Reading Reviews for Paper Hearts
  
105 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Debra20 Ink Stains

8th March 2013:
Giola girl! Why did you have this story so hidden? And why don't people pay more attention to it?? Only 100 reviews for a story with such a promising start? No way...

In any case, I LOVED the start of this. I can't even remember the last time I read a story that showed Draco so mature and in character. He's one of those HP character that is overly used, who falls into different stereotypes faster than you can blink, so finding a story that portrays his character so close to what we know in the books about him, yet mature enough, is a true delight. I'm in Draco heaven right now (and believe me, he isn't one of the characters that I compulsively read stories about. In fact I don't think I ever finished a story that featured him...most of the time it's unbearable...).

Astoria! YES! I don't know what genre this story is (I was hooked by the summary so I didn't pay much attention to anything else :P) but if it will focus on the relationship between Draco and Astoria I am all aboard with that. I am already rooting for her. You really managed to give her flavour and enough layers for a great kick off of her character. The way they meet seems very probable; her not so pink relationship with her family (except Daphne, with whom she's in good terms as we saw) has a very plausible reason and seems deep enough; her choice of career, everything about her screams like an enjoyable OC!

Who knew I'd stumble upon something like this when I first clicked your story? I am already hooked!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Dark Whisper Maturity

30th January 2013:
Giola,

Well, congratulations on this story being nominated for the "Ultimate Ship-off" competition on the forum. Your story was nominated by several and I thought I would check it out.

This was a really lovely read. I particularly enjoyed your characterization of Astoria and how she was more 'down-to-earth' so to speak than I expected. I could also relate to her well in being an author. You describe writer's block perfectly... don't we all hate it? It is so frustrating! :P

I loved the mirror's reflection sticking its tongue out and poking fun of her. And I love that his cold action in the beginning was described as getting a hug from him. LOL! I do love a quiet and haughty Draco.

I also loved his letter to her. And especially your description of it... how it was not perfect. It had words crossed out and was difficult for him to write. It was really a wonderful description that truly spoke volumes about his demeanor and feelings. Just beautiful, really.

I also loved how you described his coldness toward Pansy and how he did not show her any affection. I could really see it in my mind.

And I loved the Black's Manor and how it had a ballroom. I loved your description and how you brought it back into your story to tie it all together. She could see the ballroom dances of old in her mind... and so could I. I also thought it wonderfully poetic that Draco was a bit sad that society had changed to the point of not needing one. :(

Your story was really well written and had wonderful flow from one chapter to the next. She had great friends that cared for her. You had me wondering if Daphne might start seeing Brendan. She deserves him, I think.

Congratulations again on your multiple nominations.
I normally don't read much other than Dramione, but your Astoria reminded me of Hermione a bit... especially when it came to being around dusty books. :) You certainly had me rooting for her and was happy with her book success.

Thanks for the light-hearted, fun read.

Best Wishes my fellow Slytherin,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #3, by accioHPFF Approaching Deadlines

18th July 2012:
Julia!

This story is such a pleasure to read and review! I cannot believe that I didn't read this sooner.

I'll start with the section at the start that confused me a little. It's only something minor, and it may be me misunderstanding you, but the two times in the first two paragraphs didn't seem to match up. In paragraph one you say "It was now midday," and in paragraph two, you say, "It was now eleven."

That aside, I think this was excellent. I loved the section at Malfoy Manor, and I think the interview itself was amazingly done. I'm left wondering about how ill Narcissa is, and what's wrong with her, though! I hope she recovers from it.

The way that Astoria asked the questions and gave Narcissa as long as she needed, and the way Draco sat in the corner observing, are two things that I think were really great at making this seem real.
When she came out and spoke to Draco, I didn't really know what to expect, but I loved how you tackled that conversation, and hope am now wondering if that marks a turning point in the story...

Awesome! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by accioHPFF Procrastination At It's Finest

18th July 2012:
Wow- this chapter definitely lived up to my expectations after reading the first! :D

I think my first thought is how well your writing flows. Everything moves at a nice pace, and your word choices always seem to fit so well!

I like the way you incorporated both sides of her life into this- work and social. Also, I'm intrigued to know if there is any room for Terry Boot to become a prominent character. I guess I'll have to keep reading to find out!

I loved the letter by Narcissa- it seemed so naturally written, with the apology for her absence and all. I also really liked the way that she seemingly knew about how Draco would have behaved; it was a nice touch.
I hope that the interview tomorrow goes okay, but judging by the contents of this chapter, I see a few dark clouds on the horizon there.

I... I don't know what to say about this now, but everything seems so well written. I'm off to read more!

 Report Review

Review #5, by accioHPFF Ink Stains

18th July 2012:
JULIA!

I FINALLY got around to reading this, and I have to say, I think you did a great job!

I can't remember if I've read any of your stories, but I love the style in which you write! I thought you started it beautifully, and the way you added in bits such as "An occupational hazard." were really well placed extra bits.

I think that this is one of the first stories I've read with a heavy focus on the Greengrass family, but I think you tackled it well and made them very believable. I liked how you used "Tori" in the conversation, because it made it seem more natural whenever they spoke.

Introducing Dennis? When I read it, I was a bit surprised that you had written him into this, but it fitted perfectly and it was nice that you included such a minor character. He seems like a tiny detail in the HP world, but you really brought him up in this as more than that.

I really liked the way that you ended this, because it left the story at a really interesting place, and I can't wait to carry on reading. Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicia and anne Ink Stains

18th July 2012:
This is a really great first chapter, the way you describe Astoria was superb, she seems like a quirky writer.
Draco seems very Cannon and I like that he's doing charity work to clear the Malfoy family name.
The chapter flowed really nicely and you described everything so well that I could picture it clearly in my head.
I can't wait to read more.

 Report Review

Review #7, by LovlyRita Maturity

5th March 2012:
Alright, you can finally..finally...FINALLY stop crying in a corner. I'm here for your review, about 1048573405 months too late. I know, that's a lot of months.

I'm not sure I did a good enough job on the story seekers really talking about how much I love this story. I really don't think I did. Draco is generally an unlovable character (don't listen to a damn thing those Dramiones tell you) because he really is just a little jerk. But, like I said is SS, you took him, an d Narcissa, and Astoria, and you made them real. And this story plays out like the best romances. Astoria, so unsure of herself, and Draco, you're really not sure throughout the story which way they were going to go. I had to be honest with you, I wasn't sure that they were going to end up with eachother at this end of this story. And you're like...Um...duh. But the thing is, the way you wrote it, with the uncertainty, you actually COULD have ended it so that they didn't end up together, and then maybe they do later in life, but in your story they just don't, maybe it's not their time. So I honestly didn't know up until the end which way you were going to go with it. And that is the mark of a good author, making a completely canon pairing even seem breakable. And not breakable in the way that Ron and Hermione seem to be in Dramiones. Because that's just wrong.

Anyway, I loved it so much, it is one of my my favorite stories that I've read on the site in a long time, and I'm so happy that I have been able to take this journey with you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Loony_Scorpy Maturity

18th February 2012:
Wow, I am so glad I decided to read this story. I brought it up in a tab (to read later) after listening to Story Seekers a few weeks ago and I only just got to reading it. I was planning on reading a bit before sleeping but I had to read it all! This was such a beautiful story. Your characters were so realistic and /deep./ I adored your characterisation of Astoria, it was just perfect! I don't think any other version I read will be able to live up to yours. I just loved her view on everything, and I can't even explain it. And holy schmoly, your Draco. The way you made his character so realistic was amazing. And just ugh everything! I love Narcissa and just everyone, really, for their amazing characterisations, which made me appreciate them even if I didn't like the actual character. I am sooo glad that I read this! I could go on for ages but it would just end up being a rambling mess so I'd better not. So, in short, I absolutely loved this story ♥

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for your review! It brought (and still does now) such a big smile to my face. I'm so glad you liked my characterisation, especially of Draco. I was so worried that I'd make him either AU or cliche(I have the same fear of most of the main canon characters), and I've always avoided writing them. This story was such a challenge, because of that, so I'm incredibly glad that you thought I pulled it of! Thank you, so so much :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by moony girl Maturity

30th December 2011:
Ok, i haven't reviewed this story in what feels like forever but I must say that I am incredibly pleased with it! It's so well written, and the plot flows without too much drama at once but not so little it gets boring! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review :) I'm so glad you liked the story, a part of me is sad now that it's finished!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Approaching Deadlines Approaching Deadlines

16th December 2011:
So this book is fully-written in Astoria's view?(: Cool. You should make sure that you keep the characters in Character. (:

Author's Response: By book do you mean the book she is writing? It's written by her, yes, but it's more of a biography. The story itself (as in the story you are reading), is all form Astoria's point of view.

As for keeping them in character, I'm not sure entirely what you're referring to, especially since most of the character's I'm portraying, with the exception of the Malfoys, are either original characters or very minor characters that are not fleshed out in the books at all. As for the Malfoys, I like to think they've changed since the war, since it was undoubtedly a life changing experience. If you have any specific things that seem out of character, please let me know so I can fix them :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Is this Malfoy? Procrastination At It's Finest

14th December 2011:
I'm really confused(; Is this Malfoy?

Another thing:

I think Dennis is out-of-character.

Isn't he supposed to be cheery and excited about everything? Definitely not impatient or stiff.

Author's Response: I'd like to think that Dennis has changed and grown up a little. Just because JKR portrayed him as happy and cheerful as an eleven year old, doesn't mean he would be many years into the future, and after the war. We actually don't see much of him at all in the books, and have no indication of his character at all, beyond the excitement he shared with Colin at coming to Hogwarts.

As for your confusion, the main male character is Draco Malfoy, I'm assuming that's what you meant.

Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16 Maturity

6th December 2011:
I can't believe it was Pansy! Ugh! Have to say I hate her in this story. That's just wrong to be that much of a bitch, as Draco put it because I have no idea what else to call her. But I'm glad they figured out who did it.

And I'm really glad Draco was okay with the fact that she wrote a book about him. That was really cool. I didn't want it to upset their relationship.

Although it's sad that Narcissa died, it's not like I didn't know it wasn't going to happen. At least Astoria was there for Draco during a time when he really needed someone to lean on.

And I'm so happy they are engaged and intend to be married! Yay! Although I'm sure ending up pregnant so soon is going to be a huge shock for both of them, I hope Draco isn't too upset by it, although I don't think he will be. And they seem to be pretty well off. It is too bad that Astoria has to be so afraid of telling her father and sister about her personal life, although I certainly understand that sometimes that's just how it is.

Anyway, the chapter did seem a little different, but it's been a while since I read the last chapter and I wasn't really expecting a next chapter, for some reason I thought you'd ended the story in the last chapter. But apparently I was wrong, which is why I am just now reading this, I was going through reviews I'd made and noticed there was a response to my last review to your last chapter which said there was a new chapter up, so I had to immediately go finish the story.

I'm so happy for the happy ending though, and the little bit of cliffhanger about Draco finding out. I think it was a good way to end it. And again, you've done a great job with this story!

xxEnigmaticEyes16

Author's Response: Hi!

Yes, the last chapter was a bit different. I think that was mainly due to the fact I wrote it in the middle of NaNo, so a few weeks after the second last chapter, so it was guaranteed to be different.

Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by MidnightBlue_x Maturity

19th November 2011:
Julia! *glomps*

I figured since I've known you for a couple of months now that it was about time I read something of yours and so, here we are. I actually started and finished this story last night (I stayed up until 1am for this :P) and I have to say that I adore it.

I haven't read much Astoria but I really love how you've characterised her. I also loved the comment you threw in from Louise a couple of chapters back.

So once again, amazing story and I hope to start reading more of your stuff now.

x Ely

Author's Response: Hey Ely!!!

Ee, I was totally not expecting to find a review from you, and certainly not expecting that you stayed up til 1am reading this! That's insane!

Thank you so, so much. I too haven't read a lot of Astoria, I actually avoided it whilst writing this as I didn't want to cloud my version of her. I wanted to write an Astoria different to those that I have seen, mostly in Next Gen as an adult, usually cold and distant, a typical pure blood. So, I created a warm Astoria, as I believe she was the one that turned Draco around. In my mind, he tried so hard after the war to make a good name for himself, but it was Astoria who brought out the humanity and warmth in him again.

That's just my opinion of their relationship (and it's probably not conveyed here very well at all :P).

Yeah, I just couldn't resist throwing that quote in!

Thanks again! *hug*


 Report Review

Review #14, by soul_huntingxx Maturity

18th November 2011:
I really enjoyed reading this story and I hope you continue to write again in the future. You are an amazing writer. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the story :)

I am definitely continuing on with writing, I couldn't give it up. Thank you, it's always good to hear that people enjoyed my writing.

-Giola


 Report Review

Review #15, by Siv Maturity

17th November 2011:
Since I am too lazy to review each chapter, I'll write it all here. I think this story is amazing. I've found it yesterday and read it in a day and now I think it's one of my favorite post Hogwarts and one of my favorite romance fics on here. Seriously, why didn't this story get a Dobby? Or more feedbacks? It most certainly deserves it D:
I love the characters, they're so well developed, especially Astoria. And I love how things go between her and Draco. You are a very skilled narrator and you should totally write a sequel.
Have a nice day :D

Author's Response: Hey :)

You read this within a day? That's quite an achievment, and I'm flattered my story has the capacity to keep you intrigued that long! Thank you, so so much. To be honest, I don't mind that I haven't got a lot of reviews, or that I didn't get a Dobby (being nominated was quite an honour in itself :P). Hearing reviews like yours makes it all worthwhile. As long as people are appreciating my writing, I'm happy.

Astoria's probably my favourite character that I've ever written. She was very easy to write, and it was nice to escape my own head and run into hers every once in a while. Thank you once again, and you never know, I may write a sequel, I've had a few people tell me that!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siv Fragile Like Paper

17th November 2011:
This is the best chapter so far, I love everything about it, but especially how you compared the fragility of paper to Astoria's heart. I think this is amazing.

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad your liking it, and thanks for the review! That was actually one of the few things I had planned from the start, funnily enough. The comparison of paper and parchment runs throughout the whole story, but I'm not sure many people picked up on it ;)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Avanell 2 Maturity

16th November 2011:
Awesome update...is it complete? I didn't check. Yes :) Regardless, if you ever decide to write a sequel I would like a Scorp and Rose story ;)

Author's Response: Haha, a Sco/Rose fan, I take it? :P I'm actually writing a NaNo novel about them now, so you'll see that pop up in December, once I put my other NaNo novel up.

Thanks for the reviews and for sticking by me and my story :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by bomberchica Maturity

15th November 2011:
How I loved this story. It was a great ending as well. Ah, I love happy endings. Everyone seems to write them, though, so I'm glad you didn't make it completely happy. That's not how real life works, after all.

Great job! I really enjoyed reading the story.

Author's Response: Hey!

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it. I like to try and make my writing as realistic in the emotional sense as possible (obviously the magic side is never going to be realistic :P), so I'm glad you liked that!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #19, by adluvshp Maturity

14th November 2011:
Aww. I loved this story, you know I did.

I think this was an amazing fic, so realistic and so awesomely written. I truly enjoyed reading this. I think you wrapped things up quite nicely. Great job 10/10 :)

I am gonna miss this story though, Paper Hearts was truly wonderful. Great characterizations, amazing flow, awesome narration, superb plot and of course the touch of reality. All in all, a masterpiece :)

Wish you the very best for you all your future works, I hope they're as awesome, or even better, as this :D

Cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Hey!

Aww, I'm glad you liked it. It started as such a small thing, and now here it is, almost 40,000 words long :P

I've already got another story ready to put up, my first NaNo novel for this year, but since it was written in 10 days...I can't guarantee the quality :P I've got a few things in the works, however.

Thank you dear, for all your reviews and for sticking by me and my story!


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16 A Study In Realism

1st November 2011:
I'm so glad they're finally going to be together!!! Gush!!!

Anyway, I am curious to know who spilled the beans about Narcissa's health issue. It is really sad that she's going to die, but without it, Draco and Astoria might not have gotten together. And I wonder what's going to happen now that the book is out and what people are going to say and I'm also quite curious to know how Draco will react whenever he finds out about Astoria's new book about him. Good job on this story, it really is very lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like it. Narcissa's illness really was quite instrumental to their relationship, wasn't it? Funny, since I didn't plan it at all, it just happened to pop up in one chapter, and it fit. Well, the next chapter's up, and I'm really glad you liked this so far :)

-Giola


 Report Review

Review #21, by dlskin A Study In Realism

31st October 2011:
Love it! Is this it? I hope now, this is a great story and I adored this chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it :) There's one more chapter, sort of an epilogue, but I think of this chapter as the real ending. The next just ties up loose ends.

Thank you so much :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by adluvshp A Study In Realism

31st October 2011:
Amazing! I really don't know what else to say! This was superb. I like how you've written it all so realistically. Great work. Waiting for the next awesome chapter!!

10/10

Cheers!
AD

Trick or Treat!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad you liked it, and as I'm sure you know by now, the next chapter is up ;)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Avanell 2 A Study In Realism

29th October 2011:
Great update! wait, how did the money situation turn? I was excited to get to the moment when Draco would appear :) Great job on that! Very sweet. I hope people will finally understand and respect Narcissa. any chance for a miracle?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked it. Yes, it was a very big moment that one!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #24, by losers_lurgy A Study In Realism

29th October 2011:
I loved this story throughout every chapter. You're writing amazing and Draco Malfoy is portrayed very realistically. I always thought he would be changed after the War but not such extremely drastically like he's written in some Fanfics. I love how even though we knew Astoria would end up with Draco in the end I loved the originality and how their lives are very far from perfect.

How many more chapters are left in this wonderous fic? :D

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for the review, I'm really glad you've liked it :)

There's a few more chapters left (probably two, but who knows, that could change), but I'm currently doing NaNoWriMo, so once I achieve my 50,000 word story this month, I'll jump back into this one and get it finished in December.

Thanks again, I'm flattered :)

-Giola


 Report Review

Review #25, by mysticglamdiva Letters on Parchment

28th October 2011:
ah!!! FINALLY! he said it *_*
i am so excited XD i just can't wait for the preceding chapters
you've written this chapter so well
good job *applauds*

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, I'm glad you're enjoying it!

-Giola


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>