Reading Reviews for Friend Me, on MyFace
  
35 Reviews Found

Review #1, by watchoutfornargles The Battle is Waged

7th April 2012:
This was so fluffy and happy! :) I was waiting for Draco to appear and snatch Hermione away, but it didn't happen. It's funny how wizards are so amazed by the Muggle World, when all we want is to be able to be in the Wizarding World. Great job with this story :)

Author's Response: Yeah, this is a rare Romione for ya. I'm glad you really liked the fluff. I can totally understand why wizards would be just as fascinated with our world as we are with theirs :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ginerva_molly_weasley The Battle is Waged

6th April 2012:
Hey :D

I love this! This is actually fabulous as it shows Ron's curiosity within the muggle world which is perfectly believable after being married to Hermione so it's only natural that they would have some muggle appliances round the house!

The Tv is fab giving us little snippets into what he was watching! The idea of him being enchanted by football was fab too as it is typical that most men are drawn to it when its on!

I love him using the mobile phone as it shows his childish nature with not understanding how it works and I love how you said that typing in the keypad was like saying a spell! That worked so well and was rather simplistic which made it work so well!

Ron is really sweet! I guess he just doesn't want to think of himself as a dummy which is why he originally rejected it but I guess he realised how he'd upset her and the way that he then picked up the book in order to pacify her is just too sweet!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you found this was fab. Ron is a really sweet guy underneath all his blustering.

 Report Review

Review #3, by SexyDoorFrames The Battle is Waged

24th March 2012:
hey :) Tagging you from the thread in the forums :) I really liked reading this, I enjoyed it a lot. This was so adorable.

SO FLUFFY. For a first attempt at fluff, I thought this was really good. This was so much fun to read. I think you captured Hermione and Ron's relationship perfectly, you've done really well. I spot any problems with spelling or grammar and the change of the episodes, didn't do anything to disrupt the flow of the story. I really liked how you explored Ron's thoughts. Reading his struggles at the things that we find so simple was lovely to read.

Thanks for the wonderful swap :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you didn't find the transitions rough. Some others have commented unfavorably on it and I was looking at changing it perhaps. I am also happy to hear you like how Ron and Hermione came off, they are fun to write!

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by bri_5_stars The Battle is Waged

3rd March 2012:
First of all, just seeing the title made me want to read this! :D
Such great fluff indeed! I loved this! Their banter, their relationship, Ron's fascination with muggle things like football. This was a great one-shot. :D

Author's Response: Fluffy fluff, how I love thee! Yay! Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Moonyxluna The Battle is Waged

23rd February 2012:
Review Tag (:

this was so fun to read! I love Fluff, you did a fantastic job with this. For the fact that your author's note says you usually write Dramione, I think you captured Ron and Hermione's relationship so perfectly, so fantastic job!

I spied a Spongebob referance ♥! This was just way too sweet and adorable. Of course Hermione would want Ron to read a book :D

Great work with this! I'd love to read more Romione by you if you ever write it :)

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for really complimenting my Romione! I do love those two together because of their own way of being opposites yet the same.

Spongebob! You got it! Hermione knows that in order actually KNOW anything, you have to get it from a book! :P

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #6, by academica The Battle is Waged

22nd February 2012:
Hey Char! Here from review tag :)

What an adorable idea! I think you got Ron and Hermione just right, which might be hard for somebody who usually writes Dramiones instead, so congrats on that particular feat! It was really neat to watch Ron explore different Muggle technologies and compare them to elements of the wizarding world that are more familiar to him. For example, I'm shocked that I never actually saw the similarities between wizard photographs and Muggle television shows, but they've actually got a lot in common, it seems. Haha :)

I really liked all the cute little jokes, and the sweet way in which Hermione brought Ron along in little baby steps into her world and enjoyed his adorable fascination with it. I guess my one critique would be that we didn't get to see a whole lot of Ron's reaction to Facebook, given that the title of the story refers to Facebook/Myspace. Otherwise, this was wonderful!

Great job :)

Amanda

Author's Response: Hi!

It is kinda strange that as Dramioneer (new word) I really love writing Ron and Hermione. I guess it's because, in my heart of hearts, I know that that's the true pairing *gasp* I know.

LOL on being shocked between TV and wizard photographs. It's kind of funny the parallels one can draw between Harry's world and ours :)

I know, I could've done more on the Facebook/MySpace thing but I have to be honest...I don't have Facebook and have pretty much zero interest in getting onto it. I'm already addicted enough with fanfic stuff that I don't need FB to take up the rest of my life! (witness my mother and sister) :) That's why I didn't put more in there :P

Thank you for this review!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #7, by MrsJaydeMalfoy The Battle is Waged

21st February 2012:
Hello! I'm here from the review swap!

I know you said in the Author's Note that this is just fluff... but I adore it!! I have honestly never read a fic about Ron (or any wizard, really) learning how to use muggle devices, so kudos to you for originality!

I found this to be a very easy read; very engaging. I didn't see any problems with spelling or grammar, and the flow was amazing, even though there were several separate episodes.

Outstanding job, dear; 10/10 and this is going into my favorites! SO glad I got you in the review tag!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you found it easy to read. Some have complained of the flow (they shall remain Unnameable :P ) so reading this review is very assuring. Thank you for all these kind and generous words! And the favorite! :)

xChar


 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Battle is Waged

10th February 2012:
"Man is the conqueror of machines. It’s just the natural order of things."

I LOVED THE FLUFF. I LOVE FLUFF. YOU WRITE GREAT FLUFF. What a change from your other story. Wow, this was excellent. I think Ron wanting to learn about the Muggle World would make a great short story collection or something because really, those wizards, know nothing about it. Quite sad, isn't it?

We Muggles are awesome.

I loved that he wanted to get on Facebook. Jeez, even wizards want to 'stay connected.'

Great job!

Author's Response: Yay! Fluff! I love fluff too! I don't even think it's wizards who want to stay connected but MALE wanting to have games to play :P

 Report Review

Review #9, by ariellem The Battle is Waged

8th February 2012:
Awww, poor Ron he just want's to play World of Warcraft, and now that you mention it I can see all the Weasley boys (Percy included) completely addicted to games like that!

Very very cute!

Author's Response: I think a male of any species would be addicted to games :)

Thanks


 Report Review

Review #10, by WitnesstoitAll The Battle is Waged

5th February 2012:
This was such a fun read!! I always wondered how the integration of Hermione's muggle world and she and Ron's magical ones would go together. I loved your descriptions here. I can just picture Ron with a look of determination fiddling with a cell phone or TV remote. This was so light and fun and gah. I highly enjoyed it. Ron and Hermione is my favorite canon ship, and their fluff my favorite sort of fluff. It was nice that you didn't over do it with the fluffiness, though. Hermione has limited patience, and Ron can be a bit set in his ways. Their little squabble was not only realistic, but made the fluffiness at the end all the better.

Great little one shot!!
Melissa

Author's Response: Yeah, Ron's got a bit of his dad in here and plus that sense of Ron-ness that I just wanted to make sure it communicated. These two are so fun to fluff up so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tonks1247 The Battle is Waged

5th February 2012:
Hello! I have appeared for another review :)

This was quite a fascinating [and good] story! I like how you explored Ron’s thoughts on different Muggle technologies. It was really quite enjoyable to see him try out a couple different things that we use every day. I do wish you would have gone further with him trying to get his facebook working. Just out of curiosity on what he would have had problems with. But I also do understand why it is you didn’t. Because really, this short little fluff piece flowed together really nicely. Each of the ideas were nicely connected and easily flowed into each other.

I also enjoyed your characterization of Ron and Hermione both. They seemed pretty accurate as to how the characters act towards each other in the books naturally. And this is just further proven with Hermione’s line: “Honestly, Ron, you’d think growing up as a wizard would seem more magical than a cell phone.” It just…it’s such a Hermione line!

So yes, this was a fantastic fluff piece! Great job! I really enjoyed this. :D

~Grimmerz

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! I definitely was going for ultimate fluff :) I know that I probably could've expanded on some points but I was pretty happy with what turned out so I have that thing where I'm afraid if I do more to it, it'll just come out bad.

Yay on Characterization and Yay on Review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Battle is Waged

3rd February 2012:
Fluff at its best! This was such a cute little story. For a Romione (I only say this because I don't normally read them, but this just looked too cute to ignore. :D).

Definitely deserving of a 10/10!

Sam.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Aphoride The Battle is Waged

23rd August 2011:
That was absolutely adorable. Your characterisation was flawless and the flow was brilliant, as was your perception of Ron discovering muggle computers and phones. I love the idea of a 'Muggle Appliances for Dummies', by the way. Everything was practically perfect - no grammar mistakes, no spelling mistakes. The only thing I would say is that Brits don't refer to phones as 'cell phones', we just say 'phones' or 'mobile phones', but that's a tiny, tiny thing. I loved it!

Aph xx

Author's Response: Yes, I specialize in adorkableness at times :)

I gotta get them Britishisms fixed. My darn Yank-ness is comin' outta me fingers :)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #14, by forsakenphoenix The Battle is Waged

12th August 2011:
This is hilarious and cute. I loved it! Ron's constant struggle against things we find commonplace is very endearing and Hermione putting up with his constant questions. I snorted with laughter when Ron refused the book because he was a man. Typical. He obviously loves Hermione though, you can tell. I mean, reading a book about Muggle Appliances for Dummies is so unmanly but he did it because Hermione bought it for him. :P

I love his fascination with the television. And using a cell phone! Haha, punching in numbers is like a spell. Oh Ron, you are so precious.

I thought it was adorable how he was fascinated by all the Muggle stuff not only because of his dad but because he wanted to know the world Hermione grew up in. How sweet is that?!

I love your angst but you write fluff so well. You should consider writing more fluffy stories! Flow was great and spelling/grammar was excellent. A very short, enjoyable read. :)

forsakenphoenix (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thanks!

Ron's absolute loyalty and love for Hermione is what I love best about him. He totally would do anything for Hermione (after moaning and groaning about it a little).

Yes, I always felt there was a little Arthur in Ron and so played that up.

I'm trying to catch a more fluffy bunny but they seem to escape me!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by The Quiet Girl The Battle is Waged

10th August 2011:
Awe, it was so cute! Imagining Ron trying to work Muggle appliances was just so perfect! Hermione, of course, is smart enough to have studied in the wizarding world and still be able to use Muggle devices.

I liked how you had the entire story center around Ron's varying experiences with Muggle tech. At the beginning, though, I was half-expecting Arthur to make a cameo, but I'm actually glad that you stayed focused on the Ron/Hermione dynamic. One question, though: if Ron didn't know how to use Facebook, how would he know about and be able to play MafiaWars and Bejeweled? That was a tiny bit unclear to me. Like I already said, great read! Thanks for posting!

TheQuietGirl, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Well, Hermione did grow up in the Muggle world and knew nothing of the Wizarding world until she was eleven so it wld make sense she wld know a lot abt the Muggle world! :) ron knew abt the Facebook games because of Hermione's cousin :) tks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Battle is Waged

6th August 2011:
That was so cute! I loved the way you wrote this. It showed that fluff doesn't have to be romance for it to be adorable. It was written so well, and I loved the relationship between Ron and Hermione in this. It definitely seemed plausible that Ron would be this fascinated with Muggle objects, especially after living with Hermione. I loved the part when he was watching TV. Though I found it slightly strange that he was watching American Football (at least it seemed like it was American Football). Overall though, I loved this! Excellent job!
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm American and I was going to try to have it about football (soccer) but then my husband interjected and I followed his direction. (Don't tell him this but I'm going to edit that part.)

Thank you for the lovely review and I'm glad they came off as actually Ron and Hermione!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Singularity The Battle is Waged

5th August 2011:
A.DOR.A.BLE.

Sorry, but I had to space it out like that, because that's how you should read it :P I loved the sweet fluffiness of this story. Ron and Hermione is my very favorite canon coupling. They just balance each other out beautifully. I loved the way your wrote Ron in this story. So lighthearted and childlike, but with his bit of ego and callousness as well. I loved reading about Ron discovering Muggle devices. I giggled quietly to myself several times :P

I also really love your Hermione. This is exactly how I picture her. She's so focused, but Ron can get her to relax and take time out from her job, even if it's to do something as silly as setting up a Facebook account.

The last line was extremely sweet. :*

Great story! Awesome characterizations! Fun plot! Yay for you!

:) Singularity
(Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Hee hee!! Yay for adorableness!! I love Ron!! He's SUCH a guy but a very needed part of the Trio. And he is perfect for Hermione because he gets her to have some fun!

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by schoenemaedchen The Battle is Waged

13th July 2011:
Hello there!

Schoenemaedchen here--fellow claw and here with your review.

IF this is your first time moving away from a Dramione fixation, which I can see perhaps as being a bit difficult, then I must give you some credit here!!

I LOVE Ron and Hermione, and I do think you did a lot of justice to their characters. You took on an angle of their relationship together that I think EVERY couple goes through. The thought of him being sucked in by the TV...hah. I was highly amused.

The idea of your story was also very cute. I can see Ron coming after his dad in this respect and it really brought a smile to my face--especially the plug of MafiaWars and Bejeweled. Priceless.

The dynamic between Ron and Hermione was well done as well! Props! It felt real and not forced.

If I have any CC on this story, it would be the flow a bit. I understand the point of trying to cover the many strange and wonderful things that Ron can come across in the Muggle world, but I'm not sure if the volume of these items quite did justice to the flow. I think it would be a great if you could somehow merge some of these things in one section instead of having so many page breaks. It threw me off a bit.

Also, and please correct me if I'm wrong, but was Ron watching Football (as in...American Football). I had this impression, as you said they had a ball they were "kicking and throwing"... I'm usually the last one to Britpick in the world, but my American self living in Europe for so long now has made me see the world different--and I just can't see Ron sitting in front of a TV watching American football. Soccer (or Football as they call it here ;) ) YES.

Overall though, from a Ron/Hermione shipper to you, I think you did them justice!! Thanks for the enjoyable read!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review!

Yay!! You liked Ron and Hermione! I kind of wrote it thinking with just my own marriage :)

Yeah, I understand on the flow. I'll see what I can do about fixing the flow.

Yes there was a mistake on the whole football/American football thing...that's what I get for listening to my hubby :P

Thanks for the review!

xChar


 Report Review

Review #19, by momotwins The Battle is Waged

6th July 2011:
I love, love, love Ron/Hermione. I can TOTALLY see Ron wanting to play Mafia Wars XD That is hilarious. I love Ron interacting with Muggle stuff, you did a good job expressing its strangeness to him, his lack of familiarity with technology, without it coming off contrived or silly or weird in some way. Ron and soap operas = win.

I particularly loved this bit:

"I was in the bookstore today-"

"Oh. How unusual."

She continued as if he hadn't interrupted her, "-when I came across a book that even you, Mr. Weasley, would be interested in."


Hahahaha... Nice. Man is the conquerer of machines, I love it. This was a really cute and funny story, I enjoyed it thoroughly. Write more Ronmione!

Author's Response: Yeah, Ron and soap operas total win! That was my fave show for him to run across because he would so react the way he did.

OMG that's my favorite exchange too! It's so Hermione!!

I'm glad you enjoyed it!! Fluffy fluff is a completely rare plot bunny in my universe, it's almost like the invisible bunny, so this one was unexpected. I'll try for more Romione but I can't guarantee it!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ravenclaw_princess The Battle is Waged

1st July 2011:
Aww...that was so cute yet also so hilarious. I love you you described Ron's reactions to all the muggle contraptions. To us they seem so every day and we grow up intrinsically knowing how to use them, but it must be very weird for someone who has never seen a tv, or has never heard of facebook. I love all of the well known reference in here...the 'talking sponge who lived underwater' was definitely one of my favourites.

the characterisation was really nice. Ron was extremely curious, and Hermione was showing her usual impatience but also the love that she showed for him. It was very cool.

I also love the line about boys and sport. Even across the magically divide, sport still has that effect on people.

The story flowed really well. Even thought it was broken up into several small sections, they fitted together nicely and gave a small snap shot into all the new things that Ron was experimenting with. Grammar and spelling were also really good. Well done on yet another exceptionally well written story that as joy to read.

x Jacqui

Author's Response: And I love your reviews too!

:) I'm glad that the Sponge Bob references were taken so well. I think being able to view our every day things with a new perspective lets us appreciate what was have in a new unit of time.

Thank you for your nice words on my characterisation and flow! Most other reviewers seemed confused on it :/ but I liked it!

X Char!


 Report Review

Review #21, by AC_rules The Battle is Waged

5th June 2011:
I love the idea of Ron struggling hopelessly to understand the muggle technology... and how you've gone through all sorts of different muggle stuff in little bits - especially the football.

Very cute and enjoyable :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it:)

 Report Review

Review #22, by DemetersChild The Battle is Waged

31st May 2011:
D'aww! It's been awhile since I've read an awesome fluffy story and this was just so cute! Especially since it was Ron and Hermione and everyone knows they're the best. :P

This was completely adorable. Both characters were wonderfully in character (maybe not Ron completely, but close enough). I loved the bit with the television and football. Typical. xD

Lovely one shot!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Yeah, can't stay away from fluff for too long! Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by madelgranger The Battle is Waged

31st May 2011:
aww this is so cute! They were really in character and I like Ron inheriting Arthur's love of muggle appliances. great job thanks for writing!
~madelgranger

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The Battle is Waged

22nd May 2011:
This was a cute little story. I always enjoy reading fanfictions set in the Muggle world, because they nearly always mesh the life we live with the life wizards live, and occasionally we even feel closer. It's always a laugh to see wizards confused at appliances as well, like Ron was here.

Your idea was solid, and Ron does some like the sort to blatantly ignore technology and swear by magic, until he's introduced to something and the dam breaks. I do agree that he would take that first step into the Muggle world for Hermione.

The flow of the story was a little choppy; you started off talking about Facebook, and Hermione promises to help Ron with it. Then you jump straight to TV, and it takes the reader an extra second to adjust. By the time you switch to cell phones, its expected, although for all three there was plenty more detail to be added.

Yes, we don't need to be walked through Ron choosing a profile picture, but there are hundreds of little things that it would be amusing to watch him struggle with. If you let the Facebook idea run a little longer, it would be easy for the topic to get somehow switched to television, and you could easily make it through the whole one shot without the jumps in the story. I will definitely admit that I overuse page breaks, but as I've tried to break myself from this habit I've found it only leads to flowing, detailed chapters. Or more flowing and detailed than before, anyway. ;) Just something for you to think about.

Despite two huge chunks of review dedicated to flow, I still enjoyed this story. It was easy to believe the Ron and Hermione that you depicted here, and still see the people we knew from the books. Nice job.

Author's Response: Ah h h! After several reviews about the flow of this story I have decided to go back and fix it. The main point was just to have little snippets here and there of his time on electronics as Ron wasn't really playing with Muggle toys the entire time but I do get the point. *heaves a frustrated sigh*

I'm glad that you enjoyed it though! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #25, by orderofthephoenix The Battle is Waged

9th May 2011:
I've heard some good things about this fic, so I thought I'd check it out. :)

Aw! This is so sweet! You showed just how perfect those two are for each other. I never thought that Ron might have taken after his father in his interest in Muggle things, but I love how you made it work :)

The interaction between Ron and Hermione was lovely. It was nice to see some non-academic talk between them for once! Oh, and I LOVED the Spongebob and other TV references :D

I need to mention that you have to add a disclaimer for the 'For Dummies' series as they own that name. There is a topic in the Ask the Staff thread on the forums if you need more information. :)

-Sophia x

Author's Response: Mini review spree! :D

Oops, on the disclaimer. I'll fix that in the edit.

I'm glad you caught the SpongeBob reference! I actually wasn't sure if that happened in Britain but I threw it in there anyway :P


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>