Reading Reviews for Completely Unexpected
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Master D Malfoy The First Day

30th May 2012:
Okay, now that I've gotten this far, I have to say I'm hooked. Part way through the second chapter, I wasn't one hundred percent sure I wanted to continue, but I kept going. I like your story very much.

However, I feel like Hermione is a bit out of character. The structure and style of the story bug me a little bit, as well.

All in all, this is a good story and I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Hello,

Thank you for your review.

I am just curious, what is it about the structure and the style that bug you?

With this story I wanted to really look at the mental aspect of the post war Hermione. She has given so much, lost so much. A lot of stories tend to gloss over that part like its a minor annoyance instead of life altering.

Hermione is strong but she is so angry inside. The war shouldn't have happened in her eyes. It has caused the world so much pain for no good reason.

And the embodiment of everything wrong with her world is Draco Malfoy.

She is so angry with the world. So hurt. She needs to heal and she also needs to see that Draco was a victim too.

I'm really enjoying delving into the deeper side of this and I hope you enjoy the adventure.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #2, by Master D Malfoy Another Chance At Normal

30th May 2012:
I really like the story here, so far. It's so adorable that Ron surprised Hermione by seeing her off, and interesting how the positions of Head Boy and Girl will force the two to work together.

The only thing that bugged me were a few mistakes in grammar and spelling. Don't forget to proofread and spell check!

Author's Response: Hello,

Thank you for your review.

I do like the fact I've given a new spin on the whole "head boy / head girl" thing. I've challenged myself to use the cliches of the genre to create a serious and realistic story.

On the flip side it is hard to spellcheck with wordpad!

I'm glad you like it.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #3, by BatCali_Malfoy The First Night

3rd April 2012:
My main suggestion, since this is the beginning, is to add loads of humour. It makes the reading more enjoyable and keeps the reader interested. Also, make the build up to "Dramione" very slow, with plenty of built-up anger between the two. In past Dramiones that I've read, the two fall in love much too quickly and it makes the whole story hard to swallow. (This is just my opinion, you don't have to listen to me.) Anyway, this is a great beginning, and I can hardly wait to see where it leads!

Author's Response: Hello,

Thank you for your review.

This is my more "serious" Draco / Hermione as it is dealing with the fallout of the war, the anger, sadness and loss that Hermione is dealing with.

She has so much burried away inside her and Draco is also suffering the scars of the recent past.

Each is in a new position and the other can relate, but there is so much history between them to make it seem impossible.

I am more interested in the healing aspect of this story than the "romance". But I think you'll love my other Draco / Hermione I'm working on which is much lighter and is a real "battle of the sexes" between them.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #4, by BatCali_Malfoy Changes

3rd April 2012:
I love your descriptive imagery. It's really quite easy for me to visualise the scenes. However, I was rather shocked and appalled at Hermione's cruelty toward Draco. I'm sure I'll understand better as the story continues. Great work as always, Finn.

Author's Response: You have to try and see things from Hermione's Perspective:

Her whole world is upside down, she has been hunted and almost killed several times and she still doesn't have her parents. And the cause of all of this is Pure-Blood ideals.

Since Voldemort is dead and most of the followers in prision, her anger is natuarally directed to someone nearby who is the physical embodument of everything worng in her world: Draco Malfoy.

She is letting her hurt cloud her, make her irrational, make her lash out and try and hurt him as much as what he represents hurt her.

In this story I think I am more fascinated at exploring the fallout from the war. I don't think many storues go that way.

I'm also interested to see a connection form between them a way through the hurt.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #5, by Erin Elia Another Chance At Normal

12th February 2012:
Very good writing! I am hoping it gets saucy!

Author's Response: Thank you for your review.

This one is less likely to be saucy and more likely to be a deeper more emotional journey for Hermione, a cathartic experience.

I do have another one up my sleeve which is going to be more flirty and saucy, a fun battle of the sexes.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #6, by katkaaax3 Another Chance At Normal

7th August 2011:
when are you going to update?i love the start :D :D :D

Author's Response: I actually wrote two chapters for it today ... including a sorting hat song! Whoo!

This is not related to Choices and Chances, it's just my take on the cliches used in Draco / Hermione stories to see if they can be made into workable and realisitic within cannon ideas.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #7, by LilyLunaLinnea Another Chance At Normal

22nd July 2011:
The story seems really good. But I don't know if you will finish it? You haven't uppdated in months.

Author's Response: True, but to be fair I am in a new job (with less free time) and I have a really bad wireless internet connection.

Once I re-plot this story I will get back into writing and once I get better internet it will be up.

Love Pepper


 Report Review

Review #8, by No_name Another Chance At Normal

4th April 2011:
It's good to see a fanfic that explains the existance of the Head Boy and Girl Dormitory's. I mean, it's in most fanfics and yet it was never in the original story and no one ever explains how it got there.
How sweet of Ron to come and see Hermione off, something tells me he won't be as happy to see her later on in the year...

Author's Response: I know, right? I mean I always though there'd be more sense in a Prefects Common Room and due to the circumstances, there is now a place for both of them to go to get away from the whole school. But the Common Room can still be used by prefects at anytime.

But will everything turn out ok for Hermione?

Love Pepper


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login