Reading Reviews for Sparks
  
133 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayleefrank Bring Me Giants!

8th July 2014:
I've loved your stories so far! I was just wondering if you could put them in some kind of to read order, so I don't have to be like k missed that. including the midnight run ones. thank-you!

Author's Response: Of course! I recommend the following order:

Just Another Midnight Run
A Weirder Shade of Midnight
Sausages & Cookies
Sparks
Next Midnight
Midnight over Broadway
Johnny Lupin Goes to Hogwarts
Done
The New Pride of Portree

There are also two one-shots, A Weasley Christmas and Free, which fall as prequels to JAMR, so you can read them any time after that JAMR.

I've got all my stories listed on my profile on the forums, on my About Me page, to show what order they go in and how they relate - both the Midnight ones and the Unsinkable, and others. :) Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying my stories.


 Report Review

Review #2, by grednforge217 Bring Me Giants!

2nd June 2014:
So romantic and wonderful! I loved it. I love both couples, they're perfect for one another. Your stories are always perfect!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked the story. I still love these pairings. Lucy and Hilarion get a few scenes in the Molly story I'm writing - couldn't resist showing them again :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217 Love Lies in Ambush

2nd June 2014:
Poor Lucy! I always feel so awful for her. I am excited that Hilarion is finally paying attention to her, finally falling in love with her, but I'm just so annoyed with him! Ugh. I would hate to feel like I was somebody's second choice. Excellent chapter, as ever. They feel so real!

Author's Response: Hilarion needs a good kick in the butt! He's too obtuse about who he really loves. Poor Lucy! Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217 At First Sight

2nd June 2014:
I feel so sorry for Lucy! Ugh, as much as I do like Roxanne, I'm very annoyed that she is getting her wish. Plus Perry as well! Darn it, I wanted them to fall in love with Lucy. Perfect chapter, as ever. Sorry I don't review as much, I'm just always so eager to read more!

Author's Response: Roxanne's a bit of a brat, isn't she? Lucy might be my favorite here ;) I did want Perry to get his girl. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by IDIDNOTWANTTOHAVESEXWITHSIRIUSBLACKITWASMYPMS Bring Me Giants!

31st May 2014:
I loved this. And I adore "Cyrano de Bergerac", so even better!!!
Lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :) I love Cyrano too.

 Report Review

Review #6, by alicethedownworlder Bring Me Giants!

8th April 2014:
I LOVED IT! PLEASE PLEASE DO ANOTHER!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I've got another going right now about Lucy's sister Molly. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by PoppyLuna Bring Me Giants!

31st December 2013:
hello dear momotwins.
i already love your RosexScorpius, why you make me love this couple too. lucy and hilarion i mean.
i love them. i hope you make more stories about them.
and this story was soo cute, Major fluffy.
why Hilarion would be so cute. like a lil boy find his first crush.
jeezzz so freaking cute.

Author's Response: They are both appearing in Molly's story, "The New Pride of Portree"! They are background characters, so they're not in every chapter, much like Molly was in their story.

He is sort of adorable, isn't he? ;) I like him. And I love getting someone to ship my ships, that really makes me happy. Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm so glad you liked this story!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ThestralPrincess Bring Me Giants!

11th September 2013:
So cute, I love the way you build and portray characters, you have a real knack for them, I loved them all, despite them all being so different.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I do love characters, I get very absorbed in the people when I write, tend to start thinking of them as real people ;) I'm glad you enjoyed the story and the characters!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Fawkes394 Bring Me Giants!

23rd January 2013:
Iím so glad Hilarion and Lucy finally get together! They are so perfect for each otherÖ The wedding bit was also really good, and Scorpius and Rose do get to visit Majorca! :D They really deserved it. (And more Johnny, yay!)
I really enjoyed reading this, I'm looking forward to reading some of your other stories, so I guess I'll read Next Midnight and Midnight Over Broadway soon : )

Author's Response: Hilarion and Lucy are great together. And so are Roxanne and Perry. I'm glad you liked the wedding scene! There's more of it in the first chapter of Next Midnight ;)

Thank you so much for reviewing, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the story! I hope you like Rose's continuing adventures!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Fawkes394 Identity

21st January 2013:
The Lupins, finally! I love Victorie and Johnny, no matter how weird and dangerous he is, he is definitely my favorite! Poor Lucy! She keeps running into happy couple's meetings every time she goes to find someone to talk about her romance-induced sadness. She should forgive Hilarion, and he really needs to quit moping and go talk to her!

Author's Response: I adore Johnny Lupin, even though he's such a brat. haha... he's just so fun to write. And Victoire too. Lucy can't escape the happy couples. Sometimes when you're lonely, everyone seems to have someone but you, kwim? Both Lucy and Hilarion need to suit up and get their crap together! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Fawkes394 Love Lies in Ambush

21st January 2013:
Oh! Poor Lucy, I should had known she would react that way... She's completely right, what Hilarion did was really stupid even if he tough it wasn't a bad thing... Perry and Roxanne do make a really good couple, and OMG, Perry's name! Haha, I've been waiting so long to know his actual name, it was completely worth it! Haha, Peregrine Chilcott is almost worse than Scorpius Hyperion.

Author's Response: She really took it badly, didn't she? Poor thing. Hilarion knew it was dumb but didn't think of it in the terms that Lucy did. Such a mess! Yes, Perry's real name, haha... Ah, it isn't as bad as Scorpius Hyperion, I think, but it's probably on par with Hilarion. Although now all those names have grown on me! lol. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Fawkes394 All Along

21st January 2013:
Hey again! I intended to read this a while a go, but school got in the way, so I'm reviewing now: ) I've really liked reading this and even though I prefer Rose's point of view, seeing her and Scorpius through others' eyes was really fun, they are quite extravagant :) I also like Lucy very much, she's really sane compared to the rest of her family, but she's still really awesome and special (it seems all people related to Weasleys are haha), I like how her job is so calm compared to Rose's, her love for books and her personality in general. Hilarion is so sweet! He can be a bit idiotic, but he's cute and he never means bad with the stupid things he does, I can't wait for him and Lucy to be together. I'm so happy he finally told Roxanne the truth! She and Perry make a really cute couple.

Author's Response: Thanks for coming back to review it! I appreciate it :) I totally understand about school, I remember those days. Sucks up all your time.

Extravagant is such a great word for Rose haha. She's so flamboyant. Just crazy. I like showing how everyone else thinks she's totally nuts, compared to how she sees herself and how Scorpius sees her. And then there's Lucy and her books, sort of the opposite of Rose. Hilarion's a good guy. Not a genius, but he's just a nice guy. Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Anon Bring Me Giants!

11th November 2012:
This is one of my absolute favourite stories!!! I love love love every character, love the way you intertwined this with Cyrano De Bergerac! I love the way you write these characters, and it would be very cool to see you write them in other stories as well! I want to know what happened with Roxanne's first fiance! and how that affects her now with Perry!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I didn't go into Roxanne's backstory much, but he chickened out of getting married, didn't show up to the wedding, and when she tracked him down he wanted to go back to just dating. She chucked him. So since Perry's not a coward like her first fiance, things will go just find with them. There's always some trust issues after an experience like that, but Roxanne knows Perry pretty well by that point so they can move past it and settle into a relationship.

Thank you so much for the review! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story and characters.


 Report Review

Review #14, by MoonyistheBestMarauder Plots Afoot

10th November 2012:
I'm in love with this story! Lucy Weasley's my favorite Weasley kid (which is how I found this). It's so funny, because I just saw Cyrano de Bergerac, so this is all so amazing to me!! Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm pretty fond of Lucy too. Cyrano is amazing, I was glad to get a chance to incorporate some of the story into this :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by pennyardelle Bring Me Giants!

11th September 2012:
So, lazy me, I read this while on vacation and am just now getting around to reviewing it!

This is a brilliant spin-off from Rose's stories. I loved that there was some overlap, that we saw some of the same things from different perspectives. Also, who could resist a story about the famous Hilarion Winston-Fisher? :D

I loved all of the characters in this--you really do write them so well. None of your characters ever feel one-dimensional or like different shades of the same colour--they're all distinct and have such wonderful, endearing personalities.

The switch was wonderful; it's an old plot device, but you wielded it absolutely brilliantly. The entire time, I was sitting there going, "Come ON guys, isn't is obvious?!", and that, I think, is the whole point of plots like this. They're supposed to make you feel that frustration, and then the relief and happiness when it all works out perfectly.

I think Hilarion was probably my favourite character in the story. He was just so quiet and clueless (in a cute way). And Hilarion/Lucy 4-EVA. They are the sweetest. It makes me feel like buying two kittens and naming them Hilarion and Lucy, and then just cuddling with them all day long. And I don't even like cats.

Anyway: I loved it; you're amazing; what else is new?

Author's Response: Aww you're so sweet! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and the characters :D I really loved writing this one, and it is one of my favorite things I've written. I adore inventing new characters and then throwing them at each other to see who bounces and who sticks ;)

It is an old plot (Cyrano was written in 1897) but good writing, good plots, good characters, they last forever. This being the romance genre, it isn't so much the end point (of course they're going to get together, it's romance!), it's how they get there. This is why I read romance novels, and it's why I write romance. I love the process of falling in love. Even when it's fraught with misunderstanding or peril. Even when it's not! It makes me happy. So I hope when I write it that I can make other people happy too :)

I'm a big fan of Hilarion. Well, of Perry too, but Hilarion's just a nice and sweet, if plodding a bit, sort of guy. I like when nice guys get to win too. And I can't resist a wacky wizard name haha. Hilarion would make a good kitten name, wouldn't it? And Lucy too. Although it's hard to avoid writing "I love Lucy" at any point in a story with her as a character.

Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Bring Me Giants!

10th August 2012:
Gosh. This has been the best spent two days of my life. Or the worse. You know, HPFF is VERY good for procrastinating. Either way, I have been very happy reading Sparks, with all of it's drama, complication, fluff, and angst. Such a happy ending, my favorite lines have to be "everyone learned to recognize Johnny Lupin, if only out of self-preservation" (I still love this kid) and Roxanne's comments about eloping ^_^

I was a little surprised however, that both of these couples have been together for less than a year and have gotten married already. I suppose that when you know you're in love, you know, huh?

Author's Response: This is definitely the perfect place to procrastinate. I'm so glad you loved the story, and thank you so much for all the lovely reviews! I've really been enjoying reading your reviews on the entire Midnight Run series - thank you so much for reviewing every chapter, that's amazing!

Ah marriage after a few months - this is in the romance genre, and that's a classic romance trope, so I must admit, I totally went there in an excess of fluff. It's fun, at least for me, so I wrote it. ;)


 Report Review

Review #17, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Identity

10th August 2012:
Gosh, I hurt for Lucy so much! And Hilarion, but mostly for Lucy. I mean, once again she goes to seek counsel but gets interrupted by a happy couple. At least Lucy got some good advice from Victoire. Lucy is now definitely my favorite Weasley cousin, thanks to you. I just feel like your entire universe here is so much more real and believable than any of the other Next Gens. I can't get enough.

I really liked the bit where Lucy is realizing that maybe it's better to want to be like Victoire instead of being like Dominique or Roxanne. She wants to be like Dom and Roxy because of their looks, not their personality really. Victoire is definitely the better role model, and fits my personality-type as well... you know, your characters and I should probably get together, I can find bits of myself within most of them XD

I keep forgetting that Sparks coincides with Midnight 2, so when certain things pop up, I'm just like, oh! right! That did totally just happen. I think that's also because the time-span is a few weeks longer than I anticipated, for both stories. Do they all know about Rose getting kidnapped? Three times?

Author's Response: I feel bad for Lucy too. She can't catch a break, and she's so heartbroken here. I quite like her, so I'm glad you do too :) I am extremely fond of my Next Genners. I adore hearing that someone else has fallen in love with them too! Thank you!

Lucy would do better to emulate Victoire. Victoire is a better person than Dominique and even than Roxanne, and more like Lucy to begin with.

Sparks and WSOM overlap, so certain events you get to see from two perspectives, which I thought was fun to write so I hope you liked that. Time-spans in my Next Gens are deliberately vague ;) They don't know about Rose getting kidnapped - Rose likes to keep that stuff to herself.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Love Lies in Ambush

10th August 2012:
Oh, I hate when that happens! You go to tell someone about how you feel and expect them to understand and feel with you or for you, but nuuu, they want to be the opposite of how you feel, and just frustrating and you end up being like, forget it, I'll see you later. It's discouraging and irritating, and makes you feel like an idiot for it. I only love Lucy even more for this chapter, honestly.

Author's Response: Poor guy! He got blindsided there, he didn't get what Lucy was feeling until it was too late. I know what you mean - it is discouraging and annoying. Totally. Thank you for the review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by VampireMaidenPhoenix All Along

10th August 2012:
Oh YAY! This makes me so happy, and I'm glad that Roxy had enough sense not to get upset with Perry for helping a friend, but with Hilarion for asking him to. I hope that Hill comes to his senses and realized that he likes Lucy as more than just a friend now...

I think I totally understand how Hilarion felt at the beginning of the chapter though. Like, he was in a relatively pleasant mood, then BAM! Roxanne shows up and everything is deflated. I had a boyfriend like that at one point. And a friend who wanted to be my boyfriend. Make that two friends... Yeah, I don't have a good track record regarding menfriends.

Author's Response: Perry really didn't do anything wrong, although I suppose he was an accessory to the deception, but it's more in Roxanne's nature to let that slide now that she realizes she's fallen for him. I kind of feel bad for Hilarion, he meant well all along, but nothing worked out for him. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Gesture of Love

8th August 2012:
Gah Can I PLEASE like, smack them all over the head with a very firm and hard-backed copy of Hogwarts, A History? All of them except for Lucy, she seems like the most sensible person in all of this.

Author's Response: Totally! It might do them all some good. Thanks for reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #21, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Plots Afoot

8th August 2012:
Oh, this is such a mess. It is delicious. Very different from Midnight, but of course that's a bit of the point, isn't it? Roxanne is interesting, but I think I'm starting to like her a bit less for some reason. She just seems a bit too full of herself to me and I don't like it. It's less about how Hilarion feels and more about her "perfect" dream. But I dunno, Hill and Perry are being rather idiotic as well, deceiving the poor girl like that. And it's timed so well that Roxy is more focused on proving her cousin wrong than the sudden shift in her "boyfriend's" personality. Smh. Messes like this never turn out well.

I love it!

Author's Response: Ah a double-couple mixed-up romance. Definitely a mess! It is quite different from the Midnight Run stories, but that's the difference in genre really. Roxanne is not as focused on Hilarion as she should be. He's an accessory to her vision of a perfect life, and that's no basis for a relationship. Thank you so much for reviewing, I'm glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Obscurity

8th August 2012:
Awww, once again, I find Hill just so adorable! I feel terrible that he feels so inadequate around Roxy. Can I keep him, please? I'll take him home and pet and feed him and Hilarion wouldn't have to feel inadequate around me at all. I promise.

The atmosphere that you created in the earlier scenes between Roxy and Perry and the musicians just felt like so much fun, almost festive! I could practically feel the energy on the page, you know? Like, my friends and I don't quite interact in that same way, but it did remind me of just hanging out and chatting and goofing off with my own friends. It was brilliant.

Author's Response: Poor guy, he is a rich, gorgeous, famous athlete and still feels he isn't good enough. He wants to be smart and really just isn't clever or witty. Haha you can take him home, but Lucy might fight you for him ;)

I adored the musicians, so I'm glad you liked them! They're a fun bunch. I love that kind of socializing. And Perry and Roxy should be together, I feel. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by VampireMaidenPhoenix Beyond Reason

8th August 2012:
I have to wonder. How do guys feel when I go on for a mile a minute during conversation? Maybe I should stop that.

Hill is so adorable, but Roxanne is sort of oblivious I think maybe. Or full of herself. Or both. There's just this feeling you get when someone starts acting uncomfortable... Maybe it's just me. I'm really looking forward to seeing Roxanne and Perry interact a little more.

Author's Response: I talk really fast that way quite often too. Oh well. My husband will just have to suck it up if he doesn't like it haha

Roxanne is full of herself, though not to the degree that Dominique is ;) She is a bit like Lois Lane in the tv show "Smallville", if you've seen that - focused and oblivious to a lot of things. She should've noticed Hilarion was uncomfortable, but she didn't. Says a lot about how they'd get on as a couple. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by VampireMaidenPhoenix At First Sight

8th August 2012:
Awww! Poor Lucy, she likes Hilarion but is willing to set her feelings aside for her cousin... if she even realizes what they are, that is. That is so sweet, if not a little masochistic. Maybe not quite masochistic, but similar. Same for Perry, he's into Roxanne but sees that his bestie want her... yep. Complicated. Makes me happy.

Btw, "Ron" might work well for Hilarion. Counfusing, because of "Uncle Ron," but could definitely work ^_^

Author's Response: Lucy's a bit of a martyr, I suppose. She could've competed for Hilarion, but that's just not her. Same for Perry. They just step back and let things happen between Roxanne and Hilarion.

Ron could be a nickname for him. But he's not entirely a nickname kind of a guy.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by VampireMaidenPhoenix A Little Madness

8th August 2012:
Before I have even started reading, I just wanted to state that based off of the chapter summaries, this story feels deliciously drama-filled and slightly complicated. I am in love with it already ^_^

**

You keep bringing this up, and now I really, really want to know just what, exactly, did Rose do to those Quidditch stands?

So far, Lucy seems really similar to myself, in love with books and keeping to myself. Only where Lucy seems annoyed with everything I seem uninterested. Roxanne seems like the type of person I could get along with as well, although she might get a bit annoying at times...

Author's Response: It is totally drama-filled and complicated! I hope you enjoy it. I really liked writing it. I adore romance.

Oh Rose and the Quidditch stands. I ought to do a one-shot on that. It's sort of vague in my head right now. It totally wasn't her fault though. It never is!

Lucy is a good person. Roxanne is too, really, she's just a lot more self-oriented than Lucy is.

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>