23 Reviews Found

Review #1, by NaidatheRavenclaw Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

4th March 2012:
Hi there! Here with a very late QTR review!

I really loved this one shot. I think you managed to portray the NextGen characters really well for such a short piece. They each had their own personalities and you managed to show those distinctly for it being a one shot. The dynamic between Rose and Albus/Scorpius was one of my favorite parts. It was funny without being overdone, as banter can so often be.

A couple of nit picky things before I forget: "She looked slightly annoyed when Albus disturbed her and when theyíd moved to the empty library she turned to trio." That should say she turned to the trio.

Also, you mentioned Professor Longbottom once and then mentioned Professor Sprout. I don't think they'd both be at the school at the same time ;)

I love how this prank was so harmless and so reminiscent of Fred and George. They had never aimed to hurt anyone with their pranks, unlike the Marauders, so you managed to capture that perfectly.

It was a great one shot! Both funny and sweet :D

-Naida

Author's Response: And I'm here with a very late response! I don't check my reviews often so I'm afraid I only just saw this.

Oh, thanks for pointing those bits out! Something else I need to correct.

I like writing humour stories; they seem to be easier than dark or angst stories. Aw, these lovely comments from you make me want to write again. Thank you!

-Sophia



 Report Review

Review #2, by Your Ravenclaw Secret Santa Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

2nd January 2012:
It's me again!
Loved all the teamwork at play in this story! It really showed the closeness of the friends.
I also love the idea of doing the prank as a tribute to Fred and George, that's so sweet!
Again, I think your characterisations were spot on! And great idea for a story, the complexity of the potions and spells impressed me!

Happy New Year!

Secret Santa

Author's Response: Thank you for all your lovely reviews! The compliments, the crit, and advice are all welcome and I shall take them all on board. *hugs*

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #3, by Harrypotterbookworm Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

16th December 2011:
And again you manage to make me laugh. You're so good at that! This was a really smart idea for a prank, rather ingenious. XD Where's you get the idea of it from? Any tips for coming up with any of my own, little miss mischief maker?

What I also like about the prank is the reasoning behind everything that happens and how you put in the thought process of how they were going to do it. It really shows more about magic in general, which is awesomely cool to see.

Also, George's involvement was very sweet.

Author's Response: I much prefer writing humorous of light-hearted stories to angsty ones. To be honest, I'm not sure where I got the idea from. I think I just came across the colour changing spell somewhere and thought about how to incorporate that into a prank. :) I'll let you into a secret, though (It's really not a secret). There's a prank thread at the forums which has come in handy a couple of times ;)

Thank you so much for these lovely reviews! :D Ily, Nikki! *hugs*

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

1st October 2011:
Sophia~

Awww loved this! I really enjoy reading Next-Gen, especially humour and pranks, so I definitely found this story really great! I liked how you showed them planning at the beginning, but you didn't tell us what the prank was until when it actually happened! I really, really like how Rose actually isn't with Scorpius, Albus and Lily in the very beginning of the planning, and they actually need her help to find spells and stuff. That was a little different characteristic of Rose than usually seen.

The only thing I was hesitant about was the professors, especially someone like Flitwick not knowing a spell was being put on them. However, it's such a big part to the plot you probably can't do anything about it anyway :P I liked the prank though, it's actually a prank I haven't read yet, which is great! I seem to always read the same pranks over and over again. I liked how George was included, the letter was nice. Overall, just an amusing read. Nicely written!

- charlotte :)

Author's Response: So sorry for not replying to these lovely reviews sooner! I'm glad you enjoyed this. I thought a lot about the professors not noticing a spell being put on them, but went with it in the end as it was the most plausible idea I came up with. :P
There was no way I could write about a prank like that without including George! :)

Thanks Lottie!

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #5, by charlottetrips Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

4th May 2011:
Highly amusing! Greatly enjoyed and definitely a tribute to Fred. One can forget how brilliant one can be with spells and potions but obviously descendents of the proud Weasley pranskters wouldn't forget. Thank you for the lovely read!

One thing:
"empty library she turned to [] trio" - [the]

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :) You're right. Potter-Weasley descendants would never forget what pranksters Fred and George were, which is why I thought this would be a lovely tribute story. :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #6, by Trundlebug Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

3rd May 2011:
I liked it a lot! It is the day-to-day stuff that can happen at Hogwarts that makes it magical.

Very few grammar errors (think there were a couple of skipped articles early on, but that's it). The characters were all well-written and recognizable. Overall it was a good read for a quick Hogwarts fix.

God knows we could all do with a bit of that from time to time.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

Haha! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'll go back and check for those errors. Thanks for pointing it out. :)

-Sophia


 Report Review

Review #7, by Badger Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

8th April 2011:
Hey! Sorry for being so extremely late. Anyways. I adore your banner. :) And it was adorable. A perfect shout-out to the lost Weasley twin!

Characterisation: Good! I got a fairly good feel for the characters even though it was only a one-shot. I couldn't really pick up on a really distinct POV though. Obviously it was in third person, but usually the reader can kind of get inside one character's head. The dialogue was fantastic and it really personified the character, but perhaps you could have made a more distinct main character and made it a little longer and developed the characters a bit more?

Flow: Great! It wasn't too fast or too slow; it was pretty perfect. It made the reader want to continue, as it was moving quickly, but not so fast that it left me confused.

Plot: I'm not so good with one-shots, as I fail at writing anything but novels, but the plot was rather adorable. Who misses Gred and Forge? :raises hand:

Technical: Spelling, grammar, punctuation...brilliant! I didn't notice anything wrong (so if there was anything, it was extremely minor.)

Sorry for writing such a short review! If you need more advice, just PM me and we can go over it in more detail. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. What do you mean, a short review?? It was brilliant! :D

I love the twins! Especially Fred ;) Thanks for your comments. I'll try to improve on the POV a bit.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyMalfoy23 Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

6th April 2011:
Best prank i have ever read! :D lol The affects where quite amusing! (and it was great seeing a next gen where Rose is NOT with scorpius) hehe :D anyways congrats on yet another great story to your archive! It really made me smile!!

Author's Response: I'm pleased you liked the prank so much! Thanks for reviewing, hun :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #9, by HarrietHopkirk Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

29th March 2011:
Finally! You've written some more things! I had reviewed four of your stories (which were the only stories you had up) in the first review battle, so I can finally review you again now! :D

And I'm so happy I can!This is a wonderful story! Completely adorable. Your characters were strong, all beautifully characterised, you've no errors with grammar and that. I love your different impressions of Flitwick and McGonagall. The prank was awesome! The story had a good flow, and I think it worked very well with the plot and the characters and the description and everything! A true testament to Fred and George. The dialogue was believable and very, very funny!

Overall, a wonderful oneshot! Congrats!

Author's Response: Yup! I've got two new stories up since then :) A couple more coming soon too!

EEP! Thank you for all your lovely comments. I can't believe it! You've made my day! :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #10, by LilyFire Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

26th March 2011:
Itís really good, and funny. Iím not so sure that a potion would effect clothes, and if the disillusionment charm made the teachers not see it, no one should have been. Just something to consider. I liked it though, and you finished strong.
All in all, a great piece, I loved it(:
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing :)

Well, there is fiction and there is magic. Combine the two together and there's a lot of possibilities.

Thanks.

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #11, by TenthWeasley Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

23rd March 2011:
Hello! This is TenthWeasleyWriter swinging by with the review you requested. :D And first off, I must say that I rather loved the banner for your fic, so I got all hyped up and excited even before I clicked on the chapter. :P

This was SUCH an adorable story, Sophia - I'm so shoddy at writing funny bits, so I just have that much more admiration for people (like you) who had do it with seemingly no effort at all! All your characters had strong personalities, and you mixed canon with your own style really well, which was a lot of fun to read - I always love reading others' impressions of people like McGonagall and Flitwick, who are so well known to canon aficianados. :)

No grammar or spelling errors spotted, so well done there - you've obviously taken the time to spell check this! Major kudos. :P I enjoyed this one shot immensely, and I think you've really outdone yourself here. Thank you for nudging me toward it!

Author's Response: Jane?! Is that really you? *squish* :P

The banner is amazing, isn't it! I loved it as soon as I saw it :D

EEEP! I'm so glad you like it! I've not written much humour before, so I'm glad you thought this was amusing. :) You should try it! I'm sure you'd be better than you think.

Thanks again, Jane :D

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Ali4077 Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

19th March 2011:
Absolutely brilliant story :) This is WolfieAli from the forums by the way, my name on HPFF as you can see is different.

The "I hope I'm in stripes; I've never worn stripes before." just made me burst into laughter! I loved it! The idea of the prank itself was brilliant. It's something I've never come across before the idea of something happening to the teachers without the teachers being able to see it. It was a really well thought idea I think and well done for coming up with it :) I enjoyed reading this, 10/10! x

Author's Response: Hey! I'm glad you like it! :)

I had a lot of fun writing this so I'm glad it was worth it! I love that line too and I'm pleased so many other people liked it.

Thank you! I look forward to seeing the other entries and the results :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #13, by strawberrydarhling Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

18th March 2011:
I really liked this :) It was a great prank, I'm jealous because I am rubbish at thinking up pranks.

I did spot one thing though. You said that it was March and sunny outside but in England its normally freezing aroud that time. Not as cold as February and December but still pretty cold and it would be rare to see a sunny day.

:)

Good luck with the challenge!

Megan
xx

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

Oh, the weather in England; don't get me started! :P It just so happened that the day I was writing this, in March, happened to be a good, sunny day so I put that in my story. :P

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #14, by ravenclaw_princess Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

17th March 2011:
Well done. This story is hilarious and a true testament to Fred and George's legacy. They would be so proud. the whole story was put together well and flowed nicely. Even for the length of the story, I got a fair idea of the personalities of each character. It was nice to see Lily, often I feel she gets missed from stories because she's just that little bit younger.

The pranks were brilliant and very plausible, right down to the reaction of the teachers. I could so see McGonagall not being very impressed, but probably smiling on the inside and Flitwick 'hoping he was in strips'. That was a great line.

Anyway, well done. This is a great story and all the best for the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing :)

I'm glad you think I pulled it off well. I love Flitwick's line too! :)

Thanks

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #15, by silverstarletworld89 Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

16th March 2011:
Hi Sophia =D

Great job on this one shot, it was full of mischief. I loved Flitwicks line, ďAnd more's the pity. We could have done with a laugh too, you know. I hope Iím in stripes; Iíve never worn stripes before.Ē LOL! Loved the flow of this story and the pace was nice. Glad they managed to think of a successful prank in the end =D. Adored the end.

Wish you the best of luck for your challenge =D
Silverstarletworld

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

That's my favourite line of the story too! I'm glad you picked up on it :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Aly Delacour Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

16th March 2011:
This is a really, really cute story! I love that they were trying to honour Fred's memory using a prank he would probably have thought of himself. It was a really nice touch using the Weasley twins' fireworks. It gave a slightly sad edge to the story even though overall it had a light, funny tone.

I particularly liked the professors' comments. I could completely picture Professor McGonagall with her lips pursed, complaining about the prank, though I bet deep down she found it funny and a nice reminded of Fred and George's time at Hogwarts. And I absolutely loved Flitwick's line 'I hope I'm in stripes'. I think it was just like Flitwick to see the fun side of it and not get as stressed out as the other teachers.

The way you wrote the kids was lovely, and you showed off their distinct personalities nicely, which is tough to do it a one-shot. They all seemed just how I would imagine them.

This was a very enjoyable story and I'm glad I took the time to read it :)

Author's Response: Hey Aly! :D

Thank you for this lovely review :D I'm glad you think I wrote the teachers and the students well. Flitwick's line is my favourite in the story, for sure :)

I'm glad you enjoyed reading it; thanks again! :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #17, by Aiedail Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

14th March 2011:
hi!!
i thought this was really well-written and silly :) it's something that i can easily imagine happening, although to me, the characters seemed to be younger than sixth- and seventh-years. it might just be because it was more focused on action than character development, which is fine! especially for a oneshot dealing with pranks.
i love flitwick here. he's probably my favorite character in the whole story, even though i think Lily is also fun to read. somehow i always manage to forget her in my next-gen stories. hm...strange, as we share a name! :)
i like that rose seems to take after her mother a little in her snappiness but also her willingness to take charge of the situation. i also like that scorpius seems to like her, but that is most likely me projecting my ideal-couple idea onto them :P i like that rose can loosen up at the end.
i would have expected to see a little more of albus, but it also wasn't too surprising to know that he had forgotten to wake up early since he's seventeen and all. although remembering what i do of harry before events--he always had strange dreams, or woke up early, easily, forgot to eat breakfast, worried about horrible scenarios, etc--it might be unfair of me, but knowing that albus is harry's son, i just figured he would take after him that way ;)
other than that i think that their idea for a prank is really silly and i don't think it seemed too implausible. i can imagine uncle george's pride :D
there's only one major source of confusion for me: is scorpius in slytherin, and that's why he says it would be unfair to pull a prank on them? i got the impression before that he was in the same house as the rest of them, but then that, and the fact that he wasn't in the room when lily went to wake al up made me wonder...
overall though it was an entertaining read and a wonderful prank :D good job, and good luck in the challenge ;)
--lily

Author's Response: Thank you for your awesome review, as always!

You picked up on some good points. Yes, Scorpius is in Slytherin and that's why he didn't want any pranks played on Slytherin House. It's in canon to my story 'The Sorting of Albus Severus Potter'. :)

Thanks again!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #18, by hpgrl Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

13th March 2011:
Hey sophia!
Firstly, I love the title of this story, its a nice, happy title that would definitely get me interested in reading the story. Overall, it was well written you're missing some words in a couple of places, like "a", and "the", and missing a comma or two- not really a big deal though. The flow I felt was a tiny bit choppy. I feel that you could've structured the it better and there are some details that are kind of unnecessary and tend to shift the attention away from the plot (like the part about Lily and David).

Otherwise it was great! The characterization was good, no grammar mistakes, and it was just a fun, light fic. to read.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

This hasn't been betaed yet; I had to get it up in time for a challenge, but thank you for reminding me :)

Glad you enjoyed it!

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #19, by NeverGotHerLetter Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

13th March 2011:
Aww that was really sweet! Happy go lucky and just awesome :D Hehe I'm going against you for this challenge, and I'd say I have some stiff competition! ;D But seriously well done :D You characterised everyone very well, I especially liked Lily's blushing when the captain of the Quidditch team looked at her and then Albus' reaction, I thought it was real cute :)
And then when George sent the fireworks! Awwh that was cute :) I miss Fred so much, but I can only imagine how George is feeling :( (Yes, I treat them as if they're real people!) :) Anyway, this was really good, I loved having Scorpius there too. Am I right that you put the Potters/Weasleys in Gryffindor and then him in Slytherin, but even so they were friends? If I'm right then I think that was a really good small detail which just shows that the war united the next generation, and that thought just makes me so happy :)
So yes, overall, fantastic, I loved your idea for the prank, (I promise I won't steal it -- I'm yet to think of an idea yet!) Very detailed writing, a happy story and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it :) 10/10
~NeverGotHerLetter x x x x x x x

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm so glad you liked this. I realised we were against each other when I read your story. You certainly are competition indeed. :)

Don't worry, they're real people as far as I'm concerned too! :P Yes, you're right about the Houses. I wrote a fic a while back about Albus, Rose & Scorpius' Sorting and they were sorted into those Houses. So I decided to keep it that way and, like you said, show that they can still be friends. :)

Thank you for your amazing review :D Good luck with your entry! I'll definitely be reviewing it!

-Sophia xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by justonemorefic Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

13th March 2011:
Awww how adorable! I adore how the prank went down. The teachers were all very good-natured about it and everyone had fun. And I love especially how you connected the pranks to Fred and his memory. The fireworks going off, that was a nice touch :) I always feel so sad for George, losing Fred, so it's nice to see him kind of keeping his memory with these fireworks.

It's a tad slow in the beginning, lots of explaining, deliberation and all that sort going on so it takes awhile, but you may perhaps consider condensing some it? I do love the bits with George though. And the prank overall has a very good payoff though. I think you've got a lovely, fun one shot here! :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for that bit of criticism. I'll see what I can take out when I edit it. :)

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #21, by BrightStar Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

12th March 2011:
Hey! I thought this was really cute! I felt so happy when george says he was glad they were doing this, it helped him remember fred or whatever. Lovely! Poor long suffering rose! Anyway I really liked this - so fun and playful! Well done! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by DemetersChild Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

12th March 2011:
Aww, this was cute. It's always fun to see an April Fools' joke and it's especially nice that it came from the next generation. I'm glad that the George you wrote wasn't still moping over Fred's death. I see it in a lot of fics that he practically goes through life dead himself, but I never saw him as the kind of person to do that, so I'm glad he didn't in your story.

I think the beginning planning was a bit long. Maybe it could be cut off after they acquire Rose's help and Albus asks about the fireworks. I don't think the rest of it is necessary and just makes it run a little long.

There was another place where the end of a sentence was cut off: "One Ravenclaw fifth year had a pair of bunny ears growing out of his head and a little first year had..." A little first year had what!? Haha, the suspense is killing me. :P

It was funny and I enjoyed reading it. :D

Dem

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing :)

I've already written one fic where George was devastated over losing Fred but that was set a few months after his death. So this time, I decided that he'd not be acting like that. After all, it's set many years after Fred's death.

Thanks for the criticism. When I edit this story, I will take that into account. :)

I'm glad you noticed that mistake. I've now edited it and it's back in the queue! For your info, it now says 'a little first year was wearing a Muggle joker's hat.'

Thanks again! :D

-Sophia x


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheProphecy Sunny-Side Up With Pumpkin Juice

10th March 2011:
Hey Sophia!!

I love this one-shot! (And I was happy i got a thanks in it)

But my favourite line of literally all time has to be - I hope I'm in stripes; I've never worn stripes before." I loved that, it made me giggle for ages :D

Umm..my only little problem was at the beginning and at the end, where either times change or POV changes you haven't put the little asterisk so I got a tiny bit confused.

But I love the prank! It is written well and is overall a really good next gen one-shot!

Hannah x

Author's Response: Hannah! Of course you got a mention! You helped me out a lot!! :D

I'm SO glad you picked up on that line! That is the best line of the story, in my opinion! ^_^

Thanks for that, I'll enter the edits now while the queue is relatively short :P

Thanks, hun!

-Sophia x


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login