Reading Reviews for The Ford Anglia Flies!
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Harrypotterbookworm The Ford Anglia Flies!

16th December 2011:
Again, you make me laugh! The relationship you build between the father and the brothers really seems very realistic and the family life as well. I also think you got Arthur's personality down to a T. It's perfect!

I would suggest adding in some more description in general to the story, for it tends to give more fodder to the reader and more information. :)

The process that you describe of how Arthur made the car fly is very interesting. You obviously put a bit of thought into how he did it which made it believable.

Author's Response: I have a soft spot for Arthur and think there is a side to him we don't often see much of in fanfiction, so I decided to write this :) Now that this challenge is well over, I have been thinking of rewriting this or adding more into it. :) I don't know much about cars at all so I'm glad it sounds like I knew what I was writing about! :P
Thanks for reviewing! :D

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #2, by justonemorefic The Ford Anglia Flies!

11th August 2011:
Hee, this was cute! I love reading stories about the Weasley family; Arthur and his hobbies are even better, PLUS antics from the twins! Really, I like anything involving miniature Weasleys, hehehe. I like the sort of way you made his shed an escape from his family and it ends up that he gets some quality bonding time, whether he wanted to or not, with his sons. Of course Fred and George would butt in; when are they not watching when mischief is afoot? I would've liked to see what flying the car was like! I want to see the twin's exhilaration 8D

-justonemorefic, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Little Weasleys are just so cute, aren't they? ^_^ Fred and George are my favourite Weasleys - everything about them is brilliant!

I had difficulty in narrowing this down to 1000 words but if I ever decide to make it longer, I shall include that part. :)

Thanks, Gina!

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Arithmancy_Wiz The Ford Anglia Flies!

9th August 2011:
Hi, ootp! I remember reading/reviewing another of your one-shots awhile back and I think you've shown again here you've got a great knack for writing Fred and George. I loved the image of them crouching down, listening at the door. Obviously it was before they discovered extendable ears. I also thought you did a good job with Arthur, thought it would have been nice to have read some more of his emotions. I loved how you opened the story, him needing to escape his family (as much as he loves them), so it would have been cool to read more about his feelings once he disappeared to the shed.

I think you did a great job, especially considering the fact you had to have this at exactly 1,000 words. I think you could, if you were ever so inclined, easily expand this and make it even better. It would have been neat to read more about the three of them flying around. I can just imagine how much Arthur would enjoy sharing that with his sons - even if he would have to keep reminding them every minutes not to tell their mother :)

Overall, really sweet one-shot. Happy review fest!

A_wiz (RC)

Author's Response: Thank you for that lovely review! It's just as helpful as the one you wrote for 'Of Tears and Laughter'. :)

I've thought about extending this story and I probably will at some point. When I do, I'll be including your suggestions. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #4, by laney lou The Ford Anglia Flies!

7th May 2011:
This story was cute. It was a little fluffy, which I like. Well done! I didn't like how short it was though. I kind of like my one-shots a little over 1000 words. Other than that, it was perfect.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :) This is over 1000 words but I'll try adding a little bit more to it at some point.

Thanks!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips The Ford Anglia Flies!

5th May 2011:
That was lovely. I so enjoy reading about the Weasley family (in any generation) and you captured the impishness of the boys and the healthy fear that they and Arthur have of Molly. It also flowed well and was generally fun to read!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :D I think Molly is quite an intimidating matriarch so I included the 'healthy fear' :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #6, by HarrietHopkirk The Ford Anglia Flies!

5th May 2011:
Wow! You managed to compact so much into a thousand words! Well done! It flowed really well and although there was little plot (the whole word limit thing didn't allow for much) it was still interesting and a lovely little moment between Arthur and his sons!

The characterisation was good, and the dialogue was believable. I liked that Fred and George finished each other's sentences, however I would have liked to see them a bit more mischevious, and maybe a bit more mature (they are fourteen... they seemed a bit young to me). I do wish that there was a little more backstory/description of Arthur - he is such an underused character that I think it would have been nice! And a little Arthur/Molly too... that's a gorgeous ship.

Overall, I think you fitted a nice, well-rounded plot and some character development into 1000 words. It flowed nicely, you used a variety of sentence structures and it was all very grammatically correct. Well done! I thought I'd run out of stories that I could review, but good thing you've written a new one! :P GO BRONZE!

Author's Response: Thanks for this lovely review! ^^

I had a lot more written for this story, almost double this in fact. And to cut it down, I did have to take out some dialogue and background. Now that the challenge is over, I might edit those parts back in. :)

Thanks for the criticism. It gives me something to improve on :) I've got a new story in the queue at the moment too.
-hint hint- ;)

Thanks Hattie!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ronsgirl29 The Ford Anglia Flies!

4th May 2011:
Oh, Arthur, how I love him and his muggle-loving ways! This oneshot was just adorable, and it had fred&george in it, which is always a plus for me. This is a really enjoyable telling of how the car become a flying car, and creative.

Thanks for entering my challenge, I'm glad I got to read this, it put a smile on my face :)

-ronsgirl29

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :)

It wasn't directly related to the picture you gave me, but I think it was the shed that inspired me to write this. It was fun to write and the other entries that I've read were really good too!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #8, by NaidatheRavenclaw The Ford Anglia Flies!

3rd May 2011:
Well I'm not really sure what to say about this, just because I've never read anything even remotely like it. Erm, well for a thousand words, I think you really got something good out of this. It's not easy to make something short and to the point, but still a good read, and I think you acheived that really well. It was short and sweet, and there's nothing I can really say that I didn't like about it. So good job with that too. I think everyone was in character, and acting like I imagine they would. Like I said, I can't think of anything at all to crtique. It was a good, easy read, and who doesn't love Fred and George! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

This story hasn't really got much of a plot, I know that. It's mainly a missing moment where Arthur tests his Ford Anglia. :)

Thanks!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle The Ford Anglia Flies!

25th April 2011:
Hello Sophia! :D

It's been a long, LONG time since I read any of your stories! (I read the sorting of Albus last year in December, and it feels SO long ago!)

Anyway, this review is for WTEB - congrats :D

Well, this was a lovely short and enjoyable one shot! It's sort of a missing moment of Harry Potter, so it was nice to read about how you thought it came about! I liked the inclusion of Fred/George and the hint of mischief throughout the story.

Good writing, and a nice plot and characters. Also congrats on getting it to 1000 words exactly! :P You got a LOT of substance in 1000 words! :D

Author's Response: Hey Charlotte! :D

I've certainly added a few more stories since December! :P I'm glad you enjoyed this and thought it was a missing moment. I love Fred and George and thought they would fit in perfectly in this story. Especially as it was they who drove to get Harry from the Dursleys. :)

Thanks for your lovely comments. ^.^

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyMalfoy23 The Ford Anglia Flies!

6th April 2011:
Hehe :) YAY i loved the finished product! It was amazing! As was before hehe! :) I LOVE some good old George in a story and you ALWAYS seem to capture him so well! :) Arthur was so perfect in characterization i couldnt imagine him any other way! :D REALLY GREAT JOB HERE! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Jess ^^

I'm glad you liked it so much! :D

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The Ford Anglia Flies!

30th March 2011:
Believe me, I understand your word count pain. I put myself through it far too often, and voluntarily too. ;)

Anyway, it wasn't a bad story at all. The writing was fairly flowing (In the paragraph that started with "Arthur didnít want to tell Fred and George about the carís new qualities quite yet," you had several short sentences in a row that made it choppy), and the characters amusing. You definitely managed to keep them all canon, from Molly's suspicions to the twin's mischievous looks.

Which brings me to the one thing I wanted to see more of: Arthur. I know you were limited to 1,000 words, but I would've liked to see more of those devoted to Arthur's emotion, and less to background information and description. You'd think sweet, enthusiastic Arthur would be over the moon at his car flying, but we barely saw his reaction. That would have improved it loads, in my eyes.

Also, as I recall, the invisibility booster literally made everything in the car invisible, and not faded. Again, word count limit, which I totally get. But a few more words devoted to that would have been nice. I believe JK described it as a pair of floating eyeballs.

Otherwise, not bad. It was a cute little story, very true to the Weasleys.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

Thank you for your criticism. I'll be editing this story soon, and I'll definitely take your advice to make it better. You've helped a lot!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #12, by silverstarletworld89 The Ford Anglia Flies!

29th March 2011:
Wow I cant believe that you managed to get it down to 1000 words I struggle with 2000 lol, I don't think that I have wrote a chapter yet that is under 200 words, terrible.

One of the things that i LOVED was the fact that even though it was under a thousand words you still managed to get a lot of detail and substance in there. I enjoyed you showing us the hetitic life of living with 7 kids and how you descriped Arthur's little quiet place. =D

Great Job
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: Hey!! Thanks for reviewing :)

It definitely was tough getting it down to 1000 words. It was originally about 2000 words and I hated having to delete so many words! :(

You should try the continuously ongoing 500 word challenge. That would definitely be a challenge for you :P

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks again :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyFire The Ford Anglia Flies!

24th March 2011:
Hi, Lily here with your review. I like it alot, it seems just like something Arthur would do. I'm guessing this is just before Harry's rescue? It explains why Fred and George knew about it, at least(: You've got the characters down pat. The flow was wonderful, I didn't get lost or feel like it was jumping from one place to the nest. Excelent pace!
Great story! Feel free to rerequest!
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Wow! You were really quick, thanks! :)

Yes, this was before Harry's rescue. I thought I'd write this as a sort of introduction to how Fred & George knew about the car, and how they knew how to drive it.

Thank you! I'll definitely be rerequesting :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #14, by huffleherbs The Ford Anglia Flies!

24th March 2011:
Hi, huffleherbs here :)

Gramatically it's very good, but I did notice that in the first paragraph there should probably be a "for" inbetween the second "Fred and George annoying Ron and Ginny".

You've used your 1000 words really well: the story had a coherant plot and a good amount of detail. I like seeing how the Anglia first flew, I think it's a good missing moment :)

The twins seem a little younger than 14 in this, but maybe that's just me. Overall, this is a really nice one-shot to read :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing.

I'm glad you pointed out that mistake; I'll correct it now. :)

I'm glad you liked it. I tried to keep it simple, which is probably why the twins seem a little younger. I'll have to see if I can change that.

Thanks again :)

-Soohia x


 Report Review

Review #15, by ravenclaw_princess The Ford Anglia Flies!

24th March 2011:
Hi. This is a delightful little story and congrats at getting it to exactly 1000 words. I don't imagine that is an easy task at all.

The story flowed really nicely and had a very lighthearted tone about it. It captured perfectly this little moment in time when their lives were so much simpler.

The characters were wonderful. I really liked Authur's 'garden shed'. The whole concept fitted right in with him and the atmosphere was nicely described. His relationship with Fred and George was sweet and I like how they were included in with his secret. The twins seemed to exhibit slightly more innocence in this story which captured the essence of their 4th year selves. I like how the story ended with them snickering at the secret they were keeping from Molly. It was a perfect snap shot of the family.

Grammatically, I didn't notice any issues.

Well done. I think you've done a lovely job of this story.

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! :)

I had to cut almost 1000 words from what I'd originally written. That definitely wasn't easy!

I'm glad I've managed to get it right. You've understood it exactly. This is sort of what it was like when things were simpler. :)

Thanks again! I'll definitely be requesting a review from you again.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Mintleaf The Ford Anglia Flies!

23rd March 2011:
Hello! Here's your review :)

Grammar/Readability:
Nothing to complain about here!

Characterization:
I like that Arthur is doing things the muggle way when he is in his muggle-space! It's very Arthur-like I think! :)

Fred and George are also written quite well! :)


Plot/Flow:
I already like the premise for this story and I haven't even started reading yet! :)

This is really short so I can't say a huge deal but I would have liked just a spot more description about when they were in the car! Just a little!

Anyway, this was well-written but very succinct! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for your prompt review. I'm glad you liked it. I'll be editing this soon, so I'll take your suggestion into account.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #17, by katebabelovesharrypotter The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
I adored it! I think it captured things perfectly! Great job. Your characterziation was spot-on and I loved the idea of seeing a bit of Arthur. You don't see him all that much so I liked that. Overall, it was great and I was actually planning to read it before you requested a review so I'm glad you did!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Owlpost68 The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
Great job! I loved it, very accurate to what it might have been like. It was so cute :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I'm going to review your story soon :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Aiedail The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
hey there!
first, i have to say, well done for getting the story to exactly 1000 words! especially since the subject matter that you've chosen would have tempted ME to write a whole lot more. there are lots of gadgets and things about a car that i can imagine would have arthur enthralled, and i can imagine him running through a sort of catalogue of changes that he'd made in the car and being very proud of that :)
for a short(ish...well, for me it's short!) one-shot, i think that you did a really nice job at characterizing the characters (ooh, that's like SUPER alliteration! haha); the weasleys are a family that brings out the picky in me because JKR makes their lifestyle so--so--i dunno, it's like idyllic and perfect but realistic at the same time, if that makes sense. i think overall you captured this, even right away in the first paragraph by just creating a list of things that was going on! (i like lists...i think there's something vaguely poetic about them at times.)
the only thing that i would have done differently is perhaps given the twins a more mischievous tone. they seem too nice--i know that you meant it that way but i had a little bit of a hard time seeing it, especially the line "you have our word." i would have seen them grinning excitedly at each other and maybe chorusing a "thanks, dad!" but "you have our word" seems...a bit Percyish to me :P
however, as contained within your story, i think that it's sweet that the boys take such an interest in what arthur's doing. it did seem to kind of defeat the purpose, though, of arthur going out alone to get some arthur time (i would have said "me" time but it's not, really). i might have wanted, too, to see a little bit of this reflected in arthur's thoughts. i know he's an easygoing guy but, since he was tired and had only just been listing off the things that had gone wrong, i could see him being happy they wanted to spend time with him but a little frustrated that he wasn't going to get a little time alone (you can tell this is an introvert talking! hehe). HOWEVER i understand that for something exactly 1000 words, some sacrifices must be made. and in that context, i think this story is very nice, and cute, and seems to almost fill in a missing moment from the books--the deGnoming brings us back to canon and makes the whole thing work, in my opinion, and sort of complete itself and really become successful.
overall, great job m'dear, i was all sad that i didn't have a story left for you that i hadn't yet reviewed and then LO and behold, there's another one!! so this is a sort of bittersweet moment for me, but it's always completely worth it to read your stories. you have a way of imbuing them with innocence and sweetness that is rare, and something that i think you should really appreciate about your writing :)
hopefully you'll keep writing and i will be able to come back more and more, but for now, wonderful job, and wonderful stories :)
- lily :D

Author's Response: LILY!! *Squish* I still love your review as much as I did last night! Thank you so much! I always look forward to your reviews; they are amazing! :D

Originally, this was 2000 words! And believe me when I say, this was torture to delete 1000 words! I've never had to cut a story down so much. :'(

Reviewers have said that they think I got the characterisation right. I'm so glad you agree. It wasn't easy trying to get the personalities to come through in 1000 words.

I like lists too. I know what you mean when you said there's something poetic about them. Unfortunately, I had to take out a couple of good lists.

A bit more mischievious tone for the twins? Got it! I'll be editing this, but after the challenge has ended. Yeah, I realised that Arthur didn't get the alone time he wanted, but I thought he'd like the quality time with two of his sons. Besides, Arthur needed someone to talk to so it wasn't too boring :P

You're the second person to comment on how the degnoming was a good canon reference. I didn't intentionally mean that, it just sort of happened, but hey! It's a good thing. :)

EEP! I'm glad you think it's almost a missing moment from the books. That makes me so happy! :D And that it all comes together so well :D

Oh my! I'm almost crying now! Almost. :P Lily! I can't thank you enough. This is definitely going down as the best review I've received ^^

Thank you again! *hugs*

-Sophia xxx


 Report Review

Review #20, by libby103 The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
Hey!

So, this was a very simple, even cute, way of looking at the Ford Anglia before Ron and Harry's disastrous adventure with it!

You had good descriptions for the most part, though I would've enjoyed more, then again, you were looking for 1000 words exactly, so you can't really do much about that.

Characterisation in this fic was great! The twins especially. They seemed a little innocent, but they're only in their 4th year here. Even with that, they were a bit mischevious and sneaky and I can't help but wonder what they brought back from this event. Arthur wasn't as silly as he's sometimes portrayed in the films which I'm ecstatic about. This shows the fun, but mellow, side of him. He's definitely less sharp than Molly. The mentions of Molly were excellent as well!

This was a very short and cute insight on the Ford Anglia's existance! This definitely will probably be inserted in my mind's HP timeline! (Yes, I keep one of those...)
from,
Liberty

Author's Response: Hey Libby! Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm glad you thought I did well with the characterisation. It was difficult to get it right in just 1000 words, so it means a lot :)

I'm amazed you think this is good enough to be a part of your HP timeline! You've made me so happy! :D

I know I'll have to edit this, but I'll probably wait until the challege has ended. :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheProphecy The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
Heyy!!

Just reviewing you story whilst I am talking to you!!

Umm , well I really liked this, I thought your characterisation was good and I liked your Degnoming thingy at the end, It a canon bit which helped with the realism of the fic.

I think the only Issue I had with this was the writing seemed a little bit immaturely, it just seemed underdeveloped and I felt you could have had a better grip on your descriptive grammar.

But I honestly did really like it. I thought is was a well-written (kinda) and I loved Arthur :) and I thought you captured the family atmosphere.

Well done!

Hannah x

Author's Response: Hey Hannah!

I love that this took you an hour to write because Jess & I kept disturbing you!! :P

I'm glad you liked this... kind of. Thanks for your criticism; I shall try my very best to improve it to your high standard. ;)

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by caomoyl The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
That was awesome! Well written =D =D

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by marinahill The Ford Anglia Flies!

21st March 2011:
This was a great almost missing moment from the series. You characterised Arthur really well and the general atmosphere fitted that of the Weasleys - I really got a sense of the disorganised chaos that their house must be like. It's understandable that Arthur needs time out :P

It was nice to read about the Ford Anglia's first flight as it were, with Arthur accompanied by Fred and Georgie. It was really charming. Great job :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, Marina! :)

I'm glad you think I got the characterisation right. That was one of the things I was worried about.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #24, by TenthWeasley The Ford Anglia Flies!

20th March 2011:
Can I really only be the first reviewer of this adorable little story?

I loved this, Sophia! I always love little Weasley one-shots like this, and your certainly didn't disappoint. I think you've got the personalities of all the Weasleys down here really well - remarkably well, in fact. The whole atmosphere of this story as a whole just felt so natural and Weasley-ish, as though this was a canon event. Well done!

You've done a great job here, and I really hope you win - I wouldn't be at all surprised if you did win! Your writing's just continued to improve since I've started reading your stuff, and I know it's only going to get better. :) Sorry this review was a bit delayed! Loved the story, as always. And love you, too! ^^

Author's Response: Jane!! *squish*

Thank you so much for your lovely review and the confidence boost you've given me. :)

I'm glad you thought I got the characterisations right as that was one of the things I was most worried about.

Thank you! ^^

-Sophia xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login