Reading Reviews for The Roofwalker
  
18 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Weasley_Girl218 A Bedtime Story.

17th January 2012:
This is so sweet xD Ginny is my favourite character and you captured her perfectly!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for this. She's my favourite too, and I'm glad you liked how I wrote her!

 Report Review

Review #2, by lizmusic45 A Bedtime Story.

8th September 2011:
I liked this...I thought you wrote Ginny very nicely, and you seem to write Ginny's personality perfectly. Mrs. Weasley was wonderful too ;)

Lizmusic16

Author's Response: thank you!!!


you might like the brightening glance and potters got it bad, theyre the other harry/ginny ones :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by hpgrl A Bedtime Story.

25th July 2011:
Hey B! I've been hearing about this one-shot, and thought I should check it out, and I'm really glad I did! The depth of the connection between mother and daughter and Ginny's character is captured so beautifully here. I've always loved writing Ginny and delving into her character because she's just so strong and powerful, I loved seeing her coming into her own here, like she finally made the realization that she could be whatever she wanted-despite perceptions of what a girls should be. I loved seeing her small insecurities and how it all tied into the story of the roofwalker. Great job overall!

Author's Response: Hey! So glad to hear from you! Wow, you heard about it? Thrilled you liked it! Ginny is so awesome, its great having the opportunity to write about her! THanks so much! - b xxx

 Report Review

Review #4, by leannemariesnape A Bedtime Story.

2nd July 2011:
(Review 7/7)
This was a very interesting story. No spelling or grammatical errors, as usual!
I never really imagined Ginny ever being called princess- she just doesn't seem that type. However, I think that is what was good about Arthur calling Ginny a princess- I just doesn't suit her- and Ginny can tell this, if you know what I mean.

I did often wonder about Ginny's life once Ron had gone to Hogwarts, and I think that this did a good job in showing the lonliness that she probably felt- she went from having at least one brother around all the time to being alone. I really liked that Molly approved of her flying despite her instincts that it was "dangerous".

The connection between Molly and Ginny was really nice, and well written. I think the story was also quite interesting, and extremely valid in Ginny's situation.

:)
Leanne

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this! Glad you liked this, and you got exactly what I was trying to say :D

 Report Review

Review #5, by NeverGotHerLetter A Bedtime Story.

19th June 2011:
This was beautiful :) A lovely read, 10/10 xxx

Author's Response: Oh, I didnt see this until now. thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #6, by DemetersChild A Bedtime Story.

26th May 2011:
DemetersChild here from the forums! Sorry it's taken me so long to get you your review. Dx

This is such a lovely story. I know I'm looking forward to being a mother someday so this story touches me rather deeply.

I always wondered what Ginny did when her last brother went off to school. I imagine the years that she and Ron spent together while the others were at school were quite interesting. But now that she was the last one and was alone, she didn't have anyone to follow around. Or anyone to tell her no.

I think that the actual story of the Roofwalker was a little...jumbled. For some reason it just didn't quite flow right. Perhaps because it was just a story without a breaks in between? I'm not sure, but it didn't feel right. The concept, however, was beautiful and probably hit close to home with a lot of people.

I really enjoyed this story and the sweet relationship it showed between Molly and her daughter. Just lovely.

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: i cant believe i never responded to that!

i was so happy to see this review, i cant believe people liked it so much! ill try to get around to revising it, it was a little jumbled!

thank you again! x


 Report Review

Review #7, by CessZ A Bedtime Story.

15th May 2011:
Hey this is CessZ from the forums for your review...sorry I'm so late!!! :(
I really loved your story..Ginny's feelings are shown well as well as the Molly-Ginny connection is amazingly portrayed...I really loved how you've incorporated the story of the roofwalker in your story..I would really like to read this story from Ginny's POV!!!

Love

~CessZ

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for this! :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by Mintleaf A Bedtime Story.

15th May 2011:
So I'm finally here with your review. I apologize for being so very slow :)

Grammar/Readability:
Generally, I can't fault you too much here.

There's this one line that jumped out at me though, "generally getting themselves to trouble." I think you missed 'in', not a big deal but I thought I'd point it out :3

Characterization:
Oh, poor, silly Arthur haha. I do feel for him haha, he means well. I think, when writing the Weasley's it's important to get their characters spot on, so it's lucky you did! Good work!

Plot/Flow:
At first, I was disappointed because it was looking too sad for a cute story haha. But you completely won me over haha! Very cute, indeed!

The last paragraph is a great way to tie things up!

Good work! :)

Author's Response: So sorry for the delay in response!

Thanks so much for your praise and help! So glad Arthur worked out, and that you thought it was cute!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by ravenclaw_princess A Bedtime Story.

21st April 2011:
Hi, Ravenclaw_princess from the forums here at long last.

This is a very touching little story and I love the message that it is portraying. The mood was set really well and the story flowed really nicely.

The characterisations of both Ginny and Molly were perfect. Molly was so motherly to Ginny and the way she spoke was very believable and in a tone of voice that sounded like a mother to her daughter. You could tell she loved her sons very much, yet the relationship with her daughter was different and special.

Ginny was perfect. She really is such a tom boy and wants to set her own mark on the world rather than live in the shadow of her brothers and this was expressed so well through her body language, her actions (ie wanted to fly) and her dialogue. The effect that being called a 'princess' by her father had on her was a nice touch and you embodied her fears and her dreams nicely.

There were a few sentence early on that read a little awkwardly such as "She would spend the half an hour she would like to allocate to her own relaxation to chasing the boys around the house instead" = She would spend the next half hour she would like to allocate to her own relation, chasing the boys around the house instead

and "Ginny, at this moment of time, was being searched for by the father who had overlooked her in this picture." = Ginny, at this moment in time, was being searched for by the father who had overlooked her in this picture."

Apart from those few issues though with grammar, the story is a nice little read and you had done a really nice job.

Author's Response: Hiya! Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate it!

I'm so glad I got the characterisations right! I was nervous about Molly, as I'd read more or less nothing from her pov, and i love ginny so much i have to get her right!

I'll be sure to look at the grammar, thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Curiosity is not a sin A Bedtime Story.

17th April 2011:
Hey there! This is curiosity is not a sin over from the HPFF forums!

Have to say, the banner is absolutely adorable, and the story summary is really cute too :D

A lovely one-shot here! The plot for it is great, the characterisations brilliant, and the emotions that you put in to each character really pulls the heartstrings. I'm not one for stories that are purely fluff, but wow, you managed to give me the shivers with this line: "Maybe the other Roofwalker will join her, and they will run together, changing the world side by side. But thatís not where the story ends Ė the story ends when the Roofwalker is finished walking on the roofs, not when someone else tells them that they are finished."

The flow and pace of the story are also brilliant :D

Just a couple of minor things to point out which are only small typos or grammatical corrections :) You described Bill as a 'Code breaker' as opposed to a 'Curse breaker' and there are tine little things like 'no where' instead of 'nowhere' which ought to read as one word.

Apart from the minor corrections like that, I think it's an absolutely adorable one-shot!

Keep up the beautiful writing! :)

Author's Response: Hi! THanks so much!

Shivers, really? wow!

haha code breaker - im so silly! sorry about that! I'll have a look out for tryos!

Aww, thanks again! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by HorseBabexo A Bedtime Story.

17th April 2011:
Hey there, it's me!
I just wanted to start out by saying that this was so cute; I loved it! :)

The relationship between Ginny and her brothers is realistic. She is the youngest, and you showed very well how she felt about always being last (like going to Hogwarts) or how her brothers tease her (like how she can't do much because she is a girl.)

I also love how Arthur calls her 'princess' and doesn't understand how she doesn't want to be a princess, and maybe she wants to be more of a tom-boy. (because of the flying.) It's very realistic and believable how he doesn't understand her, whilst Molly does.

Molly seems like she obviously cares a lot for her daughter and doesn't care what she does as long as she's happy. You did a really good job with Molly's character and POV. I really, truly believed Molly would do something like this for her only daughter.

You also made sure that Molly showed how much she cared for her boys who were all away from home and how she was so worried about them getting hurt. (She really is a good mother.)

I also like how Ginny misses her brothers, even though they fight. It shows a true family bond and it shows that they truly care about each other.

I also loved the story Molly told Ginny, trying to make her feel better. I love how she tries to let Ginny know that it doesn't matter what age or gender you are because you can do anything if you put your mind to it.

The last paragraph was fabulous. I love how you describe the relationship between mother and daughter, for it is sacred, like you said.

A great little one-shot with no grammar mistakes that I saw. Very well written too. Great job!

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for this, i really appreciate it!

You've picked up on all the points i hoped people would, which is great! At the moment I'm obsessed with motherhood in literature, so this came out of that obsession!

I was nervous about the last paragraph so im happy that worked, as with the grammar!

tHanks again!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Hyenni A Bedtime Story.

17th April 2011:
Hyenni101 from the forums here! :)

firstly, i just wanted to say that this was a beautiful piece. i know it was inspired the challenge, but i think you've made it completely your own, and completely original. it's quite a unique piece - you don't usually see pieces about Molly and Arthur, and this was really quite refreshing!

grammar: pretty much flawless, as far as i could see, which was a relief - i always find poor grammar ruins a story. so congrats!
"She was to be his little Ginny, Princess Ginerva he had spoken into existence during the stories he used to tell her when she was younger." I understand what you mean here, but the phrasing is a little bit clumsy, that's all! Maybe if you tried something more along the lines of "she was his little Ginny - the Princess Ginevra he used to tell her about in stories when she was younger." It just sounds a bit better :)

characterisation: i loved it. Molly and Ginny were both so canon! Obviously, in the books, we don't get to see Molly being affectionate with her children - normally, she's yelling at one son or another, so this was beautiful; very canon, but half not, you know? i thought Molly's understanding of her daughter was lovely, and how she knew exactly what to say to provoke thought. this was possibly my favourite extract:
"Is the Roofwalker a boy or a girl Mum?"
Molly looked down at her daughter, hoping her words would be the right ones. "Does it matter?"

a very innocent little question, but so very deep and relevant as well. i thought that was handled very nicely, especially as you stayed true to the books and kept Ginny as the fiery tomboy she really is. great! :)

flow: this flowed very nicely. there were no sudden changes of topic - everything fit together smoothly and naturally. there was the perfect amount of dialogue and description, so it didn't overwhelm or confuse me, and there was no disjointedness. it sucked me in from the beginning until the end, without letting me stop. lovely!

areas of concern: well, you said generally, so that's pretty open! anyway, i think you've got a beautiful little piece here, and i honestly think you should have recieved a bit more attention for it than you have. i didn't spot any glaring errors, and i loved how you actually dragged in the little facts about Bill being a cursebreaker and Charlie and Percy...it made everything seem very real.

a wonderful little piece! thank you for requesting me, i'm so glad i got to read this ^^

Author's Response: Hi! WOW, what a review! You're on my list to review, apolgies about closing it last week just as you requested.

So glad you liked this - I really do (not in a vain way!!), but wasn't sure how it would be recieved!

Thanks for pointing out the mistake! Really touched by your review. Characterisation is the most important thing to me, especially since I identify so much with Ginny. So glad you picked up on "Does it matter?" - this was really important for me. Also so glad it flowed well!

Aww thanks so much! Really happy you reviewed! Thanks again :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by adluvshp A Bedtime Story.

15th April 2011:
Hi! This is AditiDraco95 from the forums with the review you requested for!

Well, let me say, this was a very sweet story that brought a smile to my lips.

There weren't any errors that I could find, the plot flow, characterization, description, dialogue, everything was well-written.

I liked how you portrayed molly; she was very realistic so good work on that!

Overall, a very sweet read!

9/10

cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Oh wow! Lovely review, thanks very much. So glad you enjoyed it and that it worked! Thanks again!! :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by SeverusSnape15 A Bedtime Story.

12th April 2011:
Hey! Sev here with your review: This story is TRULY adorable. I'm going to have compitition :P Since I'm doing this challenge as well, and I have Fred and George.

I don't see anything wrong with it at all. It's a very very strong story, and it has a large meaning weeved into it. I'd say you did a very good job on it!

Good luck in the challenge; I'm open for more reviews if you need anymore :) ~Sev~

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for this! Aww thanks, I'm glad you like it so much! Haha I'm sure I'm no threat, but thanks!

So happy it worked, and the larger meanings came through!

Thanks, and same to you!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Aderyn A Bedtime Story.

10th April 2011:
Hello, here for your review!

This is a very touching story. I love how much emotion you gave to the character of Molly. Normally, she gets overlooked as a frazzled, but loving mother however you did a good job showing how much she cares for her kids, especially Ginny.

I think that the story overall very good. The tale of the Roofwalker works well with the message you're trying to give. And Ginny makes valid points about people not always being princesses.

The only thing I might change, and this is very little, is that at the beginning, you look at how Molly describes/thinks of her kids. It begins pretty abruptly with Bill and Charlie, maybe mention that they're out of Hogwarts/the house. And you say she smiles/grins a lot in the that section. Otherwise, good job :D

Author's Response: Hey! So glad you liked it, really wanted to do molly justice! Also happy the idea of the roofwaker worked, as well as Ginny's worries etc. Great cc, I'll look at that! Thans!!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aiedail A Bedtime Story.

6th April 2011:
you already know how much i like this, but i thought i'd just leave a review :3
knowing a bit about this poem, like i told you before, i was surprised at the uplifted tone towards the end, and how nurturing it seems; but i also see some of the themes presented in the poem as things that you work with here. i like that ginny is thoughtful and just desperately wants to know who she is--how she asks her mom if she thinks that she can see what ginny's future will be, but molly wants to leave it up to her daughter.
i love that you went with an original bedtime story too. i don't know if part of the challenge was to come up with your own, but i think that the way that you've adapted the story of the poem works nicely and makes your story very unique :)
i loved working with you on this, thanks for choosing me :) :)
- lily

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks again, you did such a good job! i get what you mean about the poem, i just took bits from it! im obsessed with adrienne rich and motherhood (i feel a disertation coming on!) so this was bound to happen! hopefully it was ok to make it up hahah! aww thanks so much to you aswell! xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by wytchkitty13 A Bedtime Story.

6th April 2011:
Aww this was such a lovely read. The mother and daughter relationship with Molly and Ginny is very sweet. It was just a really warm, loving, feel good mood that I got from the story and then getting that "My baby girl is growing up" feeling towards the end. It was very beautiful. I enjoyed reading this :)

Author's Response: Hi! So glad you liked it! awww thats exactly what i was going for, so glad it came accross well! thankies so much!! :D x

 Report Review

Review #18, by LilyFire A Bedtime Story.

5th April 2011:
It's beautiful. I love is so much. I don't really know what to say. The bedtime story was really interesting.
I like the relationship you showed between Molly and Ginny.
Again, it's a beautiful story.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Hey. So touched you liked it. The story came from reading a lot of Adrienne Rich's poetry, it really meant a lot to me so I'm glad you liked it! I love the relationship there too - all i could think about was molly killing bellatrix and protecting ginny in the last book! thanks so much, Ill get on to your review later :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login