Reading Reviews for Glass
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Glass

8th July 2014:
Hi Marina!

Whooaah! All I can say is it was obvious from the first line why this won a Dobby for best one-shot as all I can say is wow, wow, wow! I loved the structure of this as all the little sections and different narrators worked so well together and just made a perfect little story when merged together.

I never suspected Pansy/Daphne/Blaise could be a thing, but it worked so well together and I was pulled in from the start. You really showed the complexity of their relationship so well and how nothing could ever be simple and easy between the three of them. Pansy really was the star here as she was so dark, and wonderful as you could never suspect what she was going to do, especially not the ending. That was written so well with all the tension and suspense and it was just so dramatic and yeah I canít think of any more words to describe that final scene other than I loved it.

Seriously though, this was amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by purplepotter77 Glass

16th July 2013:
Daphne/Pansy/Blaise is such an original concept! You really did such a great job with it, and it seemed to flow so naturally. The way you've characterized all of them is wonderful, Daphne especially. I haven't read many stories with these characters at all, and your take on them was stunning.

Every part of this was stunning. The imagery you use and the emotion conveyed was very intense, and you pulled everything off so well! Daphne/Pansy was even more interesting to me than Pansy/Blaise. I think one small part of me always thougt that since Draco and Astoria ended up together, Pansy and Blaise would eventually get together, too. The description made the story seem so vivid. The themes of jealousy and betrayal here are written so well. Everything about this one-shot was perfect. Congrats on getting a Dobby for this, it was so well deserved!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotter Glass

12th September 2012:
Hello! Im here from the Puff review tag :) That was absolutely incredible. I can see why it won a Dobby! I haven't read many stories with Daphne in them, so just the fact that her character was in this story was interesting for me. And of course the Daphne/Pansy pairing was really different, but you pulled it off flawlessly! I really have nothing bad to say about this story! it was gorgeous, and there were no grammar mistakes, and the pacing was excellent! Wonderful job! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was so surprised when it got nominated for a Dobby, I really was. It's short, it's got some really unknown characters in it and it's a slash. Not exactly a recipe for a popular story, but it seems to have impressed enough people to get some recognition and I'm so happy and proud of it :D Thank you so much for the review! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Erised Glass

18th July 2012:
Wow! Another short but intense story. I loved this! I thought you did the slash very well so that it wasn't gaudy and really showed true passion, maybe even love. A destructive kind of love, I suppose, considering the end. Pansy's a slippery character as usual, I think you wrote her especially well. Daphne was interesting too, and their subtle gestures spoke volumes.

The relationship between Blaise and Pansy was also enough of a distraction without overpowering the storyline, too. They didn't become the focus which is good. Also, I thought the ending was SO good. That final line just says it all. I love it!

This is so good Marms! Loves!

 Report Review

Review #5, by tangledconstellations Glass

24th June 2012:
I think I'm in love with another one of your pieces all over again. How is it that you can take any genre, any emotion, and character, any relationship and make something truly wonderful?

I really enjoyed this. It's a really interesting and menacing take on the possessiveness the couple have. Your writing is as ever convincing and a real joy to read. Even when you're dealing with a vice-like jealousy you still manage to make every aspect of this beautiful.

Oh, you. You and your amazing writing :) Thank you for posting this.

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Laura you are so kind ♥ I really wanted to show a different side to jealousy, one where you can see the motives behind the actions. Thanks so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by shoveitsunshine Glass

15th June 2012:
This was just wonderful. I liked your little mentions of glass throughout the fic, as well as the characterisations of all three Slytherins. I also enjoyed the descriptive imagery. Great job!

 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle Glass

6th May 2012:
Wow that was really something special! I really loved this - the characters and pairing you chose was really unusual, and the way you wrote this was just amazing - I loved how you used glass throughout, and the repeated first bit of every section was really interesting. I just love the way you told this story, your writing is beautiful and that ending just.. so good.

A fantastic one-shot, I really loved reading this, congrats on the Dobby :)

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad you liked it. This was something of an experiment for me, and I think since I wrote it there's been a real change in my writing style.

Thank you for the review and the congrats, I still can't quite believe I got a Dobby yet :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Glass

1st May 2012:
WOAH!

I didn't even realize this was slash, and I'm kind of glad it was because it's rare that I can find anything that's just this good. It was really beautiful and eerie. Dark, creepy, angst, oh there was a lot of angst. I'm always wary with one-shots that have such a low word count because I feel like not enough is said in the one-shots or not enough is given so I'm left wondering what happened next.

I really don't have to wonder what happened next. The last line gave me everything I needed to know. I cringed when I read it, I'll be honest. Even now I have goosebumps. Wonderful job.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Mimaligrl2012 Glass

5th April 2012:
This is a very interesting and unique story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ginerva_molly_weasley Glass

6th February 2012:
Wow!

I love the angst in this it makes my hairs stand on end whilst reading this never really knowing whats happening next.

The way you've incorperated slash into it makes it that little bit more interesting because at the beginning you're wondering who Daphne's lover is going to be and the little banter Pansy has with her about Blaise is very haunting!

I really like this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by magicknickers Glass

19th January 2012:
That was really beautifully written, almost poetic in its diction. I really like that you used the same phrase at the start of each section; it really brought the piece together, made it feel complete and connected. I really like the idea of Blaise/Pansy/Daphne, too, so that was also nice. Lovely writing!

Author's Response: thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by kat. Glass

29th December 2011:
Holy crap. Personally, I have no liking for any of the characters, or slash for that matter, but that was amazing. Beautiful and well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's means a lot that you liked this despite the characters and slash :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Cassius Alcinder Glass

1st December 2011:
Review tag!

So this was one of the first slash stories I've read and I have to say it did not dissapoint! The characters you chose were perfect for them, the cunning and ambition of slytherins really shone through for them.

The descriptions were amazingly well done. It set the scene really well, and we could really feel an aura of jealousy and betrayal.

This story managed to get alot accross in a short amount of space, good work.

Author's Response: thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Lanks127 Glass

3rd November 2011:
You write amazingly, just wow. I loved this story and dark/angst isn't really my thing. You hooked me quickly. Awesome.

Author's Response: thank you very much, I'm glad you enjoyed this even though it isn't what you'd normally read :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by fishergirl Glass

18th October 2011:
Amazing, and congratulations on the Dobby :)

Author's Response: thank you very much :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by babewithbrains Glass

16th October 2011:
My word, this is amazing! I loved the imagery and the powerful choice of words here. It really emphasised the sexiness of it, without being too overt or crass or anything. And kudos to you for taking on such a tough rarepair! A job well done, truly, and congrats on that Dobby :)

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm a bit stunned actually, but I'm so happy that so many people supported me. I wrote this as a bit of an experiment - I'd never read or written any femmeslash before and I wanted to write something different. I don't like crass stuff, I usually avoid all overly descriptive love stuff, but I did try to make this a little darker to help with that. Thank you once again for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by BellaCamille Glass

3rd October 2011:
This is so beautifully written! Wow, you have some serious talent. It's so unique and wonderful. Even each sentence is poetic.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Woodrow Rynne Glass

3rd October 2011:
I've actually read this story before because of it's Dobby nomination, and I must say I absolutely loved this. I've never read slash before and I'm not a huge fan of it, but your summary just drew me in. I couldn't do this fic the injustice of not reading it after that.

Wow. That's the first thing that comes to mind. Nobody could ever guess it was your first attempt. I loved, loved, loved this. The almost poetic descriptions, the constant refrain, the absolutely fantastic ending- just everything about this was so perfect. I loved the way you described their relationship in the beginning. You know, reading this one-shot actually makes me feel a little intimidated; it feels like I'm reviewing an author who writes in a manner which is wayy beyond my league...I hope you understand what I meant.

I can't criticise anything about this absolutely brilliant, genius piece of work. Loved it. :)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much! I was really quite surprised to see I got so many Dobby nominations for this, mostly because it's quite short and the pairings aren't very common. But naturally I'm so flattered and delighted :)

I wanted to write this for ages before I actually go around to it. I wrote it first in the December before I posted it, and deleted the whole thing and rewrote it one Sunday in March. I'm so glad I did, otherwise it would have just sat there on my laptop :P

And don't feel intimidated, haha! Thank you so much for the wonderful review :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by confusedlover Glass

15th September 2011:
very lovely.

this was absolutely beautiful, and very well written. i usually don't find myself reading slash but this was extremely enjoyable. wonderful job. you sure have a talent for writing. keep up the amazing work!! (:

Author's Response: thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by leannemariesnape Glass

29th August 2011:
This was really nice to read. I loved it. I really liked the changes in the scenes and I also liked the pairings. I enjoyed reading about the bitterness and how Pansy gave up her secrecy.

It was really nice to read and I found myself absorbed into the story. There is not nearly enough femmeslash around and so I was glad I read this when someone gave me a reccomendation for it. Well done. :)

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I can't believe someone recommended it, that pretty much made my day :D I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't normally read femmeslash (in fact, I don't think I've actually read one...) so this was a bit of experimental writing for me. I enjoyed writing it so I'm glad you liked it :) Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Illuminate Glass

28th August 2011:
Hi! This is an amazing oneshot! There's not enough femmeslash around, and I really love this one. It's not too over the top, but it's dark and grisly and romantic and a bit scary all at once. You do a great job :)

Author's Response: Oooh thank you! I'm so glad yoyu enjoyed it. I don't read any slash, normally, but I wanted to try something new and this was it. Thank you once again :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by gingersnape Glass

7th August 2011:
Marina, oh man, you've outdone yourself! This really left me feeling as though I was completly absorbed in everything. You say so much with so little and the writing style of this is just amazing. Little things drop off and leave me to fill in the blanks, but the answers are all there and, well done! I don't normally read much slash, but this has really made me feel like I want to go out of my way to find more. Not that many an author can do justice to a ship like this with such elegance.

gingersnape, Gryffindor

Author's Response: thank you so much, Annie! This was my first ever attempt at slash and I'm really pleased with how it turned out. Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by ohtasha Glass

12th July 2011:
Absolutely gorgeous; beautifully written, and I liked the repetition. The characters felt real, and I enjoyed reading!

Author's Response: thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by charlottetrips Glass

24th May 2011:
Well. That was my first slash to read. And I have to say. . . it was powerful. I'm not quite into that type of thing but your words were raw and dark and something that you don't quite want to read but have to, are just drawn to. This was an amazing piece to read just because I couldn't stop.

xChar

Author's Response: thank you so much :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jane_Volturi Glass

15th May 2011:
Hey Marina!

It's Katie (JaneTwilight) here from the forums. Gina(justonemorefic) who won the SOTM award for best quote generously insisted that each of the other nominees in that category recieve one of her reviews so yay - I've come down here to read and review one of your stories.
I hope it's ok that I chose this particular One-Shot; I saw that you'd provided a link for it in your about me page on the forums and assumed that you'd want feedback on this story in particular.
It's weird; I spend so much time on the archives reading pieces of work from authors whose writing styles are mediocre, so as you can imagine, when I come across a bunch of my fellow 'claws stories and realize they have AMAZING writing styles I'm pleasantly surprised. And just to clarify, your writing style IS amazing Marina! I'm totally in awe of it right now! Every picture that you paint and every emotion you describe is as clear as the next.
I must admit that I'm not a massive fan of slash, but regardless of this fact, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this One-Shot. For one, you've selected Slytherins as your chosen characters (who I absolutley love to read about). Where One-Shots are concerned, amazing characterization is never a requirement, because author's simply don't have the length of fanfiction required to develop and define them to a great extent. Despite this however, I think you managed Daphne's characterization exceptionally well. Every thought and emotion that she had was described with great accuracy and realism, there were no cliche points and for the limited time I spent reading about her, you did a great job establishing her major traits, and also how jealous she was of Pansy and Blaise's relationship.
Eek! A cliffhanger! What happens next? Does she kill him? I'm guessing you won't be telling lol. Anyway, a very effective way to end the story - the perfect dose of drama to such a dark and angsty story.
What can I say? I mean usually now I'd be offering constructive advice on how to better this story but I simply can't fault it!
Really liked this Marina, and if your writing style is a beautiful in all of your stories as it is in this One-shot, then I think you'll be seeing me reading and reviewing a lot more of your work in future.
So proud of all of my fellow 'claws for being such 'clawsome writers.

- Katie -

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Katie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>