Reading Reviews for Broken Petals
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 1_madeline_3 Broken Petals

7th April 2013:
I love how that was different. Who would have thought? Petunia and Sirius? Aw.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love writing unorthodox couples.

 Report Review

Review #2, by SerpentineOffering Broken Petals

29th March 2012:
Wow! Petunia and Sirius! That's very interesting! I thought this was a very well written story, the detail was fantastic! Because of your story I can no see a Petunia/Sirius relationship actually happening! Wonderful job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Flower n Prongs Broken Petals

19th August 2011:
Wow. I was completely surprised when you had Petunia love Sirius, of all people, but it worked surprisingly well. The conversation seemed to flow naturally, Petunia seemed to be properly obnoxious (for instance, calling one of Lily's friends "the fat one"), and Sirius seemed... well, like Sirius. I love that you didn't make Sirius out to be a shallow prick or Petunia an unfeeling girl with her nose in the air. This was a refreshingly different story and I enjoyed it.

Lily Flower (ravenclaw)

 Report Review

Review #4, by peace2lovepotter Broken Petals

28th July 2011:
Hi! I'm sorry it's taken so long to review, I wanted to wait until near the deadline of my Adele challenge. The main pairing Sirius/Petunia is a very unusual one, one I have not came across before. I didn't expect it to work, but it did. And I really liked it! To think that Petunia might have had her heart torn by the wizarding world twice, first when she wasn't accepted into Hogwarts, and second when Sirius left her is really quite moving. The song fits well with the plot, and overall I really liked it. Thank you for entering my Adele challenge! The winners will be posted in my blog from around the 2nd to the 5th of August. Love Livvy xxx :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Looney Loopy Laura Broken Petals

23rd July 2011:
Girl, this almost made me cry. For some reason, I would never have thought of sirius/petunia but you made it work so well. I absolutely loved it and your writing never ceases to amaze me :)

Author's Response: YOU. I've been meaning to read your new stuff for a while now, but I don't have internet in my house again until about the tenth, so that kind of killed my plans. Also been meaning to call you since, you know, that's what friends do. But it's nice to hear from you! I miss your face! And thank you for your lovely review, as always ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Dark Whisper Broken Petals

18th July 2011:
Wow... I love all of these challenges into one fic. That is a true challenge! Great job!

I found your story from the 'Language of Flowers' thread...

I loved that you put Petunia and Snape as your couple... very different and interesting that he would be one of the reasons why she would give up on the magical world forever.

It was very fitting that he would say, "I told you never to fall in love with me." That is so good... considering canon and who he is really in love with. Perfect!

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I like combining challenges because it forces me to get creative. I think you misunderstood the story, though. It's Sirius Black that she falls in love with, not Snape. I hope you like the story despite the character mix-up. That's actually not a bad idea, though.I might have to take a look at that pairing. Thanks for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Precious Rin Broken Petals

7th July 2011:
Wow, I love how you incorporated so many challenges into this story. You definitely had a different take on my challenge and I love that you used Petunia. I would love to see this one-shot developed even more, so we could better understand Petunia and Sirius's relationship. You only give us a small taste of their relationship and I want MORE! I do like how you juxtaposed Petunia and Sirius with Lily and James. Since we know and understand Lily and James a bit more, it helps to develop Petunia and Sirius's relationship in the short amount of space of a one-shot. Great job!

Author's Response: Yeah, each one really helped to fuel me. It was nice to be pushed in certain directions. I guess that's really what I was going for here, I wanted to leave you guys hanging kind of like Petunia was. I'm thinking I might experiment with these two again since I really enjoyed writing them, so maybe I'll consider this bait, haha. Thank you for your lovely challenge and review! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by leannemariesnape Broken Petals

7th July 2011:
OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG.

I've never thought of this pairing before, and I'm feeling an overwhelming need to type in caps lock, lol. This is a brilliant pairing, and I love how you switch between the present and the memory, which was seamless. All of the challenges also worked very well together, creating a very enjoyable one-shot.

The only thing that I wasn't keen on was that she was allowed to visit Hogwarts, which I think is a bit unlikely...But apart from that, I loved it! Absoloutely no spelling errors or anything, and Petunia is characterised well. It also makes me wonder what was going through her mind when Sirius was in the Muggle news for breaking out of prison? hmm...
Yeah... excellent fic. :D
Leanne (P.s. sorry if this sounds too sycophantic, hehe)

Author's Response: To be honest, I hadn't either until I got the two of them for a challenge that wasn't even related to romance. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! I really had a lot of fun writing it, and the more I added, the more the two of them seemed to make sense.

I definitely understand what you mean. I guess I was just looking for a little more foundation for her and Sirius. I'm thinking I might have to write both of those moments in time, just to play with it a bit. Thank you so much for your review! I really appreciate your feedback :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jenna822 Broken Petals

6th July 2011:
(Prize Review #1)

This was beautiful. Your writing was flawless. It flowed perfectly and I didn't spot any grammar mistakes. It was detailed without being overbearing and I could see it all so clearly. And the story itself was fantastic. So realistic and tied to canon that I could believe it'd actually happened this way. Just so well done. Loved it. --Jenna

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm always working on balance of detail because my writing used to be a little sparse so it's nice to hear something positive about it. Thanks for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by adahpfan Broken Petals

5th July 2011:
Hi, it's Buckbeak4Life from the forums,
I love how you managed to incorperate the theme of gardens and a garden party into the story so beautifully, all those little details like when you described her picking the carnation petals really added to it and gave it a bit of an edge!

When I gave you the pairing I wasn't really sure how and if it would work, but it ended up seeming so perfectly cannon that I've found myself wanting to read more and more Sirius/Petunia-s!

Your characterisation of Petunia is perfect, the best bit for me was when she said that she wouldn't shout up at him because she was "a respectable woman"! I also really like how you end it with Petunia leaving the wizarding world and acting like she'd forget about it, when you find out at the beginning that she never would.


The fact that as Lily was being proposed to, Petunia was losing the love of her life made me feel so sympathetic towards her. While Lily was seemingly getting everything she had ever desired, Petunia was going to be stuck with bad tempered, pigfaced Vernon, instead of amazing Sirius :'(

Thank you so much for entering my challenge!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your challenge! All of the others really helped add to my storyline, but I NEVER would have attempted this pairing if you hadn't thrown it at me, and I'm so glad that I did. You say you'd like to read more, and at this point, I want to write more!

Ah, thank you so much. I've never really tried her character before, so I was a little wary of how she would turn out. I'm glad you found her to be canon, though; it gives me courage to try her again sometime!

Thank you so much for your lovely review! I had a great time writing for your challenge :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login