11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFan Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

12th June 2013:
Oh my God this was adorable! This is why I love Jily out of every other ship, everyone comes up with the most adorable stories to ever exist to go with them!

This was just so gosh darn adorable that I can't even write you a proper review. This entire thing is just going to be me squealing and freaking out!

It was so cute how James was worried that Lily would say no and the Marauders planning everything was hilarious and Sirius is crazy! I loved the banter and I thought it was really sweet how Lily was freaking out because James wasn't there.

It was so obvious that she really cared about him and I love that she loves him and oh my gosh, that was around the part where I really started to get excited because, after all, that's where the good stuff was going to happen.

The plan that Sirius, Remus and Peter had come up with was hilarious but kind of cute and Lily's reaction was just funny and James being afraid of her just seemed like something he would be after years of her refusing him!

James's friends are insane, I would be freaking out if I came home and saw my boyfriend tied up like that by his friends!

James giving a war cry was just so gosh darn cute that I couldn't stop smiling and I was grinning throughout this entire thing!

As you cant tell I clearly loved it and you should do more James/Lily.

Author's Response: That's probably the reason why I love this story so much. I love them too - I love the dynamic and the medium the Marauder's timeline can provide. And this is probably my favorite story out of everything for that particular reason.

I'm glad that you agree that the Marauder's are insane. Seeing as I'm in college being surrounded by insane men, I figured I had a lot to study and I'm glad to know that they came off the way I wanted to. I think the Marauder's are eternal fratboys at this point - and I'm thrilled that someone else enjoyed my interpretations of them.

I definitely will do more James/Lily. I'm certainly planning on it!


 Report Review

Review #2, by dobbys_socks Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

18th May 2012:
Haha! That last line! Oh my gosh. It's genius.

Hey, sorry I took so long to get here but I've just been very busy. Congrats on the challenge though! It really was a great story. Anyway...

I liked this. I really did. I thought it was cute and funny and lovely and imaginative and, you get the idea. I loved little Peter's comments and when Lily walked into the 'empty' house, oh, and especially when in mid-sentence Sirius Stunned James. I was freaking out trying to figure out what would happen. It was great!

I give this an 8/10. Great work.

~dobby~
Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Don't worry about taking too long - look how long it took me to actually get back to answering my reviews? Thanks so much for reviewing in the first place, it's not going unappreciated.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this too - it was a jump back into humor after not writing for a while. It too needs a bit of editing work, but so long as it was mildly understandable - I'm more than happy!


 Report Review

Review #3, by ClawBabe Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

5th November 2011:
EPICNESS ♥♥
Oh I would've KILLED to see James all trussed up like a prezzie o.O
Sirius. I bow down to you. You rock my world, Padfoot *crazy scream*
Brilliant writing. Freakin' amazing.

Author's Response: Well shucks! Glad you were so obviously thrilled. And frankly - wouldn't mind seeing any of them trussed up. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by jameslily1313 who can't sign in for some reason Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

21st July 2011:
I COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY ADORE THIS STORY WITH ALL OF MY FREAKIN HEART!!! Oh goodness, it was so funny. I was expecting Remus to get all philosophical and mature and tell him exactly what Lily would want. But no! Sirius intervenes! Oh god, that's so hysterical. There were a couple of minor grammar and spelling errors, but they only bothered me because I'm a Grammar Nazi. And I love Lily's slightly frightened entrance, and her reaction, and basically everything. It was really quite adorable. 10/10!!! I would definitely fave this, if I could sign in...

Author's Response: Well, I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! And a ten, even with the grammar mistakes? Thank you! Hope you can figure out your logging in problem!

 Report Review

Review #5, by bluecharlotte Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

16th July 2011:
Oh my Merlin this is priceless! It shows the happy side of the time so well, and the whole thing just makes me smile (or laugh).

My favorite parts:

"Or Monday!" Sirius amended, patting a semi-conscious James on the back. "Monday would probably be better!"

"I heard it straight from the horse's mouth." "I'm a stag, you idiot!" "It's an expression, you prat!"

"the hippogriff of rejection"

...well, the entire conversation between the three is genius.

And the end. I looovee the end XD

So, in conclusion, awesome writing! 10/10 (:

Author's Response: I'm glad you approve! I always enjoy hearing that other people like my stuff - because I enjoy writing it, but knowing that other people may enjoy it makes it feel even better! It was rather fun writing this - and having anyone describe it as priceless makes me feel so good, you'd wouldn't believe it!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by IwRiTe4mE Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

26th June 2011:
Awwh the end was really sweet. This was a really nice story, and I am seriously honored that it was your first challenge fic! This was quite a story. I really enjoyed it (especially Sirius and his idea!). This was quite nice to read, and well written.
~Kat

Author's Response: Wow - thanks so much! It was your challenge that gave me the idea for the story after all - so hearing that you liked it makes me feel all warm inside. If you liked it even a bit, then I'm certainly happy! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by girly1393 Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

1st June 2011:
It was charmingly sweet. The Marauders are certainly an odd bunch; poor James, without a say. Although I do really like what they (probably Sirius) wrote on the ceiling.

Bravo to you.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review - I'm glad that you thought it was 'charmingly sweet'. They are definately an odd bunch - we can't fault then for trying, can we? (well...perhaps we can fault one particular member in the not-to-distant future..)

Anyways - glad you like - and, again - thanks!


 Report Review

Review #8, by CrazyForYou Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

28th May 2011:
Haha cute way to end this story! I think it's really interesting because it covers a lot of different moods. At the same time, I felt like the middle/end became kind of off the wall.

You had a couple of errors, but no big deal. One I saw was: “She fell for you're scrawny pale ass back in seventh year" -- Should be "your" scrawny pale ass.

Lily's characterization is sweet and James at the end is adorable. I wasn't sure about the Marauders. Sirius's prank seemed really insane, especially because they were in a war. It struck me as slightly odd that he would even suggest staging a kidnapping when they were actually happening.

That being said, I think this one shot had a nice balance of sweet. fun, humorous and generally realistic. The alcohol bit at the beginning seemed borderline alcoholism because James was drinking by himself, drowning in his sorrows. Not the best start...but he sort of redeemed himself.

I was slightly confused at the end as to why James was so confused. I know he was stunned, but why hadn't he woken up earlier?

Overall, sweet and funny one-shot. I think you have interesting interpretations of the characters that attempts to maintain the silly side of the Marauders even as they grow older. I appreciate that, even if I'm unsure about the level of pranks.

Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - you definitely gave me a lot to think about (thanks for the spelling bit first - I do tend to have a problem with hyphenations in this story, no clue why).

I did recognized Sirius' farfetched-ness at that part, as well as how ignorant his suggestion would be - but I was also trying to reference the fact that the Sirius in my head, well - the younger Sirius would generally come up with ideas that, at best, others would find highly inappropriate. Namely, I was also thinking along the lines that this was the same guy who thought it was appropriate to send a fellow student - abeit one he highly disliked - into a trap were a werewolf waited for him at the end. So that's what was trying to go through my mind when he made that particular off-colored suggestion - I really appreciate the comment though and it will be something that I think about in future stories.

Honestly, as to why he was so confused at the end - I think that, yes, he would have woken up occasionally while his friends were trying to 'set things up' but in order to keep him 'going along with it', Sirius probably would have had no quams about stunning him another two of three times - and, combined with his earlier unfeeling/grogginess, he'd be left out of the loop for a bit. It is another thing to think about though.

Thank you so much for such an honest review - I'm thrilled that you like it, and that you've given me things to think about for other stories and comedic attempts in the near future. I really appreciated what you had to share and what you thought!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aligiah Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

27th May 2011:
Awe, what a beautiful one-shot. :] I adore that James was so nervous and drunk because he wanted to ask Lily to marry him. And Sirius, Remus, and Peter were all in character as much as I can tell.

I didn't see any errors as far as grammar, spelling, or punctuation goes, kudos to you.

Particularly, I was just engrossed in how good this was as I read it. haha

Great One-Shot!

Alex.

Author's Response: I'm really glad to hear that you liked it, and that the characterization seemed good for the characters - after a while of being out of the writing loop, I always worry about getting back in. Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by JilyRonks Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

26th May 2011:
Another great chapter :)

JilyRonks xx

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by cnewk Stop in the Name of Love (No, Really!)

25th May 2011:
I love it! I can't stop laughing about the method of the proposal, I'd love to see James' reaction to what the other guys did! It was great even though there were some typos and spelling errors.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! It's been a while since I focused just on comedy, and it was loads of fun to write, so I'm glad to hear others out there like it too. Thanks for pointing about about there still being some little glitches - I'll re-read through it and see what I can bit up editorial wise.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login