Reading Reviews for Faded
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lovemesomethinSirius Magic

9th September 2013:
So tragic and heartbreaking and beautiful. I love how this is simple, yet eloquent. You have a beautiful way with words.

"This prison will devour your beauty as a tree devours sunlight. You will see it fading and I will not; to me, you will always be the girl at the window."
I love this line so much. It really seems to epitomize his love for her.

 Report Review

Review #2, by apocalypse Magic

7th May 2012:
This here is one of the most beautiful stories I have ever read! I've always thought of Lucius and Narcissa as a couple without love but your story has made me believe otherwise! It was magnificently written and the way Lucius described his feelings for Narcissa; her hair, her actions, how he regretted dragging her into this, it was just.. exceptionally beautiful! I almost felt like I was in love with Narcissa too; I understood his feelings really well. Great job! =)

-apocalypse
~Recenseo '12

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you!! To tell the truth, I never gave much thought to the relationship between Narcissa and Lucius until Deathly Hallows. Until then, I'd sort of subconsciously filed them into the 'emotionless' category like the marriage between Bellatrix and Rodolphus seems to be. But after reading the part in the beginning of DH where Narcissa touches Lucius's wrist when Voldemort asks for his wand, and Lucius immediately surrenders, it made me really interested in them. I've subsequently written a novel about them and they've become one of my favorite pairings.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by x3CherryWatermelonx3 Magic

20th November 2011:
A wonderful one-shot! It's nice to finally read a different side of Lucius and Narcissa Malfoy. Usually, you hear about how nasty Lucius is, so this is a quite, wonderful change! :)

Author's Response: Lucius/Narcissa is one of my favorite pairings. I always felt that there was more to them than meets the eye, and that there must be some kind of amazing strength holding them together. I might just be looking for something that isn't there, but I do believe that they loved each other.

Thank you for reading and for taking the time to tell me what you thought! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by GubraithianFire Magic

31st July 2011:
Harrumph, harrumph, if you're going to beat me, at least I can catch up using your own stuff. Now, I'm always iffy with songfics, even ones that only using the song as a jumping-off point, as you seem to have. But the few times it's done well, it's done well, and you, obviously, are no exception. I still remember the ridiculous crackiness of 12fsw, but then I remember things like Silhouettes, and now this, and I remember that your talent is all-encompassing. And versatility is kind of rare in fanfic so I'm extremely glad that I've found you and can marvel at you with all of my (few) squeeing powers.

I don't know why, but I've always had a hard time believing in love, precisely, between Lucius and Narcissa. Love doesn't seem to be able to exist in that world. But that's just my bias, and my years thinking of how they come together and relate to each other, because you established this interpretation of them so beautifully. Painfully. But there's pain in beauty and beauty in pain (omg that's so emo -- omg and emo look startlingly alike if you don't look at the little swirly bit on the 'g'), and it's exquisite and pretty. Lucius is deftly characterized, and surprisingly kind and sweet for Narcissa; surprising only because it doesn't align with my view, but of course, the brilliance is that I believed it for the space of the fic. And that's all we can really do, you know? Make you believe in something, even something as seemingly odd as love in this world, in these circumstances, and what we can hope is that we'll keep thinking about it afterwards.

Which, considering who wrote this, I def will♥

Author's Response: Every now and then, I receive a review that I don't know how to respond to. So rather than ramble endlessly and try to use big words that I don't even know how to pronounce, I will present you with a poem.

Ahem.

The king said to his knave
I want a bowl of peas!
But if your name is Dave
I shan't allow you to sneeze.
That tutu in the window is on sale.

And by the mighty power of this poem, you are hereby convinced of the deep and infinite love between Narcissa and Lucius Malfoy, and any and all romantic escapades they may experience when going back in time and chilling with Marie Antoinette, having scones and looking around at the peasants like, "Sup, peasants. What are you gonna do? Nothing. You're peasants. Imma eat this sandwich while ya'lls starve."



 Report Review

Review #5, by ericajen Magic

31st July 2011:
SARAH. PHWOAR. God. You are so amazing. This is absolutely golden. I mean, I'm a Lucius/Narcissa sucker anyway, but you just completely win with this fic. I loved the mixture of first and second person and also the use of present tense, because it all just comes together to create a certain vibe that really adds to the story and makes all the more interesting.

You also managed very well to capture the sympathetic side of Lucius. A lot of times he is written as cold and essentially evil, and a lot of people never consider a side of Lucius which I have always believed/hoped is there. The one who loves his wife and his son and would do anything for the safety of his family. The one who just made some mistakes along the way because he is far from perfect, but still not a necessarily evil person. And proof of this sympathetic side came when I kind of wanted to kick Harry in the shin for capturing them and putting them in Azkaban. Heh. :P

This was truly beautiful, Sarah. I adored it.

Author's Response: I LOFF YOU BAWWW YOU SO AMAZIIINGG.

In my head, Lucius is basically evil, and his only redeeming quality is his genuine love for his wife and son. I see him as cold and unfeeling toward all others, but toward Narcissa he could relax from that, be more human. I feel like he really did love her, and despite being a cruel and evil Death Eater, their connection fascinates me. If Rowling goes on pottermore and says it was an arranged marriage, I will probably spit fire.

ANYWAY

Thank you so much for this beautiful review. I read it over and over. You are such a great friend. ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by the_edge_of_love Magic

1st July 2011:
This is amazing. One of the most wonderful pieces of writing I've read.
I wish I could leave you a long review but, honestly, after reading this story I'm left wordless. It's so true, raw and honest; an expected outcome after the war. In this story you portray perfectly the feelings of the deafeated side.
Well written; a great piece!

Author's Response: :O

This review absolutely made my day. Thank you so much. I'm very grateful that you took the time to read this one-shot and that you left such a kind review. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TenthWeasley Magic

29th May 2011:
Hello! Stopping by with the review for entering my challenge - thank you for doing so!

This was an absolutely beautiful piece - you have, as I've said, a way with language that I have never seen in any other author I've read on this sight. Your words are less words and more an art form, and you can do some amazing things with this medium. Reading your work always is calming, and soothing, and flowing.

You have well-captured both the essence of Azkaban, and the attitudes of Lucius and Narcissa, the hopeless prisoners. Your writing conveys their hopelessness, not just with words, but the atmosphere those words form. It's like a literal pall, settling over everything. And the way you included the quote - not at all something I could have come up with, but very fitting nonetheless.

Only one small thing I found -

After everything I dragged you through; after being spat upon by those we cursed and frightened and stepped on.

I think the semicolon there would do better as a dash, or even a comma. :)

Really, really excellent job! Thanks so much for entering this challenge. I cannot wait to give the results!

Author's Response: Thank you, Janechel. :)

I enjoyed writing for this challenge. I wrote exactly what I wanted to write (ten thousand years after starting it), and it felt fantastic to get it out of my system. It also ended my writer's block, and for that I am SO thankful.

Thank you for creating this lovely challenge and giving me third place and for the lovely, lovely review. You are fantastic.

:)


 Report Review

Review #8, by obiwancrazy Magic

28th May 2011:
WOW. That was so beautiful... I'm not even sure of the word for it, but it was amazingly written, it showed Lucius in a light I've never seen. Somehow I never thought about what could have happened to them after the Battle of Hogwarts; somehow I thought, sure, Harry will spare them, but then, what if? Oh my goodness. Brilliant. Your descriptions are flawless. It's a harsh picture, but you made it really poetic through his eyes and I absolutely loved reading it, even though it's tragic. Well done, 10/10 all the way.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading. At first, I didn't really stop to think much about what would happen to the remaining Death Eaters after the battle. But if you really think about all the stuff that Lucius did - the graveyard scene, the Ministry of Magic battle - everything, really, he was attacking CHILDREN. He stood by while Bellatrix tortured Hermione - he allowed children and adults alike to be kept prisoner in the basement of his own house, right underneath Voldemort himself. So upon inspection of the situation, I'm thinking that it doesn't matter that Narcissa didn't sell out Harry in the end. They both did so many bad things for so many years that they were just bound to be chucked into Azkaban with life sentences. I didn't make them life sentences in this story, but that would be my guess.

Sorry for the ramble.

:D

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by academica Magic

27th May 2011:
Wow, this is truly gorgeous. Incredibly well-written and poignant. You have a gift!

Author's Response: Thank you! You're such a kind reviewer. I think I would really like to make you some pie or something.

:)


 Report Review

Review #10, by rhains Magic

23rd May 2011:
AMAZING! WRITE MORE, MADE MY FRIEND (A HUGE! LUCIUS AND NARCISSA FAN) CRY! WRITE MORE. PLEASE!

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! Actually, I am writing a novel about Narcissa/Lucius with a fairy tale spin. It's on my author page and it's called Purgatory. There are only three chapters so far, but it's going to end at probably around forty or fifty chapters. You might want to give it a look. ;) Thanks for reading!!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login