Reading Reviews for Shown Like the Sun
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection Chapter Twenty-Three

1st December 2012:
I have to admit, I totally knew that Gran disliked Sirius so much because of something thathad happened to her when she was younger, most likely involving a Black. i'm so lgad the truth finally came out!! My only issue is that I feel the backstory was sort of vague...Sirius talks about his grandfather being completely heartlesss, and Althea's grandmother disputes this, but nothing she told us really sinks our teeth into the story. I didn't necessarily understand how he wasn't hearless..he didn't meet her when he was supposed to, and the momeny she might find happiness with another man somewhere else he shows up and gets her pregnant. I think you could've delved into their time together, both in Egypt and after Hogwarts a little more. Having read the story though, I wouldn't be surprised if more was included in later chapters, and if it isn't I totally think you should consider putting it in!!

Another excellent story though. Again, I see tremendous talent and skill in the way you weave everything together, and at the moment, nothing really solid comes to mind as far as criticisms goes, which again, is incredibly rare for me.

Perhaps I missed it, but the title doesn't necessarily seem to fit with the story..I know in Ebb and Flow the waters in Bermuda were often referenced as ebbing and flowing, as were her feelings, but I feel like this title doesn't necessarily do the second installment any justice. Perhaps I missed something though.

Author's Response: Thank you! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts. I've really enjoyed reading all of them. I hope I've responded adequately.

Yes, there was still some vagueness about Gran's revelation. Gran had spent seventy years protecting herself and her interests. Good girls from respectable families just didn't do what she did--Magic or Muggle. There is much she still won't admit to, I'm afraid. She would definitely never admit to any moral weakness. Ah, but if only we could've heard what was said between Sirius and Gran. You'll learn more about this in the next story. Although, to tell it fully, it would take Gran, a Pensieve, and a thousand more pages.

That is an interesting take on the Ebb and Flow title. I titled it that way because the story would go back and forth in time, culminating in the present. Shown Like the Sun is a pun on the lyric, "Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun," from Shine on You Crazy Diamond by Pink Floyd. Light was a motif in this story as well. All revelations occurred in the light.


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection Chapter Twelve

30th November 2012:
I wasn't sure I would like the sequel, but it's truly just as remarkable as the first. I love how some of the things we are left wondering about from the first installment are answered here. I'm being completely honest when I saw Althea is a completely believable character. Hearing about all of the things she's gone through without reading the entire story one might think it was too much, but everything is so realistic and tied together nicely.

I honestly don't have a single bad word to say about this story, and I'm surprised it hasn't won any awards or recognition. This hardly ever comes out of my mouth, but this is truly remarkable story telling at its best.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriusPotterhead Chapter Twenty-Three

31st January 2012:
I Loved This Story Almost As Much As The Last One. You Put So Much Detail In And It Seems Like It Could Actually Be Part Of JKR's Work :) x

Author's Response: Thank you! That is very kind of you! :)

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #4, by icemice Chapter Twenty-Three

24th November 2011:
I... What!? OVER!
It seems so crazy, it feels like the drama's just starting in a way- we've just had this bombshell and this uncertainty lies in the future. Ancient business only Sirius can attend to? I'm so curious!
I've really enjoyed reading this, even if it does turn out to really be over. You've done a wonderful job.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Althea's life is definitely heading into a very uncertain and tumultuous time. Yes, that ancient matter that Sirius must attend to...you'll learn more about that, I promise.

~~emberlivi



 Report Review

Review #5, by starj06 Chapter Twenty-Three

23rd November 2011:
NOOO! Im not ready for this story to end! I think you are an amazing storyteller and you are clearly a skilled writer. I hope you write another story (well more importantly continue this one)! I am definitely a fan of yours and will always read your writings. Thank you for the Althea's journey!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Such kind words, indeed! I'm very happy you enjoyed Althea's story.

I felt that this was the best time to end this story. Themes are changing and they wouldn't fit well in Shown Like the Sun. Althea's story isn't over just yet ;)

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #6, by Alice. Chapter Twenty-Three

23rd November 2011:
The end? You can't be serious! This was a fantastic chapter.
Please tell me you'll write a sequel! I need to know what happens next...

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! :)

I thought it best to end the story at this point. Themes are changing and they wouldn't fit well in what this story had to do. You'll discover what happens next, I promise.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #7, by TooFiie Chapter Twenty-One

9th November 2011:
Hey ,
I Just wanted to comment about how amazing this story is and what a talented Writer you are. I also wanted to know if this story gonna reach till the school year starts ? Or is it gonna end when the summer ends? And do you think that you'll write a sequel ? Please do !! Anyhoo I just wanted to mention the awesomeness of this story =)),
Please upload !

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

This story includes the summer, but not the school year. A sequel? We'll see. ;)

I will upload soon.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #8, by Marian Chapter Twenty-One

31st October 2011:
i love your writing so much! it seems like ever chapter i cant stop crying or i'm laughing way too much!

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! Yeah, sometimes the chapters do go from one extreme to the next. It's the nature of Althea.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alice. Chapter Twenty

26th October 2011:
I really like your storyline and the way you picture your characters. Keep up the good work! I will be checking regularly for an update

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I'll be updating soon.


 Report Review

Review #10, by RavenclawWayToBe Chapter Nineteen

17th October 2011:
WOWZERS, I 'Siriusly' (hehe) love your story! It's like I cannot get enough of it!! I hope Afina keeps quiet! I love Sirius and Althea! But Afina will probably get angry at some point and tell Gran, at least thats what usually happens in stories. So keep writing cause your story is awesome

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope Afina keeps quiet, too, but we'll see. She does have a habit of letting things escape.

 Report Review

Review #11, by starj06 Chapter Nineteen

15th October 2011:
i haven't been moved by a story in a long time but i was crying at the idea that sirius was leaving for althea and afina. i no i dont review often but i check this site everyday for this story. you are an amazing writer and your idea of sirius just how i picture him. keep updating and i will always keep reading!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm very touched.

I'm very happy you're enjoying the story and check so often. I'll update shortly!

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #12, by imi Chapter Fifteen

25th September 2011:
i love it, i've read Ebb and Flow... keep writing i want to know what happens xoxoxoxoxox :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I've sent in an update, and it should update in a day or two.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lavinia Carlisle Chapter Fifteen

20th September 2011:
Again, your writing is brilliant. The characters have depth, they react the way actual humans would, and nothing is black and white. Please keep writing, and you really should consider doing it professionally. I think the literary world could use someone like you right now.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D




 Report Review

Review #14, by Anonymous Chapter Thirteen

10th September 2011:
Lovely story.

I keep getting my hopes up that these two will reconcile...but there is far too much between them that I know we aren't even close to that yet!

I am so anxious for Sirius to learn about Althea being Kelly Derry!

Update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

There is definitely far too much between them, and more that Althea and Sirius do not know about each other.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lavinia Carlisle Chapter Ten

28th August 2011:
Wow. I love how palpable the emotion is in your writing...reading one of your stories leaves me almost physically exhausted, something that's only happened when I read Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf.
I also love how your characters are multi-dimensional and definitely not perfect. Both Sirius and Althea have some serious personality flaws, but it adds a layer of depth that most stories on HPFF don't have.
The only thing that bothers me (and it's about the characters themselves, not your writing) is how Althea doesn't stand for herself against Sirius. She definitely does have things to feel guilty about, but it seems like she always ends up apologizing for the things she shouldn't have any guilt over, like protecting Prudence. Of course, you're the author, and you do a brilliant job. You should definitely continue writing (and maybe think about doing it professionally? ;) )

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I had to snicker at the mention of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf as I'm reminded of the movie and of Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton. I'd unconsciously modeled the relationship of Sirius and Althea a bit after them: unhealthy, tumultuous, and full of passion.

They are exceptionally flawed characters as humans are. Ah! That Althea apologizes! It irks me as well. You'll see, but she has been beaten down by her guilt. Where as Sirius placed her on a pedestal post-Azkaban, I believe Althea has done so with Sirius. I think it's made worse because she spent time in Azkaban, knows what it is like, and is horrified that Sirius--very much innocent--chose to stay for as long as he did and she did nothing to help him.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #16, by icemice Chapter Ten

28th August 2011:
Oh my god! I just read the last two chapters- even with all this, I'm glad Althea was honest that she gave Prudence away, I think, there was a time when she wouldn't have. Wow, Sirius... he's such a passionate person, he can get pretty extreme. Poor Prudence, no idea any of this is happening, or anything has happened in the past.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

I think Sirius feels like Althea rejected the very core of him.

Indeed, Prudence is blissfully unaware of all that is going on about her. She's happy and on holiday with her family. Her younger brother, Oliver, keeps tormenting her cat, Violet. She might've snuck a spell or two in retaliation.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #17, by Alyssa Chapter Ten

27th August 2011:
Poor Althea! Sirius is such a jerk... Can't wait to see what happens next. Please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Will Sirius listen to reason? Hmmm.

~~emberlvii


 Report Review

Review #18, by hplover987 Chapter Nine

23rd August 2011:
OMG!!! I love this chapter! It's my favorite so far. Sirius seemed so happy and Althea told him. I can't wait to see how he reacts. How will he react? Will she tell his everything? How will it effect their friendship/relationship? I can't wait for the next chapter!!

hplover987 x

Author's Response: :D Thank you!

Sirius was very happy--he didn't totally mess up! Harry doesn't hate him, Althea is alive and speaking with him, and Prudence is alive.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #19, by hplover987 Chapter Eight

23rd August 2011:
This is great! I love that Harry's mentioned and they both talked about times that wasn't mentioned in ebb and flow. This story is amazing and I love it all. And oh a cliff hanger! What will happen? Keep writing!

hplover x

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Yes, Harry is a tricky situation. In the books, Harry doesn't have any interaction with the Muggle Studies professor. I guess one could imagine it happen in those days not discussed in the books, but if Harry met a person that knew his mum, I'd gather it would be in the books. It is not Althea's finest moment.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #20, by hannahbannannnaa Chapter Three

23rd August 2011:
heya this story is really good!! on a previous chapter it said about that sirius told james that he was'nt sure whether he wanted the child what chapter is that in in ebb and flow?? welldone!! xxx love it!! xx

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

As it happens, I couldn't include everything in Ebb and Flow. I alluded to Sirius not being as enthusiastic, but the actual conversation between Sirius and James was not show in Ebb and Flow.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #21, by Christine_Nighting Chapter Eight

22nd August 2011:
Oh my gosh. I don't know what to say. What a climatic cliffhanger!

Oh dear. Poor Sirius. I can't wait to read next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Very much a cliffhanger ;) I hope the chapter will update shortly.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #22, by ToOFiie Chapter Eight

21st August 2011:
OH MY GOOOD !
WHAT SHE HAD DONE AS KELLY DERRY ??? OR THE PRUDENCE THING ???
So many secrets Lol ! XD
THIS STORY IS SO BRILLIANT !!!
I love how they're more comfortablewith each other now and all, I can totally understand why Sirius would get angry about that she didn't talk to harry. the boy had grown up with no kind of affection at all. And no mention of his parents . If he had somehow managed to be with someone who was there for both for of his parents and knew them quiet well. It would make him very happy! I don't care about snape suspecting,He can suspect all he wants. As long as he doesn't get proof Lol. What's the gleaming silver thingy ? I really hope there isn't any more secrets. Maybe Althea could brew hm some Potions that could his body back to it's old self? Not likely I know. But a girl can Dream XD, Sirius seems very Moody tho , I'd love it if he changed back to his old self. Of course going back 100% is back . Azkaban leaves it's marks. And it had to be gradually.
anyway This story has gotten me whipped as usual !!!

AAA= AMAZING AS ALWAYS !

Your most faithful reader ,
ToOFiie~

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Yes, Harry was James and Lily's son. Why wouldn't Althea talk with him?

A potion for Sirius? I think Azkaban stays with a person--especially how long Sirius was there. It makes a person raw.

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #23, by Aly Chapter Eight

21st August 2011:
AH! CLIFFHANGER!! Post soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

~~emberlivi


 Report Review

Review #24, by ToOFiie Chapter Seven

15th August 2011:
Hello again !!
My deepest apologies for not reviewing The last chatper , I have been away for a bit and Could only read your story by my phone , and I don't like reviewing Using my mobile =)) , So anyway. This story is fab !!! I check up everyday to see if you had uploaded XD ,It's a very addicting story =)). Your story Is one of the best I had ever read. It's very emotional , and it reminded me for when Harry was talking to Ron And hermione In book five when He had just been kissing Cho, and hermione explained how cho was feeling (So many emotions ) Lol Random I know. But it just reminded me of it =) In some ways I feel Like I don't want Sirius and Althea to be together Until they solve all of their problems and know the whole truth.But I also want them to get back before, and maybe Sirius will be so Happy 'bout finding out that his daughter is alive that he won't care. Far chance of it , I know. Anyhoo Again this story had left me smiling and I was really scared that Sirius would have finded out about Prudence, but He didn't !! XD. And It is so adorable that Prudence's friend have a crush On Remus !!! =)), I Really hope Remus find someone else. Maybe Tonks ??

AAA !!! = AMAZING AS ALWAYS.

~ToOFiie

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Yes, this story is full of tumultuous emotions. I often find the two of them exhausting.

Oh, yes, I don't think Genevieve wanted anyone to know that! Prudence can speak without thinking sometimes.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Christine_Nighting Chapter Seven

15th August 2011:
Oh dearie. What is Sirius going to do when he finds out how many things she's keeping from him? Though I can't blame Althea, that's quite scary...

Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Yes, what will he do.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>