Reading Reviews for His Game
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by a christmas nymph! His Game

17th December 2013:
Hello there darling, I am here once again as your Secret Santa to marvel at your amazing writing!

When I was deciding what of yours to review, this summary drew me in straight away. I can't quite explain what it is, but that last line of the summary, 'want to play?', sent shivers down my spine and really made me want to read this. There's something about phrases like that which have an almost childlike connotation to them, but are used in a dark context - it just seems very intense and haunting to me, and I immediately knew I had to click on this story!

I adore Bellatrix as a character, and the way you have captured her here in relation to Rodolphus is truly captivating. Writing her as a teenager can be a little hit and miss - some people try and keep her as the unhinged fanatic Death Eater we know from canon, but the fact is we're first introduced to her after she has been absorbed deep into the culture and mindset of Voldemort, and then stayed a long stint in Azkaban, something we know can turn even the sanest of people a little crazy. I feel like here you've given her enough of her canon traits to make her clearly and believably the same character as we meet in the second wizarding war, but a younger version, with less life experience and therefore less anger, bitterness, and mania. She's still compelling, and aloof, she still has that air of pureblood mannerisms, as though she's smirking and sticking her nose up at the world. And she's really met her match in your characterisation of Rodolphus.

I feel like you really captured the essence of Slytherins in this time period. As Voldemort was first beginning to rise to power I always imagined there would be a lot of segregation between houses, and the Slytherins particularly would form their own kind of 'clique'. But here you've shown that the house isn't necessarily a cohesive bunch, and that there is pressure between the house members. You set Rodolphus and Bellatrix apart from the others in a way that still leaves them all believably 'slytherin'.

You really seem to have a talent for working with quote challenges, and I envy you that! I always struggle to make quotes fit into stories in a natural way, but in the two stories of yours that I have read so far, you have done it wonderfully both times. Here you've created a story which is incredibly unique, yet still manages to create the perfect context to incorporate the quote. And that is an especially notable achievement seeing as this is a Shakespeare quote, yet you've fit it into a modern language fic with relative ease!

I'm always a big fan of minor characters so I have to say, though your writing is wonderful and there are no spelling or grammar mistakes which is always a plus, my favourite thing about this is your portrayal of Rodolphus in particular, and Rodolpus and Bellatrix's relationship. You really wrote them exactly as I wish they would always be portrayed. You captured the aloof, pureblood voices perfectly, and made their youth obvious while keeping a sinister twist on the whole thing. You really showed perfectly why they would fall for each other, and I was rooting for their relationship by the end!

This was a fantastic read, so thank you for this, and well done.

Love and Merry Christmas from your Ravenclaw Secret Santa xxx

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 His Game

9th June 2013:
Hi!! I'm reviewing this for the Blue vs. Bronze review battle! I would've reviewed chapter 4 of House of Cards, but I felt like commenting on this beautiful thing that you've written. :)

So... As with all of your work, I really love this one. I actually read it a long time ago, because I was finished reviewing a chapter of House of Cards and I wanted more.

Then, as now, your powers of seductive adjectives and verbs and actions astound me. Lestrange is a singular character, and his motives are very slippery indeed. Really, this whole thing is just... Intense.

Bellatrix is Bellatrix, as always, but here, she is a different Bella than in HoC. She is not bitter here, at least, not about her family, but everything is still so beneath her, as if she's just way too good for it all. Lestrange is precisely her match, and it seems like he's going soft when he begins to talk of love, but with time, you realize that even bad guys need love, too! The quote from Shakespeare is beautiful, and Rodolphatrix is a beautiful (dark!) couple.

I see a lot of James/Lily one-shots, but I think this tops everything. It's a story of a couple in the same era, but with much more in the works than simply a love-hate-love tango. So. Beautiful.

Rock on, Aphoride!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks for stopping by! Don't worry about it - I'm sure I'll drop by your review thread soon enough and you'll catch up with that one ;)

I'm so glad you like it, since it's practically the first thing I wrote for ff (that one story I wrote before doesn't count :P), and the first for a challenge so it was a bit different and definitely a challenge! :)

Lestrange is really not necessarily a very nice guy. He doesn't really think in terms of emotion and wants - it's all about power.

Yeah, she's a very different Bella than in HoC - a lot less mad, I think :P She's definitely very uptight and superior - they both have massive superiority complexes, which is kinda what makes them ideal for each other, I guess, lol. They are a very beautiful couple - they were my OTP for a very long time, tbh, and there's still a small space reserved for them :)

Gah, thank you so so much for that! I'm so so glad you liked it - it was something I was very nervous about. Thank you so much for the wonderful review as well. I will treasure it :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Cleopatraa His Game

16th July 2012:
This summary seriously lured me in and seeing it痴 about Rodolphus Lestrange I just had to read this. I love minor characters and I just love the Lestranges. I seriously loved this. A lot!!! This was exceptionally unique and so Slytherin. They were both the epitome of being a Slytherin. I loved the way you characterized them. I知 disappointed this was only an one-shot. Okay I知 saying love love love so many times but I seriously have no other words to describe this. I知 speechless actually. There are two things I知 sure of 1 I知 so glad I read this and 2 this going in my favourite list asap !

Author's Response: Oh, me too! Minor characters all the way! Black/Lestrange/Malfoy/Tonks family all the way too! They're just so interesting - and they are very Slytherin, aren't they? Calculating love... Thank you so so much - honestly, I'm gobsmacked as well right now! Thank you!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Didi_Sartat His Game

12th March 2012:
Amazing! I love rodolphus,cant find any decent rodolphus stories, AMAZING

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Rodolphus too - he seems to be somewhat neglected in fanfiction :(

Thanks for the review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by LionsRule His Game

15th January 2012:
Hi there! I've never read a Bellatrix story before, but I found about this through the Review Tag thread on HPFF and I'm really happy I found this. It's a great story- you capture the personalities and thoughts of your characters. The banter between Rodolphus and Bellatrix is spot-on, and it keeps the reader intersested. Your writing flows really nicely, and your work choice is excellent, but the best feature of this story is how perfectly you portrayed Rodolphus and Bellatrix. It's exactly how I imagined them in the books. Wonderful job on this story, and I'm really happy I found this! 10/10

Author's Response: Hey there! Wow, I'd almost forgotten about this one-shot, lol. I really, really enjoyed writing it. I actually wrote it in a three hour stint one afternoon. Rodolphus and Bellatrix fascinate me particularly, so I'm glad you like them and their banter.

Thanks for the wonderful review - and the 10/10!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by LoopyLemon His Game

7th October 2011:
Wow this is really good! I liked the way you built it up. You started by introducing the characters and their difference from the rest of the House. You kept up the theme of kings and pawns and made the interest between the two characters seem completely real. I love how in character Bellatrix is and the character you have given Lestrange. This is a really good piece of writing that is developed really nicely and gives wonderful insight into the forming of that relationship and the personalities of characters that end up so devoted to Voldemort.

Author's Response: I really like the two of them so I'm glad you like their characterisation - it was so much fun to write. It worried me a little when I first wrote it, being my first one-shot, but I think it turned out okay.

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by silverstarletworld89 His Game

30th September 2011:
Another great one-shot. I enjoyed the way you used to Shakespeare quote and made it fit effortlessly into your story. I also like the way that you have kept them in character and made them likeable.

You certainly have a great way with words. I really liked 'He just shakes his head. Marriage is for those who only think about power - he doesn稚 need power, he already has it.' - So arrogant, which is perfect for Lestrange I feel.

I believe these too were definitely a match made in Death eater heaven.

Very enjoyable, Silverstarletworld :)

Author's Response: I loved getting the quote. It was brilliant. Plunnies were running around my head from the moment I got it.
Making them likeable... a weird concept with Death Eaters. And yes, he's extremely arrogant. It tends to be a generic flaw with these people.
Death Eater heaven... O.o :D

Thanks for the wonderful review; I'm really glad you liked it!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw His Game

26th September 2011:
This was great!

I loved the way you characterized Bella and Rodolphus. It's definitely strange to think about someone falling in love with Bella, but you captured those reasons perfectly. Since we know almost nothing about Rodolphus, it makes sense to me that he wouldn't want an air headed girl, and that he'd fall for Bella. And she was strong and harsh, as we see in her later years, but Bella was also slightly toned down, which I really liked. I've seen early versions of Bella where she used the cruciatus curse from age 11, which just isn't believable :P Your idea of her was much more accurate, in my opinion.

I also loved the tone of the piece. You really had the "proper" sentence constructions and such. It felt like these were the thoughts of some high class family, which it was. For the most part, you managed to retain it really well, even during the banter, which I think can be hard.

The one insult I didn't like was this: "Attention? If you want attention from a bunch of overindulged, whiny children you'd do better finding a creche. At least they would have greater brainpower," he scoffs." You were doing an amazing job with fresh and new insults, keeping the pureblood tone of voice in there as well, and I felt like this broke that. It didn't sound quite the same as your voice for the rest of the piece, and I think the whiny children thing is a bit overused. That's very minor though, and I loved everything else!

Overall, you wrote a really great piece. It was believable, flowed well, and I couldn't find any spelling/grammar issues :) Lovely job!
-Naida

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I absolutely adore these two so I'm glad you liked it.
Oh god, the sentence constructions killed me. It was so hard to do and make them sound like teenagers but high class teenagers.
Yeah, I'm not too happy with that insult either, but I spent so long trying to think of something else that would fit and couldn't so it stayed there.

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by TenthWeasley His Game

22nd September 2011:
It really surprised me how much I enjoyed this story! This is one of the most realistic teenage Bellatrixes I've seen written here - you've managed to retain some of her canon traits while still making her your own, and that's extremely admirable. :) She's more believable as a character that way. And both Rodolphus and Bellatrix were a good mix of what one might assume to be typical Slytherin characteristics, and it's refreshing to see you didn't just plop them into a House without cause. :D

Your quote integration was, I thought, rather brilliant. It fit well in your scene - the whole atmosphere seemed to meld right into it, and writing in modern language while using a Shakespeare quote isn't such an easy thing to do.

Keep it up - this story was very good! You write extremely well and I predict you'll go far. :)

Author's Response: I absolutely adore Bellatrix so I'm glad you thought she was realistic! Honestly, I didn't give much thought to characteristics, they kinda wrote themselves, but it was so much fun to do.
As I got further and further through the piece I kept wondering if I would ever manage to fit it in, lol, so it's good that it seems to have worked. I guess I was lucky my quite didn't include 'doth' or 'thy' ;)

Thanks for the lovely review!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Me Myself and I His Game

16th September 2011:
Nice! I've never read a story about Bella and Rodolphus before! You really captured the way I've always thought Slytherins would behave. 10/10 :). I can understand why you won.

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked reading it! It was fun mocking the other Slytherins, lol.

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by TrevorTheToad His Game

6th August 2011:
This is a amazing piece of writing. You really have a thing with words, and you made the whole story so belevable.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Caitlin His Game

28th July 2011:
Wow ! That was brilliant ! I've been looking for a FF to see how Bella would re act ro Rodolphus, and yours was the best yet !

Author's Response: Thanks! I do love them both *huggles* and I enjoyed writing it a lot.

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyFire His Game

5th July 2011:
I love it! I'm almost disappointed that it's only a oneshot, it could be great as a short story, or novel even! I think your characterization and plot are wonderful, and I love how you've had him analyze everything. You'd done an amazing job!
~Lily

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It was my first challenge so I was a bit worried, not to mention they're my favourite pairing. I've been debating on-and-off about doing a Black sisters story, but never got round to it. Maybe sometime... :P

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by MidnightBlue_x His Game

18th April 2011:
Hello There, I'm ElysiumJayne :)

Thank you so much for entering my challenge. I really love how you've fit the quote in there, it looks just as if it would be something that would easily roll off Rodolphus' tongue, so well done on that!

I really enjoyed how you perceived Bellatrix and Rodolphus' relationship. Simply amazing.

Thank you once again for entering my challenge.

x Ely

Author's Response: I really enjoyed entering your challenge and writing it - it was my first challenge ever so it was all a bit new.
Thanks for your comments, I'm really glad you liked it!
Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by aliveinyoureyes His Game

16th April 2011:
Fabulous story! The quote was integrated beautifully. I love reading stories about Bellatrix, but this one from the perspective of Rodolphus was exceptionally unique. You described them both wonderfully, with the perfect amount of edginess, and challenging dialogue. It seems no one was meant to be together more than these two :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Bella/Rod is my OTP so I'm really glad you liked the way I wrote them.

Aph xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login