Reading Reviews for Nova Magica Ars
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ruby_slippers IV

23rd November 2011:
Oh this is gonna be good! I can tell!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shannon IV

23rd October 2011:
So I was reading this fic, thinking of how wonderful and beautiful it is when I look at the Author and realize YOU'RE MAJIKAT! OMG it's been so long, I haven't seen you since The Forsaken Ones closed! It's me, AIMAE! (Angieismyalterego) It's been so long I can hardly believe it! Small world (or small HP community, really) How are you??

 Report Review

Review #3, by Remus IV

17th October 2011:
Hey, me again! :D

In the line "and the stories she had been told may not be the truth of the tall, dark-haired woman." If you're referring to Morgaine, she's not tall but rather small just like Viviane. They always compared her to being sort of a fairy child because of her skin color and height.

In the line "She had not eaten she had arrived, recalling Geoffrey’s warning..." you left "since" out. It happens though.

Anyway, plot wise I'm a bit confused. Did Rowena traveled through time and is now in the 5th century where Camelot existed OR is this like a faint "memory" of Camelot re-playing over and over and now Rowena is there to change things? Second question, is Merlin is the title in MoA. So is this Merlin Kevin or Taliesin? O.o

Anyway, I hope you answer my question! XD Cus now I wanna know! I hope you-re request when you update so I can continue to read this awesome story! :)

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for another review!

Yeah, again, this is my interpretation of Morgaine, and I've always imagined her as tall and slim for some reason. I'm not sure why. I'm not using the fairy-lineage in this at all though.

thanks for picking that up!!

Yes, Rowena travelled through time and is now in 5th century Britain. She isn't there to change anything - she is there to learn, as you will see.

Merlin is Merlin, or my interpretation of him. I know they give him the title the Merlin of Britain in MoA but it is used in other sources I have read as well. I think it sounds better than Merlin the Magician though, lol. So it is not Kevin or Taliesin. It is simply my Merlin ^_^

Thanks so much - I am really pleased you are enjoying this and once I have the next chapter up I shall drop by your thread!

xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Remus III

17th October 2011:
Hey, I'm back with your review! :D

I have to say, your story definitely makes me happy. Its good to know that there's someone else out there who loves a good MoA/HP story. Those are rare. Anyway, I'm curious to know if Rowena is a reincarnation of someone else that we know, such as Viviane.

One thing though, Morgaine, at the end, was mad at her mother for not wanting to return to Avalon. Igraine I believe was never a priestess of Avalon. She was raised there and taught everything she knew but she, and Morgause, never took the vows because Viviane sent them away. Igraine to marry and Morgause because she was too ambitious. Anyway, that's why I have a tiny issue with the line "I am Morgaine le Fay, daughter of Gorlois and Priestess of the Isle of Avalon..." So maybe change the line to "daughter of Gorlois and a daughter of Avalon."? Idk, your story...but if you remember at the beginning when Gorlois was going to strike her for talking to Uther, she said something like the lines of "Think twice before you strike a daughter of Avalon."

ANYWAY! 2 little "mistakes" I noticed. The line "She stood up and stretched and Helga took her arm," There's no reason to add the "up" considering that you really can't stand down. Also, "...walk through Hogwarts halls and spend a moment reliving the glory of the buildings birth," you're missing an apostrophe in building. I'm just nitpicking because I really couldn't find anything wrong with your story.

The interaction between Rowena and Slytherin was great. Glad to know that she sees a friend on him still rather than an enemy.

I guess that's it for this chapter! On to the next! :D

Author's Response: Hey, thank you so much for the lovely review.

First though, I need to make it clear that this is NOT a re-writing of the MoA! I have used it as a source of inspiration but it is not my only source. This fic also includes my interpretation of the Arthurian legends.

Igraine has been interpreted in many different ways, as have all the characters, including Morgaine/Morgan, so I am taking bits from here and there and meshing them together and putting my own spin on things.

Rowena is simply Rowena - she is not connected to any other character from the Myths at all.

Thank you for picking up those errors and I am really pleased you liked the interaction between Rowena and Salazar. I enjoy writing their conversations.

Cheers hun! I really appreciate the review!
xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by onestop_hpfan18 IV

15th October 2011:
This just gets better with each chapter. You've really done a great job characterising each character and making sure they measure up to how they were viewed according to Arthurian legend. It almost made me think of the show Merlin the further into this chapter I read, especially toward the end when you introduced Merlin into the story. Over all, I'm still loving this story and keep it up. (:

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlessaGrindelwald IV

10th October 2011:
This is a beautiful story! And so very well detailed. Please keep writing it, I can't wait to find out what happens next.:)

Author's Response: thank you so much. I am really pleased you like it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Remus II

10th October 2011:
Hey! Its me again.

Rowena seems like a likable character. She's always written, cold, snobby or what have you so I'm glad you took a different route. She seems like a well rounded character who has her own share of grief. However, since by this time she is a mother I'm sort of curious as to why she has not expressed any feelings of 'missing' Helena.

Godric, too stoic for my liking but its your story. Each founder needs to have their characterization. Maybe I'll warm up to him as the story goes. I want to say that he is related to some Cornish royalty (from HP wiki) so will that take into place?

Slytherin, always evil but in his own way. I really did not think that he was EVIL as Voldemort...he just had his own agenda. I'm glad that you're still trying to portray him as a normal human being rather than just evil and power hungry.

Helga, well I haven't read much of her to have a say.

Plot wise, this story is still on its "baby stage" so I cannot really comment much on it except that you're moving forward bit by bit with each chapter and not stalled. Regarding MoA, I wonder if the time lapse is also different. When Morgain went to the fairy folk land, years passed but for her only days did so I'm wondering if Avalon, since its covered in mist, is going to be like that.

Anyway, minor grammar mistakes with commas but other than that this story seems flawless. Looking forward to reading more! So re-request if you wanna once I'm open :)

Perelandra

 Report Review

Review #8, by Remus I

10th October 2011:
YOU! OMG! Ok I'm going to calm down.

This is Perelandra from the forums with your review. Sorry it has taken a while...busy AND sick...not a good combination. However, I'm spazing out here! Mists of Avalon?! I absolutely LOVE that book that I also wrote a Founders fic myself mixed with MoA.

Anyway, quick review so I can go ahead and read chapter 2! Your characterization seems fine even though its just the beginning. Hopefully you can continue that for the following chapters. Your writing style is great as well! Grammar seems fine to me as well as I didn't spot any mistakes. Anyway the girl and boy...is that Morgain and Arthur? XD Alright...time to read chapter 2!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Beeezie IV

9th October 2011:
Hey, this is Beeezie, there with your review!

Okay. So now I am pulling "The Mists of Avalon" off my bookshelf to reread and kind of want to pull a Fox Mulder, but instead of finding the Queen Anne, I would find Avalon. You are doing such a great job with description and with moving along the plot. This is an awesome story.

Okay, now that I'm done making X-Files references and heaping general praise, I'm actually going to write the review.

Mechanics:
- The paragraph starting, "She did not understand how they used magic" felt a little inconsistent. It's not that I don't think that she could feel a little hollow but appreciate the approach at the same time, but I do think that you could have described the emotion a bit better.
- The paragraph starting "Rowena left her chambers; a small room" has a misplaced semi-colon. "chambers" should be followed by a comma, not a semi-colon.
- The paragraph starting, "Sighing wistfully, for she could not bear the thought" should have "and found Morgaine" instead of "finding Morgaine".

Characterization:
- Rowena continues to be excellent. You've definitely gotten across her love for knowledge, but you haven't focused on that to such an extent that she is one-dimensional. She's definitely a complicated character with a lot of different facets, and I'm really enjoying her.
- Morgaine: I wouldn't say that your characterization of her really delves into so much depth, but at the same time, I don't think that that's a bad thing. This is from Rowena's perspective, and Morgaine should be a mysterious sort of person to us, because that's how Rowena sees her.
- Merlin: I am intrigued by him, and I love that we've only just met him and he's saying that Arthur is the one people will remember. That gives us some insight to his character, and he's only had a handful of lines.

The dialogue was fine. Toward the end, I wished that there was just a tiny bit more in the way of description or something to cut up the dialogue a bit, but it really was not a big deal.

Terrific chapter. Can't wait to read more.

I can't actually post updating that I've finished this review without doubleposting, but I'm moving through all my reviews this afternoon. If you want to rerequest for Shadow of the Moon before I say that all slots are free, feel free. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by dobbys_socks I

6th October 2011:
Hi, dobbys_socks here with your requested review.

On the very rare occasion that I read a faultless story, I can't help but smile and read snippets aloud to whoever is in the room. I feel that I am taken on a journey and ride on the words, and your story madde me do just that.

This fic was rich in description and really flowed. There was perfect imagery and I could really picture Rowena's dreams in my head. When Salazar said at the end that his crest was to be a serpent, I immediately thought, 'beware the serpent'. It was great!

I think you portrayed all of your characters perfectly and there was no grammaical mistakes that I noticed. It was beautifully written and as I said, I could find no faults.

I don't have anything else to say, it was so...amazing. I just loved it so much and I can't wait to read more. This is so exciting and mysterious! 10/10

Thanks for letting me review,
G

Author's Response: O.o

wow, really? goodness me! i don't know what to say!! firstly, thank you so much for coming to review! it is rare to find someone willing to read Founders, which makes me sad because it is such an amazing era.

i am SO HAPPY you liked it!! I really don't know what else to say, only a massive THANKS!!! I really appreciate it!

xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Beeezie III

3rd October 2011:
Hey, this is Beeezie, back with your next review! :)

Characterization:
- Rowena: You're continuing to build on this theme of her being absolutely starving for knowledge and being willing to do pretty much anything for it. I like that for a few reasons; you're easing us into it without making it feel unnatural, and you're setting up a lot of interesting things that you can do with her character. At this point, I can easily see her quest for knowledge becoming a liability. Ravenclaws are often depicted as cold and logical, and you're showing us another side that makes a lot of sense.
- Godric: I'm continuing to like your portrayal of him. He isn't loud and over the top at all and reckless, which is often how Gryffindors are depicted, but you are definitely depicting a strong sense of loyalty and courage. I also think that it was a nice choice that you made him the only one to accompany her, because it says something about her relationships with the two other founders as well. She shares more obvious middle ground with Helga and Salazar in a lot ways than she does with Godric, but ultimately, he's the one who stands by her. There's a lot of subtlety woven in Godric's character and his friendship with Rowena, and I'm loving it.
- Helga: I'm interested to see what you continue to do with Helga. I'm not sure how much she going to pop up while Rowena is in Avalon, but thus far, you've made some really thought-provoking choices and portrayed a different side of Hufflepuff house that isn't at odds with what we saw in the books but doesn't really fit the stereotype, either.
- Salazar: I'm still not quite sure what to think of him, but I don't think that that's a bad thing.

Mechanics:
- There were a couple small issues. In the first paragraph, the second sentence should have more commas, and when she's going back to her room, it should be "building's birth" instead of "buildings birth."
- I did think that Rowena wiping tears she didn't know she cried was a bit awkwardly phrased. On the whole, though, there really weren't a lot of errors.

Dialogue:
- I thought that the dialogue flowed well in this chapter. I don't really have many complaints.


There were a few parts that bothered me a bit. I'm a bit unclear about what's up with Helena, and why she's used to not seeing her mother. Not having her mother's attention, yes, but from this, it seemed like they didn't even live together.

On the whole, another terrific chapter, and I can't wait to read the fourth one. :)

Author's Response: Hi hun! wow, thank you for another amazing review! you are awesome!!

Thank you - I am really pleased you like the characters. i wanted to play around with the stereotypes for each of Hogwarts Houses, because I cannot believe that those things that are given in the book as the traits for Slytherins etc are all that they are. I think the core aspects would be the same as the Founders times, but other things would be been added as time and society changed. does that make sense? I have no idea, lol.

There will be more Salazar later, so you will have a chance to know him a bit better.

ugh apostrophes!! hate them. always put them in the wrong place. thank you for picking that up!!

ah Helena. I have never really seen Rowena as a mother in the true sense - I think yes, she had a child because people did that and it was expected etc etc but I think she was too selfish to really be a mother to her daughter. At this point, they don't live together. Helena was fostered while Hogwarts was being built, but I don't think Rowena was ever really there for her, you know?

thank you so much. i am so pleased you are enjoying this!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Beeezie II

2nd October 2011:
Hey, this is Beeezie, here with your requested review! No worries about my beta-ing - I always make time for my review requests! I'm just totally in love with your story, and wanted you to know that I would keep reading if I didn't have other things I should be doing. :)

So, onto the review!

Characterization:
- Rowena: At this point, I'm really getting a sense of her personality, and it's both engaging and believable. She isn't foolhardy, but a deep hunger for knowledge is coming across, and I'm really enjoying it.
- Godric: So far so good. I like the way you've portrayed him on the whole. He also come across as real, and not just your stereotypical "throw caution to the wind" Gryffindor. I also like the relationship you've built up between him and Rowena. Her memory of thinking about love with him was terrific and well-done.
- Helga: Didn't really appear in this chapter other than in Rowena's thoughts, but I thought that you added some interesting things about her character even without her presence. The fact that she initially pushed for general acceptance of all magical people worked, and I thought that linking the house elves to her in the way that you did was great.
- Salazar: There's definitely an edge to him, and I can see how he comes to be the villain. Of the four, he's the only one who I haven't seen as much depth as I would like thus far, but you may well add that in later.

Mechanics:
- You did have the occasional misplaced comma, inconsistent tense, and odd use of adjective. They were not common, however, and did nothing to pull me out of the story. I saw the issue, shrugged, and moved on. They weren't glaring errors, and again, there really weren't many. I wouldn't worry about it.

Dialogue:
- It's good, and I felt like it fit the setting well (as did the descriptions). You integrated information about the scene very well, so it wasn't just "he said" "she said'. However, when it came to transitioning from dialogue to her being alone, I felt that it was a little rough, especially in comparison to the rest of the piece. The most notable point of this is when she leaves Godric on the tower. One minute they were talk and the next she was gone, and it just felt a bit rough. On a similar note, it felt in this chapter like they spend a lot of time standing at windows or on towers or whatever, and it felt a bit odd.

Other than those minor issues, however, this is a great story, and you should definitely feel free to rerequest if you found this review helpful! :) I will probably be back eventually even if you don't, but I tend not to go in as much depth or give as much CC for unrequested reviews.

Thank you for writing this and posting the request. You are really making me fall in love with the Founders Era. This story was the catalyst in my adding "Founders Era" to my "Love to read" list. :)

Author's Response: O.o wow, what a review! you are awesome, you know that?

I am really pleased the characters are working for you. Your comment about Godric made me think - the whole idea of what it is to be a Gryffindor (or any House) is something that I think would have, over time, taken on its own mythic stance. He may have been some of the things his House stands for in Harry's era and so on, but he wouldn't be all.

There will definitely be more Salazar - he is very very important later on ^_-

ah yes, typical of me, lol. Thank you - I shall make sure I pay more attention to that sort of thing from now on.

You know, that scene bugs me too, but I cannot think how to make that transition better. I might take another look at it though and see what I can come up with. thank you for pointing it out - it means i wasn't being overly paranoid about my writing in that instance.

hahahaha omg you are so right! there is a lot of staring out windows etc! I can't believe I did that! what a terrible cliche - staring out windows = introspection, lol. *slaps head*

thank you - your reviews are wonderful and very very helpful. I really appreciate them.

OMG really?? wow, that is wonderful to hear. there aren't enough people willing to read Founders (by the way, if you want another very interesting take on this era, check out Legend, by celticbard. i highly recommend it!)

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Beeezie I

29th September 2011:
Hey, this is Beeezie, here with your requested review!

First off: I loved it. King Arthur is one of my two favorite legends of all time, and I've loved the Mists of Avalon and Idylls of the King since I was in high school. I love the way you're integrating it, and because the Founders era fits so well with it, none of it feels forced. This definitely isn't crossover. It's just brilliant use of a legend.

So, onto the critique!

I thought that you did the visions (dreams? I'm not quite sure what to call them) very well, and I also loved the way that you captured Rowena's thoughts. It felt very real, and I got the sense of foreboding you were trying to convey and am very intrigued to see what happens next. Your characterization also seems to be heading in a great direction thus far.

My only real issue is with your dialogue. It just doesn't always feel natural to me. For example: [“Perhaps you should rest,” Godric suggested, but she shook her head. He nodded.] The descriptions of their interactions surrounding the dialogue sometimes felt a bit off.

That's really my only complaint thus far. I would love to keep reading, but unfortunately I have a few fics to beta that I really should get on. Please feel free to rerequest. I will likely find my way back here even if you don't, but I can be a little forgetful at times. :P

Lovely start. Thank you so much for requesting, and I would love to keep reading. :)

Author's Response: Hi there, and thank you so much for coming to review. boy you are quick!

YAY! so pleased! it's always better when readers are familiar with the myth, and at the level you are makes it even more exciting!! (I am currently re-reading The Mists of Avalon - writing this has made me want to read it again, but I hope it doesn't influence me too much, lol). Thank you!

Thank you - I am really pleased you liked the dreams/visions, and that you like where Rowena is headed so far.

I agree completely - the dialogue is my biggest worry about this fic, and the example you used is absolutely correct - I will have to see if I can fix that.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am really pleased that you are enjoying it so far hun!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme III

6th September 2011:
Now I feel annoyed for not voicing my guess in the dark in chapter 2 that the misty/glassy lady was Morgaine. My desire not to sound stupid always wins out above my desire to sound like I know what I'm talking about.

I'm going to start getting repetitive now because it's all the same as before: the dialogue is as ever beautifully constructed and spoken. I can hear every line in my head as I read and the voices are very individual. The strength of your characters in 3 mere chapters stuns me because they are so vivid and well-crafted.

The references to Helena as Rowena said her goodbyes were really touching and this story is also helping me to see how Helena must have felt in a way that JKR never quite managed. It really has made me pity the poor thing for having to live in this shadow - a shadow that from the sounds of things she never sees.

The rest of the Founders are as consistent and believable as ever. I really don't have much else to say because it's just going to be rambling squee. This is an absolutely stunning opening - the continuing mystery compels us to read on and each time a question is answered, a dozen more get asked. It's brilliant.


xx

(and I'm still sorry these took so long!)

Author's Response: hahahaha don't be annoyed. I didn't want it to be overly obvious, but was hoping those familiar with the myths would recognise who she was.

thank you thank you thank you!!! I agree completely - poor Helena! The more I write this and the more Rowena appears to me the more I feel deep sympathy for her daughter! I always imagine Helena stole the Diadem not only out of jealousy but a sort of revenge for coming second to not only her mother's 'fame', as it was, but to her thirst for knowledge. it makes me sad to think about it :(

thank you sweetie!!! I really hope you enjoy the next chapter!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme II

6th September 2011:
I adore your dialogue, I just have to throw that out whilst I remember. It's so elegant and refined and it makes me wish people spoke like that all the time. You haven't overdone it or made it feel forced; it flows really well and sounds natural. I always find there's something rather romantic about this style of dialogue which adds to my appreciation for it!

The development of the relationships in this chapter were fantastic, between Godric and Rowena especially. The way you described the changing relationship between those two, the way that love comes in so many different forms, was particularly well done. The lurking threat of Salazar and his link to Rowena was also wonderfully executed. The tension grows and grows and yet doesn't feel overdone in the slightest.

I love this misty/glass lady. The eerieness that she creates when she appears just comes off the page. It's a very visual story and your description is second to none. The lines about the moon are especially strong and I feel like I'm being pulled into the story.

And there's Geoffrey of Monmouth being all scholarly. I think he was integrated really well and coming back to the Founders themselves, I did like Godric's worry about Rowena riding alone, and the way Salazar suggests she Apparate really struck a chord with me. The lack of understanding of her desire to be in touch with nature and the laziness really adds yet another dimension to this very well-crafted character.

And one to go! I hope these are all making sense...


xx

Author's Response: really? wow thank you! I have been so worried about it. I have been watching films set in this time, reading things...I am so happy it is working out!! I agree - there is a sort of romance about the way people spoke once upon a time, when language seemed to matter more and was a mark of social status.

I really like writing her interactions with Godric. I never saw them as romantically involved but more really close friends, a brother-sister type relationship. I find it hard to read stories where they are shipped >.<

YAY GEOFFREY! I love geoffrey. i just had to put him in there, how could I not? I have read all his works (as hard as it was) and I adore him, the silly romantic he was!

thank you so much!!! I can't say how much these reviews make my day!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by PenguinsWillReignSupreme I

6th September 2011:
I AM A TERRIBLE PERSON. My memory is shrivelling to the size of a tiny particle of dust and even though I actually wrote down 'KATE'S REVIEWS' about 2 weeks ago, I still managed to lose the piece of paper and forget about it completely. Better late than never though!

I am just...so so so jealous. The writing itself is absolutely divine. It felt like even if you'd told us nothing about the setting or if nothing had actually happened, the style alone would have carried it and kept it interesting. The phrasing and the structure fit so well with the era you're writing that it makes it easy to slot together the pieces and create an absolutely stunning visual idea of the setting.

I always find it funny how I perceive characters like the Founders, who we haven't got much canon information to use aside from the words of the Sorting Hat (and even that is fairly limited). I just have this very strong image of what they'd all be like and it's quite easy to shy away from Founders stories when they don't match that. This absolutely hits the nail on the head in terms of what my imagination believes they would be.

Rowena, to start with her, is probably going to be a pretty brilliant main character. I really like her thoughts and the way in which her mind works. I thought you really just got her.

Salazar was probably my next favourite; as readers, we obviously know what's to come but the way you've tackled him is a bit like the way that Peter Pettigrew never is - he was their friend, they trusted him and they must have liked him before he turned his back on them. You let us see the relationship he has with the others and the way in which he states these beliefs about power and the (sort of) thirst for money and greatness shows that it's only a matter of time before things start falling apart.

I thought the dream sequences were done phenomenally. The description was brilliant and they contrasted the body of the story really well. The mystery too - you're so good at this. Suspense and drama and darkness, it all comes to life in your writing.

Okay, I'm trying not to make these too long but this is a brilliant start to the story so on I go!


xx

Author's Response: NO I AM A TERRIBLE PERSON! for taking so long to respond to your lovely reviews!! forgive me??

*blush* thank you, but you have no reason to be jealous of me and my writing. Need I mention One and Only?? Huh?? but thank you all the same xD

I am SO HAPPY you like the characters! I too have strong ideas about how they would all be, especially at this point in their lives and the creation of Hogwarts, so thank you so much!

I don't think I could write from any other perspective than Rowena's. I don't know why. I just seem to understand her more than the others *shrugs*. I am so pleased you like her!!!

I love Salazar, but again, I could never write from his point of view. and wow, thank you!! i do see him as a bit of a Peter, but in a different way. He was stronger and more determined in his ideals and turned from his friends for different reasons but essentially, they are similar.

thank you hun!!! I am squeeing and flailing and all sorts here! I am so grateful for your review!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by tangledconstellations III

26th August 2011:
Hello! It's Laura again! Sorry that it's taken me a little longer to get round to reviewing - I've been so busy!

This chapter was lovely, though! I love how you're reinforcing the characters all the more, and you pay attention to every detail. The little things, like the founders friendship really give this story a unique direction, because so often they're at odds with each other in other fics. Rowena's character too is explored all the more in every chapter, and it's ever so lovely to have this development as you read on. Seeing her sad about Helena was so raw and wonderfully done, especially when you described her to wipe away the tears she didn't know she'd cried. Beautiful.

I really love your descriptions too - describing the lake as a discarded piece of glass was just incredible. Your writing astounds me! And, the way you described failure as 'a great burn slashing through her body' - its so unique, and yet I completely understand what you mean. Your use of adverbs too are great, because it really is the little things that add up to make your chapters so atmospheric and interesting and really, really magical.

Its fantastic to see that Rowena has reached Avalon okay, and still you've kept us wanting to find out exactly why she was needed there. We're on the edge of our seats! Despite a few typo's, like missing out an 'and' etc (though I've lost where it was now! - and they weren't blindingly obvious) it was another wonderful chapter! I can't wait to read more :)

L xxx

Author's Response: Agh! so sorry it has taken so long for to respond to this!! Can I bribe your forgiveness with cookies?

I am so pleased you enjoyed this chapter Laura, and I am happy that you are enjoying the characters. They had to have been friends first, I think, to come together in the first place for a common goal. I guess with any friendship, there would be differences of opinion.

I don't see Rowena as a mother in the true sense. I think she would be too caught up in herself, especially at this stage in her life but she would still love her daughter. I'm glad you liked that moment.

*blush* thank you so much.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your wonderful review and I am so happy you are enjoying this!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by onestop_hpfan18 III

25th August 2011:
Ah, I really am enjoying this story so far, Kate. I'm glad you requested me to review it because now it's one of my favorites. I love how you stick so close to legend as we know of Avalon and the characters, like Morgaine le Fay. And you just write it all beautifully. I can so see you as a successful historical fiction writer in all honesty. And I would so read your books if that's what you ended up writing, too, because i love historical fiction novels. Over all, excellent chapter, can't wait to read more! (:

Author's Response: hi hun

thank you so much! i am really pleased you are enjoying it so far! i adore historical fiction (when it's well written and properly researched, lol) and i am having a lot of fun writing this!!

really? wow thanks for the compliment!!

Kate xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by SiriuslyPeeved III

23rd August 2011:
I'm glad you have given Salazar a fair shake at this point in the story; I anticipate things between himself and the other Founders will sour as we are told in the books but he has a strong friendship with Rowena and understands how much she needs to go to Avalon. I enjoyed the twist you put on entrance to Avalon in this century -- it makes sense that the entry would shift as Avalon moved further away from this world and using the lake was creative and fit nicely into the mythology.

The only thing that surprises me a bit is that this is the first mention of Helena; in the time period I do think having her fostered is believable, but it seems she might have crossed her mother's mind before this. (or if not, maybe Helga would have reminded her to think of Helena). It's a character decision of course, this is just my thought :)

Excited to read more when you write it!

Author's Response: I think Salazar gets mistreated too often - he can't have always been evil, if he truly was evil at all. He intrigues me - his motivations intrigue me, and will be delved in to later on.

I am so pleased you liked that bit - that you have read the myth makes it easier cause i don't need to explain anything, lol.

to tell you the truth, i don't see rowena as much of a mother in the real sense. i see her a little selfish in her desire to obtain knowledge and the power that knowledge held, leaving her daughter out in the cold a little. why else would helena steal the diadem in years to come? that has always been my interpretation of their relationship. i think at this point though, the idea that she may not come back, would make her think beyond her own needs for a moment.

thanks hun - hopefully get the next chapter up soonish!!

xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by SiriuslyPeeved II

23rd August 2011:
I love how you used the medieval chronicle writer as a character -- reminds me of the Canterbury Tales -- it brings a sense of real- world history to your story. (ah, pre-Statute of Secrecy ;) ). I also loved the exchange between Godric and Rowena on the tower, it brought Godric to life for me.

I'm really enjoying this so far!

Author's Response: teehee i just had to have a Geoffrey cameo, once i found out i was allowed to use him!

I'm glad you liked that scene - i really loved writing it. i am drawn to godric's character for reasons im not even sure why. he really interests me. i'm glad you like him.

thanks!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by Iloenchen III

22nd August 2011:
Aw, this is not nice, making me read your story and then breaking it off here, just where I've reached a point where I absolutely wants to know what happens next. So why has Morgaine le Fay called Rowena to her? Who is that half-naked man? How much time will have passed when Rowena returns to her own world? So many open questions that make me curious about the next chapter (which will hopefully come out soon ;) ).

I've found the lake scene a bit strange, the bit where Rowena walks into the water. She walks in and walks in until she's up to her shoulders. Then she takes a deep breath and dives under. But at this point, shouldn't she still be with her feet on the ground? So why is it suddenly gone? Unless, of course, she jumped forward and there was a cliff underwater which would explain why she suddenly lost her footing. That was just something I didn't find very logical.

Besides that, it was once again a great chapter. I loved the scene between Rowena and Godric when they said goodbye to each other, with her wanting to go on and him not knowing how to hold her back. That was so nice to read with so many emotions in between the lines.

And as I've mentioned, I'm curious about the people who live in Avalon. The half-naked guy ties in so well with the story, since he does exactly what Godric would have done had Rowena not disappeared. And the food - Rowena mentioned that you have to be careful with the food in fairy land and now Morgaine said that there's food waiting for her.

I'm very much looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: hi darling!!

ah questions! I promise they will all be answered in due time!

That part under the water was where she slipped through the gate to Avalon, so for a moment there she had no purchase on the ground. I hope that clears it up a little!

i enjoyed writing that scene - godric has always interested me and it's been fun to write him.

ahh yes, well spotted. food and the fairy realm. we shall see what happens xD

thank you once again hun!!
xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by Iloenchen II

22nd August 2011:
I admire your writing style for this story. It fits the epoque where this takes place well and when the characters are talking, it feels as though they've come from the past. English is not my mother language so I'm sure that I'm easy to fool but to me, at least, it sounds perfect for the Founders Era.

The woman with the green eyes again. I find it interesting how she keeps showing up. When Rowena looked at her mirror image, I was almost waiting for the green eyed-woman to come.

I like how you introduce the history of the founders in this chapter and how they met. So far, Salazar seemed a bit left out, as if he didn't fit with the others at all, which made me wonder how he came to be part of the four. This chapter, though, explains it and makes the friendship between them more realistic.

I've been looking long and hard for some constructive criticism to offer you on this chapter but I couldn't find any. It's beautifully written and your characters are amazing. I also liked the introduction of Geoffrey - no long explaining who he is but diving right into the relationship. The short conversation teaches me enough about him.

Great job!

Author's Response: wow thank you! getting the dialogue right has been such a worry for me - i didn't want it to seem forced or stiff so i am glad it is coming across as okay.

ah yes, she is rather important!

i wanted to make their relationship something real - i see the founders as very different people who came together for a common aim and found friendship.

thank you so much for yet another wonderful review!! I am so pleased you are enjoying this!

xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by SiriuslyPeeved I

22nd August 2011:
I thought this chapter flowed beautifully and I think you did a very nice job with the interplay of visions and present-time action. I got a little chill when the woman in one of the visions addressed Rowena directly "you should not be here, not yet.". Excellent.

Rowena's character is just beginning to come together in this chapter but I see her place in the quartet of founders as a moderator, trying to pull the differing aims together for the good of the students.

I loved the setting and period touches, I read a lot of Arthurian fiction (though it's been years since I read any of the source materials) and I think you did a great job setting the tone. My one small mechanical note is that "Muggle" is usually capitalized :). Otherwise extremely solid writing.

I'll be back soon to review the rest!

Author's Response: Mary, thank you darling for such a lovely review! i really appreciate it and i am really pleased you are enjoying it so far!

i see her a bit like that as well - the one holding the balance.

oh thank you! it's so hard to write in an era so far back and i've tried hard to get those nuances correct. Oh thanks - I forgot that capitalisation!!

thanks darling!


 Report Review

Review #24, by DarkLadyofSlytherin III

21st August 2011:
I can only imagine what you have planned, Kate. And I can honestly say, I can't wait. This is by far one of my favourites of yours. I absolutely love the founders and this is such a lovely tale that I find myself waiting impatiently for the next chapter.

I can't wait for the next update to your fabulous fic. I love it!

Author's Response: wow one of your favs?? seriously? that sort of comment makes me feel so much better about this fic because i love it also. it is such fun to write and to imagine this world. i'm so pleased you are enjoying it darling!

xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Iloenchen I

21st August 2011:
Hello! Here I am to review your story as promised. This is the first time I'm reading a Founders fic and I like it. It's so much fun to imagine that there was a time when Hogwarts just started out and to realise again that the founders were human, too.

I like the description of the moon in the beginning and also how Rowena went to sleep. Then, however, I was a bit confused. The dream starts out well, with her standing somewhere on the field, but there was so much description in it that I had to read the first paragraph twice until I understood it. Don't ask me why. It was just the first paragraph of the dream, the rest was fine again and I really liked it.

What I absolutely loved was when Rowena was awake, rolled over and someone was standing in her room. You drew me in so well that when I came to that point, I almost forgot to breath. Your writing there is brilliant and since that point, I absolutely wanted to find out who that woman is.

I also like that the woman appears again in the same chapter (it is her, isn't it?). That scene with the boy and the girl is so interesting and intriguing, especially since it ties in with Gryffindor just having told about recruiting children for Hogwarts.

You've done a great job here and you were absolutely right that I needed no prior knowledge of anything. I'm glad I came to read this. :)
Ilona

Author's Response: Hi hun

thanks for reading! I'm really pleased you're enjoying it so far. Founders has interested me for ages and i've spent a long time thinking about how i could write this era.

ah sorry about the descriptive overload! It was kind of meant to be a little confusing anyway as rowena is confused by her dream.

yep, its the same woman!! i won't say any more about the dreams only that they will all make sense in the end.

thank you so much for taking a look at this hun. I really appreciate it!

Kate xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>