Reading Reviews for Love, the most powerful magic
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DeeDeeVee fatherly advice.

18th May 2011:
You can contact me at ddvee3 [at] gmail [dot] com. Just send me an e-mail with your chapter document attached. It would also be helpful to let me know exactly what you'd like me to look out for. I'm assuming spelling and grammar, but if there are any other things you'd like feedback on as well (such as characterization, your choice of wording/phrasing, story line, canon questions, etc.) let me know. I can give you as little or as much feedback as you'd like.

While I should be able to turn the edits around in a few days, please give me up to a week- between my job and family, things can sometimes get a bit hectic.

-Deedee

 Report Review

Review #2, by DeeDeeVee fatherly advice.

15th May 2011:
How you communicate with your beta and send chapters back and forth is pretty much up to the two of you. I write my chapters in MS Word and then e-mail each one to my beta once I am happy with it. She marks up the corrections and may make some suggestions and then e-mails the edited chapter back to me, usually within a week or so depending on the chapter length.

As for finding a beta, you can always start with a friend you trust and are comfortable with (that might be the easiest). My first beta was actually a good friend of mine who was into Harry Potter almost as much as I am. Many fan fiction sites have listings of people (usually authors themselves) willing to beta stories. I thought this one did, but I couldn't find the information. You can try the beta list over at Fanfiction dot net - look under betareaders. If you'd like, I can check over some of your chapters for you until you find an official beta. Just let me know.

-Deedee

PS- I just noticed that I used the incorrect spelling for canon (meaning the rules) vs cannon (the big gun) in my review. Looks like I need a beta for my reviews! :)

Author's Response: I would love it if you could be my temporary beta. How would you like me to send the chapters? I'll also ask my friend if he'll get on HPFF and be my beta. but for the time being thanks a million!

 Report Review

Review #3, by DeeDeeVee fatherly advice.

11th May 2011:
You have an intriguing idea for a story here and a good start. I do agree with one of the other reviewers that the story seems somewhat rushed. You don't have to be overly wordy, but try to describe characters' feelings, emotions and reactions between some of the dialogue. I think people would react with much more shock and disbelief (not to mention faint dead away!) to see someone come back to life. What exactly was Harry thinking while anticipating the resurrection of his parents? Sure he was excited that he might finally get to see them, but perhaps he was also nervous about what they would think of the man he has become. Add more description of the characters' surroundings- a possible example might be a description of what the day was like when they went to the cemetery; maybe it was sunny and bright, possibly reflecting Harry's mood of anticipation and joy?

You should also consider asking someone (who is comfortable with grammar and Harry Potter cannon) to beta your chapters before you post them. They'll help you fix the grammatical mistakes you've made such as there vs their, the use of I vs me, capitalization of HP words like Apparate and Disapparate, etc. I use a beta for my stories (for The Power to Vanquish, I had two) and no matter how careful I try to be, my beta always finds silly mistakes that I've made. It's very hard to spot some errors in your own writing, or at least it is for me. Unfortunately, blatant grammatical errors completely detract from an otherwise good story.

Please don't consider my feedback harsh or mean because that is not how it is meant. We all have room for improvement in our writing and I think you definitely have potential. Keep going with the story.

-Deedee

Author's Response: Thanks, I know that I do mess up on some words, but i'm trying to improve. How exactly do you send your chapters to a beta? (just wright another review to answer my questions) also do you know of any one that i could use for a beta? I don't plan to quit the story and I don't consider your feedback harsh I like it when people do that so that they can help me improve. sorry I kindof turned this into TONS of questions for you.

-hgstories


 Report Review

Review #4, by Opalpixiechick fatherly advice.

5th May 2011:
What aout Remus, Tonks and Sirius? Are you going to bring them back? I would love to read about them al interacting with thier kids. I love your story. You have a great idea here.

Author's Response: I'm not sure whether I'll bring them all back. I've been thinking about it. I probably will. That would be cool for them to see there kids. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BL33DiiNxH3ARTZ Parents and secret friends.

9th April 2011:
Ahh so much better(: I liked this chappie Keep it up!!

Cant wait for the next one!!! Update soon!!

Lexie xxx

Author's Response: Thanks I hoped someone would like it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BL33DiiNxH3ARTZ Harry Potter dead? Maybe not.

9th April 2011:
Good good goood!!! A little rushed but I like it, try to slow it down and it'll be perfect(:

Btw mind reading my story, Getting Away with Murder? I'll read your next chapter after I'm done with this...If you read my story tell me what you think thanks so much!!!(:

Lexie xxx

Author's Response: Ok i'll try to find it. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Victoria LH Harry Potter dead? Maybe not.

5th April 2011:
Too bad we can't really do that! Enjoyed the story! 8/10

Author's Response: thanks. I wish we could do that to.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ali Harry Potter dead? Maybe not.

5th April 2011:
i wanted to like this story but could not do it. the writing really needs work because right now your story is VERY rushed, if it continues at this pace it will finish by chapter 3! i do not want to bash your story entirely, the idea really is appealing, but i think there are quite a few areas you can improve in. i think it would be best to start with spelling Gryffindor correctly! i think your writing could improve dramatically by allowing your characters to have emotions and not just be happy or sad. an example of this is when harry was dying and the only word he used, concerning his feelings towards friendship, was happy. this is all i have to say for now, but i hope my criticism is helpful and you understand where i am coming from.

Author's Response: thanks for the advice! I hope the next chapter will be up soon and that i will get there fellings across better. and that I can spell gryffindor right, I think i was spelling it right, but my spell check said that it was not right and that was what it changed to so sorry about it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login