Reading Reviews for On Fatherhood
  
27 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Owlpost68 Making Up

22nd November 2011:
lololol A great way to end it :D I love that, Ginny didn't give an inch, and totally using her brothers to her advantage there lol. That's brilliant, I can't stress enough how well you did on this!

Author's Response: Thanks again :) I really enjoyed writing Ginny in this story. I'm glad you liked the ending. There is a possibility of one more chapter to this story, where Harry goes and talks to Ron. We'll see how it goes. Thanks so much for your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Owlpost68 Fatherly Advice

22nd November 2011:
Aww, I wanted to cry, this was a great chapter, and though I don't have any of my own kids, I'd think it's pretty realistic too. This is a great idea for a short story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wanted to write a Harry - Arthur story after I had written a Harry - Molly chapter in my short story collection, "Embrace It". I love the Weasleys and I adore the pseudo family that Harry ends up creating around himself.

It seems apparent pretty early on that Molly considers Harry her son, but we don't get to see a whole lot of interaction between Harry and Arthur, so I wanted to write a scene with Harry and Arthur as father and son.

I'm so glad you liked this chapter. Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by parashar_harry Making Up

6th November 2011:
when ever i want to read a one shot , the first author comess in my mind is singularity and i am happy that urs names popped up in my mind. all ur story are amazing .


god, i want to know the ron reaction


i had never thought that harry will be scared of being father . i always thought ron in this situation don't u think ! can u write a similar story based on ron ( he is my fav. among trio)

10/10
parashar

Author's Response: Aww, thanks :) I do tend to write a lot of one-shots :P Thank you so much for continuing to read and reveiw my stories. I'm really glad that you enjoy them so much.

I'm planning on working on a chapter about Ron in the near future...after November and NaNoWriMo is over.

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Last Marauder Making Up

8th October 2011:
Again, I just placed this in an Alternate Universe. Now, I am not at all familiar with the dynamics of husband and wife like this, but it seemed plausable. Ginny seemed a little overly harsh to me, though, but then again I know nothing about things like this. Also, the bit about Hermione really made me laugh, how she was all angry one second, and then relieved and happy the next one. That was funny! But I really liked the tension you created in this scene. I liked the story as a whole, once I placed it in an AU. It was very well written, flowed well and it was enjoyable. I look forward to seeing what happens with Ron now. Please update this soon :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! Yeah, I'm not really familiar with husband/wife dynamics either, so hopefully it's at least kind of realistic.

I'm glad you liked Hermione's cameo. I know it's a little funny, but Hermione is such an emotional, passionate person that it seemed in character for her. She's still pretty angry and disappointed with Harry, but her relief that he was safe kind of overshadowed everything else for a moment.

I'll work on Ron's chapter. I'm a bit stuck on it right now, but hopefully it will be up before too much longer :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by The Last Marauder Fatherly Advice

8th October 2011:
I really liked this chapter, but I have to say, that in order to like it, I had to kinda view it as an 'alternate universe' kind of fic, because I honestly believe that, no matter how hard things were, Harry never would have left Ginny and James like that. He grew up with no parents, and had every father figure he ever had taken away from him (except Arthur). Family is the most important thing to him. His deepest desire from age 11 was family. Harry is very loyal, and I think he also had the experience of Teddy as a baby too, so babies weren't alien beings to him. Anyway, I'm rambling. So, once I placed it in this 'alternate universe', where I could envisage an AU Harry leaving Ginny, I really did enjoy reading it. I thought Arthur's advice was heart-felt and genuine. I also liked the protective nature of Ginny's brothers, although, I don't think Ginny needs it too much, she is tough and well capable of standing on her own two feet. Regardless, I really liked how Arthur handled the situation, how he was cool and calm and just talked honestly. Loved it! Anyway, going to read chapter two now! :)

Author's Response: I think you definitely have a point about whether this is AU or not. I agree with what you said about Harry. I think he would be an extremely family oriented man, and would make a great husband and father (for the most part). That's why I tried to write it the way I did. Harry didn't really consciously leave them. He just got overwhelmed and needed a breather. Whether Arthur showed up or not, I think he would have gone back home before long. As far as Teddy is concerned, it's true that he would have some experience with babies, but Andromeda really raised Teddy and there is a huge difference between babysitting and raising a child. I don't know that Harry has a lot of experience with the sleepless nights and constant crying at this point.

But yeah, I can definitely see it both ways, so if it helps to think of it as AU, feel free :) You're probably right ;)

I'm glad you liked Arthur's advice and how he handled the situation. This was my first time writing him, so I wasn't sure how I did.

As far as Ginny's brothers go, you're absolutely right. She does not need their protection. She is a strong, independent, fully capable woman and can take care of herself. However, I think you'd have a hard time convincing her brothers of that fact. She's the youngest and the only girl, so I think she's stuck with overprotective older brothers for life :)

Thank you so much for reading and for your comments!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pacific Wizard Making Up

12th September 2011:
Singularity: I've always complimented you on your creative and realistic dialogue but this was scary real. You must have had a couple of personal encounters to come up with this. Love Hermione's handling of Harry to get him on the right track. Love Ginny's responses though I thought you were going to let her make him suffer a bit more. Your portrayal of Harry as the hapless, helpless, hopeless git was awesome. I agree with Harry that I he got off a lightly but Ginny's idea of proper compensation was brilliant. Just like this story. This is another fun read. Well done. PW 10/10

Author's Response: Was it realistic? Oh good! I'm so glad :P Um, I actually have no real experience with this situation, so it's great to hear from people who are married!

I thought about drawing this out a little more. Ginny does have quite a temper on her, but I figured since so much of her anger was just misplaced worry, once he showed up safe, she would be too relieved to fight too much. (Harry admitting that he was an idiot helped a lot as well ;))

I'm planning to eventually write a third chapter featuring Ron, but I'm not sure when that will be.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, PW! I really appreciate hearing from you :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #7, by April Fatherly Advice

19th August 2011:
Luv it.! LOL Harry Needs 2 Man up.!

Author's Response: Hmm, well, not /exactly/ what I was going for, but thanks for reading.

 Report Review

Review #8, by NYC10016 Making Up

14th August 2011:
simply brilliant showing everyone is flawed and not perfect: spot on h&g as well as arthur, ron & hermione. parenthood daunting responsibility - tis natural h&g sorting it out. thx sharing this lovely h&g early parenthood years, plot's not unique but your style of writing is amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed the story, the characterizations, and my writing style. I appreciate hearing from you. :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Godrics_Helm Making Up

13th August 2011:
I'm so glad you added this chapter since I wasn't sure if this was a one-shot or not. Wonderful chapter, and I hope you continue with the story!

Author's Response: Well, it was supposed to be a one-shot, but one of my favorite reviewers encouraged me to continue it, so I figured I'd give it a shot. :)

I'm thinking of writing at least one more chapter, but I'm not sure if it'll go any further than that.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Meghan Making Up

13th August 2011:
I loved this! The characterization and sentence flow were amazing, not to mention how cute the story is!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by justonemorefic Making Up

13th August 2011:
Bawww this was cute too! I'm not very huge on Harry-fics (rampant oocness, you see), so it's a really great surprise how much I liked this! From the little bit with Hermione in the beginning (no, you won't ever understand women, Harry) and then angry/sad Ginny. I don't know much about Ginny anymore (confession: when I read the books way back when, I never paid much attention to her) but I love how you wrote her. Feisty and fiery, but underneath, just worried about her family and husband. I can actually see the chemistry between them, which makes this a lot better than the movies already ;D

Teehee, and the end! Oh Harry. Six brothers; honestly!

- justonemorefic, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I love writing Harry and the trio, because I've read the book so many times that I feel like I kind of know them. I try really hard to keep them in character. It is intimidating though, since Jo is such an amazing writer.

Don't get me started on Harry/Ginny in the movies. *face palm* Could their first kiss have been any more awkward and out of canon? Yuck.

Anyway, thanks for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter. There might be one more coming. We'll see what the plot bunnies have to say :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #12, by justonemorefic Fatherly Advice

13th August 2011:
OH MY GOD I LOVE THIS. I LOVE ARTHUR. I LOVE EVERYTHING. And it was so perfect~!

Okay, fangirling aside, this was indeed, very perfect. The perfect voice, bit of humor and seriousness. I've been reading such squeeful fics tonight ^__^ Arthur's one of my fav characters in the whole series, and you do him so much justice, from his little fumble with the firewhiskey, to the tough scolding with love. And the fact that he made up that whole story with his father! Hah! It just keeps getting better.

And I didn't find a bit of it cheesy, which is such a testament considering the subject of this fic. It's SO easy to go down that lane, but you handled it extremely well, without being overbearing or out of character.

So much ♥ !

- justonemorefic, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: First of all, I am like, the queen of cheesy, oversentimental dribble. I love writing it, I love reading it, but I'm trying to pull that back, so I'm so very, very glad, you didn't find this cheesy! Yay :D

I love Arthur too, and I'm happy that you liked the way I characterized him. He's such a fun guy to write.

Thank you so much for your review :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #13, by October Making Up

12th August 2011:
This was really cute! I haven't read any post-Hogwarts era stories because I didn't think I'd like them, but this one was a good place to start! I really liked the conversation between Harry and Mr. Weasley, it felt very natural, right back to their many great conversations in the books. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad you enjoyed this story, and especially Harry and Arthur's conversation :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by KittyLuna Making Up

12th August 2011:
I love that this is the first story about Ginny and Harry's welcome into parenthood. Everything I have read is all the cute stuff, not the baby won't sleep through night, has colic, dirty diapers, the real bit of parenting. This makes them kinda human like.
kittylulu
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! Parenting is not all about the cutesy stuff...a lot of it is hard, especially for first time parents, I would imagine.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Bright Green Eyes Making Up

12th August 2011:
This was beautiful. You did a wonderful job.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MJ Making Up

11th August 2011:
loved your depiction of Harry...it was so him:) Very well written story so far.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you're enjoying this story. There might be one more chapter to go...we'll see. Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by faerieall Fatherly Advice

6th August 2011:
Hi! I found your page from the review thread in the Ravenclaw common room and I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this one-shot! Arthur was so spot-on, characterization wise and it was a really nice fluff piece! Definitely enjoyed.

Nisha/faerieall (Ravenclaw)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I have always loved Arthur Weasley, so I'm glad you thought I characterized him well :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Georgia Weasley Fatherly Advice

6th August 2011:
Oh, gawd, I love Arthur. Threatening Harry with the Weasley men was perfect. He's Ginny's daddy before anything else, here, isn't he. Love that. The advice he gave, and the insight into Harry's character, was brilliant. I love this one. Sincerely, I do. ~GW

Author's Response: I love Arthur, too :) He may see Harry as a son, but Ginny is still and forever his little girl, and nothing can really come before that :)

Thanks for your review. I'm really glad you liked this.

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #19, by momotwins Fatherly Advice

6th August 2011:
So very glad to see an Arthur-Harry story from you! I loved Arthur trying to order firewhiskey, and then trying to be all cool about being in a Muggle pub. I do love Arthur XD

Poor Harry, it's tough to be a new father. And I doubt he'd ever been around babies for more than a minute at a time until he became a father, given his background, so that'd make it even harder. I think you really did well portraying the reasons it upset him that the baby cries: his feeling of helplessness, powerless to do anything about the situation while he sees his wife and son in tears. That would really get to Harry. Great job on characterization, naturally. Now I've come to expect nothing less of you there ;)

Oh gosh, I totally teared up when Arthur started telling Harry about Bill being awake every 2 hours and his father's advice - I've been there myself! Really took me back. My twins didn't sleep more than an hour or two at a time until they were a year old. It really does make you a little crazy, and you (through Arthur!) articulated the emotions of that very well. And Harry feeling like asking for help equals failure, oh man. You really got to me in that scene. If my kids hadn't come in and distracted me, I probably would've been crying.

This was lovely. Emotional for me, maybe not for someone who's not a mom, I don't know about that, but I loved it and I think you did a great job with a rather sensitive plot subject. New parenthood is hard, and Harry's not used to having support. I really love your writing. :)

WTM - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: This story came about because I had written a Molly-Harry story, and really wanted to write an Arthur-Harry one as well, and this is what happened :P I love Arthur, too :)

I would be willing to bet that Harry had no contact with a baby before Teddy, and even that was probably pretty limited while Teddy was an infant. This is something that is completely out of Harry's scope of experience.

Harry has always wanted a family, and I'm sure he wants nothing more than to be a good father to his kids, which is why I think this hits him so hard. He doesn't know what to do, and he doesn't know where to turn. Ron and Hermione can't really give him advice, since they haven't been parent's yet, Ginny is as overwhelmed as he is, and most of his parental figures are dead.

I'm really glad that you, as a mom, thought that this was realistic, because I am not a parent. Thanks so much for reviewing. Your reviews have been amazing and have really meant a lot to me :)

~Singularity




 Report Review

Review #20, by NaidatheRavenclaw Fatherly Advice

5th August 2011:
I really enjoyed this one-shot!
I love one-shots like this, of the Golden Trio just dealing with life. One of the hardest things about them, in my opinion at least, is trying to keep everyone in character. That, I think you did perfectly. Harry had just enough of his old self in him to make his actions believable, but you still made him different and more mature, which was great. I love how Arthur was the second character in this. I've seen stories with Bill or George giving Harry advice, but never with Arthur, so I think that was a really good idea. And you kept Arthur in character as well. I could see this conversation playing out in my mind.
One thing I do have to comment on, though, that seemed a little out of place was Harry's line about how asking for help meant defeat. That trait isn't something I saw in him, and I do think he was willing to ask for help in the books. So that was the only odd moment in this one-shot, which is still really hard to pull off!
Once again, I think this was a sweet, light one-shot and I really liked it! :D
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Naida!

I really strive to keep my characterizations as canon as possible, so I'm glad you found that to be the case. This whole story evolved from my longing for a fluffy Harry/Arthur moment. It's pretty obvious that Molly becomes a bit of a mother figure for Harry throughout the series, but with Arthur it's a little more vague.

I have to disagree about Harry asking for help. I always found him to be borderline ridiculous in his need for independence at Hogwarts. Not asking anyone for help with the second task in GoF until it was too late, wanting to deal with it alone when Umbridge was basically torturing him, not wanting to tell anyone what was going on when he returned to Hogwarts in DH... Sure, he allows Ron and Hermione to help him out, and in this story, he's probably ok with Ginny helping out since it's her son too, but I think asking for help outside of that would be really difficult for him. Also, I think this is kind of a completely different situation. A family is what he has always wanted more than anything, and now that he has that, he feels like he can't handle it, and that scares him. Does that make sense? That's kind of what I was thinking at least.

Thanks for pointing it out though. I really appreciate hearing what parts work and don't work for readers :)

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #21, by Harrypotterbookworm Fatherly Advice

29th July 2011:
I really like this story. For me, it really shows Harry as what I think he would be like when he was older. Everyone breaks sometimes under pressure fromthings, different things for every person as well. And while Harry can defeat Voldemort without a problem (relatively speaking) dealing with the issues of being a father gets to him. Which I think is rather realistic and relevent and really fits in with Harry's character.

Whatever you mention about after the war in this one-shot as well makes a lot of sense. Him going to a muggle bar, him thinking he was going to fly to clear his mind, it's all very ... Harryish. ;D

The relationship you build between the two men is very solid even though it may seem a little awkward. As it mentions above, Harry really didn't have a strong father figure in his life and this very naturally shows in this fic and in his relationship with Arthur. It's natural for him to want to lean on someone as a father, and you show very well that this responsibility I guess turned to Arthur.

Grammar wise, I can't spot any flaws, and it is beautifully written in style as well. How do you do it so naturally?

With the added humor of the threats about bringing in the brothers, all this really makes this a well rounded piece. Well done! Hugs,

- HPB

Author's Response: Sorry it took so long for me to reply to this review. I was overwhelmed by the awesome. ;)

Seriously, thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am so glad that you thought this could be realistic. I agree with you. Although I kind of doubt Harry ever would have done something like this, I think it's completely possible.

Harry tends to always take too much upon himself. The combination of family being the most important thing to him and having no good, stable father figures could (in my mind at least) lead to Harry having some sort of breakdown like this, and just needing to get away for a bit.

Honestly, I just wanted to write a Harry and Arthur piece and this is what emerged :)

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm actually working on a follow up to this story that takes place right after, when Harry returns home. So keep an eye out for that.

~Singularity


 Report Review

Review #22, by gryffindor_potter76 Fatherly Advice

18th July 2011:
So sweet! Something Harry needed to hear and handle(: Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Glad you enjoyed it and thought it was sweet.

 Report Review

Review #23, by LilyGreenEyes Fatherly Advice

7th July 2011:
Hey there, here for your review :)

I really enjoyed this, it was just really quirky and a good insight into the troubles Harry would have faced. Having known what a baby crying all night is like I'd be inclined to do the same thing ;)

You have a great start to the story, it's a little intriguing as we don't know quite what's going on and you give your readers time to guess a little bit, I like that in a story :)

Your characterisation was pretty much spot on for me, Harry was perfect with his fear of failing them, never leaving them. The only thing I thought was a little strange was the 'Mr Weasley', personally, I think Arthur and Molly would be insisting by now that it was too formal to be Mr and Mrs Weasley, but that's just me. Perhaps Mr Weasley once or twice and then to the end he would call him Arthur? I don't know, it's your story ;) Arthur was bang on the nail, I loved your portrayal of them both.

This is such a fantastic and unique dilemma for Harry to tackle and I really think you did it justice. I loved it, and the ending threat of all the Weasley's chasing after him didn't half make me laugh! ;) Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I really appreciate your comments on the plot and characterizations.

Thank you for pointing out the 'Mr. Weasley' thing. That completely makes sense. It's details like that that I always forget when writing future stories.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story and especially the last line. I like it too :P

Thank you so much for your review and for getting to it so quickly!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jasnie Fatherly Advice

2nd July 2011:
Very nice little story, I like that Arthur put a real name on their relationship.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Pacific Wizard Fatherly Advice

17th April 2011:
Singularity: You are awesome and this was an awesome story. It;s good to see the human side of Harry and his frailties. Also good to see Arthur be the terrific and wise dad we all know he is. The dialogue was real. It wasn't preachy and didn't try to be too clever. I would love to see a sequel when Harry gets home to Ginny. You write Ginny so well and I think Harry's encounter with her after this episode would be as good as the "Battle of Hogwarts" but with a sweet and passionate ending. Lol...anyway, Well Done! You are one of my favorites, PW

Author's Response: Hi PW, it's good to hear from you again :) Thanks for you super kind remarks. I wasn't sure how well I had written this story, so it's nice to get some positive feedback. I especially appreciate your comment that the dialogue didn't try to be "too clever". I have a problem with that some times (I often think I am far more clever and amusing than I actually am :)).

I haven't had too much time to write lately, and the muses have vanished, but I'm hoping to get back to it at some point. I've got some notes on a potential sequel to this, but we'll have to see how it goes.

Thanks again for leaving a review! I'm sorry that it took me so long to respond. Hope you're well!

~Singularity


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>