Reading Reviews for How Soon Is Now?
  
102 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie Is This It?

24th April 2012:
Oh, I really like this story so far! I don't think it's boring at all. Maybe there's not much going on in the story yet, but I find Lucy's character interesting and don't think that there's any problem with introducing her in the first chapter before jumping into an exciting plot.

I feel like people often don't write about Percy's kids, or when they do, they write them as being kind of pompous and very similar to their father. I always like to see different interpretations of who Molly and Lucy are than that mold, and this is very promising so far. Lucy seems like a fun, relatable character, and I like Mark as well. Very promising start.

Also, all of your titles are from the Smiths songs. Which makes this doubly cool.

Author's Response: Thanks for this! I havnt logged on in ages!

I'm glad you liked the outset, and if you read on, i hope you like the rest!

Delighted you've both taken an interest in Percy's kids and the Smiths :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Is This It?

8th April 2012:
I'm going to be truthful and say I thought the first chapter was a little boring but then I realized it's because Lucy doesn't have much of a life and then I realized...my life is pretty much like Lucy's.

Woe is me.

But I actually enjoyed the chapter because Lucy is normal. It's refreshing compared to the characters I write who are so abnormal, sometimes I wonder about them.

I'm just trying to figure out how Lucy is going to get more of a life? Will she get a new job? Maybe a date or two? Or will she still be Lucy but not as...self-loathing? I don't know if that's the exact word that I want to use but it explains a bit on how I think she thinks about herself.

Nice chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry I haven't been around in a long. Hehe yeah it is a little boring, but it does get less so! But yeah, thats her life, and mine i suppose, so dont worry :L

Abnormal is cool!

Hehe hope you read more and enjoy! let me know what you think if you do read on!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Estelle Black Shoplifters of the World, Unite

4th February 2012:
Hey well this is my last Review, but you can re-request if you want.
Well this is an interesting chapter, Will sounds very intriguing, maybe a bad boy... hmmm... very interested.
AW poor Lucy she sounded like she was in pain when Vic was doing her make up- but it made me smile none the less.
All in all very nice chapter thank you for requesting :D
Estelle

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for this, I'll be back to rerequest when you have time, planning a full edit at some point!

I'm glad you liked the chapter and it made you smile :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Estelle Black Half A Person

4th February 2012:
Heya i'm back i know it's been ages and I'm really sorry.
Well i liked this chapter :D
it was very well done
I'd like to see what happens with this whole getting Lucy a new Life :D
Wonder what will happen with Mark and her hm
Anyways onto the next chapter
Estelle

Author's Response: Thanks for this!

I'm glad you like and you're interested :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by makemeover Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

15th January 2012:
I really liked this story. I'm happy that Lucy finally figured out who she REALLY is. When her life was "boring," she didn't need to change it to be happy, she just had to realize that that is who she is and everything else just fell into place!

I'm also happy that nothing really happened between her and Will. Not that losing your virginity that way is ever a spectacular thing, but it would be such a pity for her to stay pure for 19 years just to sleep with a random d-bag. I do like to think that when she does lose her virginity, it's in a very sweet way after she's been dating Mark for some time...but that's just my hopes :)

This story was a pleasure to read. I think tomorrow when I wake up, I'll start the next story you wrote about the next generation! I'm so eager to find out what happens with everyone.

Author's Response: YAY! So glad you liked it. Thanks for your reviews!

I think I just wanted her to choose what she was comfortable herself!

I hope you like it! I wish the Lucy chapter was up for you, because its like an epilogue to this story. Hopefully I'll be able to write that one soon!

THanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by makemeover William, It Was Really Nothing

14th January 2012:
I loooved the sleepover in this chapter! I like how they bickered and complimented each other and picked on each other the whole time. That's such a natural thing for family members to do, especially multiple girls all in one place.

I also definitely want to know more about Will! He seems so arrogant, but he's one of those guys that's so damn good looking that he knows he can get away with it.

The only part that I questioned for a second was when Lucy said to him, "Do you not know who I am?" This seems like something that a very shy girl wouldn't say. But then again, she was feigning confidence in this part, so maybe she would say that.

Another good chapter, well done!

Author's Response: Hehe glad you liked this! I don't have a big family but I hoped it would be like this!


Yeah, thats pretty weird for a shy girl to say. I think its partly pretending to be confident, but mostly real shock - she is a Weasley after all!


 Report Review

Review #7, by makemeover Sheila Take a Bow

14th January 2012:
I love this chapter, it made me chuckle quite a few times :)

The drinks you came up with were genius. I like that you're taking into consideration that young adults do indeed like to hang out with friends and drink. Not that EVERY story has to be like that, but I haven't read many where the characters actually get drunk and whether you like it or not, that does happen in real life!

I think this chapter has made it take on a sort of.hybrid Mean Girls and Perks of Being a Wallflower vibe. It's like...they're the cool kids and they have rules, and they're inducting this naive character who has previously only lead a simple life and is anxious to fit in.

I definitely like it, and can't wait to read on! I'm most excited about deeper descriptions of Will...he seems like that dark, mysterious character that everyone secretly loves.

Author's Response: Hi!

Glad you liked this! I'm glad you like the drink names, I came up with them when I myself was out one night!

I liked showing this side, especially people like Victoire who are sensible about it! Haha I love Mean Girls, it probably came into play here too!

Will is uber mysterious!

THanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by makemeover Is This It?

12th January 2012:
I like this! I don't think the writing is boring at all, but I can definitely see why Lucy's life would be considered boring.

I like stories where the main character is completely normal. Usually, when main characters are outsiders, they're so completely different that they have overly unique or awesome traits. They go along oblivious to society in their own world of awesomeness until someone comes along who thinks they're the bees knees and sweeps them off their feet.

I like that Lucy is just normal though. Even if Mark does think she's the bees knees, she still just normal and I like that.

Author's Response: Hi!


I'm so glad you reviewed. That is EXACTLY what I was going for! Hope you like the rest of the story if you keep reading :)


Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Estelle Black Is This It?

7th December 2011:
Hi Estelle here with you're review...
so far this story sounds good, i like you're writing style. very good alright onto the next chapter
Estelle

Author's Response: Thanks for this, I hope you like the other chapters if you get to them!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Illuminate Shoplifters of the World, Unite

5th November 2011:
Hi! Here for your long-overdue re-request!

I really liked this chapter. It was a little filler, other than meeting Will (who will surely have an expanded role in the series). Will seems like an intriguing character, and you make me want to know everything about him. I like your last sentence too, suggests that Lucy had a heck of a night!

Anyway, overall, I really enjoyed this chapter and feel free to re-request again! :)

Author's Response: THanks for this - it is a little filler, at least now, but i hope it will become more exciting for you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by magnolia_magic Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

27th October 2011:
I almost can't believe this is the last chapter of the story. I have so enjoyed watching Lucy get a life, and I think this chapter is the perfect end to her story.

I just love the whole concept behind this chapter. You didn't make everything magically perfect for Lucy in the aftermath, but the mood is still hopeful and optimistic. I love her thoughts about her life at this point--her gratitude for the second chance, and her willingness to work hard and make the best of it. My favorite line is, "I knew no sweeping gestures would right everything; only hard work paid off." I just think that's a great point, and it really shows maturity on Lucy's part.

I also love the way Lucy's family acts around her: I think it's all very realistic. Even though her meltdown is still kind of an elephant in the room sometimes, they seem to appreciate the fact that she's turning over a new leaf.

And Mark is still his wonderful, adorable self! I have always thought he was such a sweetheart, and I was so glad to see him and Lucy start to reconcile. That part was a really nice touch :)

Also, I love the point you make at the beginning about how much pressure the next generation must be under. Their parents grew up under such extreme circumstances, and were forced to have it all together at a young age. I could see them expecting the same from their children, even if those expectations are kind of unreasonable. I had never really thought about that before, but it just really rings true to me.

I'm sorry not to have anything constructive to tell you, but there really isn't a thing I would change about this chapter. It's such a fitting way to end Lucy's story, and I just had to gush about it! It has been such a pleasure reading this story...thanks so much for requesting it! Feel free to request for other things if you want to; I would love to review some more of your work! Fantastic job :D

--Maggie

Author's Response: Thanks so much maggie!

I hoped the "true", hardworking, daughter of percy lucy would shine through here - but with a bit of spunk her dad never had!

I was so glad she found Mark again, even if I am the writer! And the family were important - Weasleys are stronger than a rough patch :D

Also really happy you picked up on that point about the parents - its the reasoning behind "All You Need is Love" and I thought it needed a mention here, it fits Lucy as well as any of them!

Thanks so much, will do! x


 Report Review

Review #12, by leannemariesnape Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

25th October 2011:
*Squishes* Perfect ending! At least for me!

I love how she sorted things out for herself, and I love that she is going to uni... conveniently the same uni as Mark... :D
I loved their awkward reunion, and the kiss at the end was super cute! I feel oddly proud of her for doing the right thing, when she isn't even my own character.

I like how the family try to skate over the problems in the last year, I think it shows just how close a family they really are. Whilst they bicker and argue, they do look out for one another. :D

As a whole I absoloutely loved the story, and what you did with it. It's definately a story to be proud of... Congratulations! ^_^

Leanne :) x

Author's Response: Ah! Leanne thank you sooo much, I'm so happy you liked it!

hehe that was "convenient" alright! I meant to hint she had applied to the one he had told her about, but didn't think for a second he'd be there! :L

EEE! Thanks so much, and thanks again for reading x


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheGoldenKneazle Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

24th October 2011:
Hello!

AAAH... I can't believe it's all over! This ending you wrote for Lucy was perfect in so many ways and I love it! You showed exactly how she came full circle round to the beginning - I loved how you made her come to the barrier to greet the young ones too, because it illustrated it so perfectly.

I love how you put the last piece of the Will-puzzle in place too, because it finally illustrated who Lucy is at heart; like she said, she picked herself back up at the lowest point. It really made us see how she has been cheapening herself and is now more mature and better for it.

Also, the way Lucy was so mature about her Flourish & Blotts job, and also about being kicked out of the flat and saw it all as a better start was pretty inspiring. She was making herself see it in a better way, and being brave enough to accept the circumstances and move on. I loved that, being able to see the Gryffie side of her.

The way that you had Lucy comparing the newer Lucy to her old self worked well in demonstrating just how she wanted to move on, too. The parallels between her and Victoire, as Lucy is now the older cousin helping out a younger one, also helped bring her forwards, and you showed her refreshed attitude towards working so well!

The fact that Lucy then went to university was brilliant. It brought her back to time when she was more innocent and showed that her life wasn't ending with her like this, but as a much more prepared woman who knew she had lots to learn still.

Lastly... the question of Mark! I'm so glad they're going to uni together, and the meeting you had between them was clumsy yet romantic - much more lifelike than a romantic rooftop scene somewhere yet still feeling special and like everything was starting for them. I'm so glad she chose Mark, you know how he's been my favourite right from the start

Author's Response: I just realised I never responded to this. at least here... I think I screamed at my computor and at you on the forums. I'm so grateful for everything - couldn't have done it without you :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by leannemariesnape Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me/ I Started Something I Couldn't Finish

22nd October 2011:
This is a good chapter. I really like the way the two scenes are blended together. The scenes with Will illustrate just how young she is, in my opinion. Will seems to bring out the worst in her. I feel so sorry for Mark! Poor guy! Why is it always the good guys who are forgotten about?! (lol, sorry for the mini rant!)

I also feel Kind of sorry for Lucy at the moment. She's lost her flat and her job, but at the same time, I feel like it was her own fault. (That makes me sound like a horrible person, lol). I just hope she straightens everything out, and all goes well for her in the end. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for this. I think this is the reaction I wanted people to have.

To be honest, when I was writing this, I was actually TRYING to feel sorry for Lucy - it is her fault, after all. But she is young, you're right, and she just can't handle what Will is offering, I think.

I'm so hapy you feel bad for Mark! He isn't perfect, but he's a nice guy and doesn't deserve all of this.

Don't apologise for the mini rant, and by all means tell me if you didn't like the chapter if thats the case :D I hope you like the next!

And thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8 Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

20th October 2011:
Hey there. I can't believe it's over either. It's been a wonderful journey and a wonderful story. This ending was beautiful and I'm glad it ended well for Lucy. She deserved it after all the terrible things that happened to her. She really is a great girl.

I remember I said I hated Mark... Well, actually I kind of like him now. He seem so genuine and nice. It was great to see that. I really have enjoyed this amazing story, and I hope your future stories will be just as great. Thanks for sharing it with us, and I hope you will have many great stories in the future. 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for reviewing! And thank you for being so sympathetic!

I was sorry you didn't like Mark - even though I always loved him it was neccessary to show him as LUCY saw him, and she did'nt like him ALL the time :)


Thanks again, I'm so happy you liked the story!


 Report Review

Review #16, by magnolia_magic Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me/ I Started Something I Couldn't Finish

19th October 2011:
I'm finally here! I'm sorry to be so incredibly slow, but life has been crazy lately :/

One of the things I have always loved about this story is how relatable Lucy is. She reminds me of myself and every person I know, basically: sometimes she makes the right call, and sometimes she really doesn't. She's got vices, but she also has so much potential, and I'm glad to see her being determined to reach that potential in this chapter :)

This chapter is so refreshing after the last two, when I was so mad at Lucy. I think it came at a perfect time in the story, and it is well-written as always. I only saw one technical issue: towards the beginning, there is a flashback that I think should be italicized. It would make that part flow a lot better.

I loved reading this chapter! I was so glad to see Lucy showing some accountability for her actions. And I especially loved the end. Even though she's lost everything she had at the beginning of the story, it makes her want to start over and learn from her mistakes. Great stuff!

--Maggie

Author's Response: Thanks maggie!

I'm so glad you still like Lucy - eve though she was being so annoying! sorry about that flashback!


hopefully you'll like the next chapter, its up now!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Bellatrixlestrange123 Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

19th October 2011:
Ahh! i'm so sorry i've been away for so long, but last year of school and coursework and life has just been getting in the way :(

Anyway, I have to admit i've been reading your story as much as i could, im upto chapter 9 right now, but i though i'd review this because i've never reviewed the last chapter of anything before and i thought i'd praise you on how well you ended it :)

I could literally feel everything that Lucy was feeling, and that's the sign of a great writer! I know i always pester you about discription and let me just say you've perfected on it greatly!

I've got absoloutly nothing negative to say about this chapter, so ill go ahead and review any previous chapters for you if you want? I'm sorry this is so short but im like running through my review thread at the momment :(

Congrats on finishing the story! Good Luck, bella xx

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for this! I'm sorry this was confusing for you!

That's such a lovely thing to say! thank you for reminding me about descrfiption, I hope I did a good enough job!


Thank you again for all the support, review or don't review what you like xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyL8 Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me/ I Started Something I Couldn't Finish

18th October 2011:
Hey again.

Poor poor Lucy. She has really gotten herself into a lot of trouble hasn't she. It must be hard. She kind of remind me of a sister of mine. She was also a party girl, and eventually lost her job. Things got better, though. I'm sure they will get better for Lucy too. I really hope so. I look forward to your next chapter, and please tell me when you have uploaded another chapter (if you have the time of course). You know I will be there reading and reviewing :D

Author's Response: hi!


she really has. im glad your sister is better and i assure you lucy will be ok too. im glad you told me that actually, now i know lucy is realistic!

sorry it was another downer chapter! i will definately tell you when the next one is up :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyL8 This Charming Man

18th October 2011:
Hello :D

Firstly, don't worry. I don't hate you. I LOVE you! I really didn't like Lucy with Mark. I started hating him in the last chapter (well actually it's not hate... just dislike).

So this was a short chapter, but I really enjoyed it. You showed the aftermath of the party, and how Lucy dealed with it. I feel sorry for her. Poor girl. I still love her, though :D

Author's Response: Awww thank you!


So glad you liked this, but so sorry you dont like mark :( But not every character should be likeable i suppise!

Thanks so much. hopefully youll like whats to come!


 Report Review

Review #20, by LadyL8 Bigmouth Strikes Again

18th October 2011:
Hi again :D

This was so exciting. I just wanted to read the next one right away, but I had to review first.

I absolutely love Dominique, Molly, Victoire when they are with Lucy. They manage to make Lucy show a new side of herself... a feisty one :D It's interesting how they interact with each other. I just enjoy seeing it, and it always surprises me. Lucy is like this book that no-one can read. She just managed to surprise you all the time.

I also love Lucy at the end there. It was so funny, yet totally humiliating for her. She will probably be embarrassed over that in the next chapter. Anyway, I've gotta hurry over to the next chapter and review there. 10/10

Author's Response: hi!


so glad you liked this again. I really love vic, dom and molly! I was so happy to get them all together, and watch them spark off each other!

heehee she is embarrassed! thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyL8 Hand in Glove

18th October 2011:
Hello there. I'm back again. It's been too long, and I have to make sure to review on your three latest chapters.

This one was great. Your ability to write characterization so good really surprises me. How can you do that? I have so much problem with getting my characterization well, but you make it seem so very easy. How do you do that?

I have probably said this like a thousand times before, but I really love Lucy. She is just this totally sweet and bit weird... come to think of it, she's just like me. That's not why I like her, though. She is just so well-written and she manages to surprise you with something she do or say. It's just great.

Your description is as always very well. That's actually my second problem, and you make this one seem easy too. So unfair, really. How do you do that?

Okay, enough of my weird comments. It was a great chapter. It was nice to see this story again. God, I've missed it

Author's Response: Hi!


Thanks so much for this, I hope it didn't take you too long!

I'm really glad you like this, but you are too nice! So glad you like the characters and everything.


So glad you mentioned description, I really tried to work on that in this story!

And im so glad you like lucy! she started to annoy me in later chapters, when she misbehaves, but i love her again now too :D

thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Phoenix_Flames Shoplifters of the World, Unite

17th October 2011:
Hello there! I'm finally here with your review for the next chapter as requested. Please forgive me for the incredibly long wait. I had all of my mid-terms last week, so I was cramming. But I'm finally here now! :)

A great third chapter! Your story is really coming along, and I'm just becoming more and more enthralled by it and falling even more in love. It's fantastic. Again, I can't stress enough how much I love that Lucy is your main girl. She is just so rarely taken up, so it's lovely to see how authors portray her, and you have a great characterization of her. :)

Theres a great balance in this story between the plot and the ridiculous seriousness that is Victoire and the humor. You have a great mix. Its awful that Lucy is having to go to such extremes, but we know how cruel the girl world can be, and so it's good that she is getting help. I do see Victoire being the perfect helping hand in this situation, and you portray that perfectly. We can definitely see how irritated and annoyed Lucy is with it all, and there's a great balance with the true seriousness of everything and the humor.

The humor you put in is at just the right time to make everything perfect and laughable in a situation when I would be otherwise thoroughly irritated myself. I believe 'feeling good' is feeling good and feeling good to me is not in a pair of five inch heels. Haha :) But you turned that situation around with Victoire's jokes and comments. The "Looked awesome in a killer pair of heels" was great. Not only did it keep me from feeling too opinionated, but it lightened the mood and definitely made me laugh. You have a talent for keeping the plot going with your humor and it makes it all the more enjoyable.

These little things really show your talent as a writer. I love allvthe little details. That's what sets it apart. So well done. :)

Great progress with the plot! You have a really wonderful story coming along, and your characters are developing perfectly. Victoire in this is just the perfect version. I can't see her NOT knowing fashion forwards and back. And Lucy. She's great. There have been multiple times in this when I just think she really is her father's daughter!

Great update! Perfect flow that keeps the reader entertained and you move the plot along perfectly! Absolutely brilliant job. :)

I will try to be back for the next soon. :)

Drue

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

Hopefully you'll like the next chapters :D


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheGoldenKneazle Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me/ I Started Something I Couldn't Finish

15th October 2011:
Hello, it's meee :)

I think that this chapter was a perfect follow-on to your last one... and it made me so sad. With Lucy losing her job and getting kicked out by Vic, and those brilliant flashbacks to hers and Will's evening, it showed us exactly how Lucy had managed to make the worst out of her life.

The fact that she went around telling everyone that she didn't need their criticism just showed us how much she needed to take in what they were saying; she really hit a low and couldn't pick herself up out of that. The meeting with Mark was a perfect way for you to show how wrong she had been and that she had lost the original exciting, good thing in her life at the start.

Also, the Mark contrast to the Will flashbacks worked really well in showing how Will just wasn't the one for her. Where Mark had always tried to help her, Will had only distracted her from the mess she was in the middle of, and the way they threw food around the flat was a great metaphor for that.

I think Victoire's words to Lucy were so true too - she hadn't tried anything except alcohol to make her life more interesting. And poor Dom! I can't wait til Lucy makes it up to them... argh, they totally didn't deserve it, and she needs to just stop feeling so sorry for herself.

However, I think your ending was great, because the awful circling-the-drain stuff was tiring... your ending was a light in the tunnel, and nobody can *not* read the end chapter now! I think the fact you came back to her being a Gryffindor, seeing what was in her heart etc, was perfect for Lucy pulling herself out of this destructive cycle.

But I am so excited for the last chapter! I really want to see how she does it, and what happens with who at the end :D Also thank you so much for your lovely comment, it was so sweet and it really made my day; I love reading your story so much :D
~TGK

Author's Response: hey!


thank you so much! I know the last few chapters have been tiring, so im glad you liked how i wrapped it up. Thankfully, itll only get better from here!


thanks so much for everything, you always get exactly what I want to stay, and motivate me to write more!

Hope you like how it all ends :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by magnolia_magic This Charming Man

4th October 2011:
Oh Lucy...you're killing me :/

I'm just astounded at how much Lucy has changed from the beginning of this story. I can definitely see where she's coming from at the beginning of this chapter, when she doesn't really recognize herself. Because those have been my exact thoughts after reading the last couple chapters--Lucy just seems like a totally different person. But even though I'm pretty upset with her right now, I still love the way you're characterizing her. I mean, she's led a pretty blah life up to this point, so I could see how it would be easy for her to get caught up in the drinking and parties and stuff. Very realistic, I thought. But having said that, I hope she finds her way back soon. I'm not sure how much more of this Lucy I can take :)

Side note: I loved Percy in this chapter! He was cracking me up! I just pictured him yelling, "Excrement!" and literally LOL'd. He made for great comic relief in an otherwise heavy chapter :)

Awesome job, once again! I can't wait to see how this one ends :)

--Maggie

Author's Response: Hi Maggie!

Great to hear from you again. You think Lucy is killing you? Think of how I feel! Haha just joking, but it did feel when writing that chapter that I was in a fight with her.

Lucy is totally different, but as she kind of hints here, shes at a poin of no return. Does she go forward, or go back? OR, is there another, new place for her? Thats actually what the next chapter is about (its in the queue - "Last Night I Dreamt that Somebody Loved Me/I Started Something I Couldn't Finish).

The next chapter is heavy, im so sorry - but its just so all the heavy stuff is out of the way for the last chapter!

I loved writing Percy too! I was worried I wouldn't get him right. So then I just gave up and made him a funny character :L

Thanks so much, and I hope you like the end! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Mihali1432 Shoplifters of the World, Unite

3rd October 2011:
Ok, I'm reading this so I can review the last 3 chapters because you said you mainly wanted the later chapters reviewed but the end of this chapter made me laugh, just wanted you to know!

Author's Response: Haha thank you! Hope you like the rest :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>