Reading Reviews for My Little Sailboat
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Athene Goodstrength My Little Sailboat

2nd March 2013:
Well, this was unexpected and utterly stunning.

The images you create are just so peaceful, gentle, and beautiful - yet full of loss.

Every word seems natural and yet you must have chosen them so carefully, because they fit so well together and create such a specific atmosphere.

I recently wrote a story which depicts all that was dark and ugly in Snape and Lilyís relationship (and I definitely exaggerated those aspects, haha!) so it was so very lovely to read such a touching, sweet, beautiful and sad piece about the same relationship.

I actually saw it all in my head as I was reading it, like a beautiful hand painted animation.

Even though we donít actually see much of them, your characterization of them both is so good. I can sense Severusís regret, and his constant yearning for something that was out of his reach. Lilyís gentle brightness, and her elusiveness. I think youíve brought Lily back to how I saw her before I started reading fanfiction, if that makes sense. Enigmatic, kind and beautiful, and always out of reach.

The whole thing reminded me of Christopher Nolanís Inception. The way Severus has this sort of dreamworld that he and Lily built together, that he can visit and miss her, and look for her.

10/10. Bravo. Seriously. Also, that banner is beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review! You totally made a day I thought was about 900% past done and oh my goodness thank you!

I think about this story a lot because it's probably the one-shot that took the longest to write and I think of as the hardest story to sit through because it's got that mix of the glassy poetry and flow and then the turbulent emotions that sit underneath the actions and thoughts, even if underneath all of that is the sweet part of Snape and Lily's relationship?

And I am beyond flattered that my story comes anywhere close to Inception - I wrote this before seeing the film, and my mind actually went to this story when I watched Inception, so getting the connection absolutely thrilled me!

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by LittleWelshGirl99 My Little Sailboat

10th December 2012:
Hiya!

Ahh the phrasing of this was so beautiful! I thought that beginning each paragraph with 'last night' could possibly get a bit boring/repetitive, but no, it was a lovely effect to use. It made the whole piece seem really poetic and ugh just gorgeous. I do have a special little place in my heart for Snily, I must admit, especially ones this lovely. Also loving the whole sailing metaphors/references :3

BUT SO MANY METAPHORS IN THIS. I am in heaven. I love them. I want to absorb them all. So dainty and poignant and I'm very glad that I had the opportunity to read this. :)

-Annon

 Report Review

Review #3, by Singularity My Little Sailboat

7th December 2012:
There is something very lovely and poetic about this story. It has a very poignant underlying sadness and a dreamlike quality that is just really beautiful. Something about the flow of the story somehow felt like waves, which is so fitting and perfect for the imagery you use. The description in this story is also really well done. I like the way you chose different details to focus upon (the violets, the carved initials) that give fleeting glimpses into Snape's memories and their past relationship.

This was a really fantastic read. You have a beautiful storytelling voice.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I've had the story in my head for such a long time that by the time I wrote it down, it had its own mind and rhythm. I really love Snape's story, even if he isn't my favorite character, and getting to the softer and more painful side seems to have been worth the wait. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!
Annie


 Report Review

Review #4, by The Last Marauder My Little Sailboat

18th July 2012:
Every time I click on your next story, I think there is no way you can top the last one and then you top it each time.

This was brilliant. I just can't get over how amazing your writing it, absolutely brilliant stuff. I loved this becuase it was a mix of so many different things - a bit like a nursey rhyme with the sailboat, sort of showing Severus's innocence, then it was very poetic, with the words "Last night" acting like a type of refrain. You managed to capture all the grief and loneliness inside Severus, how he does not know what to do anymore, like he is stuck in limbo, can't move anywhere, just does the same thing over and over, pondering the past.

This was absolutely brilliant - I wish I had your mind, had your way of looking at things, even if for only a day, just to see the world as you do. Your stories are so creative, so inventive and utterly unique. I'm so glad I got involved in the House Cup, because I never would have found your stories otherwise! FANTASTIC STUFF 10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by Giola My Little Sailboat

8th August 2011:
Oh, this is gorgeous! I love a bit of Severus/Lily (who doesn't?) and this just about sums up why I love fics about them. You do a lovely job of showing his thoughts. You have an amazing grasp of imagery here, I could picture the sailboat in my mind. It's such an original idea, and has a nice child-like innocence about it that, when put next to the dark circumstances surrounding Snape and Lily, really shows how much both of them changed, it's so sad.

The quote at the end was beautiful, so appropriate. Lovely job dear :)

Giola
(Slytherin)

Author's Response: *squish* Thanks again dear for the wonderful review! :D Yeah... what you said in the review! *nods* But I do appreciate the review, even if I can't you know... say it... because I'm bad at these... *presses preview before saying anything else stupid*

Annie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Capella Black My Little Sailboat

6th August 2011:
Ooh, atmospheric! I love the way you've written this, starting each paragraph so similarly. Normally, that might be monotonous, but due to the sailboat imagery, it really added to the piece as a whole, giving it a rhythmic air reminiscent of the waves in the story itself.

Only thing I found difficult in this piece was working out who the main characters are. I'm asuming that this was on purpose to begin, but even once I'd finished, I had to go back to the summary to find out that the woman was Lily. Possibly because it says that she was named after a piece of the earth, and that made me think it would be someone else. I may be having a blonde moment though. I did like how it built to revealing the protagonist though - the piece felt very Snape like, which shows a real skill with forming characterisations.

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor

Author's Response: *squish* I might have to write lots and lots and then beg you to come back because I love your reviews so much! Thank you (my responses are probably getting repetitive, so I apologize for that!) and no one has brought that up, but I can see what you mean! And no, not a blonde moment! Well, maybe on my part but not yours! :P I really appreciate every single review from you so much, so thanks! :D
ANnie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Miss MarlaG My Little Sailboat

17th April 2011:
this.

was.

beautiful.

to the tenth degree.

I love the little sailboat thing, and everything that came between. All the beautiful intricacy of the description and the writing, and then the shock of it being severus. And the beautiful quote. to lily.

Have I ever told you i love your writing?

well, I DO. *heart*

Author's Response: *squish* Thank you so much dear! I really appreciate that and the whole review! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #8, by BrightStar My Little Sailboat

5th April 2011:
I love that we review swap, because it keeps me coming back to your page! Wonderful, wonderful stuff. You only have to mention snape and i almost cry! the repeated sailboat image was so striking - your words often take on such a poetic feel! so enjoyable to read. also "do you ever think of me" - that's what we all think, isnt it? i realise might seem a bit silly to pick up on that, but it really touched me. another great story, so lovely to read!!

Author's Response: Hello dear, and I love swapping with you too! "do you ever think of me" is probably one of the lines I like the most in the whole story, and I'm glad you liked the story! Thanks for the review,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyMalfoy23 My Little Sailboat

5th April 2011:
It was different that is for sure! It is basically a huge metaphor and i like that. It really makes you have to think about what you are reading! It seemed to have sort of a poetic rythem to me, but maybe im insane! ;) hehe anyways this is a really good piece! Your writing never ceases to amaze me! :)

Author's Response: Hehe, I adore anything metaphorical and squee over paradoxs and the likes, but you're the first person (besides mah amazing beta for this! :P) to pick up on the metaphor, so yay for you! Yeah, I think it does have a little ryhmey thing going on, though I still think that ou are insane! :P *squish* Thank you so much Jess dearest, and have a fantastic day! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by wytchkitty13 My Little Sailboat

5th April 2011:
That was a really nice one-shot. It's a more in depth Snape than I have read before. One could almost imagine that if he were to show a more emotional side in the books that it would be something like this. There is a mix of feelings though not directly spoken. Very lovely and almost poetic way of writing this. It was a really nice read :) - Tiffy

Author's Response: Thanks so much and I'm glad you thought he was a character with depth. I was really trying to get a character who had more emotion than I usually read him with, so thanks so much. I really appreciate the review!
Annie


 Report Review

Review #11, by LilyFire My Little Sailboat

5th April 2011:
It's beautiful. It really captures the essence of Snape, I think. Well, of his love of Lily, of his devotion to her. I can see him doing that, taking a sailboat that Lily had been in with him, and just remembering her. It's lovely.
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thanks so much Lily! I was at a beach when I wrote thought of this and when the story was being written, it felt like Severus was the perfect person for this. Thanks for the review,
Annie


 Report Review

Review #12, by caomoyl My Little Sailboat

4th April 2011:
I loved it! =D You nearly had me crying! It was so beautifully written!

10/10 =D

Author's Response: *squish*
Thank you so much Amez and I am so glad you liked it! It's one of the few Marauders Era fics I will be attempting to write, so I am glad it lived up to the expectaions ME has! :D
-Annie


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jenge from Leaky My Little Sailboat

4th April 2011:
Hello ginger!

I was just browsing through the list of recently added stories in the search of something short, but interesting to read to get my mind off my work for a moment. Imagine my surprise when I stumbled upon your name! So of course that made the decision which story to read rather easy, especially as it included my all-time favorite Snape. And I can't tell you how glad I am that I came across this fic because it is simply beautiful! It's completely different from anything I've ever read here before; so sad, yet sweet at the same time. Your descriptive, almost poetic writing style managed to transport me from my dull office into a beautiful, starry night, watching the scene play out from afar, listening to Severus' inner monolog, feeling his melancholy. To be honest, I'm not usually much of a fan of one-shots; it usually takes something longer to really captivate me. But this had me entranced right from the start and kept me fascinated right to the end. And for once, at the end of such a short fic, I did not feel anything was missing. Simple, meaningful, perfect.

Author's Response: Jenge! Thank you so much for the amazing review! :D It's been so long, but I'm glad you saw this and liked it! I too find that longer stories are more my style for reading, so I know what it's like to find a one-shot you like, and am honored you liked this one! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #14, by Mintleaf My Little Sailboat

4th April 2011:
This was completely gorgeous! I loved it so much! Though I'm not sure it is horror/dark! It's just too beautiful to be so morbid haha. I can't really fault you on anything really! I am however going to fault Bruno Mars. That lyric sounds one squillion times better if the first line was simply 'If you ever find yourself lost at sea'!

P.s. I'm going to bring up AFI again (I honestly don't know why this is happening again, I hardly like them that much anymore haha), but this really reminded me of a hidden listing on their album 'Sing the Sorrow'. I think you'd like to read the lyrics even if you didn't listen to it. If you look up 'AFI poem lyrics' you should see it! (it starts with: we held hands on the last night on earth). To be honest though, all their lyrics are super amazing, and are one reason I got into writing! :)

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks again for the wonderful review! I really appreciate it and I agree! It would have sounded better that way! But alas, I've grown to like the lyrics the way they are! :)
Annie


 Report Review

Review #15, by TenthWeasley My Little Sailboat

4th April 2011:
Oh, this read like poetry. :) It was peaceful and calm to read, and so effortless - almost as though I wasn't reading but was watching it play before me. I loved the rhythmic repetition of 'last night' at the beginning of each new paragraph, too. It really added a lot to the smooth, natural flow of your story.

I liked this because it's so different from other Severus/Lily stories I've read. Instead of being all twisted and angst-ridden, a trap I myself have fallen into, it was more poignantly sweet. That you could do that - and, moreover, do it well - says a lot for your talents. The emotions were beautifully captured, and felt so very real.

Truly so beautiful! Remember what I said in one review of mine, how stories are colored in my head? This story is pale blue and purple, streaked with navy. SO pretty! :D (How quirky am I?) One of the sweetest, lightest, and yet needling fics I've read here. You have a way of painting words. :D Amazing, truly!

Author's Response: JAYNE! *squish*
This has to be one of my favorite things I have written, and I am blushing furiously behind my cracked screen! :P Oh thank you so much for your amazing review! I love reading them and am glad you liked this!

I rather like your portrayal of Severus! And I have a secret for you: This was origonally a Fenrir/OC, so how could I make it angsty? *crickets* Anyway, I am blushing even more and feel like doing a huge happy dance!

And yes, I do recall, and I haven't responmded to that review yet, but I do know what you mean in a way (shall reply more in the other review :P) but I am loving these colors! Pochahontus would be proud of my painting with the colors of the wind? SQUEE!

Laff you dearest, and thanks so much for the review! I'm reposnding to your other ones soon! :D
-Annie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login