Reading Reviews for The Chosen Boy
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by blackballet Desperation & Violation

12th August 2013:
This was so intriguing! I've never read a story featuring Neville in my long time here, so I'm excited to, My heart strings tore in half when he said, not even if you use the cruica-

I mean, that was truly heartbreaking.

Loved it so far!

 Report Review

Review #2, by madelgranger Remorse & Finality

2nd June 2011:
Cool idea with the Marauders' question spell! Haha and now I want to know whats at the ends of the other two paths. Nice little story thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: The other two paths...that one will be answered in future stories, I think.

I am very glad you enjoyed it and appreciate your reviews.

Ken


 Report Review

Review #3, by madelgranger Retaliation & Reacquaintance

2nd June 2011:
Aldwick was a nice touch. Also good job on the Snape interaction. Nice chapter thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: Aldwick is great. He will be appearing in my Cada Flynn story later on, and his appearance here was just a bit of a teaser.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #4, by madelgranger Melancholy & Enervation

2nd June 2011:
Ooh I like the idea of the Marauders having a secret hideout like that. I'm really curious what Sirius tore out of the book now. great job thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: Catching up on review responses.

The hideout was a must add. I spent a lot of time imagining what they did there and how the space reflected their group.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #5, by madelgranger Sympathy & Revulsion

2nd June 2011:
The burning man is a fantastic character! His & Sirius' interaction is priceless. Also I love that there's another secret passageway or something I can't wait to see what's in it. Great job thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: Sirius and the Burning man were so much fun to write.

I am glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate your review

Thanks

Ken


 Report Review

Review #6, by madelgranger Duplicity & Amalgamation

2nd June 2011:
Ah this is cool it's interesting to think of Sirius in Neville's shoes. I'm also super intrigued by the knife and the key now! great job thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate your review

Thanks

Ken


 Report Review

Review #7, by madelgranger Desperation & Violation

2nd June 2011:
wow this is really awesome! I haven't read a missing moment so early in the series for awhile and this is a really interesting take on Sirius getting into the common room. I like it! great job thanks for writing!
~mads

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate your review

Thanks

Ken


 Report Review

Review #8, by DemetersChild Remorse & Finality

31st May 2011:
What an amazing story. And a great ending at that.

I really enjoyed the emotions that this story was filled with, even if most of them were sad. I loved that James called after Sirius, begging him not to kill Peter. I'm glad that he did--it really fit his character. He wanted the best for Sirius and him becoming a murderer certainly wasn't the best.

This has to be my favorite line in the entire story: "The dead couldnít argue on their own, the only voices they had were the ones they left in the memories of others."

There's just so much truth to that. So much simple depth.

It was truly a lovely read!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: This story was just so important to me, and the Marauders are just like old friends so I had to get them right.

That line came out of the blue, but I was so happy with it.

I am so happy you enjoyed this brief little tale and I appreciate all of your reviews.

Ken


 Report Review

Review #9, by DemetersChild Retaliation & Reacquaintance

31st May 2011:
Ahh, of course Snape has to step in the way!

It's very believable the way you describe Snape's looks and actions. He is the bully now, taking out all his hatred on innocent students.

I loved the addition of the ghost child! That was actually quite pleasant even if I was confused for a moment. :)

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Snape and Aldwick were little touches I just had to make.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #10, by DemetersChild Melancholy & Enervation

31st May 2011:
How unique! I never thought of a wizard actually travelling into a painting. I love that they have their own little "club house"! All groups of friends should. And I'm glad that it is separate from the Shrieking Shack as I'm sure Remus wants to spend the least amount of time there as possible.

The paintings of all the boys were brilliant. The way you described their expressions--I love it. I felt so sad for Sirius when he had to tear himself away from these memories for fear of them tearing him apart. He has such a sad story.

On to the next chapter, then!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Those are such important things to me. I thought that the marauders were such an extraordinary lot and I wanted to demonstrate more of their accomplishments.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #11, by DemetersChild Sympathy & Revulsion

31st May 2011:
It just gets better and better with each chapter!

I loved your description of the painting and the way it made Sirius feel. It even gave me the heebie jeebies when he pointed out that the man was speaking with blistered tongue.

I see that the factor of time is messing with his temper a bit! I like that. It makes it very believable and definitely adds to the atmosphere of the whole story.

On to the next chapter, then! :D

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: The scene between him and the burning man was my favorite one to write out of the entire story. I just loved it, and felt really good about it.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #12, by DemetersChild Duplicity & Amalgamation

31st May 2011:
Oh, I'm so curious! What is the key for?

It's been such a long time since I read the third book, I'm trying to remember everything that happens, haha. Perhaps I should just read your story and it will all be explained. xD

Still loving it. I think Sirius played Neville brilliantly, playing off his nervousness and definitely thinking on his feet. Though I wish I could have seen more of the desperation in Sirius as time seemed to be a factor. I wonder if he might slip up.

Wonderful chapter!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: I do finally explain it later, but I doubt it answers every question. Sirius being Neville was great fun, and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #13, by DemetersChild Desperation & Violation

31st May 2011:
Ooh, what an interesting plot! The third book was by far my favorite before the latter three books were released. I just loved all the plot twists and the back story.

I really enjoyed the way you described things. I could hear Sirius's thoughts in his raspy voice, the bit of humour still left in them. I even chuckled a bit at the beginning when he was explaining why he couldn't laugh.

The similarities between Peter and Neville are definitely there, but I'm glad Sirius noticed the differences as well.

So far so good!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: I was happy to get this pairing for the contest, and found it to be the likeliest one for this particular story. I really love Neville, and I wanted to examine him some, from another character's perspective.

Thanks for the R&R

Ken


 Report Review

Review #14, by FredsSoleSister Remorse & Finality

26th May 2011:
Oooh...
What's going to happen now?!

Author's Response: Oh that's the end of this particular piece. As far as what happens to everyone after this, that would be the ending of HP book 3.

Now some of the details I created for Hogwarts just may end up in the larger story I am writing about a boy named Cada Flynn.

Thanks for reading my Sirius/Neville short story. I really hope you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #15, by magicmuggle01 Remorse & Finality

25th May 2011:
A wonderfully brilliant ending. So that is what he was after, a memory so that he could ask a question so that he could find out where Peter was hiding. I never saw that one coming. Another well earned 10/10.

Author's Response: I appreciate it! I mean I obviously couldn't do anything to alter canon, and I simply love the third book most of all.

Thanks for riding it out to the end.


 Report Review

Review #16, by FredsSoleSister Retaliation & Reacquaintance

23rd May 2011:
I really like this- especially the way you show Snape, it's exactly the way he is in the books.
: )

Author's Response: Oh I had to have a Snape scene! The dynamic between him and the marauders is too fun not to write!

 Report Review

Review #17, by justonemorefic Desperation & Violation

23rd May 2011:
OOOH. You're so good with canon. I haven't read the books in ages, so I'm terrible at it, but my, I love this. I love Neville. And I love Sirius too. He's got the reluctance, but he's obviously on a mission and he's not too nice at the point, and there's something about that type of characterization I really like. And Neville. Oh I always adore Nevilles. A true Gryffindor. I really liked this description in particular:

"thinking that if the worst did happen at least it would prevent a risk of history repeating itself at the hands of cowardly ineptitude. Soon though, he learned that this boy was nothing like the one he had once called friend. Neville was brave in his own way, and though he did seek friendship it was not of the sycophantic variety that Peter had always longed for. This was a good-hearted boy whose awkwardness came from a sadness that most of the other children here could never fathom. "

I love that Sirius compared him to Peter and then retracted it. I think it says a lot, the way you put it. And of course, I love his bravery at the end. So very very Gryffindor, Neville ♥

Lovely, as always! ^__^

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it and Ihoped someone would appreciate Sirius' double-take. The rest of the story is all up now and validated. I hope you'll read on and let me know what you think of the ending.

 Report Review

Review #18, by magicmuggle01 Retaliation & Reacquaintance

22nd May 2011:
Another great chapter. I thought for a moment that Snape was going to collar him on some trumped up thing. I wonder what climax you have planned for the final chapter? Another 10/10 and please don't leave me in suspense for to long.

Author's Response: Yeah it was a close one that almost went a completely different way :)

Final chapter is in the queue and should hopefully be up soon. Thanks for sticking around, I hope you like the end when it gets here.


 Report Review

Review #19, by NaidatheRavenclaw Desperation & Violation

20th May 2011:
Okay, an interesting premise, but I'm a bit confused.

I really your characterization of Sirius. I think it was pretty close to perfect and I loved the way he reacted when Neville mentioned the cruciactus curse. In the same regard, I like how Neville wasn't as strong as Harry might have been, but he was still brave and stood up for himself.

I think the chapter moved a bit fast for me. I didn't really have a time to understand what was your basic premise for the story before the plot events started. And while I do enjoy action at the beginning of the story, the way this was written just threw me a little. Maybe briefly explain Sirius's plan first? I think you can still be cryptic and mysterious and give me a tad more information. Feel free to ignore that too, though, if you want.

Overall, I think it was an intersting start to what seems to be an intersting story. Great job!

Author's Response: I am glad you enjoyed it, and I appreciate your review

Thanks

Ken


 Report Review

Review #20, by magicmuggle01 Melancholy & Enervation

19th May 2011:
Aaaah your driving me insane with this story. Your a terrible tease. Another 10/10, and please update soon before I pull out all my hair out with frustration.

Author's Response: Hate to drive anyone crazy. But I do hope your enjoying it an equal amount to what you are being annoyed.

 Report Review

Review #21, by FredsSoleSister Sympathy & Revulsion

17th May 2011:
Oooh! What's he going to do now?!

Author's Response: It won't be long until you know everything. Chapter 4 is up now, 5 is in the queue and only six remains to be uploaded.

Thanks for sticking around.


 Report Review

Review #22, by magicmuggle01 Sympathy & Revulsion

16th May 2011:
Another good chapter. I see that things are now starting to hot up. Just what is the boy/man after? Another 10/10 and please update very soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

4 is in the queue and we're awaiting validation. Can't wait to see what you think about the end of this (which is in Chapter 6).


 Report Review

Review #23, by LoopyLemon Duplicity & Amalgamation

16th May 2011:
This is really good. I like how you have worked this piece into JKR's work so that it is completly believable. I feel Sirius is maybe a little bit too up beat for this story as he has just come out of Azkaban and you could do well by spending a little bit more time describing things. But other than that this is really well written!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'll keep it in mind.

 Report Review

Review #24, by FredsSoleSister Duplicity & Amalgamation

14th May 2011:
That's really good!!!
Next chapter soon please!

Author's Response: Its in the queue and hopefully up soon.

Thanks for the review, so glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #25, by magicmuggle01 Duplicity & Amalgamation

13th May 2011:
Again another good chapter. You have me curious as to what Sirius/Neville has come to retrieve. Another 10/10 and please update soon. Adding you to favourites.

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy the next chapter, which is in the queue. There are 6 total chapters that make this story and they are all written, but just await validation.

I hope to have them up real quick, if the process allows. Thanks again for your kind reviews.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>