Reading Reviews for If I Claim To Be a Wise Man
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AnotherWeasley Carry On

12th February 2014:
i absolutely loved this! i imagine lupin thought this exact words. Excellent work

 Report Review

Review #2, by Pheonix Potioneer Carry On

12th April 2013:
Wow. I am speechless. And that does not happen to me often.

This is just beautiful. It flows together beautifully and everything strings together perfectly.

I nearly cried when Remus realized he would not be there for Teddy.

Good job at writing in second person! I can't do it.

One of the most saddest and yet most beautiful one-shots I have ever read.

10/10

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Carry On

8th April 2013:
This is just SO beautiful and heart-wrenching and just... perfect. It's bittersweet, but mostly sweet, and somehow I really feel like it's given me a peace over Remus' and Tonks' deaths, if that makes any sense.

It flows perfectly and I was honestly sad to see it ending so soon; this piece is wonderfully well-written. I love how it's sort of like a letter to Teddy, although I'm not sure it was intended to be since parts of it were "written" after Remus' death.

A truly amazing job, dear! 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Mats Carry On

6th March 2012:
Oh this was wonderful! Took my breath away!
Wow!
So beautiful without being sappy in the least!
Wow!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Godrics_Helm Carry On

14th August 2011:
Beautiful!! The simple eloquence of this story was amazing, incredible, outstanding, and utterly brilliant! I think this is one of your best stories ever and I love it! 10/10

P.S Are you going to update The Beating Locket soon?

Author's Response: Yes, soon. I will. I'm sorry. I'm about 50% done with the next chapter, and I'm working on it very fast. I'm sorry for the long wait. I'm hoping I can get it done soon and have it in the queue. :)

Thank you for being so faithful! It will be out soon, I promise. :)

Drue


 Report Review

Review #6, by Cleopatraa Carry On

11th August 2011:
Well this is Cleopatra once again from the forums with a review for the hooked sentence challenge. First of all, can I say that I really love the title and summary for this? I feel like the title really fits this story well, and the summary is well picked. Itís a quote right? Also the quote you used in this story in the beginning is very well picked

Onto the hooked sentence, since that's what this challenge was all about. It definitely grabbed my attention, and it was extremely well picked concerning the circumstances that were taking place at the moment. Teddy was born in the middle of the war and most people donít take children at that moment but like you said I can truly imagine that Teddy would be his mothers and fathers ray of light. It was a really strong sentence so you began extremely strong but it also fit the end perfectly it didnít seem clumsy or anything of that kind at all.

Your story almost made me cry Iím sure others will also say this but I donít cry a lot you see and stories never make me cry. It only happened twice before that I had this feeling so well done! I like the direct style you have going on here like heís talking to Teddy at the moment and Iím glad you did it it makes the story so much more. It makes it realistic and sadder. I could imagine myself in Teddyís position. You really did Remus and Tonks justice here. I could imagine that this could be truly canon this could have happened. You wrote them the way they are in the book and that is something not many people can pull off.

I really liked this and Iím not saying this because this is my challenge because I really enjoyed and I believe you have such a huge chance to win and seeing you are the first story the other writers have to really give their best because you put the line very high for them. Once again I really enjoyed it and I didnít imagine to be honest with you that someone could come up with something so good.

That's about all I can think to say. This was a really a touching piece and I hope you enjoyed entering this challenge. I have to remind you off the fact you can enter as many times as you want ;P Thanks for entering my challenge and check back after the deadline to see if you've won!

Cleopatra ( Slytherin)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for the generous review! This has been so kind, and while I know you're reviewing due to your challenge, it really has made my night to read your kind words. :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it and that it suited. :) I'm glad you like the song too. While I know it's a more energetic song, the words run deep. Thank you!

Oh! I didn't know we could enter more than one submission. I'm currently working on another one-shot for another challenge, so I may just see if I can work a second entry in! I would love that!

This was such a great challenge idea, and I'm so glad I found it. Thanks! Can't wait to see the results. :)

Drue


 Report Review

Review #7, by lia_2390 Carry On

11th August 2011:
Drue!

Oh my gosh! The tears welled up in my eyes at the end of this. The scene with him appearing in the forest. I love that scene. I loved it in the book, the movie and now in this one-shot of yours!

I heard David Thewlis saying these words as I read them. This piece was just so fitting of all that was Remus Lupin in the last book. I imagined to be a letter of sorts to Teddy with his father describing all that had happened in the moments leading up to his death and afterwards. Even if it was in second person, I still pictured the words were meant for Teddy when he was older. I could see him sitting on the edge of his bed reading this and his breath so very still.

It was a very touching and lovely piece. Really! And a great interpretation of the song (one of my favourites, actually).

You did Remus justice here and made up for the lack of him in the movie.

Fantastic job, Drue!

Lia
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: Lia! Oh my goodness, I'm honored that you came by and read this fic. And that you enjoyed it so much and left such a kind review! Not that you would ever say anything mean. :P Of course, but I hold your thoughts in very high respect, so just the fact that you enjoyed it so much is honoring.

And I'm so glad that you pictured it that way! Because that's really the way I intended it! Letter like. And even though Teddy is currently a baby in it, I imagine him being like twenty and reading it.

Thank you so much! This review means a lot to me and has been so helpful! Thank you, Lia! :)

Drue


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Gryfindor Carry On

11th August 2011:
Gah, this story! It's one of those need-a-tissue types that have me sniffling throughout. You capture Remus's quiet, tragic tones very well in this, and I like how you used the direct-address style because it really added to the mood, making this far more moving than had you written it in third-person. We're placed in Teddy's position, and it had me tearing up whenever Remus mentioned being there to explain things, or something like that, when Teddy was older. That was a perfect tactic for setting the mood.

And just at the right point, you shifted out of Remus's address and into the action. That part was also really well-done - more fast-paced, very tense, and I could see the point when Remus realizes that he's not coming back. You don't make it explicit, which is wonderful to see, but it's there in that last paragraph before you jump to the scene of his death, which made for a stronger transition between those parts. Most authors would have included more of the battle, but it isn't necessary here because of the style you used for this. Like Remus said, Teddy knows how it all happened, but what he needs to hear is his father's apology and assurance that death isn't the end. That was fantastic.

It's great to see you writing something a little different (at least, from what I know of your writing), and you portray both Remus and Tonks wonderfully here, very canon but with some solid personal touches of your own. I enjoyed reading this very much and I'm glad that I caught a glimpse of it on the recently added list because it was well-worth the read. And, if I'm correct, I get to be first reviewer! ^_^

Author's Response: Oh my goodness. *fangirl squee*

Susan! I am honored that you dropped by this story! Just on your own accord. And that you enjoyed it so much and reviewed in such high praise. Wow! Really, thank you so much. I'm honored.

I don't know if you know how much your words mean to me, but they really do mean a lot. And thank you so much!

I'm glad you found it different from my other works. It did feel much different. Especially with it being a mix of first and second person, and I'm glad you enjoyed it! I invisioned it being a somewhat letter like piece to an older and understanding Teddy.

Thank you so much, Susan! And yes, you were first to review!

Squee. Thanks so much! :)

Drue


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login