Reading Reviews for Happy
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes You Can't Have Everything

14th March 2014:
Hello!

Well, this was just absolutely heartbreaking! And with a title like Happy? Shame on you for leading me on! But goodness, did you lead me on. I was confused at first, because aren't Astoria and Draco supposed to be married? And then when it all came out and became clear, I literally had to go back up and reread it, just to make sure.

Oh, this was so sad, but it truly was beautiful! I utterly adored how everything was so strategically written to make the reader believe it was Daphne getting married to Draco instead of Astoria, although that only led to me believing Daphne and Draco had fallen in love. But, it truly was amazing to read and then reread, and I did love how you managed to pull that off!

At the end, I was so sad, and when Daphne talked about how she had told Blaise, and Blaise was watching her sadly, because he knew her heart must have been breaking, and there's so much implicit work that I can't stop from just going ahgh!

Anyways, this truly was amazing and I can't believe the roller coaster of emotions you put me through, nor the inner turmoil I've developed.

Absolutely stunning job! I hope you continue this one day as well.
Lo:)

Gryffindor vs Slytherin Blackout Battle Round 3 Review 16/20

Author's Response: Hello!

Yes. Happy is what Daphne wants to be, not what she is - hence the title. I've been told before that I'm good at leading people on; there's a compliment in there, I think. :D

Haha, yeah, it was all one big master plan to get you to think that Daphne and Draco were together, then BAM, no, he's marrying her sister (as is canon). I was very happy with the way it turned out; I was afraid people would guess easily because Astoria was always in the background, but she needed to be so the actual wedding wasn't a weird surprise. :)

It was so sad to write, I had to give her Blaise, someone who knew and could help her.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by starryskies55 You Can't Have Everything

15th July 2013:
Oh my god!

That was a brilliant twist, Sam, I was half expecting it, as Daphne doesn't marry Draco in canon, but it still came as a shock! Cor, that was amazing!
Your description here was what really stood out- in present tense and in the few flashbacks, it was all flawless. You did a fantastic job of saying so much, and still keeping quiet about that twist, but, rereading, I'm picking up the hints- the engagement, not my engagement. Brilliant.

Additionally, the speech was brilliantly done- very natural and easy to understand, which i know I find super hard. Well done!

Author's Response: Haha, surprises! Yay! I'm glad you were still shocked, even with canon on the brain.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne You Can't Have Everything

17th March 2013:
Oh wow, that was a good twist at the end, I thought for sure it would be Daphne.
That was incredibly well written I actually believed he would marry her. I love how sweet it was at the beginning, Draco being all cute with her. And then at the end with her being sad and Blaise giving her the small smile.
Maybe she can get together with Blaise? He's cool and friendly, he'll be there for her.
I really like how you changed the words slightly, throwing me off at the end and shocking me like that.
Incredibly well written! :D

Author's Response: Haha, good. You need to think it's Daphne.

Thank you so much for leaving a review! I'm so happy that you liked it and were surprised. :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jchrissy You Can't Have Everything

7th July 2012:
Here from review tag!
Okay, I had a feeling this would be a love triangle, but you still tricked me. I thought that maybe they were getting married even though one of them knew they loved someone else or something. Anyway, your play on words is amazing. It was the perfect combination so when you began showing us more of what was happening it all started clicking.

I have a Draco Astoria love triangle written myself, so when I saw the characters in this I was really excited to read it. I'm so happy this didn't disappoint, it was a huge twist mixed with that stabbing, painful heartache of not being loved back. I can feel Daphne's emptiness, feel the horrible breaking heart as she watches her sister marry the man she loves.

It's beautifully written, and kept me enthralled the entire time. Your descriptions were perfect without going overboared, I knew what was happening the entire time but didn't have to read a paragraph about how the flower smelt before I got there.

Amazingly well done, I'm so happy I chose to read this!

Tell me if you are ever interested in a review swap, this is the only other love triangle I've seen with these three so I'd love to get your opinion on my Draco Astoria, Chasing Ghosts.

I love that you had Blaise aware of Daphne's feelings. I don't know why, I just think it was an amazing touch. I also like that Draco is really in love with Astoria, that Daphne's feelings are only one sided. I think it would have been too much if they were both in love but Draco was marrying Astoria, so the way you have it is perfect. It makes for a heart breaking story without too much drama, and really makes my heart hurt for Daphne.

Great Job! Thanks for a wonderful read!

Jami

Author's Response: Hey!

I don't think I've seen many Daphne/Draco/Astoria love triangles either. It makes me want to write another, longer this time. I guess we'll see. :P

Blaise is aware of Daphne's feelings because... Well, the reason would be revealed if I were to continue this. I think about doing so, but I quite like where this ended and I like that I kept Blaise in the know. Maybe one day I will continue it or write a one-shot sequel. :)

I feel so sorry for Daphne, but this is what makes her who she is in my head. I wondered if Draco would feel the same, but it was only brief. He and Astoria are just perfect together, I think. It'll always be one-sided.

Thank you so much for leaving me such a wonderful review. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotter You Can't Have Everything

9th June 2012:
That was unexpected! I thought it was Draco and Daphne who were getting married, and then the end came and I was shocked! But a good shocked :) this really was an excellent one-shot. Daphne's emotions definitely come through, and I really feel for her. This was awesome, and I will definitely check out more of your stories! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by daliha You Can't Have Everything

22nd May 2012:
I love this though I was slightly confused it's Daphne who's getting married in the end right? But besides that I loved it poor Daphne that must be an awful feeling to have the man you love be in love with your sister.

PS I love Leon Lewis she is amazing

Author's Response: Astoria is getting married in the end and Daphne is the Maid of Honor. It's so sad, I hope to continue this one day. Maybe she'll have a... Happier ending... :)

I love Leona, too. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Sweets-Caandy You Can't Have Everything

22nd May 2012:
*sniff*
Gosh I feel so sad for her!
In the beginning I was a little confused even if I suspected it to end like this...poor Daphne! I was never really a fan of hers but now I think I actually like her.
I hope you to continue this one day, too! :)
Really great story ;)

Author's Response: Hey.
Yes, it's so sad for Daphne.
Thank you and I hope I get to continue this. :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by ScorpiusRose17 You Can't Have Everything

20th May 2012:
Hi there!

This was an amazing story. I really thought you did a great job describing everything from what things looked like, to the emotions that Daphne felt. I like how it twisted around and instead of it being who you first suspect as the woman walking down the aisle to Astoria. It was clever.

I thought you captured a beautiful moment with a wonderful choice of characters. They were just as I imagined they would be on a day like that. I hope that you do continue this one day because I would definitely read it.

Keep up the awesome writing! =)

-SR17

Recenseo 2012

Author's Response: Hey.

Thank you. I hope I can continue it, too, because this was just one of my favorite stories to write.

I'm so glad you liked it. :)

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by The Raven_claw You Can't Have Everything

20th May 2012:
Ohmygosh this is so good (and so sad!! lol) keep writin' :-D

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by BKL8008 You Can't Have Everything

19th May 2012:
Wow. There's so much to read between the lines here that there's definitely more to it! I've shot many a wedding, and you get to know those looks. As you shoot, you begin to write the script in your head, what they're all thinking, and if you think it will last and for how long. This is a marvelous little tale that jams so much history and so much emotion into so few words that it is just incredible!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I just love your reviews, they really make my day. :D

I'm so glad you liked it.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by adluvshp You Can't Have Everything

19th May 2012:
Hey.

Aw this was a nicely written story. I loved the portrayal of Daphne's feelings. The narrative was written splendidly. It made me feel sad for Daphne, and I think it's a good sign when the readers can connect with the characters. The plot was great and the scene setting went well. Over all, I liked this story. Good work!

10/10

Cheers!
AD
~Recenseo~

Author's Response: Hey.

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it and was able to connect and feel sad for Daphne.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by lizmusic45 You Can't Have Everything

3rd February 2012:
I liked this, this was nice. I always pictured Draco being so lost until he found Astoria, I always pictured that she made him a better person, a better man and he loved her for it. Because I think, that Astoria was that kind of person nobody could understand except for Draco.

But now, I might have to change my head cannon due to this one-shot, it was just that brilliant :)

Lizzie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I never really pictured the Greengrass sisters much until I wrote this. But I'm glad you liked it.

It was supposed to be a short story, but I don't don't whether or not to continue it.

Thanks again. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Bookworm045 You Can't Have Everything

6th August 2011:
I expected that! I mean, I did at the beginning--it was too much that it wouldn't be, what with the angst rating on a story named 'Happy'. But I began reading, and, I dunno, you like changed my mind with your powerful-wordy-ness, and then I began to believe that it was Daph marrying Draco. And then I read the sister part, and it was like double the weight of bricks slamming into my head, because I'd gotten so into Daphne/Draco that I'd completely forgotten about the Astoria/Draco. And now I'm sad. Daphne deserved Draco. She's his best friend! Blaise is so understanding, and I don't like Astoria. Blah. But this was so beautifully written that I can't help but love it even though it made me sad. :)
-Katherine045 (Slytherin)

Author's Response: Powerful-wordy-ness? LOL. I love it when people think it was Daph marrying Draco then, bam, he's marrying Astoria. Even though you expect it, you're still like 'what the heck?' it's fun.

If Draco can't see what's right in fron of him, then I don't think Draco deserves her. She deserves Blaise... Which is where it may or may not go. ;)

I'm glad you still liked it. :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by lily16 You Can't Have Everything

25th May 2011:
Oh my god, this story was wonderful. Daphne is such a selfless and caring character even while her heart is being broken, it's so refreshing. But really sad. I really want her to be happy one day.

You're a great writer :)

Author's Response: Thank you!

This story is not over and Daphne deserves a happy ending out of it. Don't you think? ;)


 Report Review

Review #15, by notreallyblonde44 You Can't Have Everything

25th April 2011:
Hey SamMalfoy!

It's notreallyblonde44 here to do your reviews for winning my challenge a while back! Sorry I'm so slow! I haven't forgotten ;) To warn you, I can be rather nit-picky and I don't mean to offend, only help. That being said let me know if I've crossed the line haha. Let's begin!

For starts, I'm going to be honest that I don't particularly like SongFics...and I'm not very versed on how they work in general, sorry :/ And the Author's note that tells me what *~* means...I'm not a fan of. I think a story should always speak itself, so if I can't figure out what are memories without you explicitly telling me, then the writing/story needs to change ;)

'As if realising he was being watched, Draco Malfoy looked up, his eyes going straight to her, and gave Daphne the most dazzling smile she had ever seen.' -Run-on sentence. I would change it to end after 'straight to her. He gave Daphne...'

'Daphne shrugged, "they're planning a happy event' -capitalize They're

She's like a sister to him??? She seems to think differently...

'She heard people gasp as She came in' -she should be lowercase

The second to last line was another run-on. I would edit it as follows: As Daphne watched her little sister marry the man she had been in love with since they were children, she wished she was wearing the white wedding dress, saying the vows that would bind them together for life, while Astoria was stood behind her, in the lilac bridesmaid dress. Daphne couldn't help but think...'

Uhhh okay, so after I reached the end, I totally realized that this wasn't Draco and Daphne's wedding, but Draco and Astoria's. And must I admit I feel completely tricked and had to re-read the whole thing haha. The opening was very misleading! I was confused the whole time about who was actually getting married based on Daphne's perceptions and her desires came across clearly to me that she liked Draco haha. It wasn't til the end that I realized this was Canon and not AU like I expected. You definitely got me! There were a few mistakes that I listed above, but overall there weren't many surface errors. I thought this piece was interesting and flowed well. I don't think you needed to tell us which pieces were memories or not btw (^).

While I don't believe that Draco and Daphne were friends in canon, you made it seem like he couldn't do anything without her so that helped build their friendship in my mind. So I'm semi-sold on their friendship. If you ever plan to edit, I would add more things about Draco and Daphne that seems more canon ;) Otherwise, it was a nice one-shot! Poor Daphne...the torture! Onto the next review!

I hope this helped any!

Best,
Ellie_NRB

Author's Response: Thank you!

It's not really a song-fic, I put the lyrics in because they were what inspired the story but I had to put song fic because I used more than four lines. :)

Uh oh, lol, I put them down when I'm typing it up so when I go back and edit, I know what's what but I keep forgetting to take them out when I post them on here. Silly little mistakes that has happened on a couple more of my stories. Haha.

Thanks for the constructive criticism, I will make sure to go back and edit :).

You felt tricked? Well, I have to say yay for that :). The reader was meant to think it was Daphne marrying him.

Thank you again!

Sam :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyFire You Can't Have Everything

5th April 2011:
It's so sad. I was happy for Draco and Daphne, getting married, and then I find out they aren't. I mean, I'm happy for Draco and Astoria, I guess, but Daphne need him. She loves him.
You did it really well, though, Only adding the final parts of what was said at the end of the story. It's really good(:
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you liked it :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by SexyDoorFrames You Can't Have Everything

18th March 2011:
This was so sad :( I loved it though! I think you've captured all the characters in a real way. You can feel Daphne's emotions throughout this. It was hauntingly sad :( I hope she gets over Draco, she's better than him anyway ;) I do hope she gets her happily ever after though. At though you could do two ways with this so I really don't know whats going to happen next which is always awesome.

I look forward to the next chapters and where you're taking this :)

- SDF

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll find out if she gets over Draco soon, as it will only be a short story :).

 Report Review

Review #18, by Dark Whisper You Can't Have Everything

13th March 2011:
Heir... Your twist was very unexpected!

If I were walking down the isle toward Draco in a church and not marry him... I'd be crying too! To be so close, but so far away! That is the definition of 'angst'.

I'm glad she held her tongue and let Draco and her sister be happy.

Oh... I can hear her heart cracking as he pledges his love to her sister! Boo hoo!

I do hope Blaise is there to pick her up and take her off to a happily ever after, the poor dear.

Don't ever worry about comments regarding "out of character." I can take Draco OOC... I'll take him whatever package he comes in... sweet or sour, sugar or salt! He's always tasty to me! Haha!

The only reason why I cannot give you a 10 is that your fic is not a Dramione, so I must dock you points. He is not really allowed to be happy with someone else, is he?

So... 9.5/10 ;)

Dark Whisper

Author's Response: I'm glad you didn't expect it, I wanted everyone to think Daphne was marrying Draco then be like "oh my god" at the end :).

I would definitely cry too :(. But I'm glad she didn't say anything. Oh, Blaise, the hero, will be there.

I don't worry about OOC comments because I like Draco when he's quite OOC, not too much though, or he wouldn't be the Draco we all love :).

Aww, poor 0.5 is left out :(. You could have pretended it was Hermione...haha. Thank you.

Heir (or Sam :D)


 Report Review

Review #19, by TheProphecy You Can't Have Everything

12th March 2011:
Heyy!!

I really enjoyed this, I felt it was written well and very realistic. I liked the idea of it I thought the ending was a nice twist that she didn't love Draco :)

My only issue was that Draco seemed a tiny bit OOC..I do't know I didn't feel him as a character.

But other then that it was good, I felt you really captured all the different moments of just those few steps up the aisle.

Well done! :)

Hannah x

Author's Response: Thank you :)! Who didn't love Draco?

I'm glad you think he was only a little OOC and not a lot. This chapter was all about Daphne and how she felt about Draco and the wedding, not about Draco himself, so I didn't add much to him. The next chapter will be more about him and, hopefully, he won't be OOC and you'll find he hasn't changed all that much :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login