Reading Reviews for Paper Hearts
  
117 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ginnypotter242 Draco Malfoy

11th July 2014:
Yay! Her book is finished and delivered to Vine! Finally, I'm so proud of Astoria! I'm glad Reno is coming back to England as well- going off to Paris with Terry was not a good idea, and I'm glad she decided not to stay. I'm interested to see Reno's brother too- if Tabby has had a crush on him for so long, he must be quite a character.

I'm really glad she summoned some Gryffindor and took that step forward. The reaction she had to reading it to Draco and Narcissa was perfectly described. The words continued to tumble out of her, and I'm for one very glad she couldn't stop speaking. I can't believe she admitted to Draco that she was in love with him! She hadn't even admitted that to herself, so that's a big step. I can't wait to see his reaction- I wish she hadn't ran away. I hope things don't get too awkward with them now. Great chapter!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ginnypotter242 Cracks

11th July 2014:
I hope her father is all right! That's a horrible thing to go through. I've been in those waiting room chairs before, and it's not a pleasant experience. I like the disagreement between Daphne and Astoria about the future- it's a very realistic argument to have, and rather typical for people in such a situation.

Astoria's view of the world, in the hospital, is really good. I like how she people watched and made stories for people passing by.

The discussion with Narcissa was interesting. I'm curious as to what is really wrong with Narcissa. I'm looking forward to seeing Draco's reaction to her book, and see if he picks up on the subtext. Great job on this chapter!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #3, by ginnypotter242 A Downhill Turn

11th July 2014:
Astoria is very good at procrastinating, isn't she? Her dilemma over Draco is great- she knows she shouldn't like him, yet she /does/. It's infuriating, and you bring out her emotions very well. I can relate to Astoria despite never having been in her exact situation.

The run in with Draco was unexpected, yet nice. it's nice to know that he still wanted to talk to her and wasn't insanely furious at her- does that mean that he read (and accepted) her apology? The letter from Tabby/Reno was definitely unexpected as well. I hope nothing bad happens to Reno in Paris, Terry hasn't been the most perfect person in this story! I also hope that Astoria will come to terms with her feelings soon- she has to deal with them, one way or another.

The part with her dad was horrible- he's not going to die, is he? The two sister's have enough to deal with right now! Was it a heart attack he had? I don't know for sure, but those symptoms sound like what happens during a heart attack. I hope her dad is okay. Astoria really does not need more stress right now, considering she realized she has feelings for Draco Malfoy and her book is due in a week. Stressfull times...

This story is doing really well so far! I love your versions of Draco and Astoria!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnypotter242 Fragile Like Paper

10th July 2014:
Ooh, yay, Astoria realized she likes Draco! Finally! Though her reaction is definitely less than pleased.

I'm glad she apologized. They were both in the wrong during the argument last chapter, but I'm glad she decided to be the bigger person and apologize. It set up the opening for Draco to come back to talk to her, hopefully. I'm also rather glad that she told him about her family finance problem. It might help him figure her out a little bit more- or at least, want to figure her out.

Okay, Terry kind of creeps me out now. Why is Reno with him? That just screams bad news for Astoria!

Your descriptions and thoughts on paper were intriguing. I never really thought of paper as frail and fragile. I never expected such notorious pureblood families to use paper instead of parchment. I like Astoria's reasoning behind it though- parchment does tend to make thins more permanent, doesn't it?

I can't believe she finally realized her feelings. It must have come as a shock to her, bit I'm very happy that she realized. The fact that she thinks he's an "arrogant, idiotic ponce" is beside the point- her feelings aren't going to go away! They'll have such a cute relationship! Now f only Draco can realize (and confess!) his feelings.

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ginnypotter242 The Dinner Party

10th July 2014:
Well, Astoria and Draco's relationship definitely changes direction quickly, doesn't it? I liked the beginning of the party, with Draco greeting them at the door and watching Astoria walk away. It shows that he's interested in her in some way, whether or not that way might be romantic. The conversation at dinner was nice too, however meaningless it was. For Draco to smile so widely at a public event like a dinner means something!

The argument outside got to me! Terry seems like a jerk- Astoria is right, it wasn't appropriate at all to burst into her apartment uninvited. I wonder what the issues between Draco and Terry are? I'm rooting for Draco to be on the right side now- Terry never had much of an imapct in the books, so I have no opinion of him from that.

Ugh, Pansy is horrible. I could never stand her in the books, she was such a spoiled brat and so annoying! I've read a lot of fanfictions where Pansy is an evil cow or a simpering idiot, and I like that you didn't exactly make her over the top with either of those. You kept her in character from the books.

I hope that Draco and Astoria work out this fight soon! This story definitely deserves a Dobby, I'm glad you were nominated :)

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ginnypotter242 Uninvited

10th July 2014:
Ooh, no, Daphne should have better taste than that! Ugh, marrying for status and money would suck. At least Astoria knows how to distract her sister well.

Poor Tabby! I mean, she should tell Harley of her feelings, otherwise she really has no hope of knowing if he reciprocates them, but still. It sucks to have the guy you like date another girl. I hope that Astoria changes her mind about Draco soon though. She'd rather marry Brendan than date Draco? No, that's just not allowed.

That was rather rude of Terry. He can't just barge into her house and tell her what to do with her book. That's her agent's job, apparently. terry isn't my favorite character, so I'm rather pleased that they don't seem to be working out. I'm glad Astoria held her own against Terry and told him outright that she would be writing her book with everything she wanted in it. Great job with that :)

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ginnypotter242 The Ballroom

10th July 2014:
Well, I can't say I'm exactly disappointed that Astoria and Terry's date wasn't perfect...

I really liked her visiting the old manor. First off, it was interesting to see her going off looking for things to report. It was also nice to see Draco in a different setting, and alone. He definitely has mood swings, doesn't he? The grabbing her wrist part was sweet, it was nice that he wanted her to stay, even subconsciously. I'm interested to see what will happen at this "small gathering" at Malfoy Manor.

Ooh, Brendan Shawl seems... well, I feel bad for Astoria. He seems like the kind of person that feels more important than he is, and kind of creepy as well. I love that Astoria is daydreaming of Draco though, it's sweet and shows that he's starting to be on her mind more. This was a great chapter, I loved the Draco/Astoria interaction!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 Problems Arise

10th July 2014:
I liked this chapter. Oh, dear Astoria, agents can be such a pain. And rather mean as well, it seems. Short tempers and writers don't really mix, now do they? This was a good chapter. I'm intrigued to see where this date goes with Terry. We don't see much of him in the books, so I'm sure it'll be interesting seeing how you write him.

I like the interaction between Daphne and Astoria in this chapter. The way you described them getting closer when they left Hogwarts is very realistic- it reminds me of how my sister and I grew closer as we got older. I'm glad Daphne is helping Astoria out with clothing, and paying for it.

The part with Mr. Greengrass was shocking. No one expects to run out of money, especially people that have grown up in such high society and money. That must be a surprising thing to hear, and horrible for Astoria who's struggling as it is. You wrote it very well, it was easy to relate to.

I hope Draco does bring out Astoria's creative muse! Not only will it help her finish her book, but it will add more interaction between Astoria and Draco- which I love, especially in the way you write them. Great chapter!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ginnypotter242 Approaching Deadlines

8th July 2014:
Yay (slightly) more interaction between Draco and Astoria!

I can definitely relate to Astoria here- I'm the kind of person that puts off all my important stuff, and then stay up until 4am to finish it.

I liked the interview, and how Astoria carried herself through it. She didn't behave like a normal journalist and push for what was wrong with Narcissa like Rita Skeeter would have. I think that speaks for her character a lot.

I hope she gets the book finished on time! She seems like she needs that money. I really liked the ending as well, with Astoria and Draco. It was very sweet and showed how much Draco has changed since we saw him in the books. I can't wait to see more interaction between them! The way you write the two is so real and sweet. Great chapter!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ginnypotter242 Procrastination At It's Finest

7th July 2014:
Another amazing chapter. Astoria is just the sweetest character, I love how you write her!I like her friends too, and how they are different from each other. I liked the adding in of Terry Boot, especially at the Leaky Cauldron. The asking her out thing added to the story.

The Leaky Cauldron was great- I agree with Astoria, I love drunk Reno! (By the way, I love the names. Reno and Tabby- definitely unique names!) She's hilarious, a random drunk while Tabby is a rather dramatic drunk. They blended together nicely. Especially as Reno seems to be a rather dramatic person when sober.

I can't wait to see what happens in Astoria's interview with Narcissa. It'll definitely be interesting to have the Malfoy's in her book. Hopefully Astoria gets her book finished on time, and stops putting it off to go out!

Great chapter, and I look forward to reading more.

~Sara (Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ginnypotter242 Ink Stains

7th July 2014:
Hello! This story is very intriguing so far. I really like the beginning, about the ink stains. It was a kind of humorous way to start off the story, and it definitely set off Astoria's character.

Speaking of her character, I love how you described her. Both her and Daphne are described so well, and I love that they don't fall into the "Slytherin Ice Queen" or "Evil" stereotype that they so often do. Her job is definitely a unique one, so I definitely liked reading about that. Draco was characterized pretty well too. I liked how he was mature, but still had a touch of his normal arrogance and high class attitude. The confrontation between him and Lucius was well written, and I can see that having happened after the war.

I liked that you included Dennis. Like Astoria writing about the unsung hero's of the war, it's nice to see more minor characters rather than the golden trio every time. I'm interested to see where this book of hers goes, especially with the interview with Narcissa.

A couple thing I did notice- in one line, around where Astoria is thinking about the Malfoy family, she refers to Harry as "Uncle Harry". Also, Draco kept telling Astoria to send his mother an O.W.L- unless she is sending Narcissa a test, it should just be owl.

I really enjoyed this first chapter, and I can't wait to see where it goes!

~Sara (Gryffindor House Cup Review 2014)

 Report Review

Review #12, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS Maturity

2nd June 2014:
What a lovely story!!!
:*
Splendid!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Debra20 Ink Stains

8th March 2013:
Giola girl! Why did you have this story so hidden? And why don't people pay more attention to it?? Only 100 reviews for a story with such a promising start? No way...

In any case, I LOVED the start of this. I can't even remember the last time I read a story that showed Draco so mature and in character. He's one of those HP character that is overly used, who falls into different stereotypes faster than you can blink, so finding a story that portrays his character so close to what we know in the books about him, yet mature enough, is a true delight. I'm in Draco heaven right now (and believe me, he isn't one of the characters that I compulsively read stories about. In fact I don't think I ever finished a story that featured him...most of the time it's unbearable...).

Astoria! YES! I don't know what genre this story is (I was hooked by the summary so I didn't pay much attention to anything else :P) but if it will focus on the relationship between Draco and Astoria I am all aboard with that. I am already rooting for her. You really managed to give her flavour and enough layers for a great kick off of her character. The way they meet seems very probable; her not so pink relationship with her family (except Daphne, with whom she's in good terms as we saw) has a very plausible reason and seems deep enough; her choice of career, everything about her screams like an enjoyable OC!

Who knew I'd stumble upon something like this when I first clicked your story? I am already hooked!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dark Whisper Maturity

30th January 2013:
Giola,

Well, congratulations on this story being nominated for the "Ultimate Ship-off" competition on the forum. Your story was nominated by several and I thought I would check it out.

This was a really lovely read. I particularly enjoyed your characterization of Astoria and how she was more 'down-to-earth' so to speak than I expected. I could also relate to her well in being an author. You describe writer's block perfectly... don't we all hate it? It is so frustrating! :P

I loved the mirror's reflection sticking its tongue out and poking fun of her. And I love that his cold action in the beginning was described as getting a hug from him. LOL! I do love a quiet and haughty Draco.

I also loved his letter to her. And especially your description of it... how it was not perfect. It had words crossed out and was difficult for him to write. It was really a wonderful description that truly spoke volumes about his demeanor and feelings. Just beautiful, really.

I also loved how you described his coldness toward Pansy and how he did not show her any affection. I could really see it in my mind.

And I loved the Black's Manor and how it had a ballroom. I loved your description and how you brought it back into your story to tie it all together. She could see the ballroom dances of old in her mind... and so could I. I also thought it wonderfully poetic that Draco was a bit sad that society had changed to the point of not needing one. :(

Your story was really well written and had wonderful flow from one chapter to the next. She had great friends that cared for her. You had me wondering if Daphne might start seeing Brendan. She deserves him, I think.

Congratulations again on your multiple nominations.
I normally don't read much other than Dramione, but your Astoria reminded me of Hermione a bit... especially when it came to being around dusty books. :) You certainly had me rooting for her and was happy with her book success.

Thanks for the light-hearted, fun read.

Best Wishes my fellow Slytherin,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #15, by accioHPFF Approaching Deadlines

18th July 2012:
Julia!

This story is such a pleasure to read and review! I cannot believe that I didn't read this sooner.

I'll start with the section at the start that confused me a little. It's only something minor, and it may be me misunderstanding you, but the two times in the first two paragraphs didn't seem to match up. In paragraph one you say "It was now midday," and in paragraph two, you say, "It was now eleven."

That aside, I think this was excellent. I loved the section at Malfoy Manor, and I think the interview itself was amazingly done. I'm left wondering about how ill Narcissa is, and what's wrong with her, though! I hope she recovers from it.

The way that Astoria asked the questions and gave Narcissa as long as she needed, and the way Draco sat in the corner observing, are two things that I think were really great at making this seem real.
When she came out and spoke to Draco, I didn't really know what to expect, but I loved how you tackled that conversation, and hope am now wondering if that marks a turning point in the story...

Awesome! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by accioHPFF Procrastination At It's Finest

18th July 2012:
Wow- this chapter definitely lived up to my expectations after reading the first! :D

I think my first thought is how well your writing flows. Everything moves at a nice pace, and your word choices always seem to fit so well!

I like the way you incorporated both sides of her life into this- work and social. Also, I'm intrigued to know if there is any room for Terry Boot to become a prominent character. I guess I'll have to keep reading to find out!

I loved the letter by Narcissa- it seemed so naturally written, with the apology for her absence and all. I also really liked the way that she seemingly knew about how Draco would have behaved; it was a nice touch.
I hope that the interview tomorrow goes okay, but judging by the contents of this chapter, I see a few dark clouds on the horizon there.

I... I don't know what to say about this now, but everything seems so well written. I'm off to read more!

 Report Review

Review #17, by accioHPFF Ink Stains

18th July 2012:
JULIA!

I FINALLY got around to reading this, and I have to say, I think you did a great job!

I can't remember if I've read any of your stories, but I love the style in which you write! I thought you started it beautifully, and the way you added in bits such as "An occupational hazard." were really well placed extra bits.

I think that this is one of the first stories I've read with a heavy focus on the Greengrass family, but I think you tackled it well and made them very believable. I liked how you used "Tori" in the conversation, because it made it seem more natural whenever they spoke.

Introducing Dennis? When I read it, I was a bit surprised that you had written him into this, but it fitted perfectly and it was nice that you included such a minor character. He seems like a tiny detail in the HP world, but you really brought him up in this as more than that.

I really liked the way that you ended this, because it left the story at a really interesting place, and I can't wait to carry on reading. Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by alicia and anne Ink Stains

18th July 2012:
This is a really great first chapter, the way you describe Astoria was superb, she seems like a quirky writer.
Draco seems very Cannon and I like that he's doing charity work to clear the Malfoy family name.
The chapter flowed really nicely and you described everything so well that I could picture it clearly in my head.
I can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #19, by LovlyRita Maturity

5th March 2012:
Alright, you can finally..finally...FINALLY stop crying in a corner. I'm here for your review, about 1048573405 months too late. I know, that's a lot of months.

I'm not sure I did a good enough job on the story seekers really talking about how much I love this story. I really don't think I did. Draco is generally an unlovable character (don't listen to a damn thing those Dramiones tell you) because he really is just a little jerk. But, like I said is SS, you took him, an d Narcissa, and Astoria, and you made them real. And this story plays out like the best romances. Astoria, so unsure of herself, and Draco, you're really not sure throughout the story which way they were going to go. I had to be honest with you, I wasn't sure that they were going to end up with eachother at this end of this story. And you're like...Um...duh. But the thing is, the way you wrote it, with the uncertainty, you actually COULD have ended it so that they didn't end up together, and then maybe they do later in life, but in your story they just don't, maybe it's not their time. So I honestly didn't know up until the end which way you were going to go with it. And that is the mark of a good author, making a completely canon pairing even seem breakable. And not breakable in the way that Ron and Hermione seem to be in Dramiones. Because that's just wrong.

Anyway, I loved it so much, it is one of my my favorite stories that I've read on the site in a long time, and I'm so happy that I have been able to take this journey with you!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Loony_Scorpy Maturity

18th February 2012:
Wow, I am so glad I decided to read this story. I brought it up in a tab (to read later) after listening to Story Seekers a few weeks ago and I only just got to reading it. I was planning on reading a bit before sleeping but I had to read it all! This was such a beautiful story. Your characters were so realistic and /deep./ I adored your characterisation of Astoria, it was just perfect! I don't think any other version I read will be able to live up to yours. I just loved her view on everything, and I can't even explain it. And holy schmoly, your Draco. The way you made his character so realistic was amazing. And just ugh everything! I love Narcissa and just everyone, really, for their amazing characterisations, which made me appreciate them even if I didn't like the actual character. I am sooo glad that I read this! I could go on for ages but it would just end up being a rambling mess so I'd better not. So, in short, I absolutely loved this story ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for your review! It brought (and still does now) such a big smile to my face. I'm so glad you liked my characterisation, especially of Draco. I was so worried that I'd make him either AU or cliche(I have the same fear of most of the main canon characters), and I've always avoided writing them. This story was such a challenge, because of that, so I'm incredibly glad that you thought I pulled it of! Thank you, so so much :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by moony girl Maturity

30th December 2011:
Ok, i haven't reviewed this story in what feels like forever but I must say that I am incredibly pleased with it! It's so well written, and the plot flows without too much drama at once but not so little it gets boring! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review :) I'm so glad you liked the story, a part of me is sad now that it's finished!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Approaching Deadlines Approaching Deadlines

16th December 2011:
So this book is fully-written in Astoria's view?(: Cool. You should make sure that you keep the characters in Character. (:

Author's Response: By book do you mean the book she is writing? It's written by her, yes, but it's more of a biography. The story itself (as in the story you are reading), is all form Astoria's point of view.

As for keeping them in character, I'm not sure entirely what you're referring to, especially since most of the character's I'm portraying, with the exception of the Malfoys, are either original characters or very minor characters that are not fleshed out in the books at all. As for the Malfoys, I like to think they've changed since the war, since it was undoubtedly a life changing experience. If you have any specific things that seem out of character, please let me know so I can fix them :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Is this Malfoy? Procrastination At It's Finest

14th December 2011:
I'm really confused(; Is this Malfoy?

Another thing:

I think Dennis is out-of-character.

Isn't he supposed to be cheery and excited about everything? Definitely not impatient or stiff.

Author's Response: I'd like to think that Dennis has changed and grown up a little. Just because JKR portrayed him as happy and cheerful as an eleven year old, doesn't mean he would be many years into the future, and after the war. We actually don't see much of him at all in the books, and have no indication of his character at all, beyond the excitement he shared with Colin at coming to Hogwarts.

As for your confusion, the main male character is Draco Malfoy, I'm assuming that's what you meant.

Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16 Maturity

6th December 2011:
I can't believe it was Pansy! Ugh! Have to say I hate her in this story. That's just wrong to be that much of a bitch, as Draco put it because I have no idea what else to call her. But I'm glad they figured out who did it.

And I'm really glad Draco was okay with the fact that she wrote a book about him. That was really cool. I didn't want it to upset their relationship.

Although it's sad that Narcissa died, it's not like I didn't know it wasn't going to happen. At least Astoria was there for Draco during a time when he really needed someone to lean on.

And I'm so happy they are engaged and intend to be married! Yay! Although I'm sure ending up pregnant so soon is going to be a huge shock for both of them, I hope Draco isn't too upset by it, although I don't think he will be. And they seem to be pretty well off. It is too bad that Astoria has to be so afraid of telling her father and sister about her personal life, although I certainly understand that sometimes that's just how it is.

Anyway, the chapter did seem a little different, but it's been a while since I read the last chapter and I wasn't really expecting a next chapter, for some reason I thought you'd ended the story in the last chapter. But apparently I was wrong, which is why I am just now reading this, I was going through reviews I'd made and noticed there was a response to my last review to your last chapter which said there was a new chapter up, so I had to immediately go finish the story.

I'm so happy for the happy ending though, and the little bit of cliffhanger about Draco finding out. I think it was a good way to end it. And again, you've done a great job with this story!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Hi!

Yes, the last chapter was a bit different. I think that was mainly due to the fact I wrote it in the middle of NaNo, so a few weeks after the second last chapter, so it was guaranteed to be different.

Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #25, by MidnightBlue_x Maturity

19th November 2011:
Julia! *glomps*

I figured since I've known you for a couple of months now that it was about time I read something of yours and so, here we are. I actually started and finished this story last night (I stayed up until 1am for this :P) and I have to say that I adore it.

I haven't read much Astoria but I really love how you've characterised her. I also loved the comment you threw in from Louise a couple of chapters back.

So once again, amazing story and I hope to start reading more of your stuff now.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey Ely!!!

Ee, I was totally not expecting to find a review from you, and certainly not expecting that you stayed up til 1am reading this! That's insane!

Thank you so, so much. I too haven't read a lot of Astoria, I actually avoided it whilst writing this as I didn't want to cloud my version of her. I wanted to write an Astoria different to those that I have seen, mostly in Next Gen as an adult, usually cold and distant, a typical pure blood. So, I created a warm Astoria, as I believe she was the one that turned Draco around. In my mind, he tried so hard after the war to make a good name for himself, but it was Astoria who brought out the humanity and warmth in him again.

That's just my opinion of their relationship (and it's probably not conveyed here very well at all :P).

Yeah, I just couldn't resist throwing that quote in!

Thanks again! *hug*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>