46 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lexi Black Epilogue

6th August 2014:
I really loved this story! Brilliantly written and a magnificent plot line. A few typos would be my only critique. Some times you can read stories and it feels like you're not a hundred percent sure where the plot or sub plot is going but yours was easy to follow and held a decent amount of mystery that you just can't wait for the next chapter! Bravo :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by kestral14 Epilogue

30th December 2011:
Amazing story. The epilogue made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I, too, cried while writing the epilogue. To think that Linda lost her entire family, but she can't remember it. But, unfortunately, she will remember losing her firstborn in about six years' time in the Final Battle. Sigh.

But on a happier note, I really enjoyed writing this fic!


 Report Review

Review #3, by choufleur Epilogue

4th November 2011:
Ahhh the end!
Well to start with I was slightly surprised at the time jump, and a bit miffed we didn't get to see what happened to the rest of the order, Gideon and fabian specifically. But having reflected, I think this is actually a really nice way to do it, as Fabian's is another story, no?
I think you had just the right amount of bittersweetness in this chapter, and it was a nice way of finishing everything off - sometimes /not/ tying up all the loose ends and elaborating everyone's life stories seems more professional, you know?
I'm glad Linda didn't have an eureka moment and remember it all - seems more real that way.
What happened to Friede ? :)
Do you think you will ever go for another, linked story - of Gideon and Fabian, for example?
I'm going to go and read your new story now :)

Author's Response: Thanks, choufleur, for this wonderful review! I apologize this response is really late--life has been hectic, as you probably very well know it.

I was hoping my readers would be okay with the time jump, but I'm glad you kinda saw it my way. Fabian is another story, and Dorcas, while loving him, ultimately craved to have her sister back in her life. And Dorcas did a lot of what she did for her sister, so I thought it appropriate to end with Linda.

Friede was hit by a Death Eater's curse, and when Gideon and Fabian came to Dorcas' house to inspect the damage, they came across Friede with a seemingly wild look in her eyes. I hint towards Friede going insane due to the curse. In other words, she is no longer domesticated. She lives the rest of her life in the English countryside. Or at least that's what I like to think! :)

I might one day do a linked story. I was thinking Regulus, but Fabian would be fun, too. I might do a companion piece, but that's only a maybe.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by irrelevant Epilogue

4th November 2011:
A very well written story! I partly wish it had a happier ending, but hey, this way it's realistic and life isn't always just happiness. I feel that you portrayed the characters beautifully. I read all chapters in one sitting, very captivating!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! I am very glad that you enjoyed the characters. It is not a very happy ending, I know. But Dorcas' ending isn't very happy, and I thought wrapping it up the way I did brought a sense of irony, since Dorcas' sister's family will have to go through losing a son in the not-so-distant future.
Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #5, by irrelevant An Offer of the Phoenix

4th November 2011:
Does Dorcas put some Amortentia in her detergent so that everyone would smell what they love? Just a guess. I'm definitely interested, and will continue reading now! :)

Author's Response: That's a very good guess! I was actually thinking of doing that, but then another idea struck, and I used that one instead!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by sidlicide Billywig Farm

22nd October 2011:
Oh no! I knew that this was coming but I'm sad nonetheless.

You've done a fantastic job with characterization; I know she's not going to be there for what happens next, but I would love to know what her thoughts would be about the Potter's being killed, and Sirius being hauled off to Azkaban and all the rest.

I literally sat here for five minutes just thinking about what to write, but there is no way for me to articulate how wonderful (and tragic) this chapter was.

-Sid 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, sidlicide!

I am very sad, too. I am also interested in what her reaction would be for the Potter's getting killed, etc. Who knows? ;)

It was a hard chapter to write, and I hope I was able to do it all justic.

Thanks again for reviewing (and reading, of course).


 Report Review

Review #7, by choufleur Billywig Farm

18th October 2011:
OH NO!! I thought we might have a little more of her before it happened. It was interesting, when he revealed Peter, I thought 'she's going to have to die now', and the next line...
Poor poor Dorcas but at least she showed her mettle before the end. I feel almost worse for Fabian now, as he is left behind...
Looking forward to the end!

Author's Response: I know. I'm having a hard time with it, actually. Dorcas has so many flaws, but I really like her.

The reason why I revealed Peter is because I think he might have done more than betray Lily and James. Sirius, in the series, said that he had thought that Remus was the traitor, that's one of the reasons why he suggested Peter as Secret Keeper. Plus, when Moody explains to Harry about the First Order photo, all these members fell in a span of about three months (since, in DH in Lily's letter to Sirius, Marlene McKinnon dies near Harry's 1st birthday, making the time of the photo taken July of 1981). There had to be something up, right?

Besides, Voldemort wanted to show Dorcas that her refusing to join him meant practically nothing to him. He really wanted his revenge, and that's one of the ways he went about doing it.

And Fabian! I don't want to think about poor Fabian!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by sidlicide Whiplash

26th September 2011:
Well I can see what you mean about being exhausted!

This chapter is amazing in that the characters sort of discuss the ways in which war changes them while simultaneously making decisions that they wouldn't have made if it weren't for the war. For example, I'm pretty sure neither of the Prewett twins would have slipped her a sleeping potion without telling her if it hadn't been for the war. Even if she had been going through a crisis, they would have at least told her they were giving her something to help her sleep, right?

I also like how this chapter really explores the question of what makes a person. Dorcas is angry with herself because she believes that the life her sister is living now is a lie but, at the same time, she refuses to change her back because her sister has taken her new life and made it real. She has a home and a family and is happy. At the same time, she is still able to remember the smell of magic. She's not completely gone to Dorcas, but there's no way Dorcas could rip her apart from her new family now.

All-in-all, I think this was a great chapter, cleansing but at the same time letting the reader know that the characters are willing to deal with the past.

Also, poor Fabian has gotten himself into quite a pickle! I hope his soup's okay! :D

Author's Response: Thanks, so much, sidlicide! I always love getting reviews from you!

I'm glad you noticed the actions of my characters at a deeper level. It's one of my favorite things authors do, so I try it in my own writing.

What is a person? It has stumped people for generations. xD

Ah, Fabian. He makes me smile at least once every chance in which he makes an appearance!


 Report Review

Review #9, by choufleur Whiplash

25th September 2011:
Wow, I love this story. I stumbled across it and just read it all in one go. Now one of my favourite on the site - a novel idea and you have really done it justice. All conversations believable and in character, and, well, really I can't think what else to say, I'm enjoying it so much. But I'm setting myself up for a fall, as we all know it doesn't end well.
The only thing I wasn't quite sure of, and I didn't review at the end of the chapter (sorry) was the fact that Voldemort saw her at the Malfoys', and kind of revealed himself to her without any repercussions. I think his first war was a lot more secretive, but you dealt with it pretty well.
Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

I was a tad uncertain about Malfoy Manor, too. However, I had to do it to show that her customers really don't view her as a threat, or as an equal witch. They think of her as being a little above a House Elf, and they were brutally mistreated with the First War, so naturally it would slip Lucius' mind that Dorcas is working at his home while Voldemort is paying him a visit.

But I'm glad you enjoyed!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Matiilda An Offer of the Phoenix

5th September 2011:
This is certainly a story for me! The summary really drew me in - as well as this first chapter did. I can tell this is a good story, saving it to my favourites to remember to read on; unfortunately I haven't got any time at the moment but I'll definitely read on and give you my opinion. I love that your writing about the Death Eaters from an outsider's point of view. Thing is, Dorcas will probably be in great danger seeing as she's inbetween too sides of a war - that's never good.

God, I'm excited to read more - I'll be back as soon as possible lol!

Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review!

I have really enjoyed writing this fic because it was a challenge to develop minor canon and not focus on the characters we already know.

I hope you enjoy reading the rest of it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by kat Calling on the Creevey's

16th August 2011:
Hey i really liked you story! I don't usually read fanfic before Harry's time but this was done really well really like the thin between fabian and dorcas.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing!

I like the thing between Fabian and Dorcas as well. ;)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Bluebell Calling on the Creevey's

12th August 2011:
This is my favourite chapter so far though it did leave me a bit bummed - how sad is Dorcas' life right now :( it's a good thing Fabian is so stubbrorn and manages to persuade her- it brightens things up for her.

Back to the never-ending thesis now. thank you for the update :D I love your story!

Author's Response: Thanks, bluebell, for reviewing! They always make my day. :)

This was one of my favorite chapters to write. I wasn't quite sure how readers would react to so much internal monologue, but I'm glad you like it!

Dorcas' life is really sad right now. But I think that a lot of Order members of the First War led lives a little short of happy. Sure, they were fighting against Voldemort, but they risked everything in the process. But, in my story anyway, there's always Fabian.

Good luck on your thesis!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Purpleysnail Family Ties

9th August 2011:
So we can assume that the Creevey brothers are Dorcas' nephews?
I'm glad I found this story, I think you are doing a great job with it, keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

And yes, it is safe to assume that the Creevey brothers are indeed Dorcas' nephews. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Bluebell Frontline Ferocity

7th August 2011:
I'm addicted- I need to read more! More! More! :D
This was such an exciting chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

Don't worry, I'm writing the next chapter as quickly as I can.


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinwheelgoddess Aftermath

6th August 2011:
Wow, that was an amazing chapter. I really liked the fact that Molly had skelegrow for some reason….

Author's Response: Thanks for another review!

And maybe you like how Molly has the Skelegrow because it is similar to her character in the books. She's a strong motherly figure, and mothers tend to have all sorts of remedies at hand. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Blubell Two Weeks' Notice

5th August 2011:
I've been so burierd under all this thesis work I hadn't realised you updates all these chapters! You made my day!

As ever, beautifully written. I like how you are developing Dorcas - I like that she's scared and vulnerable, I really hate it when writers try to make their characters brave but they just end up a mary-sue. I love your Dorcas; she's witty, aware of her vulnerability yet resiliant, she's caring. she's fantastic.

As are all the characters. they all fit canon but you manage to make us see them in a different light. previously I mentioned I'd like you to build suspence- well done :) done in a soft, creeping manner without screaming suspense at the reader (always hard to get right).

Thank you so much for updating all of those wonderful chapters- cant wait to read the next chapters and the plot unfold!

Author's Response: Thanks for this wonderful review! All of your compliments make me smile. :)

I'm glad you think that I'm capturing the canon characters in a different light--that's what I intended. Dorcas has grown into a person that I wouldn't have guessed she would become. It's a strange thing, developing characters. :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by pinwheelgoddess Protecting Her Secrets

4th August 2011:
Wow, I'm amazed again at how good this is! I sure hope that all the characters survive from this scene. I'ma keep on reading!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

And please keep reading. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by pinwheelgoddess Special Treatment

4th August 2011:
Whoa, Dorcas almost revealed what side she was on in that conversation with Regulus. It kind of shows that Reg is dumb when it comes to social graces- don't talk politics with people. What an immature guy. I mean the kid is like a nine year old boy. Especially in the scene where he comes back injured!

"Regulus obeyed her. Immediately she could see his youth in him. While wounded, he would listen to what Mummy—in this case Dorcas—said to make him feel better. But she was not giving him a Chocolate Frog at the end for being a good little boy. No way in hell."


Haha, I liked the ending phrase! Will there be any more visits from Regulus? How does Dorcas know how to choose her words so carefully? :D

Author's Response: It was a close call, certainly! And Regulus is very immature. I'm glad you caught on to that. He's arrogant, thinking he can parade into people's homes, demanding their service. And yet there's Dorcas, who tries using that to its full potential.

I'm glad you like the snippet you quoted. I think when most people are injured, they revert to their childish ways of trying to have mum take care of everything.

As for your question, Dorcas chooses her words carefully every time she goes into homes of known and suspected Death Eaters. She knows, for the most part, of what to say and what not to say. Sometimes she lets her emotions get the better of her, though. She's a smart cookie, but who knows if that will be enough to keep her cover? ;)

Thanks for reviewing (again)! It makes my day.


 Report Review

Review #19, by pinwheelgoddess House Calls

4th August 2011:
I wish that I was as smart as Dorcas! How did she manage not to run at the mouth and risk it when she was talking to Regulus? She knew a lot about them and the whole thing when she was walking past Sirius's bedroom. Man, I could totally envision that scene-awkward! When the Nott name came up, I wondered who it was, and then I realized it was Theodore. What's next on the radar?

Author's Response: Dorcas is smart, serving the House of Ravenclaw well.

She's known of having a bit of a mouth--that much is clear. But she's been doing this business for a few years now, and working for the Order for three, so she somewhat knows what she's doing. Besides, Regulus, the prat, deserves it.

Thanks for another great review!

Oh, and Theodore Nott. I wanted to get some lesser known Death Eaters in. They played a part in the First War as well. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by pinwheelgoddess Secret Meetings

4th August 2011:
Every time I think of Fabian now, I imagine him looking like one of the Weasley twins. When he came over, he just seemed like a great person- he pointed out the uncomfortable things that Dorcas has turned to because of the War. They seem to know each other quite well and the scene was so good I thought that Fabian was going to get down on one knee and propose!

Rawr! I hope their friendship heals and a relationship blossoms!

I still don't know why people don't review this story!

Author's Response: Hahaha, Fabian proposing? I'm grinning right now, just thinking of all of the possibilities! They do know each other quite well--they did had a relationship, but Dorcas broke it off, saying that it was too dangerous.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by pinwheelgoddess An Offer of the Phoenix

4th August 2011:
My goodness! I really like this a lot! The beginning scene was definitely one of my favorite parts of the chapter! Dorcas's scene where she is running through the forest and losing her favorite items while in the pouring rain was so good it was hard to realize that you weren't there with her! Keep up the work!

Author's Response: Thanks, pinwheelgoddess, for this review!

The beginning was a little iffy for me, since I had to set everything up. But I'm glad you like it!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Melody_07 Two Weeks' Notice

3rd August 2011:
I found the mere thing of Voldemorts having his robes washed so funny... i mean you never think that Voldemort needs laundry service too xD
I really loved the little scene between baby harry, james an sirius =) so little but so sweet
And the OotP photo!:)
p.s. i really enjoy writing reviews for you as much you enjoy reading mine :)
and yes...sleep is so overrated AH!

Author's Response: I thought it was slightly amusing as well, that Voldemort needed his laundry done. Actually, this thought was one of the first ideas I had while I was formulating this story. It was nice to be able to fit it in!

Baby Harry, James, and Sirius: eternal happiness cut to a terrible, unjust end. That's all I can say right now on the matter.

The OotP photo. Yes. It was one of my favorite parts throughout the fifth book. Ever since reading it, I'd always been so intrigued about the original Order.

And your last comment was so sweet! Your reviews always put a smile on my face. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Melody_07 Recovery Efforts

3rd August 2011:
Hello!:)
oh that scene with the dying boy was really sad...'( i really hated dorcas on that moment
as for the stones idea...that's genious! so simple and yet if it works according to the plan, so effective!:)
Finally: oh god here we go again...i'm worry about fabian lool
and i have to say this : i miss regulus XD

Author's Response: Actually, I miss Regulus, too! He was such a fun character to write! But he will come up again!

The dying boy...I didn't like Dorcas much at that point in time, either. But sometimes, I feel, the Order had to protect their own before others.

And I'm glad you like the stones idea. It seemed realistic enough, because according to First War survivors throughout the HP books, people were getting desperate.

And Fabian. He's always in danger. It's a war after all. ;)


 Report Review

Review #24, by sidlicide Two Weeks' Notice

3rd August 2011:
I really like this story and I am dying to know what Sirius is up to! He's always watching her and I know something's going on in that crazy head of his...

I really liked the first part of this chapter with Voldemort - the panic was very real and I was actually afraid for Dorcas. We know she was personally killed by Voldemort and your writing up to her death (I assume that's where this story is headed) is starting to make a lot of sense and is becoming increasingly believable.

On a slightly related note, I thought the thing about the stones was genius; it's a simple idea that I haven't seen before and it works so well with your story.

Ooh and one final thing that I liked about this chapter was your inclusion of Aberforth; not just the fact that you made sure to mention that he was present, but that you also hinted that this was not a common occurrence. He was so grumpy about the Order and working with his brother in Deathly Hallows so it would make sense that he didn't frequent Order Meetings on a regular basis.

Okay, that's all for now. Keep writing and I'll keep reviewing. :D

Author's Response: Thanks for this wonderful review!

Oh Sirius, one can never tell with him. And Voldemort: it was kinda painstaking to write this scene. I wanted it to be realistic and slightly terrifying.

Thanks about the stones. It just hit me one day, when I was worrying about how to make this story flow better.

I love Aberforth--I just had to stick him in somehow. And I wanted a connection to the depths of Dumbledore's demands on other people. Aberforth can atone for it, and yet no one really makes the connection.

:)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Iloenchen An Offer of the Phoenix

2nd August 2011:
Oh, this is a promising beginning. I'm so glad you reviewed one of my stories so I could check out your Author's page and find this. Dorcas Meadowes is one of the characters I barely know anything about so I'm very curious to find out what you're going to make of it. And you're writing about the Prewett brothers, another two lesser known characters. Awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, Iloenchen!

I'm happy to hear that you appreciate very, very minor HP characters. Everything seems so Marauder centric. I love those characters, but other stories need to be told.

And I'm glad that you like it thus far. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>