Reading Reviews for Rastaban
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theblacksisters Rabastan

1st October 2013:
I haven't read a lot about Rabastan Lestrange, so this was interesting.

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Last Marauder Rabastan

18th July 2012:
What I really love is the fact that you are taking the lesser known characters and using them in your stories, like Greyback or Narcissa or Rabastan, and are shaping a story around them which is just as good, if not better as any story about the trio or the 'big seven'.

I loved the imagery in this - the idea of the stars up ahead, and how Rabastan ponders what they mean and what destiny or fate means.

You managed to really convey how much Sonya meant to Rabastan, and even though we never see her in this story, her imprint is all over it, and by the time I read the last line, I did feel sorry for Rabastan, felt sorry for a DEATH EATER, never in all my life thought I would say that!

Great stuff again, well done! I love all your stories!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Santa Claus Rabastan

31st December 2011:
*happy dance*

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Today I have to put my Santa hat away, so I dropped by to leave one last review :)

You write such interesting stories! Reading is so enjoyable because they're just brilliant. :)

I didn't spot anything, apart from one sentence where you repeated a word twice. You used 'merely' twice, but apart from that, I loved the description and imagery in that sentence! :)

I don't know what to say! Happy new year! :D

Santa :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by NaidatheRavenclaw Rabastan

12th August 2011:
I really enjoyed this. Actually, that's an understatement. I absolutely adored this!

Even that first sentence was just wow. "Do you see the stars?" It's the kind of sentence that just pulls me in, so I HAVE to keep reading. And after that, your imagery only got better. I think stories about anyone in Azkaban have to be written really well, or they come off as over dramatic or cheesy, but yours was perfectly written, and just flawless.

If your goal was to make me feel sympathy towards Rabastan, you definitely succeeded. Not only because of this mysterious Sonya, but because of his entire situation. Just the way you described his emotions made them really relateable, and that made me pity him in every way.

Happy staff/prefects Friday and thanks for the amazinf summer! *hugs*
-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the great review! I'm really glad you liked this and that was exactly what I was going for with the story! I really apprecaite the review, so thanks so much! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Capella Black Rabastan

6th August 2011:
Aww, sympathy for the devil indeed! I like how you've made Rabastan's isolation and coldness into something understandable and forgiveable. I really like Sonya too - you've given us just enough information about her to form an impression, while leaving out enough to make us keep asking questions.

Overall this piece was really dark and evocative, yet bittersweet too. I liked particularly the use of the stars as an extended metaphor, though I'd have enjoyed it more if I'd realised his name was a star name a little earlier. Stupid Ella!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much! Sonya isn't a character who I've written before, well, obviously, but there's something about writing about Sonya that feels different than other things, so I'm glad yo liked her! Oooh, I shall go and try to make the star thing come up earlier! And you are not stupid, unless stupid is a synonym for awesome I didn't know about! :P Have a great day,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #6, by TenthWeasley Rabastan

4th April 2011:
Hello, Annie! Thank you so much for being willing to take part in this challenge - I was so pleased to get as many interested participants as I did. :) As promised, I am here to give a review of your story!

I love dark characters (which was the reason I entered MajiKat's challenge myself!) so yours was just plain fun to read, and I enjoyed it the whole way through. :) You've written a minor character to be a very real and round one, and that takes talent. Poor Rabastan! And poor Sonya as well, really. The plot flowed well and was just mysterious enough to keep me hooked to the end. :)

Only a few minor things spotted, I believe. His brother is "Rodolphus", not "Rodolfus", and "judgement" is typically spelled "judgment" (although that's just a bit nitpicky, as either way is technically correct). Just small, niggling things like that. :D

Overall, I truly enjoyed your entry! Thank you again for completing the challenge!

- Jane

Author's Response: JAYNE! Thank you so much for the amazing review! I never know how to write responses that do reviews in general justice, but yours always blow me away! Thanks for the corrections, I hadn't noticed those, so I'm really glad you pointed them out! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Mintleaf Rabastan

4th April 2011:
Hi :)

Grammar/Readability:
I'm just being picky but you've used merely twice in this sentence and it doesn't sound great: 'She knew it was merely a waiting game for Rabastan, whose job was merely to lurk about the shadowy streets'

Characterization:
I enjoyed your characterization of Rabastan! He seemed simple minded but not so much in a bad way. I am a spot confused as to why the title of the story is Rastaban rather than Rabastan?

I thought what we saw of Sonya was quite good, although I didn't like her name... Haha but obviously that's just me

Plot/Flow:
I think the plot is pretty irrelevant in a piece like this but the flow was great! It did what it's meant to do and came full circle with your ideas (that is, the beginning was directly related to the end and it seemed to travel in an arc).

Good work!

Author's Response: Thansk for the great review Tilly! The title is that because Rabastan gets his name (or so a lot of people think because JKR is a naming ninja like that) from the star Rastaban, so I wanted to play off that with the title and bring the whole star thing into the story more. :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #8, by silverstarletworld89 Rabastan

3rd April 2011:
Wow ok so I have never read a Rabastan story and to be honest I don't know much about him besides from the fact that he is Rodolphus' brother. But this makes me want to find out more (I actually searched him after I read this lol).

I thought your beginning was great and then how you incoporated the context from it into the story it was brilliant. It was soo dark and creepy and I felt a bit sorry for him (which I guess was the aim). I am also curious about Sonya, I want to know more about her lol!! This was great and I LOVED your last line 'Not because she did not love him, but because she thought he would never love her back.' I thought it was pretty powerful!

Great job and best of luck for the challenge :-)!
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: I had actually never known more than that he was Rodolphus' brother until I got him in the challenge either, so it's a first for both of us! I have now added him to the list of dark characters I want to write more about, lol. :P

YAY for you liking the beginning! Its my favorite part and I am glad I got you to sympathize with him, as it was really a challenge for me, as I didn't want him to change from being a supporter of Voldemort. I wanted to m ake this longer, but I didn't feel like I even could because the last line felt like an ending, so I'm glad you felt like it was a powerful close.

Thanks,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #9, by BrightStar Rabastan

3rd April 2011:
Hey! Here for the review swap! I really enjoy your stuff, so glad you suggested this one! You have this incredible skill of creating worlds, not just scenes - i really get sucked into your stuf! really interested in rabastan! well done!

Author's Response: Why hello again, good to see you! :D *waves*
Hehe, and I love your stuff! Thank you so much and I really liked writing Rastaban, so I now have a big grin on my face just readng this! :)
Thansk so much for the review,
-Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login