Reading Reviews for Panorama
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by soufflegirl99 Haunted

12th October 2012:
AWESOME!!
I loved it to bits - the whole way through was thinking this is amazing!!
I love the way you've portrayed the characters - the way Rose isn't moody and all sarcastic for once!! The way you made Scorpius et Rose is totally original and my eyes were glued to the screen the whole way through.
An overall gripping read and I'm looking forward to how you play out the plot - like to see a lot more of your work!! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Sakurasou Frustrations

6th August 2012:
No! A cliffie D: Well, I'm super excited to find out what happens next. I love how this is setting up such a unique way for Rose and Scorpius to get to know each other. Your Rose is a wonderful character, she's just a normal student with a special ability. I think its great how she's blaming everything on Scorp even though he hasn't done anything yet. Such a normal thing to do XD

Your description is really wonderful. Especially in the forest, you can really feel the eeriness and the fear. This is really shaping up to be an amazing story. I'm looking forward to reading about how Rose deals with everything. I love that she's a Hufflepuff too- I don't read that often.

Great chapter!
10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by Jchrissy Haunted

1st August 2012:
Hi darling! You left me such an amazing review that I wanted to thank you! Although I'm on my phone so this won't be very long and will have a slew of auto corrections.

I've never read a seer story! And this starts off with such an intense bang, you bring the emotions to life so well! You're descriptions are exactly right, they enhance the first section without suffocating it. Her terror is vivid and raw, wonderfully gone

Yay a solid OC! She seems realistic, dimensional, definitely someone I think will be interesting!

Blah I see so many different things done with Scorpis and hardly any of them match my head canon. This really did! He's not the alpha, he's not hated, I'm excited to see more of him.

Cliff hanger much?! Ahh what a perfectly terrifying ending! This was an amazing first chapter!!

Jami

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilentConfession Haunted

27th July 2012:
Hello, i'm here for your review!

I really like how this began. You descriptions were spot on and you really painted the emotion of that part really well. I could feel Rose's terror practically ooze from the page there. It was just so intense that i was sitting on the edge of my seat hoping for it to be a dream! Which is it was but maybe not for long. :D

I like what you've done here, i've not read any seer kind of stories before and i'm sure there are loads of them hanging about the archives but to me this is new and unique and i love how you've written this. Her uncertainty about the reality of the dream, how it keeps flashing before her eyes, and the quickness of the dream's outcome are all really brilliantly done!

Characterization wise, i think so far it is excellent! I like Scorpius here a lot, even if we juts get a small glimpse of him i like how you've done him. I've read a lot of this optimistic bubbly character or the complete push over (which I like just fine in fanon and it's adorable to read) but in my head canon your Scorpius seems a little more realistic. He is part of a gang and not the leader (which is really great and different) and it seems like he may have some of Draco's pretentiousness and arrogance in him.

Aria is really neat too, she seems, at this point, well rounded and interesting. I like her bluntness and her her and Rose's interaction in general. Rose seems normal here (well except for the seer bit) but she's wanting to pull pranks, has grudges that are realistic and she's not at an extreme where all Hogwarts loves her or hates her (which i've seen in too may stories).

Your flow was really nice too for the most part. I noticed there was a few run on sentences which seemed to disrupt the feelings of the piece so keep a watch out for those. Otherwise though, i liked how this read and it was quite beautifully done.

Thanks for requesting me and i hope you found this helpful! :P

-zayne

 Report Review

Review #5, by academica Frustrations

22nd July 2012:
Hey! I'm here with your requested review - and I'm super excited to see that you're back and have updated this fascinating story! I definitely missed you!

So I think the plot works well here, even with the temporal distance between the time you posted the first chapter and when you recently updated. I like that Rose still isn't used to her strange visions (she definitely shouldn't be) and that despite her unique power, she has trouble just being a normal student. I have the feeling that this concept would make a really good television show, especially with the way the action smoothly flows here. The ending definitely has me wanting to see what will happen.

I noticed a few technical things that I'm going to point out, since you specifically asked about them. One is that you've got a messed up Italics tag in there, right after Rose says that she's going to kill Scorpius. I think you just used the wrong brackets. I noticed a typo or two as well (i.e., "simple sit and eat" should be "simply"). The biggest thing I picked up on is a bit of awkward phrasing. It seems like you began a lot of sentences with actions, especially toward the end, and it just made the technical (read: not content) flow of the piece a little halting for me. For example, this sentence: "Forcing herself past the tree, the light of her wand seemed to dim against the pressing darkness of the forest." It might flow a little better like this: "The light of her wand seemed to dim against the pressing darkness of the forest as she forced herself past the tree." That's just my opinion, though. I've found that it's usually best to try to use active voice whenever you can in writing, though I'm certainly guilty of not doing so.

I loved your imagery. For example, this line was beautiful, and it definitely conveyed the haunting atmosphere: "The breeze that ruffled her hair was crisp, the shiver it sent down her spine telling of the quickly approaching winter." As I alluded to earlier, I also thought Rose's characterization was great, just because she seems really normal.

Nice work! I hope this review is helpful :)

-Amanda

 Report Review

Review #6, by luciusobsessed Frustrations

20th July 2012:
OH MY GOD I'M ON THE EDGE! I knew it! I knew something was going to happen! And I bet the person who grabbed her was Scorpius. I'm so excited for the next chapter, please please please update soon!! xx

 Report Review

Review #7, by luciusobsessed Haunted

20th July 2012:
Wow wow wow this is definitely going into my favorites! You had my attention with the first word! Your grammar is absolutely flawless, and your writing style is so captivating that I'm already excited to read the next chapter.

You have such a creative imagination. I love how you tied the dream and the Slytherin conversation together. I have a feeling she's going to have to save Scorpius, or warn him or something.

Can't wait to read on xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by magnolia_magic Frustrations

18th July 2012:
Hey! I'm so excited to see that you decided to update this! I was completely hooked by the first chapter, and this one definitely doesn't disappoint :)

I loved getting to see more of Rose in this chapter. She's very different from how I've normally seen her portrayed, and a lot of that seems to be because of her prophetic dreams. I can't imagine what a toll that must take on her, and the weight of it clearly shows in her behavior. And I love the idea of Rose being a Seer, because her mother's attitude toward Divination just makes it so ironic.

Your descriptive style is what makes this story really stand out for me. Rose's visions of the forest are horrifyingly detailed, and her everyday life is described very thoroughly as well. Great job with that!

I'll definitely continue to stalk this for updates! This is such a creative idea, and it's written so well. Keep up the great work!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Heya! Yeah I finally got my muse back for this- was high time I updated it! I'm so glad it doesn't! :) with the amount of time between the first chapter being posted and this one, I was definitely worried it'd fall flat.

Oh that's so good to read! I'm glad it shows, as that is something I hoped that bit of her trying to sleep and being unable to properly would do. :) should hopefully get to show even more of that in chapter 3 and beyond! Yeah that was mainly why I decided to have her be one =P Figure her father would think the subject is a joke, her mother hated it...so naturally their child should so have to deal with it as a huge part of her life.

Thank you!! I'm always a bit worried about going overboard description wise, so I'm glad that it makes it stand out instead!

Should have an update soon, I'm thinking next week depending on how RL goes =D eep, thank you!!

-Cait


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rosy Frustrations

17th July 2012:
Woah! Cliffhanger. Not cool! Haha I really like the fact you made Rose a Hufflepuff and she isn't some kind of child prodigy like in a lot of stories. It's a really nice story and I'm eagerly awaiting the next chapter! :]

Author's Response: muahaha, I had an urge to throw a cliffhanger in and just had to do it! thank you, I'm glad you like that! :) I try to avoid prodigy stuff-- still made her a bit special, but not tooo special I guess? haha, thank you for your review! I'm going to try my best to have chapter 3 up at some point next week!

-Cait


 Report Review

Review #10, by Maybe Haunted

13th April 2012:
Intriguing first chapter! Your description of the dream brought a really vivid image to my mind and drew me into the story. I think Rose being a Seer, or at least having dreams that sometimes come true, could be really interesting, especially with her mother being so disenchanted with "woolly branch of magic" that is Divination. This is set up to be an interesting read, I really enjoyed the first chapter :)

And a side note: I love that Rose is in Hufflepuff! 'Puff pride!

Author's Response: 'puff pride indeed! :D I'd seen her in every house but Hufflepuff so far, figured it was about time she was one!

I'm so glad that it did that, as that's definitely what I was aiming for! Thank you so much :) I'm really, really glad you enjoyed it! Hopefully it'll remain nice and interesting =D


 Report Review

Review #11, by SakuraSou Haunted

16th March 2012:
Woah! This was one awesome first chapter. Right of the bat, the dream at the beginning had me at the edge of my seat. The descriptions were superb- I especially loved the line about the dirt dragging her down to its depth. The whole thing just drew me in instantly.

The dialogue was excellent, Aria sounded very real and believable. I was surprised to find out that the dream would be relevant so soon (if indeed the dream is referring to Scorpius in the forbidden forest, which it seems like it could be), but it was a pleasant surprise, it really makes me want to know more, like, right now lol.

Spelling and grammar were great. I only noticed one teeny mistake which was 'fools' which should be 'fool's' I think, but honestly, I was so absorbed in the story it didn't matter.

The whole concept of Rose seeing the future is really unique and very intriguing. Really loved this and I am hoping that you continue with it :D

10/10

x SakuraSou
Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #12, by Roots in Water Haunted

3rd November 2011:
This is an absolutely amazing first chapter! I loved how you started off with the dream, and didn't make it into a separate prologue or have it predict something far in the future. It's relevant and it's going to happen soon... It makes it far more interesting for the reader.

As well, I think that you've done a great job with your description. I could feel her terror and fright in the story and imagine the never-ending series of trees and the bloody mess of a human... Your dialogue is also great, flowing naturally and sounding natural. Rose and her friend Aria were having a normal conversation and I think that Aria sounds just like one of my friends.

I also think that you've got a great idea here with Rose being a "seer" (though I'm glad you didn't come right out and say it- it seems more realistic for her to deny it, especially with her mother and father's opinions of divination). It's a unique concept that I haven't seen before and I really hope you continue with it.

Will Rose alert Scorpius to the danger? And just who was Scorpius crushing on? The mystery...

 Report Review

Review #13, by WeasleyTwins Haunted

10th August 2011:
Hi, WeasleyTwins here for the review extravaganza!

First off, I absolutely adore your description. I am so super excited about your plot - Rosie's into prophecies? Oh, how delicious! And Scorpius in the mix to top it all off - like the best, most brilliant chocolate cake the world's ever seen! I think your plot, descriptions, and characterizations are very strong at this point. You don't overload the readers with too much description, so the flow is steady. The dialogue is excellent, as well. Overall, a great start to a potential jaw-dropping fic!

WeasleyTwins
Gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #14, by CheeringCharm Haunted

10th August 2011:
This story is so catching, really couldnt tear my eyes from the words! the first part, with the dream is written in such a manner that i feel the fright and the sense of running...

Your language, style and way of writing conversation and action are splendid! amazing!

I really cant wait to read more of this story, I mean if the start made me jumpy what's the continuation going to do?!

*Hugggles*

CheeringCharm Hufflepuff

Author's Response: eeep thank you so much! :D I'm really glad it was catching, and that the dream part did that! ^^ have to admit I was rather proud of that bit of writing!

thanks for the review and awesome words :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle Haunted

10th August 2011:
Oh gosh, I love this already! I really love how you made the plot so interesting! Is Rose a seer? I suppose that's stereotyped as a 'cliche', but the way you wrote this fic made it really original! For one thing, I love how Rose is a Hufflepuff, not a Gryffindor, she (so far), isn't that popular girl with all sorts of guys wanting her, and I also like how Scorpius isn't the leader of the gang, but a sidekick. So nice characterisation so far, of Aria too!

I really liked the vivid imagery and descriptive language you used in the dream at the beginning. I also liked how it then all came together with Rose and Aria chatting and then overhearing the boys' conversation, and then Rose's dread and sort of confused moment. I'm very interested in finding out what happens next, so keep updating, hehe! Great first chapter so far, really amazing writing!

- maskedmuggle, Ravenclaw :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by teamdobby Haunted

9th August 2011:
Saw your banner and summary after looking about for Hufflepuff Tuesday and had to read it. I don't usually like Sco/Rose because they are almost always cliche but yours has an original plot and started off very nicely :).

The nightmare at the start had great description and really made me feel for Rose. Apart from a few (very minor) grammatical issues, this first section was brilliant :D

The rest of the chapter had a great flow and Rose is very well written. I also like Aria as she seems cool :P I was surprised that Rose was a Hufflepuff, but in a good way because it is always assumed that she would be a Gryffindor. The way you have written her so far, leads me to believe that she belongs in Hufflepuff :).

I like that Rose is Seer because both of her parents hated the subject and Hermione would probably try and convince Rose that she wasn't one. That could be an interesting part, where Rose has to talk to Ron and Hermione about it :)

The ending was dramatic and made me want to read on, so update soon as this has the makings of a wonderful story :)

teamdobby-Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #17, by czorna Haunted

9th August 2011:
i like it, i think this ff is very good.i will wait for next chapter ;)

Author's Response: I'm glad you do! Thank you!! :D

 Report Review

Review #18, by Phoenix_Flames Haunted

9th August 2011:
Okay, hey there, Caiti! So I decided I would come review something of yours in honor of Hufflepuff Tuesday, and I saw this piece and was fascinated just by the summary. I could not resist. I had to come see what this was all about. :)

And holy cow! How you started off this story was unbelievable! I had no idea what was going on from the very beginning, but I was immediately into it. I wanted to know what was going on, and I was scared for. And you wrote it beautifully! Wow, the descriptions of her fleeing from whatever it all was was brilliant. I felt like I was running with Rose. Right there with her away from whatever it was.

And then it was all a dream and I was so relieved! Somewhat. Just from reading the summary though, I have a feeling like it will somehow influence the future of the story. So I'm nervous there! But it was brilliant nonetheless. :)

I like Aria! She seems like a neat girl. Anytime I hear that name now I think of PLL. Hehe. :)

Ah, and then the end of the chapter! More intense, gripping stuff there. Way to end it on a slightly climatic note! Well done with this first chapter. I'm sure this is going to be an awesome story.

So original! :)

Forum Name: Phoenix_Flames
House: Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #19, by magicmuggle01 Haunted

8th August 2011:
Wow what a great tense start to your story. You've certainly won me over. I do believe that Rose maybe a seer.
An excellent start to this story. And I have to give you a full 10/10. Adding you to favs and also plz update very soon.

Author's Response: She might just be! Truth be told...even I don't know yet. =P I'm more of a go with the flow writer than one who actually plots out anything...

Thanks so much, I really appreciate that! And I will try to!! Been a long time but I'm feeling museful so I'm going to attempt to get the second chapter up by the end of the week! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by ThePhoenix17 Haunted

8th August 2011:
I really enjoyed this! It is quite a unique idea! It has sort a dark theme to it. I'm itching for more! Well done!

Author's Response: Awwwh thanks so much for this review, I'm so glad you enjoyed it!! Should hopefully have more soon! *cough* I seem to have a knack for...really late updates? college = muse killing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by LunarLuna Haunted

7th August 2011:
This was a very enjoyable fic! Well, since I can't do smooth transitions, and your area of concern is grammar, lets get on with that, and I'll end with a few comments of my own on other parts of your story ;)

First off, I'm going to warn you that this isn't my area of expertise, I'm doing my best though so I hope it can still help!

I've found that the first few paragraphs (Rose's dream) are worth revising, so I suggest you do that, I'll just point out a few things:

" Dirt stained and hair wild around her face,"

It isn't precised what exactly the dirt is staining though I imagine it's her skin? If so I suggest you add that. And maybe replace the "and" by a "her" -That's just a suggestion though.

"Her light colored eyes were a mixture of panic and fear" This is correct, but slightly unclear, I suggest moving a few words around to make something like: "A mixture of panick and fear struck her light colored eyes" but again, this is just a suggestion.

You might want to get a beta, if it is really a concern to you, but honestly, I didn't find that many grammar mistakes, only a few here and there, so don't worry too much about it! (I've read fics about a hundred times worse!

Now, as for another smooth transition, I'll talk about other area's of the fic that struck me (hope you don't mind) I really like where the plot is going, the way she is a seer. in fact, I've only read one other Next Gen story with a seer, and said seer was an OC, so it is a very original idea. Which is particularly good in a ScoRose, where there are so many cliches, we can barely count them! i feel like I've read thousands of ScoRose fics with a seemingly same plot. It's rather sad actually. However, yours is a very new, and original idea, and I'll definately be reading the rest. I think you have a very good plot unfolding here. :D

~LunarLuna of Slytherin

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ace of Spades Haunted

7th August 2011:
o very interesting!
looks really good, can't wait to read more! :)

-Ace

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Hopefully should have more for you to read soon! =D

 Report Review

Review #23, by MrsWonWon Haunted

7th August 2011:
This seems like such a good start! I really like your description, it's really vivid! And your style seems to fit what you're going for...sort of dark, yes? Especially during the dream part! Can't wait for the rest.*favourite* update soon!

Author's Response: Oooh yay, I'm glad! Vivid is such a lovely word to hear! And oh yes, going for veery dark stuff >=D I must admit that angst has become my favorite genre so...I'd like to steer down that path if my muse cooperates! And thank you so much for the favorite! It's been...an unfortunate amount of time since I've been able to update (college = no HPFF time), but I hope to see you back once I've got the second chapter up!

Thanks for the review! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #24, by academica Haunted

6th August 2011:
Hey there! Here with another review for you :)

Your imagery is so beautiful, especially in the beginning. There was one line about the forest full of horrors and everything sounding like death -- it just grabbed my attention, as if it wanted to yank me over and say, here! Read this! The opening scene was so well done, and your writing continued to impress me throughout the rest of the piece. It flowed perfectly!

I LOVE the concept of this story. Rose having a gift of divination when Ron was terrible at it and Hermione hated it? Genius. I applaud you, truly. I may just follow this one on my own without you having to ask for reviews. And I love how Rose is tormented by her gift and how vividly it manifests itself in her everyday life, invading her mind when she least expects it. This is not Divination, the reason we all laugh at Trelawney because she never gets anything right. This is so much deeper and more complex. This rings especially true at the end, where we see a meaningless dare turn into something that could potentially be far more sinister. Again, masterfully done. I'm lucky to have been able to read this.

Your grammar's fine, silly, and so is your spelling and punctuation. Rose's characterization is beautiful, much deeper than I usually see, and I like the way you're using stereotypical playboy Scorpius to move the plot along. This is one of those pieces that makes me reconsider my dislike of next-gen, and I'm super excited for you to continue!

Awesome job, but I expected no less from you :)

academica

Author's Response: aaah ages later and yet your review still makes me squee- I am SO sorry how long it took me to respond to this. Thank you for your awesome words, I am so glad to hear that about my imagery as sometimes I worry a bit that I'm going overboard or something! So hearing that about the opening scene definitely puts my worries to rest. :)

Genius? muahaha, I do try! Thank you! That is definitely what I was going for divination wise - I realy wanted to show how it could totally entwine itself into someone's life, and show how kinda like...the small decisions can lead to big events? Which should hopefully be shown more so in the second chapter! Thank you-- masterfully done is a compliment that just makes me so incredibly happy :D

*dies* I will forever be worrying about my grammar, but yay! =P I'm so glad you do! reconsidering your dislike? yaaay!! ah, I'm very glad, I hope you wind up liking next gen just a bit more ^_^

Thanks!! your review is still the highlight of all the reviews I've ever gotten!

-Cait


 Report Review

Review #25, by AC_rules Haunted

6th August 2011:
First off - I love your title. I just think its really awesome.

I also really like the way you started with a the dream. For a second I was confused about why Rose would have blonde hair and then of course I realised she'd been dreaming about being someone else (which is generally quite weird in itself, isn't it). I really think the whole dream thing may be unique and its certainly very intersting.

Enjoyable fic so far!

Ravenclaw :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Picking cool sounding words seems to be how I name stories nowadays. =P

I'm glad you liked it and found it enjoyable!! I really do hope it's unique-ish, as that was definitely something I was going for.

Thanks for the review, sorry it took me so long to reply!

-Caiti


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login