Reading Reviews for When Perseus Met Andromeda
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 When Perseus Met Andromeda

14th March 2014:
Surprise!! I bet you didn't expect two reviews from me in the space of 24 hours!!! Happy Review Battle!! :D

House of Cards is really fabulous and dark, so I wanted to check out some of your other/lighter work. :)

Oh, Ted. Such a silly person. When he went into the forest, I really thought that he was spying on Andromeda, but he was checking out her sister!! That's pretty hilarious (and also really weird), because Bellatrix is the absolute LAST person that he should love. The heart wants what it wants, I suppose!!

The description throughout all of this is superb. I could imagine the sunlight in the forest shining on the "Slytherin royalty," and it was all very pretty. Your descriptions of the scene made me want to go to Hogwarts just so that I could see it in person! (Not that I don't want to do that already...)

I recently watched 10 Things I Hate About You, so I appreciate the way Ted shares some characteristics with Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character (I can't remember his name!!). Also, he's on your banner. He was kind of adorable back then, haha. But yeah, Ted definitely fits the slightly-dorky, quixotic type, and that's what makes him even more endearing. Obviously, he can never be sad and heartbroken for too long before another girl catches his eye!!

Cheerio for now! :)

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Happy Review Battle to you too! :) And thank you so much for both reviews - I really didn't expect this one, and they're both amazing! :)

Ohmigosh, I find lighter stuff so hard to write :P It always feels so weird, haha. Like I should kill someone off or something, haha!

Yeah, it was a strange situation to put in, but I really didn't want it to be the 'love at first sight' kinda thing - I wanted there to be a kind of twist, and I wanted it to be someone unexpected - so, Bella :P Also, he must have been pretty daring to even fancy Andromeda, it's a weird kind of bravery, so I wanted to play on that!

Thank you so much! :) I love description and describing things, so I'm so glad you liked it!

Honestly, I've never seen the film so any similarities with the character are completely coincidental! And yeah, he is the dorky, kinda weird guy who tries to be all romantic and fails and always wants the cheerleader, haha. He is a bit of a Romeo ;)

Thank you so much for this - I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by The Empress When Perseus Met Andromeda

28th January 2014:
Hello! I'm here from review tag :)
I couldn't resist scrolling all the way to the bottom of your page. And I definitely couldn't resist reading a Ted/Andromeda story! I absolutely loved it. And imagine my surprise when he was dreaming about Bellatrix!
This was a perfectly wonderful imagining of what may have brought them together. Well, at least what may have started the ball rolling :)

Your characterizations of all the characters were lovely. Especially Ted and Andromeda. And with all the OCs you were juggling, for a one-shot they are so well developed. That Doreen sounds like quite the character!

I really enjoyed this story :)
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Hey there - nice to see you stopping by! :)

Haha, I know what you mean - they're a lovely, lovely pairing, and I always regret that there's not more of it on the archives. But, anyway - I'm so glad you liked it! :) Particularly the bit involving Bellatrix... I really didn't want to do the 'love at first sight' type thing, so, having ended up writing it somehow, I left it in, though I wasn't sure how it would go down ;) So I'm so happy you thought it worked well!

Gah, thank you so much! I'm always nervous about writing OCs because they're not something I'm hugely comfortable with, and find very difficult, so it's so lovely to hear that you thought they were good! And yes, Doreen is quite fun - I do like her :)

Thank you so much for the review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by A Christmas nymph! When Perseus Met Andromeda

17th December 2013:
Why hello there, fabulous writer! I have come with your Secret Santa reviews, and I thought what better to do than start at the beginning of your writing career! So here I am :)

I have to admit that I have never read anything about Ted and Andromeda before, but after reading this, I want to know so much more about their relationship!

You added such an interesting dynamic to the whole relationship simply by adding the fact that Ted was first interested in Bellatrix. Not only does it make the relationship interesting, but it also adds a level to the characters - how does the Bellatrix we know in canon stem from someone the gentle Ted Tonks could like? At first it seems like a totally separate character, yet her dominant nature is already showing through in this more innocent and almost childlike version of her, so I can see how it would be realistic for her future character development to take her down the path we know it does. It also made the relationship between the sisters more realistic to characterise her like this, I felt. Andromeda defending Bellatrix might not have made sense if they were as radically different as they were by the time Harry was around, but back in their younger days, they were still sisters, and more alike than a lot of people might think.

I am very impressed with the way you worked the quote in! I love this movie, and I feel like that was a very difficult quote to take out of context and make it make sense somewhere else, but you really made it work. You created a story that held a lot of similarity to the movie, in a way, but also was entirely its own creation, and was unique and enjoyable while still making sense with the quote.

Ted was very sweet and I loved the way you set the story up around him. I loved how he slowly realised he had fallen for a different sister than he thought! It really made it adorable because he was entertaining this kind of unattainable fantasy, but then this realistic, grounded and nearly perfect kind of love for Andromeda just snuck up on him unawares, until it was too late for him to do anything but accept it!

There are a lot of elements of this story, for example Ted liking Bellatrix, that I think could have really fallen flat. But you pull it all off perfectly with your perfect characterisation and lovely writing style. You have no spelling or grammar mistakes which makes this pleasant to read, as well as the sweet and engaging plotline. Overall I really loved this and I think it was a great fic to introduce me to this pairing! I can't wait to read more of your work, especially since this is your oldest fic on the archives so I imagine your writing has only got even better over time.

You're a star.

Lots of love from your Ravenclaw Secret Santa! xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm When Perseus Met Andromeda

23rd March 2013:
I had never read an Albus/Gellert story before but you convinced me to like that ship, so I decided to do the same with Ted and Andromeda.

So this was already off to a good start! I liked Ted was a Ravenclaw, because in my mind it was either that or Hufflepuff so yay for that! Then you made him friends with Arthur, and that was canon in my mind too! Even though it was only a brief mention I liked how you showed the beginning of his and Molly’s relationship, because I always have a soft spot for those two.

I felt rather sorry for poor old Ted always aiming to high and not getting girl, at least I know that he does end up with Andromeda so I don’t have to worry too much about them! I thought it was sweet that he was ambitious because you could tell that he really did like all of these girls and the way he was trying to wonder whether she would be alone, and whether he could gain her heart that way or not.

I liked the analogy of the pureblooded Slytherins being like a Medieval court, because I always imagined it like that in my mind too. I suppose that just shows how hard his quest is, because if Andromeda is a princess in the court, no offence to Ted but he’s on par with the jester then.

I liked his friends the interaction you wrote was fun and nice to follow. They should have been a bit more supportive in his quest though! It was funny that they thought he had managed to snog her though, when in fact it was the opposite and he was mistaken for liking the same girl. It seems odd in my mind that someone could fancy Bellatrix!

Then the altercation between Doreen and Bellatrix! I felt rather proud of Doreen and her ability to challenge her. I thought it made sense that Andromeda did stand up for Bellatrix as they were friends then. Then Douglas asking her out, leave her she’s just for Ted.

I thought this was a really good one-shot, and it was nice to have an insight into their relationship!

-Kiana :D

Author's Response: Hey, Kiana! It's so nice to see you popping by again! And haha, hopefully I can convert you to Ted/Andromeda as well ;)

Same here - I've never imagined him as Gryffindor (and, in my mind, it's a bit cliche, tbh), and I've always liked the idea of Teddy having relatives in all the houses :P Haha, really? Wow! I don't think him and Arthur would necessarily have been great mates, but they'd have got on well. Arthur would have pestered him with questions about rubber ducks :P

Yeah, it is kinda sad for him (though it's definitely a happy ending for a while ;D, as you say), and it's something which does happen, but it doesn't happen much in ff so I wanted to include it here.

Haha, yeah, definitely! With a cap with bells on it and everything! :D I always wondered if that was a bit far, you know, but I'm glad you like it and think it fits!

I'm so happy you like his friends - they're not around for much and I'm not very good at writing one-shots, so I didn't really know what to do with them, lol. Yeah, they're not overly supportive but I think they know him well enough to know it's unlikely anything will happen, unfortunately. I know, but she was supposed to be very pretty before Azkaban, so... *shrugs* people must have fancied her, I guess, lol.

Yeah, it's a lot scarier when you remember what Bellatrix becomes in the end! And they're sisters - defending each other is sort of part of that :) Douglas... haha, he's a bit of an idiot, lol. He doesn't think about it.

I'm so glad you like it - it's something I wasn't very confident about when I wrote it, so it's always so great to hear lovely things like that! :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review - it really was wonderful to receive!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by dreamer21 When Perseus Met Andromeda

6th March 2013:
This is story is such a cutie. It seems realistic as well. I love Andromeda's character. And I also enjoyed the fact that you've used greek names in the title.
Ted's character seems to be too average but at the same time very unique as well. Knowing that this is your first fanfic here its pretty good!
Em!

Author's Response: Gah, thank you so much! I'm not really all that comfortable with writing fluff and have absolutely no idea about what is and what isn't realistic, so I'm so glad you thought that it was! Yeah, I was actually pretty stuck for a title originally, but then I remembered the whole greek legend and I just had to reference it. Ted is pretty average, but I think that's almost what Andromeda would be attracted to, you know, since she's a Black and is therefore expected to be brilliant and perfect, etc. This was actually my second story on here, but it doesn't matter ;) One of the first, lol.

Thanks so much for the lovely review and the swap! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heaven When Perseus Met Andromeda

5th March 2013:
Hello from review tag!

So I think I reviewed Empty Chairs at Empty Tables last time I was here, and from the descriptions alone, I think this story is going to be very different! I adore the Ted/Andromeda ship, but there just aren't enough stories out there for them! I'm really happy to find this.

The fan girl in me just let out this huge sigh when you wrote about Arthur and Molly. They're another really underrated couple, so if you hadn't done it before, I think you've just won my heart over completely with this story!

I cracked this huge dopey smile reading about Ted's failures with the ladies. What a hopeless romantic! I think I might be in love!

That little paragraph where you described the "Slytherin elite" was very subtle and clever, I thought. It acted as a gentle reminder about the harsher realities that lay just beneath the surface of Hogwarts, as well as the very real difficulties that Ted and Andromeda probably faced because of their love.

Ooh! Plot twist! Ted's new crush is Bellatrix? Exciting!

I adore Andromeda! She comes across as very intelligent and intuitive, and seemed to know what was going on right away. I think the way she tries to console Ted was also very sweet and quite telling about her personality.

Confrontation! I love a bit of confrontation! I seriously went into this piece fully expecting to have a nice dose of fluff, but this is better! Plot twists and confrontations! What next?

There was more! An unexpected show of fierce loyalty from Andromeda herself! I'm hanging on tenterhooks (whatever they are) to see how this pans out.

AND THEN NOTHING HAPPENS. I am heartbroken!

This was such a wonderful read. I have a dopey grin on my face and a silly romantic song in my heart. Now please excuse me whilst I go hunt down my copy of 10 Things I Hate About You and wonder at the chameleon genius of Shakespeare.

Author's Response: Hey there - glad to see you stopped by! :) Glad you enjoyed Empty Chairs as well - though, yeah, it's hugely different from this! Ted/Andromeda is such a sweet but complicated ship, I don't really know why more people don't write about them - they're rarely even included in Tonks/Remus stories, which always makes me a little sad, tbh.

I snuck them in! I love them too (Unsinkable Molly Prewett is basically my head-canon for them ;D), and since they were at school around the same time, I just had to sneak them in ;)

Haha, hopefully not - he's all for Andromeda! And yeah, he's such a failure, lol. I'm glad you like Ted, despite his romantic failings!

I wasn't honestly sure if it would be too much or not, since they kind of are elite, but then it fitted so well with Ted's thoughts and romantic sense, so I left it in, so I'm happy to see you like it. And yeah, so many difficulties!

Gah, I'm so glad you like my Andromeda! I rarely get a chance to write her, since I mostly write the Death Eaters et al. and she doesn't really fit in with all that lot, you know?

Haha, sorry about that! I just... gah, I tried a cute fluffy ending, but it just wouldn't come out and work ;) so that's how it ended up, I'm afraid.

I'm so glad you like it! I've actually never seen the film, so had no idea what it was like, other than a rom-com, and just wrote this because I liked the quotes, so I'm so happy you liked it! :)

Thank you so much for the review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by CloakAuror9 When Perseus Met Andromeda

24th January 2013:
Ooh! What a nice one-shot about Ted/Andromeda. ♥

I found it interesting that Ted fancies Bellatrix at the start. It really adds something more to the story. Though, I don't understand why Ted would like her. There's nothing wrong with liking her, what I mean is that she is really crazy later on in life and yeah, I just can't imagine her being a normal type of girl. Sigh. I guess times were different then, really different.

I love how you chracterised Andromeda. She does seem nicer than her sisters and the rest of the Slytherin Elites, but she is still not a force to reckoned with. I wonder how Teddy and her got together. :P

Great job! I loved every single bit of it. (:

~Izzy

34th review out of 100

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I do love the pairing, and I've always wanted to write something about them, so when the quote and plot bunny came by, I just had to... ;)

Yeah, I know, it didn't occur to me until a while into writing it, tbh. I think it came about partially because I really didn't want it to be a kind of 'true love', 'love at first sight' kinda thing... and he's being a fairly shallow teenage boy, lol. He doesn't like her personality, he likes the fact that she's very pretty ;) And yeah, I've always thought that Bellatrix couldn't have been that insane before Azkaban - psychopathic, yes, but not insane. But that's just my head-canon :D

Thanks so much! It was a bit difficult since a lot of people have such set views about her, but I think I did all right. Yeah, she's nicer but still not a push-over. Woe to those who insult her sisters, lol!

Thanks so much for the lovely review (and I have no idea how her and Teddy got together in this universe. Maybe he just blurted it out one day? Maybe she asked him? Ah, dunno! ;) )

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Secret Santa When Perseus Met Andromeda

17th December 2011:
Hey, it's your secret santa with part of your gift!

I really loved this one-shot! Ted/Andromeda is one of my favourite pairings, and you created a really unusual perspective on it this time! The fact that Ted was at first interested in Bellatrix was completely unexpected, but I loved it! And the fact that Andromeda caught him... win!

Ted's group of friends are really well characterised just in that brief snippet, and I especially love Doreen (probably because she's a tall girl, and we're completely under-represented :P). Her distaste for Bellatrix was brilliant as well-- I bet Ted's friends must have thought he was crazy for liking Andromeda, and I'm sure Bellatrix is even worse! Your Death-Eater characterisation was god as well, and I liked your allusions to the pureblood mania-- not over done, but still there, which was good.

Overall, I think your spelling and grammar was really good. I would put this on my favourites, but I don't want to ruin the surprise of who I am, so I'll put it off for a bit longer!

10/10

Author's Response: Hey there, Secret Santa! :)
I love Ted/Andromeda as well - there isn't nearly enough of it on the archives, in my opinion - and I wanted to do something different from the stuff I've read. A lot of it is either something really dark, or really light and Romeo/Juliet kinda thing, so I thought I'd try something lighter, but not quite so doomed-romance-y.
Oh, I had so much fun writing Ted's friends! Doreen is probably my favourite too, lol, although Crispin was quite fun. I've always wondered how Ted's friends would react to him dating Andromeda - we know hers would have hated it - but no one ever seemed to address it.
Ah, the Slytherins. They were fun to write. I always feel a bit naughty when typing 'mudblood', if I'm honest, lol, as though I'm doing something wrong.

What! Not even a clue? ;)
Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by silverstarletworld89 When Perseus Met Andromeda

30th September 2011:
This story is wonderful!! I think I am actually in love with this one shot *adds to favs*.

First off, the film 10 things I hate about you ♥ LOVE!! And how you worked the quote in there was very suberbly done. It's so weird to think of those death eaters as teenagers. But you certaintly pulled it off well. I like the 'air' of superiority you gave them. And LOL that Ted thought he had a chance with bellatrix. I still think it's weird that anyone would fancy her as she is so crazy but I suppose she must just have been less sexy crazy when she was younger lol!?!

I thought it was a genius idea that you had him fancy Bellatrix first and then bring Andromeda into the picture, as they would be more suited for each other.

I really enjoyed this one-shot and it definitely made me chuckle.

Silverstarletworld :)

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! It was pretty fun to write, so I'm glad you like it.
It's ironic you like the film because I've actually never seen it, I just entered the challenge because the quotes sounded fun to work with :D
Yes, Lucius as a teenager is particularly weird for some reason... ah well, never mind. They're fun to write, though - and yeah, Ted's thing for Trixie randomly popped up in my mind as I wrote it so I included it anyway. I didn't expect it to happen, though, so I couldn't really say why...

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by heliopath When Perseus Met Andromeda

18th September 2011:
I love this interpretation of how Ted first becomes interested in Andromeda. ^_^ A lot of it I would never have thought of, such as Ted's crush on Bellatrix, but you make it completely believable and the characterisation is great. I especially like the little corner where all the elite Slytherins go- that is so completely what happens at high school! Your writing style is also really enjoyable, you describe everything in detail but not so that it seems overdone, as is often the case. Favourited!

Author's Response: I've never read one before - at least, not from his perspective - so I thought, why not? As for Ted's previous crush, I kinda put it in on a whim, to spice things up a little. Also, it fitted better, I thought, character-wise. The Slytherin elite corner is actually a mockery of my own school, where that happens so I'm glad it's more common than I thought! Well, not really, but you know what I mean ;)

Thanks for the compliments and for dropping by!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by faerieall When Perseus Met Andromeda

10th September 2011:
I really liked this piece! It provided an angle on Ted and Andromeda's relationship we've never seen before. The fact that Ted is one of those people whose always looking from afar is lovely, as I think the majority of people are those that do look from afar. I also like Andromeda, she is gentler than her sister but certainly a Slytherin and someone to be reckoned with.

I also really liked Ted's internal monologue before he reaches the branches. It's very realistic of a teenager, I would think. His friends are also great, the bit where Crispin tells Ted to put her in his "spank bank" is another great, realistic line. You manage to combine a lovely writing style with a good story and dialogue. Well done!

Author's Response: I've always been quite interested in how their relationship started and the idea of them meeting in class was a bit cliché, I felt. Also, Ted got Andromeda - they're so different I kind of wanted to find a reason for why he would have gone after someone like her, rather than someone more... accessible. Plus, Andy's awesome :P

Thanks for leaving the review! I'm glad you liked it!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by ravenclaw_princess When Perseus Met Andromeda

22nd August 2011:
Well done on an exceptionally well written story. The flow and pacing was magnificent and I was completely engrossed through out the whole piece.

I liked the charactersiations of everyone, especially the Slytherins. You really showed there 'elite' ways and I liked how you described them and their spot by the lake. It reminded me of the 'popular' group at school who you just didn't go near unless asked to.

Your projection of Bellatrix is quite cool. Later in life she is pretty deranged and I liked her seeming more normal her, yet still with her commanding presence.

Ted was very sweet with all his crushes. It was kind of like he fell for Andromeda without even realising it at the time. He was aiming so high in who he thought he wanted as a girlfriend, but then he actually got to know someone, rather than just falling for looks and status.

The quote was weaved into the story really well and it goes along with the who 'popular' kids thing that the Slytherin Elite represent. There were a lot of lovely descriptions through out the story which set such a nice atmosphere. Grammar and spelling were also wonderful. I really enjoyed this story. Well done.

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing this piece, so I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!
Having read a lot of Marauders' stuff it seemed that they often had a place where they would always go, and I thought well, wouldn't the 'elite' purebloods make sure they had somewhere which was 'theirs' as well? It kinda made sense and it fitted in well. Also, it was kinda a reflection of things at my school, where there is a group like that.
I like Ted, although I've never written him before, and I wanted to do something other than 'he falls for Andromeda, she falls for him, they get married' because it tends to be cliché (originally he was going to like her from the beginning) and then I remembered how similar she and Bella were supposed to look and a plunny just formed in my head.
Putting the quote in this story killed me, lol. I just kept writing, trying to find a place to put it in, so it's good you thought it worked.
Thanks for your lovely review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by MyMyMiss When Perseus Met Andromeda

31st July 2011:
Hello there, I am here to judge your entry!!

Please be aware that it is a very close contest as all seven entries that I had where brilliantly constructed.

+ You are incredible. This was one of the hardest quotes in the Challenges and you pulled it off!! *Hugs and hands cookies*

You have no idea how much I adore this little story. ^.^

They remained there a little longer, staring at each other, the sounds of laughter and aimless chatter filtering through the leaves and branches to them.
- This was sooo cute. I was like, aw. ^.^

You worked that huge long phrase into this piece of writing with ease, I actually had a doubt that this story wouldn't flow or would drag because of how long it was, but it didn't. It was perfect. Just the right length, you had good consistancy with your flow and it was really enjoyable to read. :)

I am glad you took the oppurtunity to take part in my challenge. I hope too see you again in further ones I hold. Please look out for a blog soon confirming the winners of the 10 things I hate Challenge.

~Karni. x

Author's Response: Sorry it took such a long time to respond - plunnies are running wild in my head and I've recently become mildly obsessed with 'The King's Speech'. Mildly.
It was really had to do - I worried too about the length and about actually managing to put the quote in, but it was really fun to do and I enjoyed creating the characters and interactions.
I'll be sure to keep an eye out for more challenges from you! ;P

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by leannemariesnape When Perseus Met Andromeda

9th July 2011:
Really well written one-shot. I really liked that Ted liked Bellatrix initially. I think it adds a new dimension to the story- rather than Ted just liking Andromeda. I really liked the characterisation of all of the sisters, and also the friends. I also liked how Andromeda defended her sister, which also gives a good aspect to Andromeda's character.
As far as I could tell, there were no spelling or grammar mistakes, and the quote was added in very nicely.
Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I've read quite a bit of Ted/Andromeda stuff before, so I wanted to do something a bit different and slightly less obvious, so I'm glad you liked it. I admit I was worried about the characterisation of the friends, but hopefully it was alright.
Thanks again!
Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login