Reading Reviews for Taking the cheesy way out
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne Taking the cheesy way out

15th March 2013:
I really liked this one shot!
I loved how Teddy just went for the advert not even knowing what it was for and then just accepting to be a cheesemaker. The funniest part was when Teddy said to Victoire that it seemed like the natural thing to do when he looked at the jobs that his parents had done.
And it's so cute that the main reason that he wants this job is so he can find out more about his father.
I really liked the added touches of Teddy's metamorphosis (Not sure how you spell that) with him trying to not change his nose when he was frustrated, and the loving granmotherly coddling you see from Andromeda.
It's such a fantastic idea to make Teddy into a cheesemaker, it's such an unusual profession :D
Very well done on an excellent one shot!

Author's Response: Why, thank you! I had a bit of fun writing it, to be honest. Alo gave me the plot bunny and once I had the idea to include Greta Catchlove in it, it was kind of a no-brainer and I had to write it. So pleased you enjoyed it. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #2, by PoppyLuna Taking the cheesy way out

15th November 2012:
a cheesemaker? funny XD
though maybe i caqn relate to him right now,
the difference that i still can't figure it out what i am suppose to do XO
an nice story as usual!
i don't know that Greta Catchlove was Canon, i thought that it only oc in HTM.
cheers ;D

Author's Response: Yes, Greta Catchlove is canon - she was a Wizard of the Month on JKR's website (or she's on the Famous Wizard cards, I forget which it is), and if you look her up on the Harry Potter Lexicon you'll see her listed there, born in 1960 (as were Lily and James). So I had to use her in HTM ... and then, when I was given this plot bunny, she was way too good not to make the most of again. AS for Teddy being a cheesemaker, well why not? It's as good a job as any other, hahaha. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #3, by ScarletEye158 Taking the cheesy way out

2nd June 2012:
This one-shot was rediculously cute and I'm so glad I stalked your Author's Page and found it :) It was so random and adorable, and I give you credit for making it so believable! Will there be a sequel to it? Because I know I would definitely read it (: Nice job!

-Amanda

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Well, a sequel? I wasn't considering it, to be honest. This is just a random little one-shot that someone on the forums gave me a plot bunny for, and I hadn't planned to take it further. Very pleased you liked it though. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #4, by LauraM. Taking the cheesy way out

7th November 2011:
Ahwww. I wanna know more about Teddy. It still breaks my heart how everything went... And I kinda wish I knew what happened with Remus & Charlotte.. Like if she ever found out about him & Tonks getting together. So many questions! But you wrote your universe well so yeah :)

Author's Response: Hi again! You know, it was never really my intention to have this story as part of the HTM universe. Greta Catchlove is, after all, a canon character and the cheese connection made it all to easy to use her in this story. But, I can see how you would interpret it as an HTM-universe story, and it's certainly not incompatible. So, to answer your question - No, Charlotte never heard about Remus and Tonks. After she moved to America and everyone died or went to prison (save Remus), she kind of lost contact with her UK friends. Her family she stayed in touch with, but not any of her friends. Therefore, so far down the track she would have had no idea what Remus was up to. Sorry.

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #5, by Drecklin Taking the cheesy way out

12th August 2011:
Cheesemaker. That is such a brilliant idea, and you really did execute it so well! I loved every bit of this story, and the only comment I have to make, is that the first part between Andromeda and Teddy seemed a bit flat? I don't know how to exactly describe what I mean by that. I think it might be the fact that there wasn't a lot of action in that one sequence, like maybe Andromeda putting a hand on his shoulder, or Teddy crossing his arms- and there was more action in the other parts of the story? That sounds like what I was trying to get at, at least :P

But really, this story was very cute and funny, and a little sentimental- which I can appreciate. I also found Teddy so relatable, as I am in a position where I am supposed to have some idea what I want to do, but really don't! So, I am extra appreciative of that as well :)

Overall, I just loved this! Super cute and fun, and a really great read!

Forum Name: Drecklin
House: Slytherin

PS: That dashing guy on the banner? Wherever did you get the idea to use him? ;) -fangirls-

Author's Response: Hi Sarah! Thanks for the review!

First up, I don't remember who the guy on the banner is, sorry! I asked on twitter who I should use as Teddy and had this one come up as a suggestion, so I used him. If I remember who he is I'll let you know though. :D

You could be right in that the first scene is a little lacking in action. I admit that I didn't do a lot of proofreading before I posted this one - like so many one-shots, I just wrote it, gave it a tweak or two and put it up, mainly so Alo could see what I'd made of her idea. It was a good idea, though, wasn't it? I can't imagine why no one had latched onto it before.

Anyway I'm glad you liked the rest of this, and could relate to Teddy's lack of direction career-wise, which is oh-so-common for people of that age. Heck, I'm in my 30s and I still dont' know what I want to do, so it doesn't always go away. :) Nice that it hit a chord with you, though,b ecause that means I must have done something right.

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Pixileanin Taking the cheesy way out

10th August 2011:
I love how Teddy just shows up for the job interview because he has the credentials and he seems to have no idea whatsoever about what type of job it is he's applying for. He's either not quite all there, or he has very little focus, because he stumbles for a while over his prospective employer's name a few times, which I found endearing. I think that your Teddy has the right temperament for cheese maker, indeed. Especially if he can put up with the jokes! And it's nice that you gave him a purpose, finding out more about his father. This was fun to read!

Pixileanin (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Pix! Thanks for dropping by this little Teddy story. :) It was a very vague premise, as you can appreciate, but I felt like I had to do something with it. Teddy's enough of a free spirit, as someone else put it, to go check out a job opportunity when he has no idea what it is for - that would, at least, shut his grandmother up a bit if he at least appears to be looking for work. As for the jokes, well they just appeared and were too good - or too bad, as the case may be - to leave out. Glad you liked them! :D

Thanks again and I'm very pleased that you found it a little entertaining. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #7, by Capella Black Taking the cheesy way out

5th August 2011:
Yay! Thank you so much for beating my reviewing total, so I had the excuse to come read one of yours! This story was epic. I really don't know how, as it's a story about someone getting an odd, yet mundane, job, but somehow even that becomes A grade awesome when it's you. Freaky really.

I love how he just thinks "why not" - your Teddy is such a lovely, free-spirited character. And then the ending, where it turns out to also be about him wanting to find out more about his father, is lovely too, and actually hadn't occurred to me until you said it, which is weird given all the clues prior. Guess that's the awesomeness again!

As ever, your writing style is flawless, smooth, and a pleasure to read. The dialogue is natural and fun, and the characterisations really come through in it. Gorgeous little one shot!

CapellaBlack, Gryffindor!

Author's Response: Ella! I'm so glad you decided to check out this little one-shot, even if I had to go on a reviewing spree to get you back to my author page. ;p

Anyway. Teddy the cheesemaker. I'm kind of fond of this one so it's great that you enjoyed it too. He is a bit laid back and free-spirited, but I think that comes of the luxury of growing up without a war in the background. Wanting to know more about his dad, though, well I thought that was something that would drive him to do something unexpected.

Thanks again, I love your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #8, by CoLorful DreaM Taking the cheesy way out

4th August 2011:
Wow… cheese maker. Very original. Very original, indeed. In the most of stories, he would become and Auror. It’s good to have other perspectives of him (I made him actor in a story of mines!… after being an Auror, ok , guilty!).The one-shot was simple, but interesting. It was something I expected – I mean, the fact that Teddy doesn’t know too much things about his father. Though, didn’t Harry know more about Lupin?

Author's Response: Hi Ramona! Thanks for the review!

Yes, cheesemaker. Like I said in the a/n it was Alo's idea, and I just ran with it to see if I could turn it into anything. He may become an auror later in life, but at this point he's happy with cheesemaker. :)

As for Harry, well I don't think he actually knew Lupin all that well, and certainly not well enough to answer the sort of questions that Teddy would have asked. I also suspect Harry would have feigned ignorance more than necessary too so he didn't have to tell Teddy that Remus tried to leave Tonks when she was pregnant, as I don't think Teddy would like to hear that. So yeah, with that in mind I thought that this would be a motivator for him to take a cheesemaker job. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #9, by RJ Taking the cheesy way out

13th July 2011:
Oh. Cute. I love this, I really do. Made my heart melty..
And again, you are too good with the canon my dear!
Love this!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! This was just written on a whim - Alopex gave me the plot bunny and it was too cute not to do something with. Very pleased you appreciate the canon though, because not everyone got that one. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #10, by slytherinchica08 Taking the cheesy way out

7th July 2011:
i thought this was interesting. I would have never thought about a job as a cheese maker before but i like that you tied a sentimental value to it for him. It really makes more sense for him to take the job just so he can learn more about his father. I think its a great idea. Great Job.

~Slytherinchica08~

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

Yes, we have to thank Alo for the plot bunny, but I admit it was my idea to tie it in with his father, because really we needed a decent reason for Teddy to take that job in the first place. :) It was a bit of a whim but I thought it turned out okay,and I"m really pleased that you agree. Thank you! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #11, by Skit Skit Taking the cheesy way out

15th April 2011:
The title definitely caught my attention and I couldn't resist reading. Loved this line: Teddy grinned. "Why not?" he challenged, giving her a quick kiss on the nose. "Mum was an Auror, Dad was an academic ... I would have thought that cheesemaker was a natural progression." Anyway, I thought it was a sweet one-shot and like that Teddy is willing to be a cheesemaker to hear about his father. :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the review!

LOL, I'm glad you liked the title. I couldn't resist the cheesy pun (yeah, I meant to do that hahaha) and it just seemed to fit the story so nicely. And I"m very pleased you liked that line because that was one of the things that induced me to write this in the first place, the idea of using that. :D

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #12, by theelderwand Taking the cheesy way out

27th March 2011:
Just had to read this tonight. Too intrigued to let it go.

For starters I just have to point out the lines that had me rolling with laughter. Siriusly, I was afraid I'd wake Mrs. Eldy I laughed so loud.

This was great:

"I'll give you the grilling." She grinned at him. "Grilling? Cheese? Get it?"

What can I say, I like cheesey humor (sorry, couldn't help myself)

But this one got me rolling:

"Mum was an Auror, Dad was an academic ... I would have thought that cheesemaker was a natural progression."

Loved the ending - spot on that. Well done.

Alo's fault, eh? Well thats pretty gouda! Sorry, I really shouldn't try to get so Krafty here. But there's really no reason for you to be so Testouri!

I'll stop now.

Great one shot.

Eldy (formerly theEricinowand)

Author's Response: Gotta love the cheesy humour! Though I guess I asked for it by including some in the story itself, hahaha. :)

Anyway, I'm really pleased you liked this. I had 2 ideas that went with Alo's pretext - one was the Greta Catchlove connection, and the other was that line you picked out about cheesemaker being a natural progression - and this was what came of them. I wasn't sure I'd really done the idea justice but it seems to have been received okay so I can't have done too bad a job. In other words, Alo liked it and that was really all I was looking for. :) Then I thought I could link it in with the epilogue with Teddy and Victoire at Platform 9 3/4 and it flowed from there.

Anyway, so pleased you checked it out and enjoyed it. Means it was worth following through! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #13, by HoneyDukesKid Taking the cheesy way out

25th March 2011:
That was hilarious, and quite adorable. Teddy's a cute kid. (And I can say that now, because we're relatively the same age. That makes me feel really old for some reason...)

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't this Greta from HTM? One of the gigglers or something. Idk, I might be wrong.

Anyway, once again you've done a fantastic job of characterization in an incredibly short time. Their personalities came out with just a few lines of dialouge. And I'll prove it.

1. Andromeda is strict woman, but she's softened a lot after the war's over and having a grandson like Teddy has improved her sense of humor. She feels the loss of her daughter and son-in-law keenly and regrets that she didn't get to know him well and that neither of them got to know their son. Teddy is the reason she continues to get up every morning. She loves him more than life itself and wants to do what's best for him but reluctantly admits to herself that he's going to have to figure things out on his own.

2. Teddy has a lovely sense of humor and enjoys the occasional prank but is more of an observer than an active participant. He's good-humored and easily amused. He's got an easy smile and takes everything in turn. Teddy doesn't like sitting still for long periods of time and becomes bored when life gets too predictable.

3. Greta Catchlove is hardworking and to the point. She doesn't believe in sugar coating or beating around the bush. She likes cleanliness, punctuality, and a sense of adventure. Greta has an easy laugh and fetish for puns. She's incredibly cheesy. (Hardi-har-har. You're HILARIOUS Mel. xP)

4. Victorie is a strong personality. She knows what she wants and she challenges anyone to deny it to her. She enjoys a good laugh but as a whole takes life a lot more serious than Teddy. Vic is the jealous sort, though she's in denial. She's extremely uncomfortable about allowing the world to have Teddy for a whole year while she's still stuck in school--but she's bearing with it. Victorie feels stifled in her house and can't wait to leave and live with Teddy, but she understands that its a good sort of smothering. Vic wants to give Teddy the family that he never had and she has no doubt that he'll make an excellent husband and father, though she's fully aware that it's a touchy subject and knows better than to talk about it out loud to anyone other than her best friend (whoever that may be). She hopes that everyone who works at the cheese factory is as old and fat as Gerta/Greta.

Am I wrong?

10/10 :)

Author's Response: Aw, Brook, you're making me blush! What an awesome review! I shall attempt to do it justice.

First of all, yes Greta is in HTM. She's a canon character, either a Wizard of the Month on JKR's website or on a Famous Wizards Card, I forget which, but she was born in 1960 (same year as Lily, James and Remus) and wrote a book called Charm Your Own Cheese under the name Gerta Curd. So you'll find her in some canon-based Marauder fics, if the author has done their homework. Of course, when Alopex gave me the plot bunny she was too perfect a character NOT to use, so I used her. :)

As for my characterisation, well I had NO idea you could get that much from the little tidbits I showed in the text. However, you are pretty much spot on for what I was thinking about their characters. The "what's life without a little risk" line is based on something Sirius said in the books, but I figured that Remus as a fellow Marauder would have a similar attitude - at times - that would be passed onto his son. And yeah, Vic's not thrilled with being separated from Teddy for a whole year and certainly hopes that everyone else at the cheese factory is old and fat; Andromeda definitely regrets not getting to know her son-in-law better and is trying to be all things for Teddy; and Greta tells it like it is but loves the occasional pun. You put it much better than I did but I'm wary of using up my character count, so we'll just agree that you did a brilliant job of summing it all up.

Anyway I'm really glad you liked this little story, it was a bit of a random idea but once Alo planted the seed I couldn't NOT use it, if that makes any sense. :)

thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #14, by crimsoncats Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
I loved this! The idea of Teddy as an apprentice cheesemaker is brilliant! This is definitely going in my favourites! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Though I can't take credit for the cheesemaker idea, because as I said in the author note that was all Alopex. However, I managed to tweak it into a story and I'm very pleased you liked it, because it means I didn't make too much of a hash of it. Thanks again. :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
Hey mel! I'm so glad someone took this plot bunny and did something with it. It was only gathering dust sitting on my desk. ;)

I really like where you took this little idea. As someone who took a while to figure out what I wanted to do myself, I can relate to Teddy at the beginning of the story. That had me in his corner right away, so I was quite proud of him when he decided to follow up on the help wanted ad.

I also liked that you made Greta/Gerta a character who went to school with Remus . . . it definitely did help explain why on earth Teddy would take a job like this. I'm also glad Victoire was supportive of him. Not to mention, I thought it rather cute that he was excited at the prospect of being able to make something with his own hands to show people. There really is something satisfying about that.

Anyway, this was a sweet, enjoyable, and (in some ways) amusing little story. I enjoyed your portrayal of Teddy, and I am impressed with little details that you thought to include throughout--such as Teddy trying to keep his nose from changing shape, perching uncomfortably on the chair. Nice job. :-)

Author's Response: Hi Alo!!

As I've already said, I'm so pleased you enjoyed this because, obviously, it was your idea. I just tinkered with it a little to make it a story. :)

Anyway, I think that most people take a little while to work out what they want to do. I still don't really know what to do with my life, and my dad only worked it out in his 40s. So Teddy was very much in the majority there. However, if it helped you identify with him then I consider it a job well done. :)

As for Greta, well as I've said on the forums she is a canon character who is the right age to have gone to school with Remus Lupin. It had occurred to me previously that Teddy would probably be curious about his dad and not have many people he could ask about him (Harry, Ron & Hermione didn't really know him very well, after all), so meeting someone who had been at school with him would have been very tempting. And, like you said, it's a good reason for him to have taken the job in the first place, because it is a bit of a jump from Auror and academic. :)

Finally, yes, the holding-something-you-made-in-your-hands would, I think, have been important to him, especially when surrounded by Potters and Weasleys who were probably over-achievers in a lot of ways. It would feel good to be able to show them something he had made himself. I'm very glad you appreciated that because I thought it was pertinent. :)

Thanks again for the plot bunny, and I'm so so happy that you enjoyed what I did with it. :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #16, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
Ok. I'm not sure if you noticed or not, but I posted a review from the Ravenclaw collaboration account... Not my brightest moment, by any means. But anyway, here it is again:

Oh my god, I saw that comment on the forums and laughed out loud... But you've totally cemented it. You somehow managed to make "apprentice cheesemaker" sound both serious and risky at the same time. *shakes head in confusion*

What grounded it was Teddy's curiosity about his father, definitely. Without that, it would have seemed like a weak idea at best. But with that, you made it into a relatable thing. I got a glimpse of the Teddy you see. I liked him, too.

My favorite part was actually where he mused about bringing something he'd made to Christmas. In a world where it feels like everyone works at a desk, where few people have a refined craft like they used to, it was a good tidbit to add. Made me kind of glad I'm a writer, because I certainly have something to show for my work/wasted time.

Overall, quiet enjoyable. And, serious as it was, I couldn't stop laughing... at myself. For falling for this apprentice cheesemaker story. :P Great job.

Author's Response: Hi Sarah!

You know, I did see that review, and I wondered if it was from Alopex because I knew she had the password for the collab account. :)

Anyway, I'm so pleased you enjoyed this. It was a bit of a bizarre idea, which was probably why Alo hadn't been able to make anything of it, but she generously allowed me to use it and I just went with the flow. It had occurred to me before that Teddy would probably wonder about his dad so the Greta Catchlove thing really tied that in very well.

And yes, I too think that the making-something-you-can-hold-in-your-hands is appealing in a world where, as you say, everyone seems to have a desk job. So it would help Teddy feel like he'd achieved something when he goes to visit the over-achievers that probably dominate the Potter/Weasley clan. I'm very glad you appreciated that because I thought it was well worth a mention. :)

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Catherine Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
Awww great story! I hope Teddy finds what he wants!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I hope he does too, but with any luck Greta will have a stack of schoolyard stories that she can tell him about his dad and at least assauge his curiosity about that. Very pleased you liked it, and thanks for giving it a try! :)

cheers, Mel


 Report Review

Review #18, by draconian88 Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
Hi Melian! It's Saeli here :)

Honestly, I like reading this one, it was a good mix of humor and of the sentimental. Kudos to you for this one.

What I like best about this one is Teddy's characterization. I love how he enjoyed the simple things in life and how much he reveled in the beauty of making something homemade, in a sense. I hope other people who'll read this will gain that kind of inspiration.

Thank you so much!
-Saeli

Author's Response: Hi Saeli!!

I'm so pleased you enjoyed this, it was a bit of a risk for you to just click on a random story that someone pushed at you. So thank you!

I seem to always do the sentimental thing, it must be the way I'm wired. I thought of trying to make it funny but I don't think I could pull off straight humour, I had to throw in the sentiment as well. Bad habit of mine. But if you think it worked, then I'm very pleased because there's always a danger that it's too sentimental, if that makes any sense. :)

I'm also glad you liked the idea of him doing something with his hands, because it's not seen all that often any more and it felt like something he would appreciate.

Thanks again, Mel


 Report Review

Review #19, by mugglemania Taking the cheesy way out

23rd March 2011:
Haha. Weird. I liked it, though. I also love the title. Very fitting and funny :D
9/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It was a strange idea, I admit, but once I had the brainwave to connect Greta Catchlove into it I couldn't not write it. Very pleased you enjoyed it :D

cheers, Mel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login