Reading Reviews for The Show Must Go On
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne The Show Must Go On

18th March 2013:
Oh wow that song was fantastic with this story, you wrote that so amazingly well, just wow.
The emotion you got across with the way that you described Draco's feelings and his love for Hermione was brilliant.
Seriously this was so amazing! Possibly my favourite Dramione story with you, it was so sad and I wanted to hug Draco so much.
This could have been added to the book, it really could have. I love the way that you wrote Draco's torment, it seemed so real.
So amazing! You are such a talented writer.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love this song, both Queen's and the movie version.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by megthechef43 The Show Must Go On

4th March 2013:
Sam,

I absolutely love Moulin Rouge and I really like this song it is so powerful and strong and you matched the song with this powerful story.

The fact that they fell in love is the key to this piece. I know it must have been hard for Hermione but I'm glad she didn't hate him because that would have been out of character because if she truly loved him she would have been loyal to him and understood his problem.

Great story!!!

Meg

Author's Response: Thank you! I love it, too. If there was ever a chance of Hermione and Draco getting together in canon, I really think this song would have been perfect for them. I had to write this. I'm so glad that you liked it. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by lilypotterfan123 The Show Must Go On

3rd July 2012:
Sam! This was amazing, how on earth did you make dramione so believable? Stories like these will convert me to a dramione shipper someday I swear! Anyway, this story portrayed Draco very differently, well to the way I see him anyway. I never viewed him as a "puppet" it just never occurred to me, until now that is. His characterisation was spot on too, as if he could only put up an act for so long without cracking and because he loved Hermione and couldnt lie to her he broke and told her everything.

Hermione was very in character too, concerned for everyone as always. Her love for Draco seemed really strong as well and I liked that.

So you based this story on the moulin rouge version of The Show Must Go On but its a Queen song and that just got me excited to start with. It fit this story so well I was singing along when I saw the lyrics!

What can I say about the ship itself? Usually I dont like it because I feel like with dramione theres only so much you can do with the ship before it becomes limited however youve proved me wrong and when Dracos dark mark was revealed I already knew about it but I still gasped because of how shocked I was that he didnt tell Hermione and that she had to find out for herself.

This story is a definite 10/10, I enjoyed reading it so much from start to finish!

-Bex

Author's Response: Hey, Bex!

Yeah, definitely a Queen song, but I based this on the movie version because the movie version was kind of a duet and that helped with bringing Hermione's side of the story in. :)

Thank you so much for leaving me such an amazing review!!!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Happy The Show Must Go On

13th June 2012:
This is a really good one-shot. Thanks for writing and sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by caoty The Show Must Go On

31st May 2012:
Tag.

First of all, fantastic choice of song. I love Queen so, so much, and I'm fairly certain I'd love Moulin Rouge if/when I ever get around to watching it. But anyway.

I liked your use of narrative voice; cross-cutting between Draco and Hermione creates a nice contrast, but they aren't so different that it'd be impossible for them to be in a relationship.

That said, I'm surprised at the lack of screaming matches between the two. Draco doesn't seem like the kind of person who'd give up his two dark terrible etc. secrets to someone, let alone someone he loved, without a fight - then again, though, one could just blame it on the love he has here which was not present in canon. And, personally, I'm not sure he'd be too keen to draw parallels between himself and Harry, frequent sex with Hermione or no frequent sex with Hermione. Hmm. I don't know. Maybe this is just down to interpretation.

I definitely got a sense of that must-soldier-on feeling from both of them, which is, I assume from the song, what you were trying to acheive, so well done. :)

Author's Response: Hello.

Thank you. I love the movie version of the song. Well, I love the movie. I hope you will if you watch it.

Thank you for leaving a review for this. I really appreciate it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by charlottetrips The Show Must Go On

22nd May 2012:
I want to say that you worked well with the heavy emotions present in this story. I kind of had to think of them as not Draco and Hermione because I don't like Hogwarts-era Dramione and with that I was able to really see the emotions that you put on display. Young love burdened with great weight. It was good of her to be able to be there for him and to make a tough decision something worth facing.

There were ver few grammatical errors which could be easily found in a once through.

The song I think was particularly apt given the movie that it was in and the context you are using it in now. The bittersweetness of their last time together, where Draco decides to give Hermione his last secret could almost be felt by me. Sure it was a touch overdramatic, but I think young teenage love is always like that.

I like that you got me willing to suspend my disbelief for this brief one-shot.

xChar

Author's Response: Dramione was my "lets see what I can do with this cliche" pairing, just because it was fun. I'm glad you were still willing to read. :)

Thank you for a lovely review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sairahi The Show Must Go On

21st May 2012:
kick tush! Nice song fic. Normally, don't read them. Good song choice & retelling of the story.

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CaityCat The Show Must Go On

24th August 2011:
Omg this was soo good!! I have no words, just brilliant :) Especially how you took the characters and kept them the same, just adding to it, which made it all the more believable. Love it!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SeraphinaMichelle The Show Must Go On

6th June 2011:
This is amazing. I love it!
It's so well thought out. I have to admit that this is the first song-fic that I've ever enjoyed reading. =) Go you! haha

But...just because my OCD is driving me crazy because of it, I feel like I must tell you that "The Show Must Go On" is a Queen song and belongs to them instead of Moulin Rouge! Whew. Glad I got that off my chest. haha
Other than that, this is PERFECT! =) I hope you keep writing because you're amazing at it.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Ah, OCD. I have it. I hate it. LOL. yeah, I know the The Show Must Go On is a Queen song. But I used the Moulin Rouge version because of the duet, which is why I put it as the film version and not the band. But thank you! I will definitely keep writing! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #10, by scorpius_rose The Show Must Go On

17th April 2011:
AH! LOVE. IT.!!! I love how you managed to Portray the characters the same, but different... if that even makes sense :P. Gonna read the next on now :) xxx

P.S. Did i say Love It? :P

Author's Response: Thank you :). I understand what you mean!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login