Reading Reviews for Generation to Generation
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Beeezie Generation to Generation

17th July 2013:
I don't think I've ever read a story about James getting the invisibility cloak before, even though most next-gen fics depict him as having it. This was a nice take on it, and I really like that you didn't have Harry give it to James for his first year (and that Ginny was the voice of reason). That's definitely much more realistic, especially given what James immediately does with it!

Nice job!

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by starryskies55 Generation to Generation

11th September 2012:
Oh, James! *pats head*

This was fantastic, I loved every line. James himself was comedic gold- the reactions and actions of a twelve year old are just amazing, and you've written him incredibly well.

The bit about James not having to grow up as fast as Harry did really rang true, and that was pretty sad in such an otherwise light-hearted fic. But I really liked seeing that in there, it gave it a better sense of perspective on the Trio's "idyllic lives".

All the small details are what makes this fic brilliant- from Artie having a little drink to James' room- all the description added so much- I could imagine myself there quite clearly.

I really enjoyed this piece, and the ending was superb- I love how Ginny flips out and then Harry has to put his foot down! Fantastic :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review, Jenny! I loved writing this story for the reasons you mentioned there. And next-gen James has got so much potential in my opinion. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Your Ravenclaw Secret Santa Generation to Generation

2nd January 2012:
What a cute glimpse into Harry's mind before the epilogue! I think you captured Harry very well, although maybe a tad more sentimental then I picture him, although it is a pretty special gift...
Your James is adorable! Such a little troublemaker! I also thought Ginny's reactions to each of the events was completely in character. Overall awesome job on characterisation, totally believable characters!
The idea was an interesting one, we always hear that Harry gives his cloak to one of his sons, but never get to see the thought process behind the decision, so in my opinion a very original plot idea!
One last thing, the amount of detail is beautiful! Love how you describe James' room and Harry's memories of the cloak, the amount of depth makes the story that much better!

Keep it up!

Secret Santa

Author's Response: I had quite a bit of trouble writing both Harry and Ginny as I had not really written them before. "Totally believable character"? Really, thank you! :D And original plot idea - what a great compliment. I can see James being very mischievous as a child and I wanted that to come across. I had great fun writing him. :)

Thank you so much for a wonderful review! *hugs*

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #4, by Harrypotterbookworm Generation to Generation

16th December 2011:
HAHA! This story made me laugh. I love how you showed Ginny and Harry's relationship, both with the conversation that they had about the invisibility cloak and the one over the top of James's head. You really get the essence of their relationship, making them seem like parents. In a lot of stories, people don't get that, but you capture it perfectly!

This also gives a nice insight into what Potter family life is like. Very realistic, well done! I would have liked maybe a little more insight into what Harry was feeling about passing on the cloak, especially around the conversation he and James have.

Overall though, really fluffy and cute read. :D

Author's Response: Thank you, Nikki! :D I'm just glad Ginny and Harry's personalities came across alright in the story as that was initially a worry of mine. Thanks for the crit too, I'll try and develop that side a little more when I edit. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #5, by megaaan  Generation to Generation

6th November 2011:
Hi, it's innocence from the forums - here with your 5,000 mark review!

First of all, well done! I really enjoyed this - I've never thought about Harry handing down the invisibility cloak before, but thinking about it now, it must have happened, and I think this a lovely way of depicting exactly how it happened.

I only have a tiny criticism with it; the grammar was sometimes not perfect, and the flow was a bit jolted at times. However, I absolutely loved the plot line, and the characterisation of Harry, Ginny and James. I would have loved to see how he showed it to his brother and sister too - that would have definitely been interesting!

I love how, in the flashback especially, although it's true throughout the chapter - Ginny is so much like Molly! Especially when she first doesn't appear to be listening; it just reminded me of her mother so much - and I think that's a really lovely way of doing it.

I also think it was great that they didn't give it to him in his first year, and how he cheekily crept up on his mother - I can see that happening, and it made me laugh! I can just imagine how James will use it when he gets to school.

Lovely one-shot - well done!

Megan xo

Author's Response: Thank you for your helpful review! :) And for the critique about the grammar. I shall look at that again and try to fix it.
Thank you!

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #6, by ohtasha Generation to Generation

3rd November 2011:
Awh, this was an endearing chapter. I so often read stories about James when he's older that I tend to forget he was 11 once and didn't spend all his time in broom closets with girls :3

-Tasha

Author's Response: Lol! James is a lovely, but mischievous child, and a pleasure to write about. Thanks for reviewing! :D

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle Generation to Generation

1st October 2011:
Hey Sophia!

Aww, this was such a sweet one shot! :) I think it's written really well and was definitely a really enjoyable read! This is sort of like a missing moment, even though it's not in the books, it's definitely something that would have happened, I believe. I really liked the whole plot and how you wrote it - really enjoyed the flashback and Harry's conversation with Ginny!

I loved how James just went and did a prank straightaway, typical James! What I really liked most of all was your characterisation. I really think you got Ginny and Harry so spot on! All the dialogue and everything, was really wonderful!

A really lovely story! (:
- charlotte

Author's Response: Most people seem to think I wrote Ginny and Harry well, which I'm really pleased about because I was so uncertain about them.

You're so nice about my stories, I don't know what to say! Thanks for all your lovely reviews; you've made me feel better about them. :) Now I need to write something else for you to review ;)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #8, by momotwins Generation to Generation

13th August 2011:
This is one of those hidden moments in canon that you just know had to happen - even though Harry would undoubtedly find the cloak useful as an Auror, I can just see him handing it off to his sons (while pretending they stole it if his wife asks, I've always thought). I'm glad you adopted this plot bunny so I could read your take on it! ;) I really like the way you wrote Harry's internal monologue here, his self-examination. The story flows well, doesn't rush, and the characterizations are well-done. I like the memory scene, short as it was, with Harry and Ginny having a real adult conversation, where each takes the other's feelings into account - so often writers on the archive don't seem to grasp that sort of thing. How parents talk to each other when they have a solid relationship - I think you really nailed Harry and Ginny's back-and-forth. Great job with that. But then, of course, Ginny is also a mom - and like her own mother, she shouts when she's angry. I like the way you wrote James too, he's a kid - and clearly has that Marauder gene - but not over-the-top or an exact replica of his namesake. Love this little one-shot, it's very cute!

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thank you for that lovely review, WTM! I'm glad you enjoyed it, especially Harry & Ginny's conversation - I was concerned it didn't sound like them at all. I love James II. He's got a lot of potential as a character and I think I'll be writing more about him in future. :)

Thank you!

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #9, by forsakenphoenix Generation to Generation

8th August 2011:
Oh, this was simply wonderful. A nice, heartwarming family story. I don't think I've ever seen a one-shot about this before so I like how you write the story of Harry passing down the cloak. I really thought you wrote Harry spot-on, especially his reluctance to pass on something that once belonged to his father. James was wonderful too, sneaking up on his mum like that and how excited he was to show off the cloak. I like that they waited until he was a little bit older, it shows they're good parents who understand their children and that something this big should probably wait until they're a bit more mature. I really pictured Ginny much like Molly but with a bit more of a sense of humor. What a cute, little one-shot. Nicely done. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it. :) I found Harry quite difficult to write in this story, mostly because he had some conflicting emotions about giving the cloak to James. Thanks for your feedback. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jazzeh Turnip Generation to Generation

4th August 2011:
You've really captured Harry here. His reluctance to let go of something as precious to him as the cloak is really realistic, as we've seen in the books how attached he gets to objects and people.

The short sentence where you just say "He had a proper family now" is brilliant. A big paragraph full of long sentences then the most important thing is just in this tiny sentence. You genius ;)

Oooh, I like how he hasn't given James the cloak first year, as he was given it. I always thought that was a little silly of Dumbledore anyway, giving such a little kid something so... BIG like the invisibility cloak. I suppose Harry did seem fairly grown up though, huh?

I think it's a little weird how Harry just told James about giving him the cloak all in one, but at the same time it has the same kind of simplicity that JKR uses in her writing, so you can put your own action and emotion into it.

Hahahahaha! James the troublemaker ^_^ Hahahaha. Your Ginny reminds me a lot of Molly, but I really like that. She was really fiery in the books, just like Molly, and I can really see her turning out to be the same kind of mother as HER mother was.

Sophia, my love, this is brilliantly simple. I've never read a fic on this story line :D I saw no errors with spelling or grammar, so you're all cool on that 'n' junk. Weel dooone! :)

Author's Response: I love this review, Lorren! You've picked up on the parts I was happy with AND the parts I wasn't sure about. ^_^

Harry is a character I've struggled with in the past, but I'm glad you think I wrote his character alright. :) James definitely is a troublemaker and one I hope to write more about in the future. :)

Thank you! :D

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #11, by LittleRose13 Generation to Generation

28th July 2011:
Loved it! That's exactly what I imagine James would have done after receiving the cloak :L

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by schoenemaedchen Generation to Generation

16th July 2011:
Hello there! This is your Hallowed Party review.

I must say, I really enjoyed this story in its simplistic wonderfulness.

It was a simple but genuine idea and one of those heart warming stories that I think must happen at some point in every family in one way or another.

I don't think there are enough stories like this out there in the fan fiction world, and I think its time to really start getting into the little moments, such as this, that are missed.

For me, it is a story like this that really keeps the world and heart of Harry Potter alive--and what has made the so-called "end" of the movies/series not really seem like an end at all.

A clawesome story!

-Katie

Author's Response: Apologies for not replying sooner! Thank you for reviewing! That's such a lovely review - I just did a happy dance! ;)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #13, by justonemorefic Generation to Generation

16th July 2011:
Awwwh that was so cute! Ickle little James. Oh Merlin, I can't see anything but trouble coming from him getting the invisibility cloak xD I am imagining and ... nope... nope! Nothing good can come out of it. But then adventure comes with it too! ;D And that's always good.

Teehee, I can totally see Ginny being all, Harry, No, *stern glare* And when she dropped the dishes! Oh James, if only you could have hid yourself then xD GO SAVE THE WORLD WITH IT, JAMES!

Very charming ^__^

Author's Response: Haha, yes, James will certainly be up to mischief with the cloak ;) I think I'll have to write more about him soon. Thank you for reviewing, and apologies for taking so long to reply back.

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #14, by HarrietHopkirk Generation to Generation

9th May 2011:
Eee... another one-shot! And a lovely one it is too. I love all these little moments from the Next Generation as well as post Hogwarts Harry. Something about him getting older and maturing is so wonderful, and you have portrayed him so perfectly here! *Gahh... squees with cuteness*

Watch out: at the beginning, there was a little overuse of short, snappy sentences that seemed to disrupt the flow ('One third of the Deathly Hallows. Harry brushed that last thought from his mind. Today was a special occasion.') I would try and edit that so flows a little better! :)

I love James - he's just like his dad with elements of all the Weasleys thrown in. He works like that.

I liked the flashback... it wasn't too intrusive and worked well within the story. Not quite sure why 'the Motherís' was capatilised. I kept thinking of the Mothership or something equally fantastical! :P

'He loved to see his children happy.' *Melts*

Aaah, what a lovely ending to such a beautifully written story... Really well done! AND GO BRONZE!

Author's Response: I'm pleased you take the time to reiew my one-shots. Thank you! ^.^

I had a lot of trouble writing adult Harry, so I'm glad you think I did it well. :)

Thanks for pointing that out. Now that I read it over, I can see how disrupting it is. I'll try to make that flow a little better. And I'll probably change 'the Mother's' part too. :)

To me, James is a mini-Harry with a lot of George, Fred and Ginny thrown in! :P

Thanks you for reviewing! ^^

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #15, by Trundlebug Generation to Generation

8th May 2011:
Good stuff from you, as always.

Harry's the same old Harry, just a little more mature (I think most of us guys never grow up completely). Little James is so much like Harry, with a healthy dose of Fred & George, of course. Very likable story about the passing down of a family artifact--bit better than a pocketwatch too!

I only so one error in the writing that I thought I'd tell you about (I like people to tell me). Its in the last sentence of the
first paragraph in italics, the verb is mis-conjugated. Barely worth mentioning.

I liked it a lot, and enjoy all of your fanfiction that I have so far read. Keep on entertaining us!

Author's Response: Thanks Trundlebug! :)

I had trouble writing adult Harry, but I loved writing James. I see him as a loud kid but with a lot of Fred, George & Ginny in him. :)

Thanks for mentioning that. I always want people to tell me about my mistakes too, so I'm really glad you did.

I'll definitely be writing more when exams are over. Keep reading! ;)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Beene Generation to Generation

7th May 2011:
Oh this was a good, quick and fun read. Harry, I have a feeling, will enjoy hearing how the cloak is used; after all, he didn't get to have fun with it like his father did. James, I have a feeling, will follow after his grandfather and use it for more, shall we say, interesting purposes.

Author's Response: You're right; James is going to have a lot more fun with the cloak than his father did. I hope to write a couple of one-shots at some point about the mischief he gets up to. ;)

Thanks for reviewing! :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #17, by Jenna822 Generation to Generation

7th May 2011:
Aww! This was so nice! My favorite line in the story was: "He had a proper family now." It was so sweet. :) This whole thing was cute and realistic. I love the way you showed James, he was very child-like, which a lot of writers struggle with. The whole thing was just one big "aww" moment! --Jenna

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it because after all, it is your plot bunny. :) I enjoyed writing it; it made me feel like a child again while I was writing James.

Thanks again, Jenna!

-Sophia x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login