is umm..rather blunt. It's not that she doesn't /like/ her brother per se, more like she knows he's unattractive and is willing to say it without remorse. :P

Thank you for reading! :)
Vanya.


 Report Review

Review #6, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap One Of Those Girls

21st November 2011:
This was hysterical. I love fan girls I think they make some stories all the more interesting and to write from a fan girls point of view? Well, that's just fantastic! I already like your OC, I think she has spunk and a certain 'flavor' that you don't find in other fan girls.

Why are you so awesome? Seriously!

Author's Response: SQUEEE~

I LOVE FANGIRLS TOO! What greater skills are there than stalking a cute guy?? :P

You awesome person, thank you for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Illuminate A Flaw In The Plan

18th November 2011:
Hi! Here for chapter two!

I like that you've given your character flaws and insecurites, and that she doesn't make the right decisions. I can't wait to see it all unfold and get deeper, I really want to see a deeper side to everything.

Great job, and please update!

Author's Response: Yepp. In fact, more than often, she makes the wrong decisions :P. Depth..hm..will have to ponder that, but I hope it gets deep enough for you! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Illuminate One Of Those Girls

18th November 2011:
Hi! Tag! I really like this story!

I think it's an original concept, and I really can't wait to see where you go with these characters. I'm hoping it's an all-out, impassioned love war! I love that xD Anyway, it seems you have a really well written OC on your hands and I can't wait to see more of her! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank youu! I'm so glad you liked the story as well as the OC! Thanks for reading! ;)

 Report Review

Review #9, by adluvshp A Flaw In The Plan

15th November 2011:
Haha going good. i am enjoying this. update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks! Hmm...updates would probably not happen for another couple of months or so D:. But I'll try my best! :)

Thank you for taking your time to read and review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by adluvshp One Of Those Girls

15th November 2011:
Tag ;)

This seems quite interesting! I love how you've written this from a totally unique perception. It is quite amusing. Although I came here for review tag (oh the immense confusion, lol) I think I am gonna read on. I really like how you've begun and the direction the story is headed in.

good going!

9/10
Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Hey aditi!

Thank youuu! I'm glad you liked it! To be honest, I haven't thought about this story for a while. But your review inspired me to return to it. And return to it I shall, once I complete my challenge fic. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Goldemort One Of Those Girls

16th October 2011:
This was brilliant! There aren't many fics about a fan-girl, so this was really great to read! Your characterizations so far are perfect, exactly as I would expect people of that nature to be like. What you have so far is a really good introduction, and it seems like whatever the plot will be it will be very interesting. Also this was really well written, and flowed brilliantly. Awesome start! =D

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! :D (again :P) Thank you , thank you! This review basically made my day! I'm glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Livi_777 A Flaw In The Plan

12th October 2011:
Oh, I think that's such a sweet chapter. You write it really well, characterising your fangirls perfectly. Their amazing, they sound like a group of modern teenage girls arguing over Taylor Laughtner! I love it!

Author's Response: Aw..thank you! :D I'm so happy you found the characterisation good, because i was nervous about that. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemorefic One Of Those Girls

6th September 2011:
Bahaha, she is absolutely nuts, not in a healthy way, and I'm glad you're totes showing how she knows how silly she is, and embraces that fact. She's got a very engaging narration from the get-go from her very blunt self-deprecation :D But even so, she's also got a lot of spunk and pride.

AND EVERYONE ELSE IS CRAZY TOO. A whole castle of crazies, I can dig this. 'Puffs representing! Who needs loyalty when you have stalking skills?

James, I can sense the arrogance oozing out the wazoo with his kiss. I appreciate this too.

Great start ^__^

Author's Response: I AGREE! :P She knows being so obsessive is a little insane; but she can't give up on James either :). Thankyou! Glad you found it engaging! :)

Hahaha. Too true! :P Thankyou, thank you so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lady of Tears One Of Those Girls

2nd September 2011:
As long as a chapter is brilliant, it can be any length, long or short.

And this is brilliant, in my opinion. You've mastered first person! Honestly, I'm not a fan first person writing, and I've had to review a lot of first person stories. But this was so well done. The whole point of first person is to become engrossed in one character's thoughts, and that's what you did. I loved the breaking of the fourth wall.

I also thought you delved into this character type well. Fan girls are normally so Mary Sue that you can't read them, but this is pure joy to read because it was on purpose and was well written.

The only thing I wasn't a fan of was the swearing. Language isn't something I really put with the Marauder generation, and it sort of made it feel too modern for my tastes. But I guess that's more of personal thing.

I'm glad I played this game!

Author's Response: Aww...thankyouuu!! :) I'm flattered to liked it even though you don't like first person. I admit first person is easier for me to write than third, so I just randomly jotted down whatever was in my mind. :P

I'm happy you thought so! :) Yes, fangirls are Mary-Sue, mostly because the authors make them villians in their fics. INJUSTICE, I tell you! :P

Uh...it wasn't really set in the Marauder generation. Although, it's pretty easy to get confused, as I didn't really mention any era in the fic. :) The James Potter was the son of Harry. And to tell you the truth, I'm not a fan of swearing in that generation either, so I understand what you mean. :)

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! i'm glad I played too! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by TwinkleStarx A Flaw In The Plan

18th August 2011:
Love the story so far;). It was good to read a story for a fan girl point of view. Update soon!:)

Author's Response: Aww..glad you liked it! :D I'll try to update soon. ish. Hehe. Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Silk Tea A Flaw In The Plan

1st August 2011:
Its Silk Tea from the forums! Sorry it took me long to do this review.

I love,love, love this plot. When I began to read it, I thought it was going to be another cliche story. But it definitely is not! I love how you characterized Fiona. She mean, controlling, and a whole lot of drama. She reels me in to know more about her.

Jaycee is the typical fan girl. But you have her with a secret that all the other girls don't know. I love how you put in this chapter about how she knows more about James then the other girls do. One thing though, go more into depth about Jaycee. Like maybe you can write about how she knows more about James and how she began to be in this fan club. When did she start to like him?

I very much like Addison as well. She stood up for herself and I love that she had the power to brake away from Fiona.

I will definitely continue to review this story!

Author's Response: Hey,

I'm so sorry sorry it took so long to reply! And I can understand you taking your time. I've my own review thread, and I haven't reviewed a fic in weeks. :(

Anyway, Thanks! thanks! thanks! :D Glad you thought it wasn't cliche. I tried my best not to make it so. Though, how it plays out in the future is another story altogether! ;)

I'll be sure to expand more on Fiona, And as I mentioned in every other review- Jaycee. I tend to reveal my characters' personality a little slowly, and I know it maybe a little frustating, but that's how I write. :(

The james thing and beginning of the fan-club *is* a major part of the plot. I hate, plot-less fics ;). It would be revealed later, be assured!

I like Addison too! Infact, why she stood up for herself is another story too which I think i would put up as another fic. I'm slowly working on the idea- let's see how soon I'm able to pen it. :)

Thanks! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by ravenclaw_princess A Flaw In The Plan

29th July 2011:
Great chapter once again. I like Jaycee. She doesn't seem as fanatical as Fiona in terms of acting out her fandom and it seems like she is more worried about her social status than anything else. I'm really happy she followed Addison in the end, even if she did hesitate at first. It shows that in the end of the day, her friends are more important than boys.

I think you have done a great job of Fiona. She really captures everything you can imagine in a crazy stalkerish fan.

I would recommend you add a little more depth to Jaycee in the coming chapters. Her love of James is quite obvious, but it would be nice to know about other aspects of her life as well just to make her a more rounded character that has interests other than James.

The story flows really well though and has a nice pace. Your dialogue is also well done. I've enjoyed reading this story so far and your characters are believable. If you would like me to review any further chapter, repost in my thread.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

No, she isn't as fanatical as Fiona, but Fiona has suffered a huge loss (James' loss, actually), so I think being a little insane is okay for her personality :P

And, uh...Jaycee didn't go afer Addison when she mentioned her 'best friend'. I know, I know, you hate me now. But it had to be done. I know the ending is a little obscure, but things will be plenty clearer in the next chapter.

Depth is something that my characters acquire slowly. soo, Jaycee's personality would be revealed a lot more in the next chapter, promise!

Thanks! :D Glad you found it believable. I'd be sure to ask you again when I need the help!
Thanks again! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by ravenclaw_princess One Of Those Girls

29th July 2011:
Hello, ravenclaw_princess here for your requested review.

I really liked this chapter, and while you may think it was short, it was a really nice introduction with a great ending which has left me wanting to read more.

I like the way you have written it (and this comes from someone who isn't a huge fan of 1st person when they direct things straight to the reader). It's quite smooth and flows well through the events of the chapter. There is enough engagement with the audience without it becoming over the top.

As for your characters, you have definitely mastered swooning fan club girls. There is a little mystery surrounding Jaycee. She thinks she's in love with James, yet hates being defined as a fan girl. It's like she has a deeper attraction to him than just being attracted to his looks, charm and fame. I was thinking it the whole way through and the last line now really has me wondering why.

Overall, I think you've made a really nice start.

Author's Response: Hey,

So sorry for the late reply, but life has been more than a little hectic lately :(

Anyway, glad you liked the chapter. Personally, I wasn't too sure about the monologue thing, but I'm so glad you liked it! :D

Uh, yes, the mystery is there (a very usual thing in my fanfics- I can never seem to get rid of it :P). The answer to the 'why' question shall be revealed soon!

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Why So Sirius A Flaw In The Plan

28th July 2011:
You have got this fan girl stuff down, seriously. This is a little crazy! That's good, though, if your story is about a fan girl. Fan girls tend to be crazy. Scratch that- girls tend to be crazy.
Anyways, I feel like there was a lot of dialouge in this chapter. I want to know what Jaycee was thinking and maybe see her personality a bit more. Again, I don't know a lot about her yet. Maybe you could expand on that a bit?

Anyways, I'm excited to read more!

-Britney (pottersinsomniac)

Author's Response: I agree! Girls tend to be crazy! And while I may not have a whole lot of experience on that front, I'm glad you think it was believable! :)

The dialogue was necessary for this chapter. And don't worry. I tend to reveal the personalitites of my characters a little slowly, so that it is not an information dump. The next chapter would shed more light on her personality, hopefully!

Thanks! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by Why So Sirius One Of Those Girls

28th July 2011:
Pottersinsomniac here with your requested review (:

You know, it's funny, I've been wanting to read this but I never really got a chance to. I guess now I have an excuse, eh?

Anyways, for the actual review, I feel like the character is belieavble, which you were wanting me to comment on. I could see why someone would think otherwise though, the idea of someone obsessing over a regular boy this bad is kind of insane. Now, about the character, I think you could expand on her a bit more.
At this point, I know absolutley nothing about her, besides she has an unhealthy obsession with James Potter The II.

Anyways, some other uncharacter related points, I do like this so far. I'm curious as to where your going with this fan girl idea, and I will most definitley will be reading more. I love your writing style, too, by the way!

-Britney (pottersinsomniac)

Author's Response: Hey,

Hehe, *spooky voice* my fic beckons to you! :D Come hither and take a gander at it! :P

Whew, glad you think she's believable. And I am going to expand on her a lot more in the next few chapters, don't fret! :)

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it! i hope you'll continue reading!

Thanks! :D



 Report Review

Review #21, by Deltaris A Flaw In The Plan

27th July 2011:
This is so cute and funny. The things that Jaycee described about the fan club are just hilarious.

I think that you portray what Jaycee is feeling and thinking very well. Everything that we need to know is in the story, and it's not weighted down by pointless details or filler scenes.

I'm very glad that Jaycee went after Addison, even if she didn't immediately :) It shows that she does care more about her friends than some boy.

I get the feeling that this is going to be a pretty light piece, it's quite nice. Sometimes those that are just for fun are the best.

As far as your concerns about Jaycee being believable, I'd say you've done a good job so far. It is easy to lose your OC to cliche, however, so just be careful about that.

Author's Response: Funny? Really? And cute? whoa.

Hehe! thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I did my best. Thouughh, jaycee didn't go after Addison. I know, I know you hate her now :P. But really, when she said 'best-friend' in the last line, she meant someone else entirely. It'd be clear in the next chapter. :)

Yes, it's going to be a fun, fluffy piece-definitely not my forte ;)

I know, it would be easy, but I'll try my best not to, I can assure you! :D

Thanks for the super-amazing review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Deltaris One Of Those Girls

27th July 2011:
I love the style this was written in. I love stories that do the first person POV in such a way, no clue why. They just get me connected to the character and get me laughing.

I like your OC so far. As you said, we don't typically get the insight of a fan-girl. I'm interested to see where this goes and how you develop Jaycee.

I'm glad to see that this is a new style of writing for you. We all need to broaden our horizons, so to speak :) And it's pretty brave of you. I've tried writing things similar to this just for kicks, and have had such a hard time with it.

Author's Response: Awweee *fan-girly squeal* :P I'm glad you liked it!

thanks! I'm glad you connected to Jaycee, when even I couldn't. Much.

Exactly. We do. I wouldn't call myself brave, though. More like foolishly meandering into things. Hehe. I just got this idea and wrote it down; didn't think through it much. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by silver8 A Flaw In The Plan

25th July 2011:
i really excited for this story. nobody writes from the fan-girls point of view. they only mock them in their stories. i don't expect every girl to be aweosme, strong and fearless, but fan-girls are pretty bad, but when you think about some of us act when talking about our celebrity crush we would be the same if they were in proximity. i just hope jaycee will develop along the way, and if she does start dating james, it won't be like the others..

Author's Response: I completely agree with you. The fan-girls deserve some love too! :D In fact, I act like a fan-girl when I discuss boys with my friends :P

Uh, I hope i won't make it cliched, but that remains to be seen really.

Thanks for the awesome review! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by just_wondering A Flaw In The Plan

25th July 2011:
I'm sometimes like those "fan-girls" too except that I'm not that bitchy :D But anyway, I like your story because it's fun and entertaining to read, I'm looking forward to the next chapter ^^

Author's Response: Thanks! glad you enjoyed it!

Exactly, we all are a li'l fan-girly at some point in our life. I'll try to update soon-ish. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by frenchliam A Flaw In The Plan

25th July 2011:
I think it's so cute, I was laughing throughout the whole chapter. The part about them teaching girls how to, ahem, popping out of nowhere, nearly killed me. In short, I love this c(:

Author's Response: Hehe, Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. it was really fun for me to write too. I don't know how the idea of 'popping out of nowhere' popped into my head, but I wrote it down anyway :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>