Reading Reviews for The Life of A Young Werewolf
  
43 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayla George Tests

13th July 2013:
I love this chapter! I've always loved
James and Lily as a couple, but always
thought that Lily and Remus had a
stronger friendship.

Author's Response: I felt Lily and Remus were very close too; I got that idea from both the books and the movie, but especially the movie. In the Prisoner of Azkaban, the way Remus talks about Lily to Harry in the scene on the bridge, you really feel they were very close...in fact, to me, the tone of his voice and the way he says "Yes, I knew her" made me feel that he really cared for her, even loved her. That scene was a big part of the inspiration for my story. I'm glad you're enjoying it and hope you will enjoy and review the rest of it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by iheartremus Senior Year!

21st May 2012:
Good chapter! How much more are you going to write?

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. I'm not sure exactly how many more chapters the story will be, because I don't have it typed up yet, but it will cover until graduation, with an epilogue in the days after Lily & James' murders. I hope you will enjoy those as much as you have enjoyed the story so far.

 Report Review

Review #3, by iheartremus Summer of Surprises

6th April 2012:
I think this is a good story. Poor Remus! Are you going to update soon?

Author's Response: Yes, I will be updating soon; it will probably be about four weeks before I post another chapter. When my college is out for summer, I will be able to update more often.

 Report Review

Review #4, by molly James vs. Snape

30th January 2012:
why does remus call his parents sir or ma'm? It is just a bit wierd.

Author's Response: I skimmed the chapter quickly to see what you are referring to, and Remus does that when he's answering a question asked by his parents...that's just good manners. Until fairly recently, a lot of kids were taught that when someone older than you, especially an older relative, spoke to you, it was polite and respectful to respond "yes sir" or "no sir" or yes/no ma'am. To you it may seem weird, but I'm betting you're fairly young; I'm not, and I was raised this way. Even now, and I'm middle-aged, when I speak to my parents, I call them sir or ma'am...unless it's a very relaxed situation and doesn't call for that degree of formality. Remus does call his parents mom and dad sometimes, when the situation is relaxed or he's feeling affectionate. Another part of this is that I'm trying to show the distance in their relationship...he's not nearly as close to his father as he is to his mother, and the way he talks to them shows that.

 Report Review

Review #5, by magicmuggle01 Change is in the Air

8th November 2011:
It's funny but I was just thinking about you the other day wondering if you'd updated, then I checked my fav stories and low and behold, there you were. My stomach lurched with what felt like fireworks were going off and went to read it at once.
Once again you've produce another exemplary chapter. The love and feeling you have for writing shows through like a flag blowing in a gale force wind.
I liked the idea of giving the job of helping Alyssa to Teddy. After everything he been through and losing his mother certainly makes him the perfect person for the job.
It was also good to see James in a different light and not acting like a bit of a prat and acting the fool. At least Lily will see the more caring side of him now.
Another excellent chapter and 10/10. Plz update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the praise. I really do love writing, and I feel like I relate to Remus very well...or maybe it's just that I let some of my own personality show in his character. I too am shy, very loyal to my friends, and very close to my mother.

I thought the idea of Remus helping Alyssa was a good one too (obviously)- who better to relate to her than him? And, though he doesn't know it, she's nursing a serious crush on him at this point in the story...but it won't develop into anything in this one- that happens in my other story. As for James, his interest in Lily has finally made him realize there are better things to do with his time than acting like an idiot.

Hope you will like the rest of the story- it only has a few chapters left, but I have no idea when I will be able to get them typed up. I just got lucky a few days ago and had some free time. But finals are only a few weeks away, so not sure how much more of that I will have before the holidays.


 Report Review

Review #6, by magicmuggle01 A Taste of Freedom

21st August 2011:
Another excellent chapter. This story is really coming together nicely.
I wonder if you've given us a bit of insight to your story by mentioning the research into a possible cure. I wonder if you will be coming up with a cure for Remus's furry little problem. Just food for thought my friend.
10/10 and please update soon.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter. The mention of research is referring to the fact that the wolfsbane potion is developed later. I brought it up just to give Remus a little hope that there might be something to make his life a bit easier. I don't have (at this point) any plans for a cure to be developed for his condition in any of my stories.

It will be at least a few days before I update again- my college's semester begins tomorrow, so I will have to work on the story in my free time. Hopefully, I will have another chapter in a week or two.


 Report Review

Review #7, by magicmuggle01 Sirius' Inheritance

14th August 2011:
Another great chapter. Sirus inheriting the house should make things nice and easy for all concerned. I wonder what his family will be saying about that? Another 10/10 and the usual request for an update if you please.

Author's Response: Thanks! I got the idea for Sirius inheriting the house from some of the material I read; I think the book mentions as well that he 'got a house' when he was around sixteen or so. The house will be useful, especially for Remus, because he won't need to keep coming up with excuses for leaving each month. It also gives the guys a place to hang out away from James' parents- not that they dislike the Potters, but the guys are all getting old enough to want a bit of freedom.

Hope you continue to enjoy the coming chapters.


 Report Review

Review #8, by ekroman The Birth of the Marauders

11th August 2011:
Another great chapter :) I'm looking forward to seeing James changing. To see what will happen between the friends. I'm looking forward to the next chapter :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and we will see some changes in James. His interest in Lily, and some conversations that come up in the next chapter or two will have a big impact on his behavior. He actually will begin to grow up a bit.

I know some of my fans- actually I think it was magicmuggle- had expressed interest in seeing the Marauders change forms, but since the story is written from Remus' point of view (more or less), and he doesn't remember the full moons, at the moment, there isn't any of that. I may change that, and add a scene in where they change forms at some other time, but I'm not sure about that yet.

I edit as I type, so sometimes things change between the last draft and the final typed copy.

But I hope you all will continue to be pleased with my work, and I appreciate your positive feedback.


 Report Review

Review #9, by magicmuggle01 The Birth of the Marauders

11th August 2011:
Well what can I say but another well written excellent chapter. Though I think I've spotted a slight error. You've said that they were practicing for their apperation since they turned 16 that year. I think they do their apparation test in the year they turn 17. Another well earned 10/10 and plz, plz update soon.

Author's Response: You could be right about the apparition tests, I need to check that. I know Harry took his during the Half Blood Prince, which was sixth year, because I remember he was trying to keep an eye on Malfoy, but his birthday is later in the year than Remus or James, so that may make a difference. I'll look into it, and if I'm wrong, I'll correct the chapter later on.

Glad you're still enjoying the story, and there's another chapter on the way...then you'll have to be a little patient with me- I've posted almost everything I've typed, so I need to get busy :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ekroman Doubts

8th August 2011:
Really great chapter this time :) Looking forward to the next! I can't wait This truly has become one of my favorite stories!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying the story and pleased to know it has become one of your favorites. The next chapter is in the queue, so it shouldn't be too long.



 Report Review

Review #11, by magicmuggle01 Doubts

6th August 2011:
Well what can I say except that you've done it again. You have produced another excellent chapter.
Who was that girl you mentioned at the sorting? (the one who stared at Remus). You only mentioned her the once, I was wondering if she'll have anymore bearing on the story.
And I take it the making of a particular map refers to the birth of the legendary marauders map.
As I said excellent chapter and another 10/10.

Author's Response: Thank you!
The girl in the sorting is Holly Williams, who will play a bit of a role in an upcoming chapter, but I'm also establishing some background for her because she's a central character in the other story I have written.
I wanted her to show up here, because in that story, I mention specific things she remembers about the years they were in school together.

As far as the map, yes, it is the beginning of the marauder's map...you'll see more of that in the next chapter when it clears.

This story, when finished, will serve as a "backbone" for two others- the one that's posted "In the Arms of a Werewolf", which I intend to edit later on in the year, and another story, about Sirius, that I am still writing a first draft of. So, though there will be some things that may seem unimportant in this story, they do fit elsewhere.


 Report Review

Review #12, by ekroman A New Beginning

2nd August 2011:
Here I am again :D Loved the chapter as always. I really like the way you are able to go through a lot of time in few words without it seeming rushed :) Sometimes I feel they speak a little to 'official' and say somethings that have been implied. It can make the long paragraphs really hard to get through. But good job :)

Author's Response: Glad you're still enjoying the story. Dealing with the passage of time is tricky- you have to account for it in some way, but you don't want to bore your readers. So having some time pass quickly because the characters are having fun, or just indicating that a particular period of time was mostly routine, is my way of dealing with it. I feel it's fairly realistic, because we've all had periods of time in our lives where summer vacation seemed to pass far too quickly, or that last month of school before a holiday took forever because everything was just "the daily grind".

I hope my story continues to be interesting to you, and as always, I appreciate your continued feedback.


 Report Review

Review #13, by magicmuggle01 A New Beginning

1st August 2011:
Hi again.
Another excellent chapter. I've often wondered (in real life, where the books are concerned anyway) if James parents ever really put two and two together where the full moon and Remus is concerned.
Another clear cut 10/10 and the usual request to post the next chapter asap.

Author's Response: That was something I wondered as well, and never found anything in the books or background material I read to indicate whether they knew or not. It would have made my story easier to write if I had taken the approach that they knew and just accepted him anyway, but that just didn't seem to fit. An essential part of this story is that Remus has had a difficult life- personal losses, dealing with society's prejudices, and lots of smaller things, yet he still emerges as a decent, caring person.

I'm glad you're still enjoying the story, and I appreciate your feedback. The next chapter's already in the queue.


 Report Review

Review #14, by ekroman Christmas At Hogwarts

27th July 2011:
Again a great chapter :) I can see you have a chapter in the queue so I'll def. look forward to that :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and I've got several more chapters typed up, so as soon as this one clears, I'll be putting another one in the queue.

Hope things are going better for you and your mom.


 Report Review

Review #15, by magicmuggle01 Christmas At Hogwarts

25th July 2011:
Another excellent chapter, well written and thoughtfully done. I think that if anyone has suffered a similar loss will benefit from the advice that you've given. I know (in a way) that I have, I never really had anyone to turn to when my mum died. And your words have been a comfort to me, many thanks. Now I have to give you another 10/10 and please update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks- I don't really know quite what to say. I appreciate the praise for my story, but it's surprising to me that my words have helped you in some way. I can think of no higher compliment than to know I've helped someone when they needed it. I hope you continue to enjoy the story, and many thanks for your continued interest and positive feedback.

 Report Review

Review #16, by ekroman The Healing Begins

20th July 2011:
As always an amazing chapter :) But do you know what happened with updating? A week ago I noticed that you already had a new chapter in the queue, and I checked the queue time: 1 Day. But it first updated now :( I've been waiting all week :( .. Oh and since last time I've joined Remus. Me and my mum was thrown out as well. We have 14 days to get an appartment and move all our stuff 255 km across the country -,- Stupid ex-boyfriend of my mothers with anger problems! Well I can see you have a new chapter in the queue, so I'll just look forward to that instead :) 10/10 as always!

ekroman

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story, and I have no clue what happened with updating...I was wondering what was taking so long myself.

Sorry to hear you and your mom are having difficulties. I hope things work out for you soon.

Hopefully my new chapter will clear quickly and you'll have something new to read.


 Report Review

Review #17, by magicmuggle01 The Healing Begins

19th July 2011:
Another great chapter. lupin is lucky to have friends like James, Siruis and Peter. 10/10. I read the first review that you received for this chapter, I know that American English is different to British English (I myself am Scottish) and so some of the wording will be different, but I usually work things out ok. Anyway, the main thing is that the validators understand what your saying. So I would just ignore those who say they can't understand what you write.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you are still enjoying the story. I really appreciate your positive feedback. As I explained in my response to the earlier comment, I'd rather write in the language that I am comfortable with than try to use words that I'm not familiar with and have it come out worse. I feel my readers are intelligent enough to understand what I'm saying and enjoy the story, even if there are some differences.

 Report Review

Review #18, by amelia rose. The Healing Begins

18th July 2011:
I hope this improves. Harry potter is not american, respect the linguo. Don't rush, take time to thread a plot and you'll develop in your writing. Cut down on the speech, seriously. You've shown promise, but I've been let down. Your descriptive seemed good, include more of it! You can't skate with fanfiction, you have a lot to try live up to! You have shown dedication to the story from the amount of chapters, though quality not quantity. Sorry if you think I've been harsh, you can email me if you want to to discuss anyhting, just ask for my address. Take care, and bear in mind my tips, You could be OWL standard.

Author's Response: As I said earlier, I'm American, and it is easier for me to write that way than to try to "fake" English dialog, colloquialisms, etc.

I write the story as I feel it should be told; if you aren't enjoying it, then move on to one you do like. I don't need the same criticisms repeated on every chapter. The story is already completed, all I have to do is post it, and I'm not going to change it unless I feel it's necessary.


 Report Review

Review #19, by amelia rose. Plans

18th July 2011:
Troll. I'm sorry, you're rushing.

Author's Response: If you don't like the story, you don't have to read it.

 Report Review

Review #20, by amelia rose. Questions and Answers

18th July 2011:
we've just passed a whole year now? In four chapters? I'm not expecting a novel but slow down the pace. Try liven it up, please!

Author's Response: This story will cover over seven years when finished. I use the amount of space I feel needed to tell the story and not bore my readers. Some chapters are slower than others, but keep in mind, this is a drama story, not an action or adventure story.

 Report Review

Review #21, by amelia rose. James vs. Snape

18th July 2011:
Rushing the story a little aren't you? I'll not re-emphasize my previous points. Likes sirius and his letters, I hope to see more of that in the next chapters. Try to talk more like JK.

Author's Response: I have no clue what you mean about "sirius and his letters".

 Report Review

Review #22, by amelia rose. Friends and Secrets

18th July 2011:
Still not catching me. Too much bland dialogue, try to make what dialogue there is more active, let it be more chatty and humorous between friends, emphasized James' cocky attitude, Sirius' bravado, the pain at separating from his parents. Your writing words not a story, I hope the next chapter improves.

 Report Review

Review #23, by amelia rose. A Wish Granted

18th July 2011:
You use a lot of american speech mannerisms, try to reflect the way harry potter is written and the fact lupin was a english werewolf. A bland chapter, It was too full of blank content. To keep writers engaged, try to add in some more literary devices or tension. It has, however enthused me and whetted my appetite. Try to know the story more, and perhaps keep up the shabby aspect of lupin.
I will review as I read on, I hope my criticism has been constructive. Despite my feedback, I did enjoy reading it, just try to know the characters more!

Author's Response: I appreciate your critcism. As far as "knowing the story" I have read each of the Harry Potter books many times, have researched a great deal of background material, and have used my own imagination to fill in the blanks.
With regard to the language, I am an American, not English, so I felt it was best to write in a way that I was comfortable rather than try to use English slang or colloquialisms and have it turn out worse.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Rachel Betrayal

13th July 2011:
I really enjoyed your story because its really great! In fact I wouldn't be supprised if JK. Rowling wrote this herself! Your a terrific writer and I can't wait to read any others!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed the story, and I hope you will read the remaining chapters as I get them published.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ekroman Betrayal

11th July 2011:
I really love this story, and this was an amazing chapter. It can be seen through your writing that both you and Remus have matured a great deal since the start, and that is something that is very hard to do! Well done! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying the story. This chapter was rewritten at least twice in the draft stage so that I could accomplish what I felt was necessary to move the story in the direction I wanted it to go. As far as maturing, this is a story of Remus growing up, so of course he has matured (and will continue to do so); as for me, well, it took me a year to write this story, and I have learned a few things about writing that I didn't know initially.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>