Reading Reviews for Purgatory
  
195 Reviews Found

Review #1, by zealousVisionary Cursed

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

When I heard about this fic and read the description, I knew it would be something I would enjoy, and this first chapter certainly did not disappoint. I'm a sucker for stories that incorporate fairy tales into their plot, and even in just the first chapter, you did so beautifully.

From the first sentence, you really pulled me in and kept my atention the entire time. The writing is spectacular. From the rich, descriptive language used to the nice, flowing dialogue, everything about it was simply incredible- even better than some published works.

I also think the Lucius/Narcissa pairing is a great one- I wish people wrote about it more often. This story is a unique one already, and I can't wait to continue reading!

 Report Review

Review #2, by RedHairGinny Loyalty

24th April 2014:
Wow!
So the whole story was just something made up by Narcissa to tell Draco as a bedtime story?
I hated the part where Benjy Fenwick had to die...
It was so sad, and I felt that if I was Narcissa, I would've hexed Lucius into oblivion for doing that.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rainpixie Loyalty

2nd June 2013:
Oh that's cute I didn't expect the story to be an exaggerated bedtime tale. I liked it a lot!! The poor Malfoys. I mean don't get me wrong they suck, but your story makes me feel bad for them

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rainpixie Cursed

31st May 2013:
Hello again! I have stumbled onto another one of your stories! Beauty and the beast is my favorite fairy tale so needless to say I am very excited to continue reading!

 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Cursed

5th March 2013:
Oh wow, that is an amazing first chapter!
The way that you described everything just brought the whole scene to life in my mind and I could imagine everything that you wrote as though it were playing out in front of me.
I am very intrigued by how you're going to use different fairy tales, it seems like such a good idea to have Lucius and Narcissa as the two characters of this amazingly sounding story.
The way that you wrote this kept me very interested and I really can't wait to read more especially with them all as different fairytale characters :D
A very good first chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Welcome to Purgatory. :)

I adore the Lucius/Narcissa pairing. I think they're the only favorite pairing of mine that weren't prominent members of the Order/DA. The idea of casting both of them as multiple fairy tale incarnations was really fun for me; throughout the story Narcissa changes to reflect several fairy tales. Some are very subtle and some quite obvious.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you liked the first chapter.


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica Loyalty

22nd February 2013:
Okay, let's do this!

He directed an ear to it, listening, and smiled sadly. "I don't ever want to give you up."

"Well, that's stupid," I'd told him. "Why on earth would we have to give the baby up?"

Lucius had looked up at me then, pity coloring his eyes, and said, "I had to give you up."


UGH, my heart. What's funny is that based on the characterization of Lucissa I see a lot on the archive, you might expect it to be the other way around, Narcissa saying she had to give up both of the most important men in her life. But to have Lucius say it just drives the stake a little deeper.

The part with Fenwick was so well done. His death started me as much as it did Narcissa, poor thing. I loved the imagery you used there and the way you compared Narcissa's loss of composure with Lucius's cold calculation. I also like that you've shaken me up here, too. You've woven this beautiful love story with these two very flawed and victimized people, and then I get this little peek into the possibility that maybe Lucius isn't Prince Charming to Narcissa all the time, either. With that, you cement this into the mainstream, without losing any of the richness and beauty of the plot.

It's weird to think of everything I've read and adored for months and months as a mere bedtime story. Did you always intend to end it that way? I really like it, especially the false sense of security that shows up there at the very end. It really reminds me of how jarring the Dark Lord's return would have been for canon Narcissa and Lucius.

This was such a treat, Sarah, and I'm so pleased that I finally got the chance to finish it. Awesome job with everything, from characters to imagery and beyond. I'll surely recommend it in the future!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Amanda! ♥

And it all turned out to be a bedtime story. Yep, it was always intended to end like that. In my mind, the only reason why there were fairy tales woven throughout was to make it interesting for Draco, softening certain points of it so that he would better understand. And as the story went on, it gradually crept into a more canon feel, drawing to a close with the assumption that all was well and Voldemort was gone forever. Even though Lucius and Narcissa were supporters of Voldemort and the dark arts, I think they would have been relieved on some level to have him gone; no one wants to raise their kid around that sort of thing. By the time Voldemort flew back onto the scene, Draco was old enough for Lucius to not care so much; but I think it would have been terrifying for Narcissa, who counted on a peaceful, elegant life in a nice house. They fell very, very far in the end.

Thank you so much for your kind words. :) Your reviews on Purgatory were where I first noticed your name, and it's a very warm and happy feeling to have early readers come back and read the final chapter.

Sarah


 Report Review

Review #7, by adluvshp Loyalty

20th February 2013:
This was such an amazing piece of writing and I am so sad that it is over!! I absolutely loved every word of this beautiful story. I enjoyed how in the end you tied this "fairytale" with canon... sort of, and it was just all so awesomely done! The entire story was so perfect, your characterisations were amazing, and the plot itself was the best and so original! I really really enjoyed this story and I am quite satisfied with how it ended though it would have been better if this story could go on forever xP

Such a beautifully written story. Great job!!

Thank you for writing this!!

Cheers!
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey, Aditi! You were one of my first readers for this story, so I'm thrilled to see you back here reading the very last chapter.

This story was a slow, gradual tumble from fairy tale to canon, sort of signifying how the changes in Lucius and Narcissa's life went from light to dark. There was so much promise when they were younger, but they perpetually made bad turns, bad deals; and here they are years later, retelling it to Draco in a softer way that's easier to understand, thinking that Voldemort is gone forever. It's sad to know that they're wrong and another war is going to happen in the future, but for now they have peace.

Thank you so much for being a dedicated and wonderful reader/reviewer!

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #8, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Morsmordre

4th February 2013:
The first-born child thing sounds a bit like Rumplestilskin? Or Rapunzel? Other than that, i'm not sure.
I've been dreading Voldemort's appearance in this story, and you did full justice to his creepiness.
The characterization of both he and Bellatrix is fantastic in this chapter.
Amazingly well written, as usual, and I love the ending!

Author's Response: Yep, it's Rumpelstiltskin! XD

Voldemort is one of those characters you have to nail on the first go or it will be a disaster. I can't write him unless I'm in a certain mood - oddly enough, the same mood whenever I'm writing Dumbledore. Voldemort and Dumbledore are a lot alike in certain ways, writing-wise.

Glad you liked my portrayals of him and Bellatrix! Thank you for stopping by to read and review. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by academica Sentiment

16th December 2012:
Hi Sarah! I'm here with a holiday review for you ♥

Narcissa... I just... gah. Her pain is so palpable, even though it's wrapped up in this sense of privilege. She's like a spoiled child with every right to throw a tantrum. She should be living a happy wedded life, excited to welcome her child into the world, and yet everything is quite the opposite. It so pains me that she feels excluded from everything--her house, her husband, her family.

Speaking of which, this line--I got the strange sensation that he robbed people of their sentiments, and so I took great care to hide mine--is genius. Also, her latter idea that the Dark Lord is a thief--I loved seeing that theme running throughout this chapter. Narcissa is bright enough to see this before any of Voldemort's loyal followers, and it will be too late for most of them.

Anyway, plot-wise... Severus being the one to try to recruit Peter is very interesting. I can imagine Peter panicking when he realizes that his friends are leaving him behind and turning to an old enemy for help, given the right setting and words. I'm sad to see that Regulus is already gone, though I should expect as much given the time frame.

I know the last chapter is written and waiting for me, and I can't help but hope to see a return to the fairy tale origins of this story, since I don't believe that I'll find a happy ending for Lucius and Narcissa. Whatever the outcome, this story has been a joy to follow, and I'm excited to go back sometime in the next few weeks and finish it up.

Amanda :)

Author's Response: I like your comparison to a spoiled child, because that's exactly what I was going for. Narcissa is very selfish. She doesn't care that the Death Eaters are plotting to kill people. She just cares that they're doing it in her house and invading her privacy.

Voldemort really is a thief. He steals lives, he steals time (Horcruxes), he steals privacy and his followers' sense of identity. They're not individuals anymore. The second they pledged their loyalty to him, they became extensions of himself, albeit easily disposable extensions. Narcissa resents him because of what he's done to her, but doesn't really care about what he does to others.

I've always wondered exactly how and why Peter deviated from the Order. He would have to have a reason to believe the Order would lose, assuming that the Death Eaters were a stronger bet. It got me to thinking about Severus and all he had suffered at the hands of the Marauders, and how tempting and satisfying it would be to turn one of the Marauders against the others. Having Severus be the one to whisper in Peter's ear was something I'd been wanting to write for quite a while.

The next chapter has a small, small taste of fairy tale, but mostly the fairy tales have morphed into my idea of Pre-Hogwarts canon. The next chapter has two jumps in time, and I hope you're satisfied with the ending. Thank you so much, Amanda, for being one of the early readers of Purgatory and seeing it through to the end. I'll miss seeing your feedback on Lucius/Narcissa.





 Report Review

Review #10, by DumbledoresArmyOfOne Visions

3rd December 2012:
I thought i'd take this moment to tell you how much i genuinely love and admire this story, and your writing.
There are a few stories out there in the fan fiction universe that contain all of the elements of a perfect story and this is most certainly one of them.
I read this story every chance that I get - this is my bedtime story!
It's such a perfect AU, you combine the best of Harry Potter magic with some of my favourite fairy tales and throughout the whole thing you write so elegantly and seamlessly that this has pretty much become canon for me.
I really admire you and your writing- you are a fantastic author, and I absolutely LOVE this story.
Please continue being flawless.
~Gill

Author's Response: Oh, wow, thank you!! I love magic in general - the magic that fairy tales evoke as well as the magic of Harry Potter. Combining them was really interesting for me as a writer. I also liked the challenge of molding Harry Potter characters into fairy tale situations, and then gradually phasing into a more realistic, more canon explanation.

Thank you so much for your absolutely awesome review. Totally made my day!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ardeith Loyalty

3rd December 2012:
I finally got a chance to finish this beautiful story. I loved how you roamed so far through the realm of fairytales and then brought it all back to canon and turned it back into a fairytale! Hope that makes sense...

I love how you make Narcissa and Lucius so sympathetic but don't lose sight of their flaws. Such as the way you did here with Narcissa so adamant that Ted not be in any pictures of Andromeda and baby Nymphadora.

And then on the other hand, they do such bad things but they really do love each other and baby Draco. I loved this line:

But there was nothing but love in his eyes when he softly said, ďNow you wonít have to do it yourself.Ē

Author's Response: That makes perfect sense; and furthermore it's wonderful to hear, because that's what I was hoping to achieve. :)

Narcissa and Lucius, much as I love them, are also detestable people. So I had to make readers sympathize with them but also had to retain some of their negative behavior, and set it up so that what happens later in canon is consistent with their characterizations right now.

Thank you, so much, for reading this entire story and for reviewing it. I'm very appreciative that you took the time to do so. :)

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #12, by academica The Legend's End

26th November 2012:
Hi Sarah! I'm so pleased to return to this story, especially now that it's completed! So bittersweet ♥

Ugh. Your characterization is unbelievably perfect. It's positively chilling. Only you could make Lucius and Narcissa look almost like saints alongside their fellows! :) Voldemort, though, is my favorite. You've really got him down to a science, mocking his followers and playing on each of their fears, using his powers to frighten and amaze them. I like his little comments about the need for grammar lessons. He clearly expects perfection from them all, and yet he revels in the fact that none of them will ever be as wondrous as the self which he views. One of the things I find most interesting about Voldemort is how his followers will tear one another apart to gather his affection. It's scary.

I wondered how many times Voldemort would dig around inside of us until our brains were scrambled from the abuse.

^Once again, your description is fascinating. I actually felt physical pain reading this and the bits just before and after it, to imagine what it must actually be like to endure Legilimency.

Poor Regulus :( It's neat to imagine him going in as a spy from the start. I like how you used Narcissa's thoughts regarding him, Lucius, and Bellatrix to really cement this idea of her caring about things, about people. It sets up the canon Narcissa, who would do anything for her son, quite nicely. I wonder if we'll be seeing him anytime soon?

Your prose, as always, is lovely, and I've already mentioned the gorgeous imagery. I will have to return sometime soon to finish this one up at last.

Amanda

Author's Response: Amanda! Squee!

You were one of the first people to give me confidence about this story, so I was very thrilled to see you return to it to read this chapter. I feel so guilty for letting the story sit, neglecting it for months between each chapter. I added like four chapters just this year. -___- And all this time, it could have been finished. I don't know why I neglected it. I don't deserve to have any readers left at all.

I always want to make readers empathize with the protagonists, even if the protagonists are bad. So I just have to make everyone else worse by comparison. :P Narcissa is still brutally selfish at times, and Lucius quite cold, but when they're in a room with all the other Death Eaters it becomes apparent that they could be much, much worse.

Voldemort's grammar lessons, lol. He just seems the type who would loathe the lot he's with but at the same time, acknowledge that he needs them. And like you said, he loves the opportunity to remind himself that he's better than they are, and watching them go for each other's throats at every available chance. If they see the opportunity to tear someone else down in order to make themselves look better, they are all over it in a heartbeat.

I know that Regulus most likely wasn't a spy from the start, but since JKR didn't specify I used some license here and made him a lot more like Sirius than previously known. A brave spy ~

You will see Draco very soon. :3

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by HPG Cursed

1st November 2012:
Very descriptive language. Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you liked it. :) Hope to see you again!

 Report Review

Review #14, by TenthWeasley Loyalty

25th October 2012:
I don't know why I keep doing this. I should have expected by now that you'd pull some twist or trick or something, and it's always just when I think that I've got a handle on the story that you do it. I don't think I need to repeat the oft-heard, phrase, but I will anyway, because... well, because: YOUR PLOTS ARE MAGNIFICENT. THE END. ♥

I seriously cannot believe that this story is over. I do not want it to be over in the slightest. There is a -- well, a magic to this story, but not the normal sort of magic (or lack thereof) that crops up in Harry Potter fan fiction. I've tried and failed to describe this before, but then I've seen it evident in Frollis, and then Run, and then CHaNT, and I know it's not unique to this particular story. It is a magic that your story-writing has in and of itself. I do not know why my reviews to you always sound so cheesy. I read back on them and cringe, but that is what it is. There is something I get out of reading your stories that I don't get out of anyone else's.

I've loved everything about reading this story, all the gorgeous imagery of the interwoven fairy-tales, and mixing in this cast of new characters with old ones who just weren't what they seemed. Malfoy Manor as you revamped it was one of the all-time best settings I can ever think of reading in a story, and there is something so genuinely magic about it (shoot, there's that word again) -- like you invented it from scratch. But you did, and borrowing the canon name doesn't make that any more untrue. Do you realize how original this story is? I cannot understand why it doesn't have five times the reviews and favorites that it does. This is exactly the sort of thing that fan fiction needs. You always do that with your stories; you see a huge gap that everyone else seems to overlook, and fill it so that nobody can walk in your shoes afterward. I'm so envious it hurts.

The way you transformed Lucius into your metaphorical Beast -- the best. I still get shivers thinking about how you described him. I think that is one of my favorite parts of this story, apart from the manor itself, but again I just really, really want to impress upon you what an incredible work of imagination this whole thing was. And you know, it was so, so worth the wait. This was a fantastic ending! Look at you, turning things on their heads for me again. You'd think I'd see it coming.

I am such a rambling mess. This makes less than no sense. I completely adore this story, and I do not know why it has to be over. Because I really, really am going to miss it, and it's only hitting me now just how much. ♥

Thank you for writing this. Thank you for writing everything! You are my favorite author here. Period. And I am always, always excited to know what you're going to be doing next, because without fail -- it is brilliant. Seriously. You are so fantastic.

MORE WORDS OF LOVE THAT I JUST CAN'T THINK OF GO HERE ~ ♥

Author's Response: Cannot exit this page until I've responded to this review. You deserve a response to your absolutely amazing reviews; I'm making an effort to chisel away at them. ♥

Seriously, telling me that my writing has magic is the biggest compliment you could ever pay me. That's exactly what I strive for; that's the reason why I write at all, and the reason why I always, without fail, will choose to write a fantasy story over a realistic one any day of the week. No matter how much I like a plot set in the real world with real, ordinary people, if I have something with even a whiff of fantasy in it waiting in the wings, I will write that first. I love magic. I love the way you can create it just by using words. So thank you, so much, for saying that. (hug)

What you said about seeing a gap in fanfiction and filling it so that no one can walk in my shoes afterward; OH MY GOD, I HAVE BEEN CONSCIOUSLY WORKING FOR THAT. I just sit here behind my computer screen, cackling away, thinking of how I can take something and make it impossible for people to try to emulate my plots without outright plagiarizing. ~slinks to my corner~

Lucius the creep-o with transparent skin and black eyes - sdfjkdj. *shudder* When I was deciding what he would look like, I thought to myself that a beast with horns and fur was sort of laughable. The beast with fur has already been done; if I'd wanted that, I would have just made him Fenrir Greyback. So I tried to make him scary in a different kind of way; your reception of him was really a cherry on top. It told me that I made a shot in the dark and ended up on target.

BUT HOW CAN I BE YOUR FAVORITE AUTHOR IF YOU ARE MY FAVORITE AUTHOR. IS THIS THE REAL LIFE OR IS IT JUST FANTASY. All of my review responses come out making me look arrogant. I feel like I'm flouncing whenever I write them. But I have such a massive appreciation for your reviews, which I have reminded you time and time again. I would not be on this site without you. I would still be writing really horrible Twilight-ripoff OF's with horrible fail romance because I wouldn't have any idea what my niche was. Writing here gives me the opportunity to test the waters, and your reviews of this story in particular confirmed what I was good at doing, and that's what I started focusing on henceforward: imagery. Your remarks on my imagery made me eager to try it more, and what led me to try to perfect that. And that is the reason why Wanderlust exists. Your feedback informed me of my strengths, and now I can better play with them because you helped prune the way I look at writing, and the many different ways one can tell a story.

You are, simply put, invaluable. ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by Ardeith Sentiment

24th October 2012:
Great chapter! I felt so sorry for Narcissa and hate to see her and Lucius like this. :-( I totally did not pick up that she was pregnant until this line: "Iíll be glad when that thingís out of you. You havenít been yourself.Ē Hope baby Draco can make things better for her...

Love this idea, too:

"I didnít want to feel anything when the Dark Lord was in the room, as I didnít want him to somehow take those emotions from me. I got the strange sensation that he robbed people of their sentiments, and so I took great care to hide mine."

Author's Response: I felt bad for Narcissa and Lucius, too. :( They are going through one of their many rough patches. It'll only get worse as time goes on, I'd imagine.

Baby Draco! Eee! I was excited to be able to introduce him, in his small unborn self. It adds a layer of HP-realism to the story. For most of Purgatory, everything is more or less dreamlike. But here, with Narcissa on the verge of giving birth, it reminds us that the normal canon world will soon elapse this one.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, Ardeith! You are awesome. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by TenthWeasley Sentiment

18th October 2012:
BABY DRACO. I HAVE ASKED FOR NARCISSUS BABIES AND YOU HAVE DELIVERED. SO FREAKING EXCITED IN THIS MOMENT. EEE.EEE.EEE ♥ ♥ And this chapter was just not even happy as a whole, and that one little part about a tiny foot made it all better even while it really wasn't getting better at all, and oh my gosh I should not be having this kind of reaction to something so small.

BUT WEE DRACO.

I think one of the most impressive things about where you've taken this story, and one of the things that kept playing over and over in my mind when I was reading this chapter (I lied to you -- I read it on my phone before French, haven't even done laundry yet!) is how well you've merged this alternate universe fairy tale with canon, so that I can't even really go back and say for sure when it stopped being one and started being the other. Does that make any sense at all? I was just reading this, and it didn't feel like Lucius had been that thin-skinned, dark-eyed monster who enthralled/terrified me (urgh, your descriptions of him). He was his canon self, and this felt like such a realistic portrayal of the events surrounding this era that when you started talking about Horatio and Ramien and Wasteir and all that again, I had to take a little breather and remember what all had gone on. I love that so much, that you've been able to combine the two! Gahhh. So jealous of your plots once again. You can write anything.

YOUR SNAPE. ♥ Homg, you nailed him so perfectly here I am unable to even articulate it properly. So fantastic!! Even the adverbs you use to describe the way he speaks -- silkily comes to mind, I was absolutely floored by that -- characterize him perfectly. This is why I love it when you write Snape; you're not one of those people who tilts the scales completely one way or completely another with him. He's not a heroic good guy, fighting evil undercover, but he's not evil either. He is a swayed man, under Voldemort's spell all the while not quite sure how he got in like he did. That image of talking about the Marauders as his old classmates is so, so powerful. Write moar.

Ergh. I feel sorry for Narcissa, because clearly her quality of life has taken a drastic downward turn of late. And I can't help but be a little angry at Lucius -- even though he's really got no choice other than to keep on doing what he's doing, he's kind of being a jerk about everything. But now I'm so sad, because there isn't a lot of time left for things to get better for the pair of them. Then again... this is very nearly how they are when we first see them in canon, isn't it? I have never wanted the Malfoys to live happily more than I do at this moment. And I don't even like the Malfoys all that much. What are you doing to my emotions.

There is no way your Lucius came from mine. Absolutely no way. You write him one thousand times better, and oh my gosh, I have missed this story. ♥ I HAVE NOT SAID THAT ENOUGH. But it's too close to ending, and that makes me want to curl up in a small ball and start the whole story over again, and revel in the glory that is the fairy tale-esque writing in this story.

MOAR.



Author's Response: BABY DRACO. ♥

Wee ferret-face is somehow more endearing to me when I have to put up with him through the eyes of a main character. I've spent most of my career as a Potterhead loathing the Slytherins, just because I'm one of /those/ obnoxious Gryffindors. You've really opened up my eyes when it comes to that, really. You made me love Snape when my feelings towards him used to be lukewarm at best (and now he's one of my faves!). You've showed me that Slytherin does not = evil. So it was with this mindset that I was able to branch out and write Narcissus.

Basically, I owe 99% of my author's page to you. Ignore my gush-fest here, but it's true. Like, this story here. I can tell you flat-out that I wouldn't have written it were it not for you, because I only started it after writing for your challenge, with my short Lucius/Narcissa one-shot. It gave me a taste for it and I wanted to write more; and I only kept writing it because of your support for it. You read and reviewed every single chapter. I will never take that for granted because I'm aware of just how rare it is for someone to be that supportive and encouraging. Purgatory helped me discover what I'm good at and not good at: Abstain from physical romance; don't write pretty-sounding things just for the sake of it. Only do it because of the atmosphere, the style, and if it carries the story forward. If it bogs it down, let it go.

I'm so glad you like my plots, that you liked these characters and that you were willing to give AU a try when it's arguably one of the most unliked genres on the archive. (PEOPLE SERIOUSLY DO NOT LIKE AU. WHAT IS UP WITH THAT.)

I keep going off-topic here and not addressing your actual review. Lucius is starting to become his familiar cold self, segueing into canon. I wanted Narcissa to feel isolated, oppressed. I imagine that this is the way she has to live whenever Voldemort's in charge; it's the only way she can fly under the radar and survive. And like so many other Slytherins, survival is her biggest concern. Gryffindors chomp at the bit to throw themselves into harm's way, playing the hero and sacrificing themselves, and through a Slytherin's eyes I can see how foolish they look even though I can see it from both sides. Such different perspectives on life, and both equally fascinating. I've loved being able to depict this odd, unlikely love that can sometimes be cold and cruel; and sometimes it can be absolutely wonderful.

Thank you so much for reading my attempt at a Harry Potter fairytale. :)



 Report Review

Review #17, by Ardeith The Legend's End

15th October 2012:
I was so excited to see that you've returned to writing (after a well-deserved break!) and to this story.

I can't say I remember every detail ... beyond loving this story ... but this chapter got me write back into the middle of it.

OMG -- Circe's death. This will haunt me: "As the ancient witch writhed in a cold fire suspended in midair, cobalt flames reaching through her nose and open mouth to lick at the hollow interior of her skull"

And actually felt sorry for Greyback here and he has always been one of my most hated/feared characters from canon.

Loved Voldemort the grammarian! You write him and the hold on his followers so well. Love that Narcissa can see how he plays them. And love Bellatrix mimicking his gestures. They are truly a cult and he is their cult leader!

This chapter got me right back into the emotion of the story. I hate seeing the bond between Narcissa and Lucius fray after all they've been through. This was heartwrenching:

"I tried to focus on Lucius, yearning for a nod or smile or softening of his features, but found nothing but cold hardness. He was a statue, sitting proudly in his chair like it was a throne, and I remembered the similarities Iíd once seen between him and the Dark Lord. I wished I knew when he was pretending and which of us he was pretending to. Was he pretending here with Voldemort or at home with me?"

Author's Response: Ardeith! I'm so happy to see that you're back. I honestly don't deserve to have any readers left because of how ridiculously long it's been since my last update. So I very much appreciate seeing you here. :)

Greyback is one of my most-hated villains, too. I like how JKR made her villains different from each other - Umbridge, Voldemort, Quirrell, Snape, Draco, Bellatrix, etc. Greyback is on the more ignorant end of the scale, and because of his ignorance he has a scarily keen mindset when it comes to attacking people. He's so uneducated and such an outcast that he has no qualms whatsoever when it comes to destroying lives. He feels it's his only purpose.

Voldemort the grammarian, hehe. I decided to make him like that because from what we saw in CoS and HBP, he was a bit snarky and looked down on people - like how he looked down on Hagrid. So any opportunity to assert himself as the most intelligent person in the room would be pounced upon, I think.

Lucius and Narcissa's relationship is strained; though the worst certainly is yet to come. But we know that they'll make it through!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Loony_Scorpy The Legend's End

12th October 2012:
Wow I can't believe there are only two chapters left! This is seriously one of my favourite stories on this site. You have written it so brilliantly and the ideas and detail that you come up with are incredible. For instance the fact that you put the watch in there! (found it on page 15 of my Philosopher's Stone version) It seemed vaguely familiar to me but now I realise - but how did you remember such a tiny detail? I wonder when and why Snape ended up giving the watch to Dumbledore in this story's world.
I just noticed that your chapters are about 3000/4000 words but they always feel so much longer because there is so much detail and complexity in each chapter. Which is definitely a good thing!
I loved the part in there where Narcissa analysed what Voldemort called everything. I found it really interesting and it fit so well with the way he would view things. I realised as I read this that somehow, over time, my views of Voldemort have actually changed and I haven't thought of him as quite so powerful or smart. I completely forgot that as Tom Riddle he was a very intelligent student so of course he still would be. Your characterisation of Voldemort very much reminded me of that and just how powerful he was. I think you've really captured Voldemort and what he's all about.
I just read your response to TenthWeasley's review and I love how you explained Voldemort's power and how Lucius seemed so weak in comparison - so much of his life was spent in what was such a horrible way and then Voldemort just snaps his fingers and the reason for him having to live that life, Circe, is dead.
The way your incorporated Greyback was genius! I just can't even express how (not sure what word I'm looking for) excited? I was when that happened. It just pleased me for some reason.
Well I think I've rambled enough for now, even though I could go on forever. (and wow after hitting preview I think this is one of my longest reviews ever)
Also I've been meaning to read Run for months and months and months so I will try to get to that soon because it sounds amazing. I just know I'll probably read it in one go (because your writing is amazing and I'm enticed just by the idea of the story) so I'll need a decent amount of time to sit down and read it ;) and after stalking your page I've realised there are a lot of stories I haven't read which I shall have to hurry up and read - it seems I've just happened upon some random ones.
So pretty much just loved the chapter ♥

Author's Response: First of all, thank you SO MUCH for returning to this story even though I've treated it so unfairly and let it sit without updating it. I'm very grateful that I still have you as a reader. :)

I love what you said about how over time, you've stopped seeing Voldemort as a really powerful person - because I've done the same thing. On the other side of the epilogue, we know Voldemort's downfall, his flaws, his overconfidence. It's easy to want to water him down and make him more of a one-dimensional villain instead of someone truly terrifying, especially with funny stories floating around that make him a caricature and call him 'Voldy' (which I adore and am guilty of doing myself). But in truth, at this time period he was much more than a villain. He was a plotter, a manipulator. It was under his reign that he murdered some of the most skilled Aurors in Britain. So I wanted to underline exactly how easy it was for him to squash other people who had, up until that point, seemed powerful.

Eeep, if you do read Run I hope that you like it! I'm really proud of that story.

Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by TenthWeasley The Legend's End

9th October 2012:
All the words I have at my disposal cannot convey the sheer excitement I feel at reading this story again. ♥ I was flicking back through a few of my favorite chapters just the other day, when you were talking about finishing in a burst and updating soon, and that really made me realize how much I had missed this story. It also made me realize how long this story has been a part of my life, and now I am old and sad.

Can I just say that you write a perfect canon Voldemort? Even if the Voldemort we see here isn't the same old man in Hogwarts era, he is exactly the same in mannerisms, and I am just going to sit here in awe for a bit at how good it was. You have perfect measures of condescension and dry humor and disgust and it is just perfect. And Bellatrix, too, how sloppy and slovenly she was over her master -- absolutely fantastic. I love the way you write this group. They're horrible and awful and I want to keep reading about them because for all their traits, they are fascinating.

LOVE that you made Greyback one of Circe's wolves, by the way! And how she died, too; that was a stroke of genius, somehow because it seemed so fitting in a somewhat inexplicable way. This line was one of my favorites:

The scream flickered and faltered at times and grew unexpectedly, the pitch of hell. -- I adore that. "The pitch of hell." ♥ That's such an apt description, and I'm sitting here seething over it because I couldn't have come up with something like that on my own. And another line --

the remainder of a witch who had been supposedly invincible until she met her match in Tom Riddle -- I don't know why I loved this one so much, unless it's to say that it goes with what I was talking about above, with Voldemort. Circe met her match in Voldemort, and she's supposed to be freaking invincible. That's almost terrifying, how truly magnanimous he was at the height of his power. I think a lot of fan fiction writers underwrite that when they write Voldemort, if they do at all, because as readers we know his weaknesses, we know he gets defeated, etc. But at this point in the timeline, he was terrifying, and I'm sure most of his followers (with obvious exceptions like Regulus) thought that there was absolutely no way that he could be stopped. And his killing Circe in this story proves that without needing to explicitly say so.

Gahh. That was such a ramble. I seriously love this story; it makes me think and feel, and my gosh, is it inspiring. This is what I've missed in writing all my own Death Eater-y scenes, having updates from this story to feed my imagination. ♥ So, so glad you updated, and even more glad you finished -- I get two more weeks of fantastic writing before I have to say goodbye to my current favorite story on the archives, and I console myself with that.

SO MUCH LOVE ♥

Author's Response: My goal for today is to respond to 82 reviews. -takes a deep breath-

CAN I JUST SAY THAT YOU SHOULD'VE SLAPPED SOME SENSE INTO ME MONTHS AGO. Seriously, putting this on hold for /three chapters/. I have face-palmed so many times. I legitimately do not understand myself. Maybe at the time I thought I could drag this out for another twenty chapters. But that feels like beating a dead horse. I want to end it, to give myself some closure. I have missed Lucius and Narcissa so much and it always seems to take seeing Lucius in your chapters to kick inspiration into me.

VOLDEMORT. EEEP. THANK YOU. ♥ He always comes out more easily than I expect him to. I think that maybe I'm a horcrux or something. And lol, only /you/ would want to keep reading about a group of horrible people because you find their traits fascinating. I think we are peas in a pod.

ENTER GREYBACK. He is totes in an awkward situation here, choosing between being burned alive or joining Voldemort. He's now the last remaining tie to the legend of Circe and the big bad wolf. I rather enjoyed making him even more stupid than usual here.

Lucius had been pinned under Circe's iron finger for YEARS, and here is Voldemort killing her so easily that it's effortless. I wanted this to make an impact, because I agree with what you said 100% - Voldemort's power is sometimes underestimated in fanfiction because we know that eventually Harry defeats him. But in those days, he was so terrifying that people couldn't even call him by his name. So I wanted to take someone who was seemingly all-powerful and bring her down to size, to have her disposed of without a second glance. In this story, it marks a new era. Old legends like Circe can't exist with Voldemort hanging around; we all know he doesn't enjoy people with 'the power the vanquish him' being alive and all that.

YOU ARE THE BEST. ♥ You've always been the biggest fan of this story and you're the reason why it's finished at all. I cannot thank you enough. ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by pickingupthepieces Morsmordre

20th August 2012:
rumpelstiltskin?

it would be rather amusing for voldemort to be hopping around a fire singing a song :)

okay, this is amazing stuff but you probably already knew that. i really like the way you weave the fairytales into the story. i think that the deathly hallows reference in chapter fifteen really reflected the search for the hallows in dh. it's like the signs are everywhere but never really prominent unless you're searching for them.

okay, this review is pretty pathetic. but your story's not. so update. please? (i learned that from narcissa.)

Author's Response: Yep, Rumpelstiltskin!

Rumpelstiltskin is one of my favorite fairytales, and a sadly underused one at that. Voldy hopping around a fire, lol.

Oh my goodness, thank you. :) There are bits and pieces from the HP series and from fairytales that are more subtle, that don't really pop out unless you're familiar with them and know what you're looking for.

What are you talking about, this review's fantastic?! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :) I just finished writing my other fanfic WIP and I'm currently writing original fiction, but I promise to finish Purgatory before Christmas. It's going to be my autumn project. :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by PhoenixSparks28170 Cursed

5th August 2012:
I can already see it's going to be a good, fairytale story from the first few paragraphs. This is the first time I read this story, and I already feel enchanted to continue reading from the beginning. But one thing I want to know: Is there a sequel? Or have you uploaded any other stories? I would just love to read any of your stories.

-Michelle

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you like it so far. No, there is no sequel - and I'm not quite finished with this story just yet. I've still got a few chapters left to write, but you're only on chapter one so you have a while before you get there, anyway. :) As for my other stories, yes, I have lots! Just click on my name at the top of the story where it says 'Toujours Padfoot' - that's my author page, where you can find my other stories.

Thanks for reading!!


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Unwinding

17th June 2012:
And he steps through the veil.

^ Interesting 'invention' of his. I think one of the best parts of the story so far. The way you weave everything in is so insane.

I never would have thought that it would have crossed Lucius's mind that the Dark Lord could be defeated. Really, I always just thought he was more into it than Narcissa, a little too far gone and she was the one that had to pull him back, to realize what was important and in the end she does, severing their ties to the Dark Lord and that's that. I think he would have listened to his wife but only when he was desperate. I don't doubt he loved her but either he was a really good actor when it came to the Dark Lord or he just crushed whatever doubt he had inside of him.

Author's Response: The creation of the veil was something I've been wanting to write since the beginning of the story. I like to explain the more vague aspects of canon, and give stories to small, often overlooked bits.

In canon, I think that Lucius was pretty gung-ho about Voldemort and that he was definitely more into it than Narcissa, who was sort of just along for the ride by association. I agree, I don't think he would have listened to her opinions unless their situation was hopeless, like in Deathly Hallows when he's fallen from grace. For the purposes of this story, however, and for making Lucius rather more likable, I'm making him reluctant to start off with even though he's going to slowly become that eager villain we know in canon. It's an evolution.

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for being awesome and amazing and for reading this story and reviewing it. :) :)

- Sarah


 Report Review

Review #23, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Second Chance

17th June 2012:
Lucius made his way over to the side of his bed. Perhaps it would take another sunrise for Narcissa to remember that she didnít want him, that no one wanted him.

^ I love their love.
Even though it is twisted. I really love their love.

I wasn't expecting that ending. Just when I think they are going to have a moment of peace and they could really have a little fairytale life for themselves everything is turned upside down. I wish I could just freeze the moments they share alone together because their emotions are so raw, intense, powerful that it fills me with hope for them. Honestly, I don't know how you do this. Write I mean. You really have such a way with words.

Author's Response: I like twisted love, too. ♥

Lucius and Narcissa are eternally interrupted! They just cannot have one moment alone where everything is completely fine and they can just /be/. The woes of being a budding Death Eater. :(

Their peace will come later, when they believe that Voldemort is dead. ;)

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews. They mean a lot to me, and they've been immensely encouraging. Anyone would be incredibly lucky to have you as a reader and reviewer!


 Report Review

Review #24, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Self-Destructive Tendencies

17th June 2012:
"My Lucius has always poured his heart into the very worst things for him, the most self-destructive. He got that from me, you know." She sighed. "And just like me, he never sees it until itís too late."

^ I think that pretty much summed up the entire chapter. Wow. Seriously. Wow. I know it's a word I repeat in my reviews to you a lot but I don't know...it's the best word to really define what I'm feeling that's 12+.

The scene with Andromeda, really. At first I just thought she figured that it was someone but not Narcissa but then when she said her name it broke my heart. She really had to deal with so much because of her 'silly' sisters. Bellatrix has always been too far gone but really Narcissa could have ended up on either side if I think about it. I don't know if you would agree.

Author's Response: Oh yay, I'm glad you liked that bit! That's exactly what I was going for: an overall summary of Lucius and what he's like, and why he does what he does. He's sort of blinded to his mistakes until he can view them in hindsight.

Narcissa could have gone either way, I think, and if she hadn't ended up with Lucius, she might have followed in Andromeda's footsteps. It was all sort of one door after another that she took that led to her fate. Like Lucius, I think she was too proud and too invested in the present to take stock of herself and her surroundings until it was far too late.


 Report Review

Review #25, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Legilimens

17th June 2012:
She cleared her throat, lips trembling with emotion. "I have much to offer, my Lord. I will do anything, I -"

"Bella."


^ Urgh. Voldemort and Bellatrix. Uh. Make me vomit, honestly. The way she clings to him sickens me. Always has, always will and you really were able to play it up in this chapter. When he said Bella my stomach started to churn with disgust.

I think the part that I was most surprised with was the ending because I wouldn't have expected them to try out a patronus so quickly and then the killing curse. It just shocked me because rarely do I think of Narcissa killing someone or something which is ridiculous I know.

I was wondering if you were going to add Severus. I'm glad you did. I have a question though. How long is this story going to be? Are we going to delve into Narcissa and Lucius getting married and that's it or are we going to go as far as the end of the war with Draco?

Author's Response: Omg I love writing Bellatrix, she's so crazy. Voldemort knows exactly the right words to say to her to make her a puddle at his feet, manipulative and disgusting, and she's allowed herself to become his puppet. It's so pathetic.

The Patronus was something I had been eager to convey their loss of, to show Narcissa and Lucius, because it wasn't quite sinking in enough yet, that Voldemort was the real deal and that their new lives were permanently changed. I wanted to show them the seriousness of their new climate, since Narcissa had been kind of blowing them all off as a weird cult and Lucius's only concern was Narcissa.

This story isn't going to be too much longer. It kind of stops right when canon bridges the gap for us. This story takes place mostly in the murkier areas of canon, where we don't really know much about what happens, so when you start to recognize more and more, and we're getting to the height of the first war, that is where this will end. I feel like ushering Narcissa and Lucius off into a bleak, frightening future is the best send-off I can give them.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>