Reading Reviews for Little Red
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by navyfail two sisters, dark and light, red and white

26th July 2013:
Yes, this is indeed a dark twist. This is different from what I usually read and what I usually come across. It was new, fresh, and dark with horror. It kept me on the edge of my seat. Literally.

I like the comparisons of the sisters: the shadowed speck and the golden-haired nymph. The similes and colors you used for imagery and description were lovely. Another thing I notice is how you characterize Teddy in this one-shot. His thoughts on the two sisters and how he puts them into his mind as opposites is intriguing in a way. I always for some reason forget about his wolf-side though.

"She bottled her blood and tipped it into their mouths with a kiss, the drop of Veela poison enough to drive them mad." Wow, talk about intense.

And this line, " Instinct was incurable." I like how you repeated this line throughout. It made that line memorable.

The ending was unexpected and expected at the same time. I don't actually know how to express it in mere words. I guess the only way to put it is memorable. All in all, a beautiful, dark one-shot.

~Sama

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I love folk tales, and as I grew older, the darker interpretations of them. They might be innocent to the six-year-old, but historically, they were pretty gruesome, heh, and all about the basest sides of humanity--and in this case, primal obsession. It's still one of my favorite things that I've written!

 Report Review

Review #2, by HarrietHopkirk two sisters, dark and light, red and white

18th July 2013:
Hello Gina, how's it going? I'm reviewing your one-shot, which is very good, by the way - and by that I mean very, very good because all of its imagery and all its descriptions that are beautifully written.

DARK TEDDY/VICTOIRE AND ALSO DOMINIQUE IN THERE TOO! I LOVES THAT. I LOVES IT LOTS! And this one-shot is so dark and twisted that I, upon reading it the first time, didn't really know what was going on - I knew I enjoyed it, obviously, and went back for another try.

BECAUSE OF THE DEATH COUNT - HAHAHA SO MUCH BLOOD, WELL DONE GINA YOU TRIUMP! It was such a chilling one-shot because of it's vagueness and it's /darkness/ and your writing, obv. WELL DONE!

Author's Response: HAY HATS thanks for the capslock, I know how you love your body counts~ no story is complete without one, eh eh?

 Report Review

Review #3, by Toujours Padfoot two sisters, dark and light, red and white

1st March 2013:
AGHHH, WHAT.

Wow. I am guessing this was Dominique, right? You said she was a shadowed speck and her sister was the golden-haired nymph, and Victoire is usually portrayed as blonde. Okay, I definitely was not expecting that ending. That was.

Omg that was just horrifying. THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE A FAIRY TALE. D: You could give the Grimm brothers a run for their money.

I am reading this over again to try to interpret it. I will probably get it wrong, because that is always what happens when I try to interpret dark, twisted, pretty things. So far I am getting that once upon a time, Dominique wanted to tame the vicious wolf that is Teddy, so she decided to become a Healer. But first she seduced him away from her sister. THERE IS SO MUCH BLOOD. Okay, after reading this three times I have ascertained that both sisters must have issues with wanting to fix men.

Omg she gave him her veela blood so that he would have to be attracted to her. THAT IS SO MESSED UP. And then aghhh Teddy lunged at Victoire and killed her while Victoire was only trying to help him; meanwhile Dominique is doing all kinds of bad stuff on the sly, totally making him the animal he's become. Dominique, what are you even doing.

Okay, she deserved it, then.

(My interpretation is wrong, isn't it.)

Gina this was so twisted, and still so gorgeous. The contrast of nice things - candy, white, sweet - combined with blood and wolf fangs and sdfjdfjjf. Haunting but still so lovely. You should compile a collection of OF fairy tale retellings just like this. You would make a mint, I tell you. (Or fanfiction. In which case you would make a...Dobby.)



Author's Response: DOMINIQUE INDEED. A redhead recessive and blondie... wondie.

It is marked as horror, o k. c: BUT REALLY THAT IS THE HIGHEST COMPLIMENT SARAH. I mean especially thinking back to that day, I was just like 'oh I think I'll write a horror story' and plop, it came out, and I would have never thought that I'd look back thinking this is one of the best things I've written. I DON'T EVEN KNOW HOW?

There is so much blood haaa. Ye almost got it. It's Victoire who wants to tame Teddy but can't, although Dom does want to tame him later, when she matures. And I think you got that after a few reads lol I'm sorry if I broke your brain. BUT YOUR INTERPRETATION TOTALLY FITS DON'T WORRY 8D

♥ guh guh guh, says the master of fairy tales plz. Fairy tales remain my favorite stories, but I've always avoided retelling them because retellings are a dime a dozen BUT YOU KNOW WHAT I WANT TO NOW c:



 Report Review

Review #4, by Dezire_427 two sisters, dark and light, red and white

22nd November 2012:
From the moment you get your first eye-full of the banner, till the time 'he devoured her screams whole', the aura of silent horror was utterly conpicuous and tangible.

I can actually make sense of this very well, because, while you wrote it at 3 a.m., i'm reading it at the same time. Quite a coincidence, isn't it? :)

I just recently finished reading etc. etc., and am about to start Capers, and after reading these stories of yours, I feel I could spontaneously combust with jealousy. GAAH, YOU ARE SUCH AN AMAZING WRITER!

Back to the chapter, I absolutely loved how you've kept the identities hidden till the end, the missing parts are for us to fill. The descriptions are also very powerful, even though you went for the mystique and vagueness. It was just absolutely brilliant, and I am still in a chilled shock, because, suddenly and most inconveiniently, a horror movie theme song has started playing in my head, all because of your vindictive drama and horror-filled dark Red Riding Hood Story. It's a story I won't forget in a hurry.

Absolutely goose-bumped to the marrow (is that even possible?),
-Akansha.

Author's Response: 3am is the best hour to do anything ofc 8D

♥ that is such a huge compliment eek! Fairy tales and folk tales are my favorite stories, and they're short and concise and vague at times, but say so much. A lot of them are morality tales and have a certain set up, so that was my initial inspiration. And then I kept asking myself, 'well, what's scary?' and I thought of obsession and relapse, and put that into Teddy.

Thank you so so much!


 Report Review

Review #5, by PhoenixPulse two sisters, dark and light, red and white

14th September 2012:
Oh, oh, oh. There goes the goose bumps, and I definately do not think it's from the ceiling fan in my bedroom that I've put on high.

This was...chilling. Chilling good, and you've written this at 3 AM?!? Oh how I'd kill to have a functional brain like that at 3 in the morning. Usually I'll be snorting in laughter, saying things incoherently, so I never dare try.

The darkness to it, and the vaguey-ness. It's great! It leaves a lot of room for the reader to fill in gaps for themselves. And not those annoying gaps like potholes you find at horribly paved roads, but gaps that actually make you think...like a puzzle. (Am I making any sense?)

Strangely enough, I like your Dom. She's a decieving little ginger ain't she? And Teddy! Oh how bad I feel for Victoire! I'm guessing he left her for Dom, but then...she ran away(?) Or perhaps I got it all wrong?

Anyway, this was a great fic! Can you provide another one like this, when you can. For something you claim to have never tried before, you're awfully good at writting it!

Author's Response: Blistering heat too, amirite ;A;

I am way too productive at 3am :P I wish I could be productive at more reasonable hours but my brain does not work like that. And apparently my brain told me LET'S NOT USE PROPER NOUNS for nearly the entire duration of this fic. Even when I read it, I have to read this very slowly so I figure out which 'she' is referencing which sister.

You got it just about right, the way I intended! Left Victoire for Dom, but Dom rejects him when he does so. Ended up a bit more er, violent than that though, heh.

I write a lot of my oneshots spontaneously, mostly because I don't have the muse for very long (nor the attention span). It comes and goes, but I reread it after getting this review and I hope I can write something like this soon ^__^

thank you so so much again!


 Report Review

Review #6, by NightStar two sisters, dark and light, red and white

25th June 2012:
Wow this is unlike anything I've read by you! O.O
I read Game, And Capers Ensue, all your other one-shots and etc etc as well (posted a long review xD)
This story was hard to get what you were saying but I read twice and I got it..
I like the way you wrote it..the whole creepiness aura and stuff xD and what were you doing up at 3 am? But I have no objections if you produce such wonderful stuff xD
Anyway, well done! ^.^
One thing, is it normal that I visualized all of this like a horror movie trailer? xD


With loads of love,
NightStar

Author's Response: I saw the long review! xD It's so lovely to hear from readers who've read multiple things on my authors page - I always wonder what they think, because I write so many different things, and some things are years old now!

I'm glad you liked it! Bahaha, I'm always up at 3am; that's when it's quiet enough to actually get work done! I totally see everything like movie trailers - EVERYTHING - but I wouldn't call myself very normal, so you're probably not normal either. Oh well.

♥ thank you!


 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins two sisters, dark and light, red and white

1st May 2012:
Oooh dude. That's very scary. Good job on the horror! I like that you described so thoroughly without describing, if that makes sense - it's a surprising amount of detail for still being vague on what's really going on, but that's how good horror writing needs to be. If you tell everything, it's not as scary. A flash of blood and dark, screams. I feel like I just saw a really good movie preview. In just 700 words! Man you're good.

Author's Response: Thanks! :D It was my first attempt at this kind of style (3am horror indeed), and half the struggle was trying to keep the girls unnamed while not confusing the 'she's too much. ♥ eep, I love that image, like a movie trailer! glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Icouldn'tcomeupwithanawesomename two sisters, dark and light, red and white

22nd February 2012:
Yeah me again. *STALKER ALERT* I took your advice and am currently reviewing another story, as you see.

Now about this story. I SHOULD HAVE READ THIS A LONG TIME AGO!! I normally don't read one-shots (something to do with frustrations like 'why does it stop here? I WANT MORE') but I read the discription (a shadowed speck, consumingly sweet) and it was all so mysterious that I gave in.

I loved the way it flowed. Does that make sense? Like, the essence of poetry, the rhythm, the beautiful use of language. And I'm a sucker for fairytales *disney collection here*, though I didn't see the movie Red Riding Hood.

But... what happens to Victoire? Did she die? (Don't laugh if she didn't. I have to read this kind of stories twenty times before getting the double meaning. I read all the other reviews here for the same reason.)

And does Dom become a werewolf or does she die too or none of mentioned? And she cleanses him. Does that mean she changes him to his human form again? But he bites her after that, right? What does cleansing even MEAN? *Google Transelate* Er, I'm confused.

But, as incoherent as this review is, I loved the story all the same. It has a certain magic to it, and as with my Albus obsession, I love mystery. Maybe I shouldn't have asked any questions at all, because then some of the mystery might dissapear. Hmpf. I'll just have to read Little Red for a sixth time then, don't I? :D

PS Second stalker alert: I'm reading Game too. And I read Capers, but I didn't feel very reviewative then. :S

PPS I'll live until March.

Author's Response: Oh hullo again xD

Hee most of my oneshots tend to be deviations from my normal writing. It's loads of fun. This was definitely the most deviously devious of my deviations.

I looove fairy tales and folk tales. Hehe, I think that's been somewhat apparent, especially now with my plunny for etc. But I generally do not like movie adaptations, so I haven't seen that either.

Bahaha, I think there's plenty of ways to interpret it. When I wrote it, I thought of it as Teddy, driven by his obsession with Dom, kills Victoire to be with Dom. Dom tries to help Teddy, reverse the damage she feel she's responsible for (since she was encouraging his obsession), but it doesn't work.

Oh dear! Game is so old though D: SO OLDDD. I only ever pay attention to etc and Capers lolol. Capers is coming soon, but i haven't got much time to finish the chapter up properly. I promised that would be posted a few days ago lolol. And only after that can I finish etc.

BUT WHY MARCH. WHAT ARE YOU, A SEASONAL PLANT WITH REVIEWING ABILITIES? D:

but even if you are, thank you~


 Report Review

Review #9, by marinahill two sisters, dark and light, red and white

20th February 2012:
I've been meaning to read this for absolutely ages, so I'm glad I'm getting the chance to now :)

You're right - this was vague, but I definitely don't think that's a bad thing. It leaves a lot of room for interpretation, which is a lot of the fun in one-shots.

There are some really lovely one-liners in here, like the last line and many others. In fact, I think most of this is made up of pretty sentences and any of them could be taken out of context and be admired.

Interpretation-wise, I'm pretty rubbish at it, but I'll have a go anyway because that's part of the fun of reading. I love the parallels you drew to Little Red Riding Hood. I'm a real sucker for twisted fairytales and you definitely didn't disappoint. Did you choose LRRH because of potential links between Teddy and the wolf? I don't usually like to see him portrayed as a werewolf, but it works here because it fits so well with the fairytale.

At the start, Dominique seems like the bad one, tempting him away from Victoire but then that's turned on its head further towards the end when he turns into the wolf. So in the end, I'm not sure who I'm supposed to dislike more haha. And I've just realised I've gone a bit rambly now and I haven't got a point so I'll stop and just say I enjoyed this and it's nice to see you write something different :P

Marina

Author's Response: Oh hey Marina! :D

I'm so glad you liked it. It was just something wayyy different for me, and I think it helped me get comfortable with different styles.

Oh dear, I would not have your bravery to interpret xD I am just as rubbish. I think that's a valid interpretation. In my view of the ending, I like to think that it's Dom sort of "growing out" of her Little Red phase, but Teddy remains unchanged, stuck in his obsession.

♥ thank you for the review! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #10, by lizmusic45 two sisters, dark and light, red and white

9th February 2012:
I think this was good, at first I thought Lily/Petunia, but then I read it, and well it wasn't, but it didn't change anything it was still and forever will be a brilliant, brilliant story!

I don't know what I like more, your comedy or horror, I mean you write both really, really well :) I truly enjoyed it.

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thanks! :D I can see how this could translate to a lot of different sisters, but I thought the imagery fit nicely for Teddy, Dominique, and Victoire.

 Report Review

Review #11, by The Dirigible Sugarplum two sisters, dark and light, red and white

24th December 2011:
Oooh, dark-ish fairytales. I'm so up for it. *rubs hands together eagerly*

I have to admit that I had to read this twice to really get it. Every line seemed to ooze a double meaning, every word a hidden message, a code for us readers to crack--but that's part of what made it so interesting.

I love your descriptions in this; the phrasing of your words seems to emanate this tainted fairytale aura, all magical and mystical. All the metaphors and figurative language in this added to the vague mystery that made it even more fascinating (and slightly confusing xD) to read--especially the candy one at the beginning. It felt out of place at first but gradually seemed to settle in, with the candy sort of representing Dom's innocence and naivety at a young age.

What I love about this fic is that there are so many layers to it. You could interpret this as the dark fairytale that it is at face value, or a Next-Gen interpretation where Teddy breaks Victoire's heart by chasing after his obsession with Dom, or something that's part of a bigger picture that's much more complex. I don't think we could fathom its limitations--You're starting a horror fic revolution here! xD

Anyway, before I ramble too much, I think you did a pretty bang-up job (What is with me and weird expressions today? I blame the visiting relatives) on this, especially for a 3 a.m. first attempt at horror. ^^

-SS

Author's Response: It's a fic that can definitely be confusing, and I'm glad you noticed that it can be interpreted in two different ways - literally and metaphorically :D

Oddly enough, I never found the candy bit strange, but people seem to catch on to it. It's provocative (and partly because of its innocence) in a lot of media images, so I thought it would suit Dom well,

Hee, thank you! :D Thank you so much for all the reviews ^__^


 Report Review

Review #12, by BettyMaeStrange two sisters, dark and light, red and white

16th December 2011:
Stunning. Absolutely stunning. So much emotion and depth to every single little word. You make us hang on with every sentence and syllable and the words have so much impact that we can only understand what they truly mean when we've read it all.

I've read it about 5 times and I'm not 100% sure what has happened. I understand it's about Dominique, judging by 'everything her sister wasn't' when stories concern Teddy, but did he kill Victoire? Driven mad by the blood he was made to swallow from Dominique? Perhaps I'm jumping to conclusions here... I suppose 'the possibilities are endless.'

It's such a powerful piece that it leaves the whole thing up to speculation and wonderment, and not in the way that makes you think, 'I don't understand,' but the way that makes you think, 'This holds so much sub-text and hidden meaning than I'm not sure I WANT to understand. I think I'd rather be left guessing.'

I am in love with the Little Red Riding Hood theme - I recently did a photo-shoot with a friend for my exams on fairy tales, a few images being on the fable of 'Little Red Cap', and this is a perfect comparison to what I was trying to convey within my images.

If this is what you write at 3am, I will shrivel up to read what you write during daylight hours.

Favourite Line? "She was too good for the world anyway."

Wonderful. Absolutely wonderful.

Bethan. x

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! :)

I left it quite vague on purpose, and wanted it to be both a dark fairytale literally and something entirely different if you interpret it in the next-gen "real" world (which I'd imagine is something different for every reader). In my mind, he was driven mad by lust. Everything's very -obsession- themed (I'm quite obsessed with the idea of obsessions, being the core of fangirl personalities 8D).

That shoot sounds so cool! :D Fairy tales are so versatile, I'm sure they're gorg.

Thank you so much again! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #13, by SearchingForLuna two sisters, dark and light, red and white

14th December 2011:
This is beautiful :) The flow of the words was just... indescribable.

It was intriguing, how you wove in and out the Little Red and the candy and the blood and the nymph lore. You portrayed Dom (Dom, right?) as a lovely, naive, and provocative, which is a very original casting of her. It did keep my interest, trying to figure out the complexities of her mind.

I think I read the last sentence ten times. OH WHY MUST THIS BE SO VAGUE AND INTRIGUING.

All in all, a very well-written and beautiful piece. I always look forward to reading your writing but this was gorgeous. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) It is Dom as Red Riding Hood, and that's exactly how I wanted her to appear. There's something that could potentially be so sinister about that combination of traits.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #14, by LittleWelshGirl99 two sisters, dark and light, red and white

7th November 2011:
Hi there!

I love the Little Red Riding Hood hints throughout this! A very clever and unique way of describing Tedy and Victoire...It is about Teddy and Victoire, isn't it? That's the only thing that might be a bit unclear to some readers; who its about. I'm assuming that Teddy was the wolf who eventually...ate? Little Red Riding Hood who was Victoire.

Beautiful, gorgeous, amazing descriptive writing and imagery! I had shivers going up my spine. Just be careful that you don't be repetitive!

So well done, 10/10! LWG x

Author's Response: Hi! :) It's actually about Teddy and Dominique, as I referenced that she was the younger of the sisters. But I can see how it can get confusing; I tried not to use their names as they felt out of place. Teddy is indeed the wolf of the story.

I leave it unclear as to what exactly he does. I centered it around a quiet lust and obsession, and the darkness associated with it, and I think a lot of terrible things could happen once it consumes him.

Thank you! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by StEpH_M two sisters, dark and light, red and white

26th September 2011:
So I think this was my favourite out of all the ones I have read so far. I love how you used Little Red Riding hood as your theme. It was really sweet and gave the one-shot that extra little something to make it alluring.

You used the Next Generation characters really well. Using their attributes as the key to their roles in the folklore. I hope I have this right, Victorie is like the Grandma? Teddy is obviously the wolf and I am guessing Dom is little red. The way you wrote the whole story from a very different way, it was absolutely brilliant. I must admit I did get confused a bit at the start with the candy and the parts where Victoire was luring Teddy but after that I was able to understand it easily and followed along with the story without a problem. It was also interesting how you ended it with the same fate coming to pass with Dom as with Victoire, just like in the folklore.

The only thing that I was left to wonder about was who is the woodcutter, is there a woodcutter?

Author's Response: Fairy tales and folklore have always been my favorite kinds of stories :) It's not an exact translation of Little Red into the HP world, so there isn't really a grandma or woodcutter. But there is a wolf and a girl who strays off the path, and that is what I wanted to use.

The beginning part, it was Dominique who was luring Teddy, and I was using the candy to sort of describe her. She's young, and that's how I wanted to show it :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by NaidatheRavenclaw two sisters, dark and light, red and white

8th September 2011:
Wow. This is creepier than half the books categorized as horror out there. I'm still in shock here of how well you wrote this. Could it be any better? The first paragraph was so sweet, yet so sinister at the same time. The way you compared her to candy made it seem like she was a little angel, yet there was something heavier in the words as well. And then you get into the next paragraph, and it starts toying with your mind. It wasn't the kind of horror that makes you jump up and scream, but the kind of horror that makes you paranoid and disturbed. To me, the latter is much harder to pull off and much better to read. It was absolutely perfect! Great job on this!
-Naida
(By the way, HOMG GORGEOUS BANNER *eats*)

Author's Response: I wanted to convey Dom's innocence, which is one of the traits that drew Teddy in especially. I'm really glad I was able to get that across and do it well ^__^

Thank you for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by estewart526 two sisters, dark and light, red and white

22nd August 2011:
Beautifully written and quite confusing. Good though! I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks :) I think it does run the risk of being too vague, but I'm glad you liked it anyway.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Singularity two sisters, dark and light, red and white

6th August 2011:
So I read through this story and when I finished, I went back and read through it again. Then, when I finished the second time, I went back and read it out loud. It's an awesome story just reading it, but hearing it out loud made it even better. The pacing and the imagery and the alliteration in places are just brilliant. It's a story that begs to be told and to be read out loud, at least for me.

I loved the vagueness of the story as well. Each time I read it, I thought of something different, which is really unique and a little bit amazing. It sent a shiver down my spine and made me want to turn on the lights and look around my apartment ;P

I do a lot of my writing in the middle of the night as well, but I can't say that I've ever come up with something like this. This is really lovely. The last line especially is just so...creepy/beautiful...does that make sense? I hope so, because I definitely mean it as a compliment.

Really amazing job.

~Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I'm still never sure about what reactions I get to this oneshot and I'm glad you like it :)

I read it aloud many times before I posted it to make sure it 'sounded' right, even if it were read slightly differently. I tried to make it possibly a little tragic -- or at least able to be interpreted that way -- and I hoped that would give it a morbid beauty in its end.

Thank you very much! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #19, by faerieall two sisters, dark and light, red and white

27th July 2011:
I've got a few of your WIPS bookmarked, as they seem right up my street but I've not gotten around to reading them yet. This is short and sweet (well... sweet may not be the word to use here) and I'm surprised by how much I liked this! I read it twice over.

It's very vague and poetic, and I like that. It's just good writing all the way through. I understand the thing about 3 am writing, I do the same thing! All of my especially depressing pieces have been written late, late at night. But this is definitely 3am writing at it's best :)

And I liked how it played with Little Red Riding Hood folktale because there's so many themes to utilize there, sexual and non-sexual.

Loved it. Definitely need to read your WIPS.

-Nisha

Author's Response: EEEP YOU DO? Celeste gushes about you so I am flaily. I saw you just came back! I've wanted to read your stories before but they hadn't updated, but now they're back! :D (was secretly jealous of your pretty Rita and Seng banners)

Chatting with the England authors has kept me up to 3am every night 8D 3am muses are forced on me. I'm glad you liked it! Although I must warn, it's not really any indication of my style of writing in my WIPs xD It's very different from my oneshots.

Thank you very much for your review! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #20, by charlottetrips two sisters, dark and light, red and white

13th July 2011:
Loved everything about this—the evocative images, the ambiguity of it all. You leave room for the reader to participate, to think and become a part of the story and feel the goosebumps on their arms and hesitate at reading further but knowing that they cannot.

Your imagery was astounding to me and it just flowed and I had to keep reading to see what happened. The utter inevitability of Teddy’s instincts was sad to watch as well as the betrayal of sisters.

This is brilliant writing and I thoroughly enjoyed it (in the way someone enjoys horror movies and rollercoasters)!

xChar

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's a very different style for me :) so I'm glad it was able to evoke that sort of mood.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Carolina two sisters, dark and light, red and white

9th July 2011:
I loved this, so dark and pretty. I always loved Little Red Riding Hood, but them as Red and Wolf? It's fantastic and I'm wondering if anyone else has ever thought of this because it's brilliant. I surely didn't. Nothing much more to say besides that I think it's great. You deserve a much longer review but I'm still caught up in it, so...:)

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm surprised it's not done more often, with Teddy = wolf so much!

 Report Review

Review #22, by shenanigan two sisters, dark and light, red and white

28th June 2011:
that last line is chilling.

oh my god. my heart was pounding when i read it. that was INCREDIBLE.

this fic was just so good, what with the imagery, the wording, the fact that it could be interpreted in so many different ways... everything was so eerily vivid. you really did succeed in writing something horrifying (horrifying in the best way possible, that is). i could hear the scary movie music in my head as i was reading this. it was just...wow. i'm blown away.

fantastic job. this piece is gonna stick with me for a long time.

Author's Response: eee thanks so much ♥

It was odd for me, because I had become accustomed to the words and mood, so I had no idea how other people would read it, but to know it provokes that sort of reaction :D :D

Thank you again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by MajiKat two sisters, dark and light, red and white

22nd June 2011:
my. god
procrastinating with horror? girl, WRITE MORE OF IT!!

in 700 words you made my blood run cold. the imagery was incredible. knowing the folklore makes it even more incredible, and you did such a fabulous job with this.

perfect casting. teddy was absolutely terrifying, but pitying as well. and the sisters. yikes. i loved it. i love it when people twist innocence and play with metaphor the way you have done here.

those last two sentences are so powerful, absolutely amazing, and the complexity in these 700 words is just wow. this has that beautiful folkloric thing about it, an ambiguity that i adore in written works.

just amazing. i don;t know what else to say hun. you need to write in this genre and style more often. i love your humour and your banter but this...Gina, this shows what an incredible writer you are and shows your control over language.

i loved it. in my favs. this will haunt me.

Kate xx

Author's Response: KATEEE. I can only write this stuff when I'm procrastinating, truefax.

I love that you saw that touch of pity in Teddy. I meant for it to be possible to interpret him in multiple ways -- that he might have been seduced by Dominique or that he imagined that Dominique wanted him and he was the one who pressed upon her. In my set of notes for this fic, Teddy justifies his actions to himself by reminding himself that Dom had been promiscuous, a very twisted thought that unfortunately, appears too much in reality.

All of you who write lyrical/terrifying/brilliant fic are always inspiring me to try something different ♥ You included!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Snapdragons two sisters, dark and light, red and white

21st June 2011:
I wouldn't have guessed it was your first shot at horror from the writing. Seriously though, this was really amazing. It was chilling and terrifying and so, so well done. Gah. Why can't I write like this at 3 am? (scratch that, why can't I write like this when I'm fully awake? The universe must hate me.)

I enjoyed the vagueness and the different way that it was written. I'd try to analyze it, but I'm generally pretty bad at that, and school just finished so my brain's gone for the summer. Sorry! :P

But I enjoyed the comparisons between light and dark, and the idea that you can't escape your past. (wow I'm super deep)

The imagery was breathtaking (that sounds strange when addressing horror stories, but it was!) and your characters were wonderful. I loved having the connection to Little Red.

Your horror is just as wonderful as your humor/adventure/romance etc, and I think you should write more. :D Then I could gush over that, too. You managed to do a wonderful job in less than 1000 words, so congratulations! ;)

Great job overall. :D

Author's Response: Bahaha, l I had to sacrifice any semblance of a normal sleep schedule to write at 3am at all! Be glad you have that!

And I am right there with you in that boat of people who are unsure of what it all means; it's all alright xD I'm a fairly plot-oriented person, and if you can imagine the things happening, you probably got all of what I intended. It's all about the dark sides of characters for me.

These oneshots come and go for me -- whenever I procrastinate, another one might just pop up!



 Report Review

Review #25, by MarsIsBrightTonight two sisters, dark and light, red and white

21st June 2011:
I cannot actually believe how utterly fantastic this story is. I know this is going to be a general gush and squee review, but really, I can't help myself.

Your use of description throughout is astonishing. You twist words and descriptions until the reader is trapped in this web of OHMYGOD I NEED TO READ IT AGAIN BEFORE I DIE.

And your /characters/, and unfdjghfg, and I can't actually control my fingers right now.

This is not fair. You write like this at three am? -jealous-

Now, just hand over your talent pills and nobody gets hurt.

Naaah, but seriously, this story is magnificent. Braavooo!

Author's Response: Baww thanks ♥ It's been awhile since I wrote anything heavily descriptive or vague or anything like this, really. It was nice to give it a go again and I'm so glad people like it ^___^

Hee, well I am a night owl. That would be me clacking away with my claws at 3am, yes yes. I really was forcing myself to finish it before I sleep xD

...-slips one pill-

♥ heee thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>